Artists
    Events
      EN
      FR
      Mavis Staples

      Mavis Staples

      Soul has its fighter
      Ecouter
      • Tour
      • About
      • Highlights
      • Testimonials
      • Archives

      Tour

      • 2022 1 concert
      • Wednesday
        08
        June 2022
        PARIS
        Book your seats
      See program

      About

      About

      There is so much to say about Mavis Staples. With her five feet, she's a little piece of woman with an impressive wingspan and a golden voice. It's an extraordinary trajectory, a lifelong commitment to civil rights and a musical career that has spanned more than 60 years alongside some of the world's greatest artists without ever running out of steam.


      With a deep, husky, and full of life voice, Mavis Staples awakens buried emotions and energizes like no one else. And when she sings her soul or gospel music, all in vibes, it seems as if God himself stops for a moment to listen to her. The one who started with her father and sisters has come a long way. By emancipating herself from her family, she has collaborated with the greatest producers and artists of this world. Prince, Curtis Mayfield, Ry Cooder and even Bob Dylan, whose marriage proposal she had the luxury of refusing, not impressed by the singer's fame. 


      Because yes, since her beginnings and even more so as she gets older, the singer knows what she wants. In the pure soul tradition, singing Love and hope, again and again, is her mission. It must be said that she learned from the best: Martin Luther King was her friend and made her grow up on the road to defending civil rights in the United States. It was the fight of a lifetime for the singer who opened the Doctor's meetings with her repertoire of freedom songs, to give support to the black population, then struggling against racial segregation.


      And while the latter fortunately fell, the battle did not stop for the tireless activist. After her immense success in the 60s and 70s, she found a second wind in the 2000s, recently delivering one of her best albums, full of protest songs about the fate of African-Americans in Trump's America.

      Highlights

      1960

      Meeting with the King

      In the early 1960s, the entire Staples family attended the service of Martin Luther King. Already involved in civil rights advocacy, the Staples Singers and the pastor fell in love at first sight. From then on, the gospel group that already draws on soul and funk will accompany him, opening its meetings with the freedoms songs they have the secret of, including the well-known Respect Yourself. A commitment that will forge Mavis Staples and that she will keep throughout her career.

      1970

      The singer goes solo

      A year after the death of the man who had become her friend, Mavis Staples, heartbroken, decides to go solo. In 1970, her shocking album Only for the Lonely and its title track, Live without You, exorcised her trauma. She was already the lead singer of the band formed with her father, guitarist Pops, and her siblings, and was an immediate success.

      2007

      A success that awaits the value of the years

      The singer continues to make albums as she gets older, reaping more or less artistic recognition depending on the times she goes through. But the 2000s will reveal her again through the sumptuous albums We Never Turn Back (2007), which reinvents the gospel classics, or the critically acclaimed One True Vine (2013). Far from the disco or rock experiments, she then returns to her origins and the protest songs that are dear to her.

      2019

      Ben Harper, as a matter of course

      In 2019, two years after the nugget If All I Was Was Black, Ben Harper, with whom Mavis Staples had already collaborated in 2016, produced his latest album We Get By. It brings a militant and hopeful tone that suits the singer perfectly in an America that finds itself once again torn apart by a president that the artist does not really carry in her heart. At over 80 years of age, she has certainly not finished her commitment!

      Testimonials

      • The fans speak
      • The inside view
      • Seen in the press

        Great concert! A little piece of woman who really sends a lot of weight, and even more so when you know her history and her commitments. The rhythm is millimetric and Mavis Staples, despite her age, has lost nothing of her vocal power and energy. I'm really happy to have attended this great moment of soul, far too rare in France! 

        Anna, after a concert at La Cigale

        Mavis Staples is a monument to American soul as well as a civil rights figurehead, whom she defended alongside Martin Luther King. We are especially honored to accompany this legend with her warm voice. With more than 60 years of career behind her, she is still brimming with energy and joy when she takes the stage. A great lady who does good!

        Marthin Luther King was his guide. With her golden voice, she has for decades sung the misfortune of black Americans with unbroken rage and energy. The great lady of soul delivers a sublime album, written and produced by Ben Harper. 
         
        Believing in the impossible, never taking herself too seriously or believing that the best is yet to come, after all she has done it all her life. Singer, "messenger" of hope in defiance of the cruellest realities, this has always been the mission of this exceptional vocalist, "the incarnation of soul", in the words of Prince. 

        Télérama - The JDD

      Archives

      2019
      1 concert
      • 05 Jul
        Paris
        La Cigale
      See more
      Book now
      gérard drouot productions uses cookies on this website. With your approval, we will use them to mesure and analyse your visit on the website (statistic cookies) to adapt it to your interests (customized cookies) and to provide you with relevant information (third party cookies). Customize

Artistes
    Événements
      FR
      EN
      Mavis Staples

      Mavis Staples

      La soul a sa combattante
      Ecouter
      • Tournée
      • À propos
      • Les faits marquants
      • Témoignages
      • Archives

      Tournée

      • 2022 1 concert
      • mercredi
        08
        juin 2022
        PARIS
        Réserver
      Voir l'agenda

      À propos

      À propos

      Il y a tant à dire sur Mavis Staples. Avec son mètre cinquante-trois, c’est un petit bout de femme à l’envergure impressionnante et à la voix d’or. C’est une trajectoire hors du commun, l’engagement d’une vie pour les droits civiques et une carrière musicale de plus de 60 ans aux côtés des plus grands artistes de la planète sans jamais s’essouffler.

       

      La voix profonde, rauque et pleine de vie, Mavis Staples réveille en nous des émotions enfouies et donne de l’énergie comme personne. Et lorsqu’elle chante sa soul ou son gospel, tout en vibes, on dirait que Dieu lui-même s’arrête un instant pour l’écouter. Celle qui a commencé aux côtés de son père et de ses sœurs a fait du chemin. En s’émancipant de sa famille, elle a collaboré avec les plus grands producteurs et artistes de ce monde. Prince, Curtis Mayfield, Ry Cooder et même Bob Dylan, dont elle s’est payée le luxe de refuser la demande en mariage, pas impressionnée par la renommée du chanteur. 

       

      Parce que oui, depuis ses débuts et encore plus en prenant de l’âge, la chanteuse sait ce qu’elle veut. Dans la pure tradition soul, chanter l’Amour et l’espoir, encore et encore, voilà sa mission. Il faut dire qu’elle a appris du meilleur : Martin Luther King était son ami et l’a faite grandir sur le chemin de la défense des droits civiques aux États-Unis. Le combat d’une vie pour la chanteuse qui ouvrait les meetings du Docteur avec son répertoire de freedom songs, pour donner du soutien à la population noire, alors en lutte contre la ségrégation raciale.

       

      Et si cette dernière est heureusement tombée, la bataille ne s’est pas arrêtée pour l’infatigable activiste. Après son immense succès dans les années 60 et 70, elle a retrouvé un second souffle dans les années 2000, livrant récemment un de ses meilleurs albums, rempli de protest songs sur le sort réservé aux afro-américains dans l’Amérique de Trump.

      Les faits marquants

      1960
      Rencontre avec le King

      Rencontre avec le King

      Au début des années 60, toute la famille Staples assiste à l’office de Martin Luther King. Déjà engagés dans la défense des droits civiques, le coup de foudre est immédiat entre les Staples Singers et le pasteur. A partir de là, le groupe de gospel qui tire déjà sur la soul et le funk l’accompagnera, ouvrant ses meetings avec les freedoms songs dont ils ont le secret, dont la très connue Respect Yourself. Un engagement qui forgera Mavis Staples et qu’elle conservera tout au long de sa carrière.

      1970
      La chanteuse se lance solo

      La chanteuse se lance solo

      Un an après la mort de celui qui était devenu son ami, Mavis Staples, le cœur brisé, décide de se lancer en solo. En 1970, son album bouleversant Only for the Lonely et son titre-phare, Live without You exorcise son traumatisme. Elle qui était déjà la chanteuse-phare du groupe formé avec son père, le guitariste Pops, et sa fratrie, connaît un succès immédiat.

      2007
      Un succès qui attend la valeur des années

      Un succès qui attend la valeur des années

      La chanteuse enchaîne les albums au fur et à mesure qu’elle prend de l’âge, récoltant plus ou moins de reconnaissance artistique selon les époques qu’elle traverse. Mais les années 2000 la révèleront de nouveau à travers les somptueux albums We Never Turn Back (2007), qui réinvente les classiques du gospel ou One True Vine (2013), encensé par la critique. Loin des expérimentations disco ou rock, elle revient alors à ses origines et aux protests songs qui lui sont chères.

      2019
      Ben Harper, comme une évidence

      Ben Harper, comme une évidence

      En 2019, deux ans après la pépite If All I Was Was Black, c’est Ben Harper, avec qui Mavis Staples avait déjà collaboré en 2016 qui produit son dernier album We Get By. Il lui apporte un ton militant et plein d’espoir qui sied à merveille à la chanteuse dans une Amérique qui se retrouve encore une fois déchirée par un président que l’artiste ne porte pas vraiment dans son cœur. A plus de 80 ans, cette dernière n’a certainement pas fini de s’engager !

      Témoignages

      • Le mot du spectateur
      • Notre équipe en parle
      • La presse en parle

        Superbe concert ! Un petit bout de femme qui envoie vraiment du lourd, et encore plus quand on connaît son histoire et ses engagements. Le rythme est millimétré et Mavis Staples, malgré son âge, n’a rien perdu de sa puissance vocale et de son énergie. Je suis vraiment contente d’avoir assisté à ce grand moment de soul, bien trop rare en France ! 

        Anna, après un concert à La Cigale

        Mavis Staples est un monument de la soul américaine autant qu’une figure de proue des droits civiques, qu’elle a défendus aux côtés de Martin Luther King. Nous sommes particulièrement honorés d’accompagner cette légende à la voix chaleureuse. Avec plus de 60 ans de carrière derrière elle, elle déborde encore d’énergie et de joie quand elle monte sur scène. Une grande dame qui fait du bien !

        Marthin Luther King était son guide. De sa voix d’or, elle chante depuis des décennies l’infortune des Noirs américains avec une rage et une énergie intactes. La grande dame de la soul livre un album sublime, écrit et produit par Ben Harper. 

         

        Croire à l'impossible, ne jamais se prendre trop au sérieux ni démordre que le meilleur reste à venir, après tout elle l'a fait toute sa vie. Chanteuse, "messagère" de l'espoir au défi des réalités les plus crues, cela a toujours été la mission de cette vocaliste d'exception, "l'incarnation de la soul", selon les mots de Prince. 

        Télérama - Le JDD

      Archives

      2019
      1 concert
      • 05 juil.
        Paris
        La Cigale
      Afficher plus
      Réserver
      gérard drouot productions utilise des cookies sur ce site. Avec votre consentement, nous les utiliserons pour mesurer et analyser l'utilisation du site (cookies analytiques), pour l'adapter à vos intérêts (cookies de personnalisation) et pour vous présenter des publicités et des informations pertinentes (cookies de ciblage). Gérer les cookies