Artists
    Events
      EN
      FR
      Frank Turner

      Frank Turner

      When the punk settles down
      Ecouter
      • Tour
      • About
      • Highlights
      • Testimonials
      • Archives

      Tour

      There is yet no show to display

      About

      About

      Frank Turner has already had several lives. Who would have thought that this banker's son, grandson of Sir, born in Barhein and living next to Prince William at the prestigious Eton College, would end up on the road to play a folk tinged with nostalgia? No one would have put a piece on this trajectory and yet it was music that young Frank clung to.
       


      With a rebellious soul, rage in his stomach and hair in the wind, he started his career with Million Dead, a post-hardcore band with explosive sounds. Screaming vocals against a background of saturated guitars, they enjoyed a small notoriety before exploding in flight, each chord having become a source of conflict. This is the moment Frank Turner chose to unplug the electricity. All he had left were his six strings and the will to soften his music.

       
      No return to his roots for him, he almost discovered folk music at the same time as he wrote it. Tinged with rock and punk, his albums with their melancholic accents are proof that the style is reinventing itself, far from the image of American singers wearing leather boots and jackets. But what Turner does not give up, faithful to his values and the rage of his beginnings, is his strength of protest, his willingness to be a witness to a changing era. Between sensitive folk and devastating rock, he evokes the artist's loneliness, the impoverishment of England, homesickness and the need to escape.
       


      Always on the edge, his songs instantly make you want to follow him on the road he loves like an old friend you can't get rid of. With more than 2,000 concerts, he himself admits: "there is an unresolved conflict between my homesickness and my thirst for travel [...] I am very happy when I get home, and a week later I want to get back on the road". What is certain is that we will be hearing for a long time to come his claims and his refrains that some people tattoo in their skin.

      Highlights

      2006

      Frank Turner takes his guitar and leaves !

      After five years with the band Million Dead, the band splits up with a bang and Frank Turner leaves alone, guitar slung over his shoulder. He was already playing folk music as a side project and decided to go full time. The following year, in 2007, he released his first album, Sleep is for the Week, which was very well received by the critics who didn't necessarily expect him in this genre.
       

      2011

      At the top of folklore, the Olympic Games

      The artist has made a series of albums and concerts to bring his folk music to the four corners of the world. In 2011, he will release the very good England Keep my Bones, an album which "sees him reach the top of his art" according to the Inrocks and which will rank 12th in Great Britain when it is released. The following year, the artist is consecrated. He performed at the opening pre-ceremony of the London Olympics.

      2017

      On the roads of Sierra Leone

      The artist is on the road to Africa, but this time it is not for a series of concerts. With a keen awareness of the world around him, he sets off with the Joe Strummer Foundation to raise funds to open a music studio in Freetown and encourage young people to turn to this art in a country where 50,000 of them live on the streets. He also recorded some tracks there.

      2019

      An album without men

      Two years later, we find this militant commitment in the form of a concept album, No Man's Land. It tells the story of the famous women in history in song, with each title attached to a podcast. For the first one, it welcomes Emily Barker to evoke the career of Sister Rosetta Tharpe who strongly influenced rock music.

      Testimonials

      • The fans speak
      • The inside view
      • Seen in the press

        Frank Turner invites us on a musical stroll through the English countryside, where the fog of folk meets the intrepid wind of punk. It makes you want to follow him against all odds, to finally settle down beside him and hear him play at the counter of an old pub. In short, it was a great concert ! 

        Justine, after a concert in Paris

        Frank Turner switched from electric to acoustic and it was probably the best decision of his life. He takes us on a stroll through his folk universe where we also find the punk and rock influences that rocked his youth. His albums are nuggets that are still too confidential and his concerts, although too rare on our side of the Channel, deliver a dose of energy and commitment that is addictive ! 

        Of these tattooed neo-songwriters, the Englishman Frank Turner is undoubtedly the most exciting, as in the space of two albums following the demise of Million Dead he has given birth to some of the most authentic and intoxicating melodies there is. [...] A career, above all, where posing and jack-in-the-box are not allowed to stay and which can be summed up in the feverish refrain of the Photosynthesis manifesto: "I refuse to sit down. I refuse to shut up. But most of all, I refuse to grow up." 

        The Inrocks

      Archives

      2022
      1 concert
      • 27 Apr
        LE TRABENDO (PARC DE LA VILLETTE)
        PARIS
      2018
      1 concert
      • 07 Nov
        Paris
        Le Trabendo
      See more
      gérard drouot productions uses cookies on this website. With your approval, we will use them to mesure and analyse your visit on the website (statistic cookies) to adapt it to your interests (customized cookies) and to provide you with relevant information (third party cookies). Customize

Artistes
    Événements
      FR
      EN

      Frank Turner and the Sleeping Souls France

      Quand le punk s’assagit
      Ecouter
      • Tournée
      • A Propos
      • Les faits marquants
      • Témoignages
      • Archives

      Tournée

      Aucune date prévue

      A Propos

      A Propos

      Frank Turner a déjà eu plusieurs vies. Qui aurait cru que ce fils de banquier, petit-fils de Sir né à Barheïn et côtoyant le prince William au prestigieux collège Eton, finirait par prendre la route pour jouer un folk teinté de nostalgie ? Personne n’aurait mis une pièce sur cette trajectoire et pourtant, c’est bien à la musique que le jeune Frank s’est accroché.

       

      L’âme rebelle, la rage au ventre et les cheveux au vent, il a commencé sa carrière avec Million Dead, groupe de post-hardcore aux sonorités explosives. Voix criarde sur fond de guitares saturées, ils ont connu une petite notoriété avant d’exploser en vol, chaque accord étant devenu source de conflit. C’est le moment qu’a choisi Frank Turner pour débrancher l’électricité. Ne lui restait alors que ses six cordes et la volonté d’assagir sa musique.

       

      Pas de retour aux sources pour lui, il découvre presque le folk en même temps qu’il l’écrit. Teintés de rock et de punk, ses albums aux accents mélancoliques sont la preuve que le style se réinvente, loin de l’image des chanteurs américains portant santiags et vestons en cuir. Mais ce que Turner n’abandonne pas, fidèle à ses valeurs et à la rage de ses débuts, c’est sa force de protestation, sa volonté d’être le témoin d’une époque qui change. Entre folk sensible et rock ravageur, il évoque la solitude de l’artiste, la paupérisation de l’Angleterre, le mal du pays et le besoin de s’évader.

       

      Toujours sur le fil, ses chansons donnent instantanément envie de le suivre sur la route qu’il affectionne comme une vieille camarade dont on ne se défait pas. Avec plus de 2000 concerts, il reconnaît lui-même : « il y a un conflit non résolu entre mon mal du pays et ma soif de voyages […] Je suis très content quand je rentre, et une semaine plus tard j’ai envie de reprendre la route ». Ce qui est certain, c’est que nous allons entendre encore pour longtemps ses titres revendicatifs et ses refrains que certains se tatouent sur la peau.

      Les faits marquants

      2006

      Frank Turner prend sa guitare et s’en va !

      Après cinq ans passés avec le groupe Million Dead, le groupe se sépare avec fracas et Frank Turner part seul, guitare en bandoulière. Il jouait déjà du folk en side project et décide de se lancer à temps plein. Il sort l’année suivante, en 2007, son premier album, Sleep is for the Week, accueilli très positivement par les critiques qui ne l’attendaient pas forcément dans ce genre.

      2011

      Au top de la folk, les Jeux Olympiques

      L’artiste enchaîne les albums et les concerts pour porter son folk que l’on se ne se lasse pas d’écouter aux quatre coins de la planète. Il sort en 2011 le très bon England Keep my Bones, un album qui le « voit atteindre le sommet de son art » selon les Inrocks et qui se classera 12ème en Grande-Bretagne lors de sa sortie. L’année suivante, l’artiste est consacré. Il se produit lors de la pré-cérémonie d’ouverture des Jeux Olympiques de Londres.

      2017

      Sur les routes de la Sierra Leone

      L’artiste prend la route pour l’Afrique, mais cette fois, ce n’est pas pour une série de concerts. Avec une conscience aigüe du monde qui l’entoure, il part avec la fondation Joe Strummer pour collecter des fonds afin d’ouvrir un studio de musique à Freetown et d’encourager les jeunes à se tourner vers cet art dans un pays où 50 000 d’entre eux vivent dans la rue. Il enregistra d’ailleurs certains titres là-bas.

      2019

      Un album sans hommes

      Deux ans plus tard, on retrouve cet engagement militant sous la forme d’un album-concept, No Man’s Land. Il raconte en chanson les femmes célèbres de l’histoire, chaque titre étant accolé à un podcast. Pour le premier, il accueille Emily Barker pour évoquer le parcours de Sœur Rosetta Tharpe qui a fortement influencé la musique rock.

      Témoignages

      • Le mot du spectateur
      • Notre équipe en parle
      • La presse en parle

        Frank Turner nous invite en musique à une balade dans les contrées anglaises, où le brouillard du folk rencontrerait le vent intrépide du punk. Il donne envie de le suivre contre vents et marées pour finalement s’installer à ses côtés et l’entendre jouer au comptoir d’un vieux pub. Bref, c’était un super concert ! 

        Justine, après un concert à Paris

        Frank Turner a troqué l’électrique pour l’acoustique et cela a sans doute été la meilleure décision de sa vie. Il nous emmène en balade dans son univers folk où l’on retrouve aussi les influences punk et rock qui ont bercé sa jeunesse. Ses albums sont des pépites encore trop confidentielles et ses concerts, bien que trop rares de notre côté de la Manche, délivrent une dose d’énergie et d’engagement qui rend accro ! 

        De ces néo-songwriters tatoués, l’anglais Frank Turner est sans doute le plus passionnant, lui qui en l’espace de deux albums postérieurs au trépas de Million Dead a accouché de mélodies parmi les plus authentiques et enivrantes qui soient. […] Une carrière, surtout, où la pose et la cagnardise n’ont pas droit de séjour et que l’on résumera par le refrain fiévreux du manifeste Photosynthesis : “Je refuse de m'asseoir. Je refuse de la fermer. Mais plus que tout, je refuse de grandir.” 

        Les Inrocks

      Archives

      2018
      1 concert
      • 07 nov.
        Paris
        Le Trabendo
      Afficher plus
      gérard drouot productions utilise des cookies sur ce site. Avec votre consentement, nous les utiliserons pour mesurer et analyser l'utilisation du site (cookies analytiques), pour l'adapter à vos intérêts (cookies de personnalisation) et pour vous présenter des publicités et des informations pertinentes (cookies de ciblage). Gérer les cookies