Artists
    Events
      EN
      FR
      The Who

      The Who

      The most agitated group
      Ecouter
      • Tour
      • About
      • Highlights
      • Testimonials
      • Archives

      Tour

      There is yet no show to display

      About

      About
      Copyright Pierre Hennequin

      The conquerors of the British Invasion will play to the death. They have always affirmed this, as a promise that has no name but the love of rock and the explosive energy of the stage. The Who always wants to fight. Ready for the blast?


      They smashed electric guitars and mistreated the drums. The Who is an insolent rage, a reflection of a carefree era where stories were told, body and soul, with grandeur and panache. Like wild racing cars, destroying everything in their path, until they ruin themselves, the eternal kids of London have given voice to a whole generation. They have massacred the codes, shocked the housewife and, above all, written a legend that spares no music lover.


      Yes, The Who is a state of mind, where scandals, dramas and coups d'éclat combine to give birth to hits that travel through time. For even today, when the insatiable Roger Daltrey and the intrepid Pete Townshend take to the stage, the sounds of yesterday seem so modern as to fall to the ground. Little has changed. With each appearance, the group, even when it is split in half, sparks fly. It's a deluge of sound, and if the wrinkles have appeared, it's only to wrap with a hint of wisdom the ardour of these restless young contemporaries, ready to heat up the stage with a punk and slingshot flame.


      Here resounds the acrimony of the sixties. Then, without nostalgia, the memories of a bygone era come back, where freedom overthrew conventions, where morals evolved endlessly, where the forbidden was synonymous only with transgression. Perfect alchemy, oversized egos, walls of amps Marshall: The Who took the queens of an entire kingdom. For a long time they pulled the strings of unbridled rock'n'roll, thundering political correctness with flashes of genius and a shower of raging poetry. It is this mad frenzy that the two survivors, supported by the excellent Zak Starkey, son of Ringo Starr, continue to tell the story.

      Highlights

      1965

      The kids of London

      Nobody plays rock like The Who. London's rebellious kids smash guitars, smash drums, smash amps. On stage, it's chaos. So when the band appears on the Ready Steady Go! TV show, a whole country stops breathing. The single I Can't Explain, released a few weeks earlier, reached the top of the charts. Then came My Generation!

      1968

      Tommy, the first rock opera

      The Who has it in their veins: the band wants to leave its mark on the history of popular music. The audacious English decided to create a rock opera, Tommy, which tells the story of a young deaf, dumb and blind kid who has become a pinball ace. The performance, unheard of at the time, left its mark on the minds of the entire world. It's a slap in the face, explosive, rebellious and carefree! The charts are on fire.

      1973

      The records of a rebellious generation

      The Who's reputation is made on stage. Each of the band's appearances was a violent thunderbolt in the rock'n'roll sky, as witnessed by the 1969 Woodstock crowd. But they also asserted themselves in the studio. His albums received the acclaim of an entire generation, who were overwhelmed by this explosion of rebellious anger. Two years after the huge success of Who's Next, the band presented Quadrophenia, their second rock opera, which went down in history.

      1978

      Keith Moon's last breath

      Flirting too much with the white line, The Who begins to twist: Keith Moon, eccentric and self-destructive drummer, will unfortunately not survive the excesses of the London band. He dies by overdose, leaving the rock to go on without him. Nothing will be the same as before, and the band finally split up a few years later, in 1982, despite the success of the magnificent record Who Are You.

      2006

      A new record, long after

      Without John Entwistle, found dead in a hotel room in 2002, Roger Daltrey and Pete Townshend head for the studios: they have a new record to record. It's done: The Who are back, for good, with Endless Wire, their new album. Widely acclaimed by critics and lifelong fans, the work marks the beginning of a new chapter for British heroes.

      2019

      Half a century and still wings

      The Who is still going strong. They give good memories to the carefree ones of yesterday, and continue to seduce the younger ones. So, when the band announces the release of a new record, they push themselves to the gate to listen to the masterpiece. Once again, fans and critics alike are not disappointed. The Who holds its own. "A committed record, a reflection of tormented times," Rolling Stone magazine commented.

      Testimonials

      • The fans speak
      • The inside view
      • Seen in the press

        This is the concert you've been waiting for your whole life. It was pure genius! They didn't get a wrinkle. The Who were there and put on a great show! Pete is flamboyant, Roger keeps this incredible presence. And I would also like to underline the excellent performance of Starkey, son of Ringo Starr, who honours the memory of Keith Moon.  

        Sylvain, after a concert in Paris

        Pete Townshend was the first to break his guitar on stage in 1964. This act of anger was initially completely uncalculated. It gives you an idea of the state of mind of The Who: a rebellious and over-excited quartet, ready to smash everything in its path. So to have the good fortune, more than half a century later, to see them back on stage, still with crazy energy, is almost a miracle.

        More than half a century after their formation, only a duo of the original quartet remains. But the survivors are still in a rage and scream that they are not ready to be wise. Pete Townshend is even willing to smash his guitar on stage if it's for a charity sale.
         
        It's the album we hadn't expected from one of the last rock legends. Seventy-something granddads Roger Daltrey and Pete Townshend come back inspired, committed, even enraged. They even give one hell of a rock'n'roll and youthfulness lesson to their many heirs. 

        Le Point - Le Parisien, after the release of the album Who (2019)

      Archives

      2016
      1 concert
      • 14 Jun
        Toulouse
        Zénith Toulouse Métropole
      2015
      1 concert
      • 28 Jun
        Paris
        Le Zénith
      2013
      1 concert
      • 03 Jul
        Paris
        Accor Arena
      2006
      2 concerts
      • 17 Jul
        Vienne
        Festival Côte du Rock
      • 18 Jul
        Amneville
        Le Galaxie
      See more
      gérard drouot productions uses cookies on this website. With your approval, we will use them to mesure and analyse your visit on the website (statistic cookies) to adapt it to your interests (customized cookies) and to provide you with relevant information (third party cookies). Customize

Artistes
    Événements
      FR
      EN
      The Who

      The Who

      Le plus agité des groupes
      Ecouter
      • Tournée
      • A Propos
      • Les faits marquants
      • Témoignages
      • Les faits marquants

      Tournée

      Aucune date prévue

      A Propos

      A Propos
      Copyright Pierre Hennequin

      Les conquérants de la British Invasion joueront jusqu’à la mort. Ils l’ont toujours affirmé, comme une promesse qui n’a de nom que l’amour du rock et l’énergie explosive de la scène. The Who a toujours envie d’en découdre. Prêt pour la déflagration ?

       

      Ils ont fracassé des guitares électriques et maltraité la batterie. The Who est une rage insolente, reflet d’une époque insouciante où les histoires se racontaient, corps et âme, avec grandeur et panache. Comme des bolides sauvages, qui détruisent tout sur leur passage, jusqu’à s’abîmer eux-mêmes, les éternels kids de Londres ont donné de la voix à toute une génération. Ils ont massacré les codes, choqué la ménagère et, surtout, écrit une légende qui n’épargne aucun mélomane.

       

      Oui, The Who est un état d’esprit, où les scandales, les drames et les coups d’éclat se conjuguent pour donner naissance à des tubes qui traversent le temps. Car aujourd’hui encore, quand l’insatiable Roger Daltrey et l’intrépide Pete Townshend montent sur scène, les sons d’hier paraissent d’une modernité à tomber par terre. Peu de choses ont changé. À chaque apparition, le groupe, même divisé de moitié, fait des étincelles. C’est un déluge sonore, et si les rides sont apparues, c’est uniquement pour envelopper d’un soupçon de sagesse la fougue de ces jeunes contemporains agités, prêts à chauffer la scène d’une flamme punk et frondeuse.

       

      Ici résonne la hargne des sixties. Reviennent alors, sans nostalgie, les souvenirs d’une époque révolue, où la liberté terrassait les conventions, où les mœurs évoluaient à n’en plus finir, où l’interdit n’avait de synonyme que la transgression. Alchimie parfaite, égos surdimensionnés, murs d’amplis Marshall : The Who prenaient les reines de tout un royaume. Ils ont ainsi longtemps tiré les ficelles d’un rock’n’roll déchainé, foudroyant le politiquement correct avec des éclairs de génie et une pluie de poésie enragée. C’est donc cette folle frénésie que les deux survivants, épaulés par l’excellent Zak Starkey, fils de Ringo Starr, continuent de raconter.

      Les faits marquants

      1965
      Copyright Pierre Hennequin

      Les kids de Londres

      Personne ne joue du rock comme The Who. Les kids rebelles de Londres brisent les guitares, fracassent les batteries, pulvérisent les amplis. Sur scène, c’est le chaos. Alors, quand le groupe se présente sur les planches de l’émission de télévision Ready Steady Go!, tout un pays s’arrête de respirer. Dans la foulée, le single I Can’t Explain, sorti quelques semaines auparavant, culmine en haut des charts. Viendra ensuite My Generation !

      1968

      Tommy, le premier opéra-rock

      The Who a ça dans les veines : le groupe veut marquer de son empreinte l’histoire de la musique populaire. Les audacieux anglais décident alors de créer un opéra rock, Tommy, qui raconte l’histoire d’un jeune kid sourd, muet et aveugle devenu un as du flipper. La performance, inédite pour l’époque, marque les esprits du monde entier. C’est une claque, explosive, rebelle et insouciante ! Les charts s’enflamment.

      1973
      Les disques d’une génération rebelle

      Les disques d’une génération rebelle

      La réputation des Who se fait sur scène. Chacune des apparitions du groupe est un violent coup de tonnerre dans le ciel du rock’n’roll, comme en témoignent la foule de Woodstock en 1969. Mais il s’affirme aussi en studio. Ses albums reçoivent d’ailleurs les acclamations de toute une génération survoltée devant cette explosion de colère rebelle. Deux ans après l’énorme succès de Who’s Next, le groupe présente alors Quadrophenia, son deuxième opéra-rock, qui entrera dans la légende.

      1978
      Copyright Pierre Hennequin

      Le dernier souffle de Keith Moon

      À trop flirter avec la ligne blanche, The Who commence à vriller : Keith Moon, batteur excentrique et autodestructeur, ne survivra malheureusement pas aux excès de la bande londonienne. Il décède par overdose, laissant le rock filer sans lui. Rien ne sera plus comme avant, et le groupe finira par se séparer quelques années plus tard, en 1982, malgré le succès du magnifique disque Who Are You.

      2006
      Un nouveau disque, très longtemps après
      Copyright Pierre Hennequin

      Un nouveau disque, très longtemps après

      Sans John Entwistle, retrouvé mort dans une chambre d’hôtel en 2002, Roger Daltrey et Pete Townshend prennent route vers les studios : ils ont un nouveau disque à enregistrer. C’est fait : The Who are back, pour de bon, avec Endless Wire, leur nouvel album. Amplement salué par la critique et les fans de toujours, l’œuvre marque ainsi le début d’un nouveau chapitre pour les héros britanniques.

      2019
      Un demi-siècle et toujours des ailes

      Un demi-siècle et toujours des ailes

      The Who a toujours autant la pêche. Ils donnent de bons souvenirs aux insouciants d’hier, et continuent de séduire les plus jeunes. Alors, quand le groupe annonce la sortie d’un nouveau disque, ça se pousse au portillon pour écouter le chef d’œuvre. Encore une fois, fans et critiques ne sont pas déçus. The Who tient son rang. « Un disque engagé, reflet d’une époque tourmentée », commentera le magazine Rolling Stone.

      Témoignages

      • Le mot du spectateur
      • Notre équipe en parle
      • La presse en parle

        C’est le concert qu’on attend toute une vie. C’était purement génial ! Ils n’ont pas pris une ride. The Who étaient bien au rendez-vous et ont assuré le show ! Pete est flamboyant, Roger garde cette incroyable prestance. Et je tiens aussi à souligner l’excellente performance de Starkey, fils de Ringo Starr, qui fait honneur à la mémoire de Keith Moon.  

        Sylvain, après un concert à Paris

        Pete Townshend a été le premier à briser sa guitare sur scène, en 1964. Cet acte de colère n’était au départ absolument pas calculé. Cela vous donne une idée de l’état d’esprit des Who : un quatuor rebelle et survolté, prêt à tout casser sur son passage. Alors, avoir la chance, plus d’un demi-siècle après, de voir ces monuments se présenter à nouveau sur scène, toujours avec une folle énergie, tient presque du miracle.

        Plus d’un demi-siècle après leur formation, il ne reste qu'un duo du quatuor original. Mais les survivants ont toujours autant la rage et hurlent qu'ils ne sont pas prêts à devenir sages. Pete Townshend est même prêt à fracasser sa guitare sur scène si c'est pour une vente de charité. 

         

        C'est l'album qu'on n'espérait plus d'une des dernières légendes du rock. Les papys septuagénaires Roger Daltrey et Pete Townshend reviennent inspirés, engagés, voire enragés. Ils donnent même une sacrée leçon de rock'n'roll et de jeunesse à leurs multiples héritiers. 

         

        Le Point - Le Parisien, après la sortie du disque Who (2019)

      Les faits marquants

      2016
      1 concert
      • 14 juin
        Toulouse
        Zénith Toulouse Métropole
      2015
      1 concert
      • 28 juin
        Paris
        Le Zénith
      2013
      1 concert
      • 03 juil.
        Paris
        Accor Arena
      2006
      2 concerts
      • 17 juil.
        Vienne
        Festival Côte du Rock
      • 18 juil.
        Amneville
        Le Galaxie
      Afficher plus
      gérard drouot productions utilise des cookies sur ce site. Avec votre consentement, nous les utiliserons pour mesurer et analyser l'utilisation du site (cookies analytiques), pour l'adapter à vos intérêts (cookies de personnalisation) et pour vous présenter des publicités et des informations pertinentes (cookies de ciblage). Gérer les cookies