Artists
    Events
      EN
      FR
      The Very Best of John Williams

      The Very Best of John Williams

      The greatest classics of the legendary composer
      Ecouter
      • Tournée
      • About
      • Archives

      Tournée

      • 2022 5 concerts
      • Best Seats
        Saturday
        08
        October 2022
        LILLE
        Book your seats
      • Best Seats
        Sunday
        09
        October 2022
        TOURS
        Book your seats
      • Report
        Monday
        10
        October 2022
        LYON
        Book your seats
      • Best Seats
        Tuesday
        11
        October 2022
        STRASBOURG
        Book your seats
      • Best Seats
        Wednesday
        12
        October 2022
        BOULOGNE-BILLANCOURT
        Book your seats
      See program

      About

      About

      You probably remember movie themes such as Star Wars, Harry Potter, E.T., Jaws, Jurrassic Park or Indiana Jones? Only one name for so many blockbusters: John Williams. With more than 100 nominations worldwide, he is the second most nominated person at the Oscars behind Walt Disney. Thanks to his numerous collaborations with the greatest directors such as Steven Spielberg or George Lucas, John Williams is the most titled film composer of all time: 5 Oscars, 4 Golden Globes and 24 Grammys. Let's not forget that Williams has also composed numerous classical music works for the greatest orchestras. For example, a Horn Concerto for Dale Clevenger and the Chicago Symphony Orchestra, a Cello Concerto for Yo-Yo Ma and the Boston Symphony Orchestra or a Bassoon Concerto for the 150th anniversary of the New York Philharmonic.

       


      Son of a percussionist, John Williams started playing trumpet, piano and trombone at a very early age. He later attended UCLA (Los Angeles) and learned composition from Mario Castelnuovo-Tedesco. Initially drawn to jazz, he orchestrated his own piano compositions. During his three years of service in the US Air Force, he tried his hand at conducting, and then perfected his piano skills with Rosina Lhevinne at the Juilliard School. Afterwards, he established himself as a pianist-arranger in Hollywood, where he met the film world and worked with composers such as Alfred Newman, Bernard Herrmann and Franz Waxman.

       

      His career as a composer developed in the 1960s, he was solicited by television while writing more classical works. From the 1970s onwards, John Williams composed works for successful films, starting with "The Fiddler on the Roof" (for which he won his first Oscar) and "The Towering Inferno", and met with the success we know today.

       

      We invite you to rediscover the greatest masterpieces of this incomparable composer, whose career spans over half a century of cinema! For this show, conductor and composer Matthias G. Kendlinger and his K & K Philharmonic Orchestra "Made in Austria" will take you on a journey into the fascinating world of John Williams' genius. Fly through space at the speed of light, dive into the depths of the sea and let yourself be enchanted by the magic of this timeless music. Various and sensitive lighting concepts will highlight the artists' performance and make the music shine. Concert goers can expect a captivating, emotional and powerful concert. Not to be missed!

      Archives

      There is currently no show
      Book now
      gérard drouot productions uses cookies on this website. With your approval, we will use them to mesure and analyse your visit on the website (statistic cookies) to adapt it to your interests (customized cookies) and to provide you with relevant information (third party cookies). Customize

Artistes
    Événements
      FR
      EN

      The Very Best of John Williams

      Les plus grands classiques du compositeur légendaire
      • Tournée
      • À propos

      Tournée

      • 2021 2 concerts
      • Forte demande
        mercredi
        03
        novembre 2021
        PARIS
        Réserver
      • Forte demande
        jeudi
        04
        novembre 2021
        LYON
        Réserver
      Voir l'agenda

      À propos

      À propos

      Vous vous souvenez sans doute de thèmes de films tels que Star Wars, Harry Potter, E.T., Les Dents de la Mer, Jurrassic Park ou encore Indiana Jones ? Un seul nom pour autant de blockbusters : John Williams. Avec plus de 100 nominations dans le monde, il est la deuxième personne la plus nommée aux Oscars derrière Walt Disney. Grâce à ses nombreuses collaborations avec les plus grands réalisateurs tels que Steven Spielberg ou George Lucas, John Williams est le compositeur de film le plus titré de tous les temps : 5 Oscars, 4 Golden Globes et 24 Grammys. N’oublions pas également que Williams a composé également de nombreuses œuvres de musique classique pour les plus grands orchestres. Par exemple, un Concerto pour cor pour Dale Clevenger et l'Orchestre symphonique de Chicago, un Concerto pour violoncelle pour Yo-Yo Ma et l'Orchestre symphonique de Boston ou encore un Concerto pour basson pour les 150 ans de l'Orchestre philharmonique de New York.

       

      Fils d’un percussionniste, John Williams pratique très tôt la trompette, le piano et le trombone. Il est par la suite élève à l’UCLA (Los Angeles) et apprend la composition auprès de Mario Castelnuovo-Tedesco. Ayant tout d’abord un attrait pour le jazz, il orchestre ses propres compositions pour piano. Durant ses trois années de service à l’US Air Force il s’essaie à la direction d’orchestre, puis il se perfectionne en piano avec Rosina Lhevinne à la Juilliard School. Par la suite, il s’établit comme pianiste arrangeur à Hollywood et rencontre le monde cinématographique et côtoie des compositeurs comme Alfred Newman, Bernard Herrmann  ou Franz Waxman.

       

      Sa carrière de compositeur se développe dans les années 1960, il est sollicité par la télévision tout en écrivant des oeuvres plus classiques. A partir des années 1970, John Williams composera des œuvres pour des films à succès, à commencer par « Le Violon sur le toit » (pour lequel il gagnera son premier Oscar) et « La Tour Infernale », et rencontrera le succès qu’on lui connaît aujourd’hui.

       

      Nous vous proposons de redécouvrir les plus grands chefs-d’œuvre de ce compositeur inégalable, qui affiche une carrière couvrant plus d’un demi-siècle de cinéma ! Pour ce spectacle, le chef d’orchestre et compositeur Matthias G. Kendlinger et son orchestre Philharmonique K & K « Made in Austria », vous feront voyager dans l’univers fascinant du génie de John Williams. Volez dans l’espace à la vitesse de la lumière, plongez dans les profondeurs des mers et laissez-vous envoûter par la magie de cette musique intemporelle. Des concepts d’éclairage variés et sensibles souligneront la performance des artistes et feront briller la musique. Les visiteurs du concert peuvent s’attendre à un concert captivant, émotionnel et puissant. A ne pas louper !

      Réserver
      gérard drouot productions utilise des cookies sur ce site. Avec votre consentement, nous les utiliserons pour mesurer et analyser l'utilisation du site (cookies analytiques), pour l'adapter à vos intérêts (cookies de personnalisation) et pour vous présenter des publicités et des informations pertinentes (cookies de ciblage). Gérer les cookies