Artists
    Events
      EN
      FR
      The Beach Boys

      The Beach Boys

      On the beach of American rock
      Ecouter
      • Tour
      • About
      • Highlights
      • Testimonials
      • Archives

      Tour

      There is yet no show to display

      About

      About

      It smells like fine sand, blue waves and California sunshine. Because that's what the Beach Boys are like: they give a smile with their campfire anthems and their beach-goer look, Brian Wilson and Mike Love as beach-front sheet metal workers. 


      How many hands does it take to count the number of modern pop masterpieces sculpted by the Beach Boys? The question arises, so many these West Coast kids, now old wolves of a carefree generation, have put into orbit a new state of mind, based on surfboards, sunny good humour and holiday loves. Dandys from a time when brightly coloured shirts were de rigueur, they have overwhelmed the world with a wave of irresistible tubes that make you want to escape to the Californian coast.


      The Beach Boys are a call to party, to the heavenly celebration of youth and the glorification of innocence. They sing along to sweet melodies that quickly make them the main rivals of Paul McCartney and John Lennon's band, much more so than the Rolling Stones. There was a real duel where creative overkill was permanent. In short, a time that the under-sixties can't know, at least not from books and stacks of vinyl records that miraculously cracked.


      However, not everything was as rosy as it seemed. The good life of the sixties left its mark on this group, made up of three brothers, a cousin and a classmate. With a tyrannical father-manager, internal tensions, ego crises and excesses of all kinds, the flip side of the coin sometimes took its toll on the Beach Boys. Yet, if only time is the judge, The America's Band, as they are sometimes called, seems to have defeated even the wildest swells to impose its spirit with a touch of mysticism.

      Highlights

      1961

      A family story

      Three brothers, a cousin and Al Jardine, a classmate. A tyrannical father who imposes himself as a manager. The Beach Boys' scheme is a little quirk, which sometimes contrasts with the surf music and carefree melodies that these kids put into orbit. Never mind, as early as 1962, with the single Surfin', the band came out of the shadows. It's the first wave!

      1963

      Le grand boom des Beach Boys

      The Beach Boys are playing one record after another. In only a few months, thanks to a string of singles and to the very good Surf'in USA, which ranks second in national sales, the band seduces the US, but is swallowed up by the Beatles, who have just landed on American soil to swallow up Billboard. It is the beginning of a long and joyful battle at the top of the charts. In Europe, the Beach Boys are seen as the only ones able to compete with the British Armada.

      1967

      After glory, decline

      After crazy years, marked by successes beyond the scale of the humanly imaginable, notably with the single Good Vibrations and the album Pet Sounds, the Beach Boys are entering a dark part of their history. The following albums did not work out as hoped. Brian Wilson is in the background. It wasn't until 1972 that the band's interest was revived again.

      1988

      Back to the top of the poster

      This is the first time that a group has achieved this feat: to let 24 years go by between two number 1 sales figures in the United States. The Beach Boys have done it: with Kokomo, a song featured on the soundtrack of the film Cocktail, the group is back to success. However, the legal squabbles between Brian Wilson and Mike Love quickly tarnished this success.

      2012

      The return of the big buddies

      For the first time in a long time, the Beach Boys are back, almost in their entirety, after Carl Wilson passed away in the late 1980s. It's an event: the Californian heroes present That's Why God Made the Radio and return to the stage to get the world dancing with his lifelong hits.

      Testimonials

      • The fans speak
      • The inside view
      • Seen in the press

        The Beach Boys gave us a very good concert with an excellent sound. Besides, when you have such a musical heritage, it would be difficult to wallow, unless you don't have a voice or enthusiasm. But on this point, despite the weight of time, Mike Love and his acolytes have nothing to worry about. 

        Jean-Paul, after a concert in Brussels

        The Beach Boys' discography, which can be equated with that of the Beatles, is phenomenal. Moreover, it's not by chance that these two groups looked at each other like dogs at the time. But today, of the two, only one remains, because where Paul McCartney's band hasn't been for a long time, the Beach Boys still go on stage, and that's only happiness. Alone, they represent a long and beautiful time when we danced on these hits that make us feel good!

        No retreat for rock dads. They remain the custodians of that unique sound of Californian rock and that joyful yet harmonically ordered exuberance that characterizes the Beach Boys. For they are much more than a surf-music band, they are the only American band that has been able to compete creatively with the Beatles.  
         
        The Beach Boys are not only the presumed inventors of yacht rock. They are also and forever the archetype of the band that isn't who you think they are. Blame it on striped shirts, surfboards, tampered cars and blonde California girls. 

        Le Point - Télérama

      Archives

      2019
      2 concerts
      • 27 Jun
        Paris
        L'Olympia
      • 13 Jul
        Monte-Carlo
        Salle des Etoiles du Sporting Monte-Carlo
      2017
      2 concerts
      • 01 Jun
        Paris
        L'Olympia
      • 25 Jun
        Tilloloy
        Retro C Trop Festival
      2014
      1 concert
      • 21 Nov
        Paris
        L'Olympia
      2013
      1 concert
      • 08 Jul
        Paris
        L'Olympia
      1999
      1 concert
      • 29 Jun
        Paris
        Palais des Congrès
      See more
      gérard drouot productions uses cookies on this website. With your approval, we will use them to mesure and analyse your visit on the website (statistic cookies) to adapt it to your interests (customized cookies) and to provide you with relevant information (third party cookies). Customize

Artistes
    Événements
      FR
      EN
      The Beach Boys

      The Beach Boys

      Sur la plage du rock américain
      Ecouter
      • Tournée
      • À propos
      • Les faits marquants
      • Témoignages
      • Archives

      Tournée

      Aucune date prévue

      À propos

      À propos

      Ça sent bon le sable fin, les vagues bleues et le soleil de Californie. Car ils sont comme ça, les Beach Boys : ils donnent du smile avec leurs hymnes de feu de camp et leur allure de plagistes, Brian Wilson et Mike Love en tôliers du front de mer. 

       

      Combien faut-il de mains pour compter le nombre de chefs-d'œuvre de la pop moderne sculptés par les Beach Boys ? La question se pose, tant ces kids de la West Coast, désormais vieux loups d’une génération insouciante, ont mis sur orbite un état d’esprit nouveau, à base de planches de surf, de bonne humeur ensoleillée et d’amours de vacances. Dandys d’un temps, où les chemises aux couleurs criardes étaient de rigueur, ils ont submergé le monde avec une vague de tubes irrésistibles qui donnent des envies d’escapade sur les côtes californiennes.

       

      Les Beach Boys sont un appel à la fête, à la célébration paradisiaque de la jeunesse et à la glorification de l’innocence. Ça chante en chœur sur des mélodies douces qui les amènent à devenir rapidement les principaux rivaux de la bande de Paul McCartney et John Lennon, et ce bien plus que ne le furent les Rolling Stones. Là se trouvait un vrai duel où la surenchère créative était permanente. Bref, un temps que les moins de soixante ans ne peuvent pas connaître, en tout cas hors des livres et des piles de vinyles qui craquent miraculeusement bien.

       

      Pourtant, tout n’était pas aussi rose que les apparences. La belle vie des sixties a laissé des stigmates à ce groupe, composé de trois frères, d’un cousin et d’un camarade de classe. Avec un père-manager tyran, des tensions en interne, des crises d’égo et des excès en tout genre, le revers de la médaille a parfois mis à mal les Beach Boys. Pourtant, si seul le temps est juge, The America’s Band, comme on les surnomme parfois, semble avoir vaincu même les houles les plus sauvages pour imposer son spirit un brin mystique.

      Les faits marquants

      1961
      Une histoire de famille

      Une histoire de famille

      Trois frères, un cousin et Al Jardine, un camarade de classe. Un père tyran qui s’impose manager. Le schéma des Beach Boys est une petite bizarrerie, qui contraste parfois avec la surf music et les mélodies insouciantes que ces kids mettent sur orbite. Qu’importe, dès 1962, avec le single Surfin’, le groupe sort de l’ombre. C’est la première vague !

      1963
      Le grand boom des Beach Boys

      Le grand boom des Beach Boys

      Les Beach Boys enchaînent les disques. En seulement quelques mois, grâce à des singles à la pelle et au très bon Surf’in USA qui se classe deuxième des ventes nationales, le groupe séduit les US, mais se fait rafler la mise par les Beatles, tout juste débarqués en terres américaines pour engloutir le Billboard. C’est le début d’une longue et joyeuse bataille au sommet des charts. En Europe, les Beach Boys sont d’ailleurs vus comme les seuls capables de rivaliser avec la British Armada.

      1967
      Après la gloire, le déclin

      Après la gloire, le déclin

      Après des années folles, marquées par des succès qui dépassent l’échelle de l’humainement imaginable, notamment avec le single Good Vibrations et l’album Pet Sounds, les Beach Boys entrent dans une partie sombre de leur histoire. Les albums suivants ne fonctionnent pas comme espéré. Brian Wilson est en retrait. Il faudra attendre 1972 pour que le groupe suscite à nouveau un certain regain d'intérêt.

      1988
      De retour en haut de l’affiche

      De retour en haut de l’affiche

      C’est la première fois qu’un groupe réussit cet exploit : laisser passer 24 ans entre deux numéro 1 des ventes aux États-Unis. Les Beach Boys l’ont fait : avec Kokomo, chanson présente sur la bande originale du film Cocktail, le groupe renoue avec le succès. Seulement, les chamailleries juridiques entre Brian Wilson et Mike Love viendront rapidement ternir ce coup d’éclat.

      2012
      Le retour des grands copains

      Le retour des grands copains

      Pour la première fois depuis bien longtemps, les Beach Boys sont de retour, quasi au complet, Carl Wilson étant décédé à la fin des années 1980. C’est un événement : les héros californiens présentent That's Why God Made the Radio et remontent sur scène pour faire danser le monde avec leurs tubes de toujours.

      Témoignages

      • Le mot du spectateur
      • Notre équipe en parle
      • La presse en parle

        Les Beach Boys nous ont offert un très bon concert doublé d’un excellent son. D’ailleurs, quand on possède un patrimoine musical de cet acabit, il serait difficile de se vautrer, à moins de ne plus avoir de voix, ni d’enthousiasme. Mais sur ce point, malgré le poids du temps, Mike Love et ses acolytes n’ont pas à s’inquiéter. 

        Jean-Paul, après un concert à Bruxelles

        La discographie de Beach Boys, que l’on peut hisser au même rang que celle des Beatles, est phénoménale. D’ailleurs, ce n’est pas un hasard si ces deux groupes se regardaient en chien de faïence à l’époque. Mais aujourd’hui, des deux, il n’en reste qu’un, car là où le groupe de Paul McCartney n’est plus depuis longtemps, les Beach Boys, eux, montent encore sur scène, et ce n’est que du bonheur. À eux-seuls, ils représentent une longue et belle époque où l’on dansait sur ces tubes qui donnent la pêche !

        Pas de retraite pour les papys du rock. Ils restent les dépositaires de ce son unique du rock californien et de cette exubérance joyeuse mais très ordonnée harmoniquement qui caractérisent les Beach Boys. Car ils sont bien plus qu'un groupe de surf-music, ils sont le seul groupe américain à avoir pu rivaliser créativement avec les Beatles.  

         

        Les Beach Boys ne sont pas seulement les inventeurs présumés du yacht rock. Ils sont aussi et à jamais l’archétype du groupe qui n’est pas celui que vous croyez. La faute aux chemisettes rayées, aux planches à surf, aux bagnoles trafiquées et aux blondes californiennes. 

        Le Point - Télérama

      Archives

      2019
      2 concerts
      • 27 juin
        Paris
        L'Olympia
      • 13 juil.
        Monte-Carlo
        Salle des Etoiles du Sporting Monte-Carlo
      2017
      2 concerts
      • 01 juin
        Paris
        L'Olympia
      • 25 juin
        Tilloloy
        Retro C Trop Festival
      2014
      1 concert
      • 21 nov.
        Paris
        L'Olympia
      2013
      1 concert
      • 08 juil.
        Paris
        L'Olympia
      1999
      1 concert
      • 29 juin
        Paris
        Palais des Congrès
      Afficher plus
      gérard drouot productions utilise des cookies sur ce site. Avec votre consentement, nous les utiliserons pour mesurer et analyser l'utilisation du site (cookies analytiques), pour l'adapter à vos intérêts (cookies de personnalisation) et pour vous présenter des publicités et des informations pertinentes (cookies de ciblage). Gérer les cookies