Artists
    Events
      EN
      FR
      Norah Jones

      Norah Jones

      Jazz in chiaroscuro
      Ecouter
      • Tour
      • About
      • Highlights
      • Testimonials
      • Archives

      Tour

      There is yet no show to display

      About

      About
      Copyright Pierre Hennequin

      A spark of jazz with pop smoke, Norah Jones is a diva who delicately blackens our hearts and illuminates our everyday routine with an apparent softness. She mixes colors, combines shapes: from a young lady, she has become, it is obvious, a great lady of music.


      Norah Jones likes to cover her tracks. She marries jazz, corrupts pop and seduces with a sensual wink the country of her childhood. Here, no bows or Miles Davis-style acrobatics. The Goddess of America, daughter of Ravi Shankar, Indian sitar master, explores the world in her own way, with troubling simplicity. Her nonchalance stuns melancholy, her velvet voice overshadows her shyness and her popularity outwits a discreet personality. His paradoxes are his strength, his audacity anchors his difference.


      She is like that, Norah Jones. She sings in chiaroscuro and twists the shadows of modern society into calm, subtle and sweet songs. Her secret pleasure: tackling serious subjects with poetry, sobriety and a thousand nuances. Like a jazz tightrope walker, the Manhattan Diva, whose sudden success few would have predicted, always evolves in a precarious balance, without a net, between soft ballads and more rhythmic songs.


      For Norah Jones touches on everything, going from one emotion to another as she pleases and making infidelities at her piano, which she sometimes prefers her guitar. Serene and indomitable, she swings her voice from left to right, from north to south, to take her melodies to new horizons. An admirer of Neil Young and Willie Nelson, the American virtuoso never ceases to evolve where no one expects her, with ardour and determination. So there's no need to prove it: Norah Jones has the maturity of the great ladies, and the raw energy of the free young women of this world. The cocktail is worth the detour!

      Highlights

      2002

      A smashing entry in the charts

      No one was waiting for him there, especially not Blue Note, his record company. In the spring, the 22-year-old American singer presents her debut album, Come Away With Me. The success is as enormous as it is unexpected. Norah Jones wins 5 Grammy Awards and ignites the charts. A sudden popularity that the artist sometimes finds difficult to manage: "After a few days, she even called Bruce Lundvall, the boss of her label, to see if it was possible to stop the sales," it is said.

      2004

      Time of confirmation

      Of course, that year, no one hopes to repeat the feat of the first album, with such a resounding success. However, Fells like Home, his second album, was particularly well received. Norah Jones confirms the extent of her talent and becomes, for good, an icon of contemporary jazz.

      2006

      From the stage to the small screen

      This is Norah Jones' second passion: cinema. For the first time, the American artist appears in a film, My Blueberry Night. The Chinese director Wong Kar-Way trusts her to share the poster with Jude Law and Natalie Portman, just that!

      2016

      Le retour aux sources

      After several surprising records, Norah Jones returns to the recipe that made her success, with a jazz radio compatible, capable of seducing jazz lovers and pop aficionados alike. The press salutes the gesture, as does the public. But everyone knows it: Norah Jones is indomitable, and will probably return to unexpected lands as soon as the opportunity arises.

      Testimonials

      • The fans speak
      • The inside view
      • Seen in the press

        This concert is a very pleasant surprise. Norah Jones is bewitching us from the start. We rediscover each piece in a new light, with a warmth and depth that we don't suspect at this point when we listen to her records. It's a real joy. 

        Jérôme and Nina, after the concert in Paris

        Norah Jones is an artist like few today: simple, humble, but with an extraordinary talent. Her voice puts everyone in agreement, and her melancholic ballads have this incredible capacity to soothe us, even make us happy. Accompanying him therefore seemed obvious to us.

        With her various albums, Norah Jones has put just about everyone in agreement, her success has been both critical and commercial. Her repertoire, while mainly jazz, is sometimes tinged with folk and country, musical genres that fit her voice perfectly.  
         
        Of her, the boss of the legendary Blue Note label, Bruce Lundvall, who died in 2015, said she was a great artist. Velvety timbre, retro piano, sweet songs: this is the great return to the roots of the pop jazz superstar. The singer's smile is radiant! 

        France Inter - Télérama

      Archives

      2018
      6 concerts
      • 01 Apr
        Megève
        Megève Jazz Festival
      • 02 Apr
        Boulogne Billancourt
        La Seine Musicale
      • 07 Apr
        Nice
        Acropolis
      • 20 Jul
        Nimes
        Festival de Nimes
      • 21 Jul
        Juan Les Pins
        Jazz à Juan
      • 28 Jul
        Perpignan
        Live au Campo
      2017
      5 concerts
      • 11 Jul
        Paris
        Palais des Sports
      • 24 Jul
        Marseille
        Festival de Jazz des Cinq Continents
      • 25 Jul
        Lyon
        Les Nuits de Fourvière
      • 27 Jul
        Narbonne
        Jazz à l'Hospitalet
      • 28 Jul
        Marciac
        Jazz in Marciac
      2016
      5 concerts
      • 11 Nov
        Lyon
        Cité Internationale
      • 12 Nov
        Lille
        Théâtre Sebastopol
      • 15 Nov
        Paris
        Salle Pleyel
      • 16 Nov
        Bordeaux
        Theatre Femina
      • 21 Nov
        Paris
        L'Olympia
      2012
      3 concerts
      • 25 May
        Paris
        L'Olympia
      • 13 Sep
        Strasbourg
        Zénith Europe
      • 14 Sep
        Paris
        We Love Green Festival
      2010
      3 concerts
      • 24 Jun
        Paris
        L'Olympia
      • 17 Jul
        Vienne
        Jazz à Vienne
      • 18 Jul
        Monte Carlo
        Sporting Summer Festival
      2007
      5 concerts
      • 09 Jul
        Paris
        L'Olympia
      • 18 Jul
        Juan Les Pins
        Jazz à Juan
      • 13 Aug
        Colmar
        La Foire aux Vins
      • 14 Aug
        Vienne
        Théatre Antique
      • 15 Aug
        Nîmes
        Arènes de Nîmes
      2004
      7 concerts
      • 01 May
        Strasbourg
        Palais des Congrès
      • 03 May
        Lyon
        Halle Tony Garnier
      • 06 May
        Marseille
        Le Dôme
      • 29 May
        Paris
        Palais des Congrès
      • 02 Jun
        Rennes
        Le Liberté
      • 03 Jun
        Cournon d'Auvergne
        Zénith d'Auvergne
      • 10 Jun
        Toulouse
        Zénith Toulouse Métropole
      2002
      3 concerts
      • 08 Oct
        Paris
        La Cigale
      • 12 Oct
        Nancy
        Salle Poirel
      • 02 Nov
        Marseille
        Palais des Congrès
      See more
      gérard drouot productions uses cookies on this website. With your approval, we will use them to mesure and analyse your visit on the website (statistic cookies) to adapt it to your interests (customized cookies) and to provide you with relevant information (third party cookies). Customize

Artistes
    Événements
      FR
      EN
      Norah Jones

      Norah Jones

      Le jazz en clair-obscur
      Ecouter
      • Tournée
      • A Propos
      • Les faits marquants
      • Témoignages
      • Archives

      Tournée

      Aucune date prévue

      A Propos

      A Propos
      Copyright Pierre Hennequin

      Étincelle d’un jazz à la fumée pop, Norah Jones est une diva qui noircit délicatement nos cœurs et illumine d’une douceur apparente notre quotidien routinier. Elle mélange les couleurs, accouple les formes : de demoiselle, elle est devenue, c’est une évidence, une grande dame de la musique.

       

      Norah Jones aime brouiller les pistes. Elle épouse le jazz, corrompt la pop et séduit d’un clin d’œil sensuel la country de son enfance. Ici, pas de courbettes ou d’acrobaties à la Miles Davis. La déesse d’Amérique, fille de Ravi Shankar, maître indien du sitar, explore le monde à sa manière, avec une simplicité troublante. Sa nonchalance étourdit la mélancolie, sa voix de velours éclipse sa timidité et sa popularité déjoue une personnalité discrète. Ses paradoxes font sa force, son audace ancre sa différence.

       

      Elle est comme ça, Norah Jones. Elle chante en clair-obscur et tord les ombres de la société moderne pour en faire des chansons calmes, subtiles et suaves. Son plaisir secret : aborder, avec poésie, sobriété et mille nuances, des sujets graves. Telle une funambule du jazz, la Diva de Manhattan, dont peu aurait prédit un succès aussi soudain, évolue toujours en équilibre précaire, sans filet, entre ballades douces et titres plus rythmés.

       

      Car Norah Jones touche à tout, passant d’une émotion à l’autre à sa guise et faisant des infidélités à son piano, à qui elle préfère parfois sa guitare. Sereine et indomptable, elle balance ainsi sa voix de gauche à droite, du nord au sud, pour entraîner ses mélodies vers de nouveaux horizons. Admiratrice de Neil Young et de Willie Nelson, la virtuose américaine n’a en effet de cesse d’évoluer là où personne ne l’attend, avec fougue et détermination. Ce n’est donc plus à prouver : Norah Jones a la maturité des grandes dames, et l’énergie brute des jeunes femmes libres de ce monde. Le cocktail vaut le détour !

      Les faits marquants

      2002
      Une entrée fracassante dans les charts
      Copyright Pierre Hennequin

      Une entrée fracassante dans les charts

      Personne ne l’attendait là, et surtout pas Blue Note, sa maison de disque. Au printemps, la jeune chanteuse américaine, âgée de 22 ans, présente son premier album, Come Away With Me. Le succès est aussi énorme qu’inespéré. Norah Jones rafle 5 Grammy Awards et enflamme les charts. Une popularité soudaine que l’artiste a parfois du mal à gérer : « au bout de quelques jours, elle a même appelé Bruce Lundvall, le patron de son label, pour savoir s’il était possible de stopper les ventes », dit-on.

      2004
      L’heure de la confirmation
      Copyright Pierre Hennequin

      L’heure de la confirmation

      Bien sûr, cette année-là, personne n’espère rééditer l’exploit du premier album, avec un succès aussi retentissant. Pour autant, Fells like Home, son deuxième disque, est particulièrement bien reçu. Norah Jones confirme l’ampleur de son talent et s’inscrit, pour de bon, comme une icône du jazz contemporain.

      2006
      De la scène au petit écran

      De la scène au petit écran

      C’est la deuxième passion de Norah Jones : le cinéma. Pour la première fois, l’artiste américaine apparaît dans un film, My Blueberry Night. Le réalisateur chinois Wong Kar-Way lui fait confiance pour partager l’affiche avec Jude Law et Natalie Portman, rien que ça !

      2016
      Le retour aux sources
      Copyright Pierre Hennequin

      Le retour aux sources

      Après plusieurs disques surprenants, Norah Jones revient à la recette qui a fait son succès, avec un jazz radio compatible, capable de séduire les amoureux de jazz comme les aficionados de la pop. La presse salut le geste, le public aussi. Mais tout le monde le sait : Norah Jones est indomptable, et retournera probablement vers des contrées inattendues dès que l’occasion se présentera.

      Témoignages

      • Le mot du spectateur
      • Notre équipe en parle
      • La presse en parle

        Ce concert est une très agréable surprise. Norah Jones nous envoûte d’entrée. On redécouvre chaque morceau sous un nouveau jour, avec une chaleur et une profondeur qu’on ne soupçonne pas à ce point lorsque l’on écoute ses disques. C’est un vrai bonheur.

        Jérôme et Nina, après le concert à Paris

        Norah Jones est une artiste comme il s’en fait peu aujourd’hui : simple, humble, mais avec un talent hors du commun. Sa voix met tout le monde d’accord, et ses ballades mélancoliques ont cette incroyable capacité à nous apaiser, voire à nous rendre heureux. L’accompagner nous semblait donc être une évidence. 

        Avec ses différents albums, Norah Jones a mis à peu près tout le monde d’accord, son succès a été critique et commercial. Son répertoire, s’il est principalement jazz, est parfois teinté de folk et de country, des genres musicaux qui s’associent parfaitement à sa voix.  

         

        D’elle, le patron du légendaire label Blue Note, Bruce Lundvall, décédé en 2015, disait qu’elle était une artiste géniale. Timbre velouté, piano rétro, chansons suaves : c’est le grand retour aux sources de la superstar de la pop jazz. Le sourire de la chanteuse est radieux ! 

        France Inter - Télérama

      Archives

      2018
      6 concerts
      • 01 avr.
        Megève
        Megève Jazz Festival
      • 02 avr.
        Boulogne Billancourt
        La Seine Musicale
      • 07 avr.
        Nice
        Acropolis
      • 20 juil.
        Nimes
        Festival de Nimes
      • 21 juil.
        Juan Les Pins
        Jazz à Juan
      • 28 juil.
        Perpignan
        Live au Campo
      2017
      5 concerts
      • 11 juil.
        Paris
        Palais des Sports
      • 24 juil.
        Marseille
        Festival de Jazz des Cinq Continents
      • 25 juil.
        Lyon
        Les Nuits de Fourvière
      • 27 juil.
        Narbonne
        Jazz à l'Hospitalet
      • 28 juil.
        Marciac
        Jazz in Marciac
      2016
      5 concerts
      • 11 nov.
        Lyon
        Cité Internationale
      • 12 nov.
        Lille
        Théâtre Sebastopol
      • 15 nov.
        Paris
        Salle Pleyel
      • 16 nov.
        Bordeaux
        Theatre Femina
      • 21 nov.
        Paris
        L'Olympia
      2012
      3 concerts
      • 25 mai
        Paris
        L'Olympia
      • 13 sept.
        Strasbourg
        Zénith Europe
      • 14 sept.
        Paris
        We Love Green Festival
      2010
      3 concerts
      • 24 juin
        Paris
        L'Olympia
      • 17 juil.
        Vienne
        Jazz à Vienne
      • 18 juil.
        Monte Carlo
        Sporting Summer Festival
      2007
      5 concerts
      • 09 juil.
        Paris
        L'Olympia
      • 18 juil.
        Juan Les Pins
        Jazz à Juan
      • 13 août
        Colmar
        La Foire aux Vins
      • 14 août
        Vienne
        Théatre Antique
      • 15 août
        Nîmes
        Arènes de Nîmes
      2004
      7 concerts
      • 01 mai
        Strasbourg
        Palais des Congrès
      • 03 mai
        Lyon
        Halle Tony Garnier
      • 06 mai
        Marseille
        Le Dôme
      • 29 mai
        Paris
        Palais des Congrès
      • 02 juin
        Rennes
        Le Liberté
      • 03 juin
        Cournon d'Auvergne
        Zénith d'Auvergne
      • 10 juin
        Toulouse
        Zénith Toulouse Métropole
      2002
      3 concerts
      • 08 oct.
        Paris
        La Cigale
      • 12 oct.
        Nancy
        Salle Poirel
      • 02 nov.
        Marseille
        Palais des Congrès
      Afficher plus
      gérard drouot productions utilise des cookies sur ce site. Avec votre consentement, nous les utiliserons pour mesurer et analyser l'utilisation du site (cookies analytiques), pour l'adapter à vos intérêts (cookies de personnalisation) et pour vous présenter des publicités et des informations pertinentes (cookies de ciblage). Gérer les cookies