Artists
    Events
      EN
      FR
      • Tour
      • About

      Tour

      • 2022 1 concert
      • Tuesday
        07
        June 2022
        PARIS
        Book your seats
      See program

      About

      About

      With over 20 years of career, Mastodon is known for its unique blend of rock and metal with sludge, progressive and heavy sounds, with touches of psychedelia. The riffs rain down, the ground shakes and the audience asks for more! After 7 studio albums, the band from Atlanta is not done fighting.

       

      The band was formed in 1999 by drummer Brann Dailor and guitarist Bill Kelliher, who had played in Lethargy and Today is the Day. The two friends moved to Atlanta, where they met bassist/vocalist Troy Sanders and Brett Hinds at a metal concert. The band was formed and a first demo was released in 2000, followed by two EPs in 2001. The band quickly attracted attention and began to make a name for themselves on the progressive metal scene. Their first album, Leviathan, was released in 2004: it was a concept album inspired by Herman Melville's novel, "Moby Dick". It was very well received by the critics and was named album of the year by Kerrang! and Terrorizer.


      The band continued to make a name for themselves on the metal scene with their next efforts, Call of The Mastodon and Blood Mountain, both of which received rave reviews from critics and a large audience. The audience even extends beyond metal fans, thanks in part to the participation of Josh Homme (Queens of The Stone Age). The band promotes its album in Europe, notably by touring as the opening act for Tool in 2006 and then Slayer in Australia and New Zealand. Brendan O'Brien (Bruce Springsteen, Pearl Jam...) is in charge of the next album, Crack the Skye, and the band is noticed as the opening act for Metallica in 2009 on their World Magnetic Tour. Preferring melodic lines to growls, the band develops progressive atmospheres, very influenced by bands like Yes.


      The albums released during the 2010s will see the band explore new sounds, sometimes more accessible, proving that the band never wants to do the same thing again and surprise its audience. The Hunter and Once More 'Round the Sun are a vibrant testament to this.  The band has been touring the world successfully, with Parisian appearances at the Zenith, the Elysée Montmartre or the Casino de Paris. In 2017, the band released Emperor of Sand, followed by a tour in the United States with the bands Eagles of Death Metal and Russian Circles. A successor is already planned and Bill Kelliher has already announced the color: "It is the most complete and most massive of our discography. 

       

       

       

      Book now
      gérard drouot productions uses cookies on this website. With your approval, we will use them to mesure and analyse your visit on the website (statistic cookies) to adapt it to your interests (customized cookies) and to provide you with relevant information (third party cookies). Customize

Artistes
    Événements
      FR
      EN
      • Tournée
      • À propos
      • Archives

      Tournée

      • 2022 1 concert
      • Prévente
        mardi
        07
        juin 2022
        PARIS
        Réserver
      Voir l'agenda

      À propos

      À propos

      Avec plus de 20 ans de carrière, Mastodon est reconnu pour son mélange unique de rock et metal aux sonorités sludge, progressives et heavy, avec des touches de psychédélisme. Les riffs pleuvent, le sol tremble et le public en redemande ! Après 7 albums studio au compteur, le groupe d’Atlanta n’a pas fini d’en découdre…

       

      Le groupe se forme en 1999 à l’initiative du batteur Brann Dailor et du guitariste Bill Kelliher, qui avaient officié dans Lethargy et Today is the Day. Les deux compères s’établissent alors à Atlanta, où ils rencontrent le bassiste/chanteur Troy Sanders ainsi que Brett Hinds lors d’un concert de metal. Le groupe est alors formé au complet et une première démo sort en 2000, suivi par deux EP en 2001. Le groupe attire rapidement l’attention et commence à se faire un nom sur la scène metal progressif. Leur premier album, Leviathan, sort en 2004 : il s'agit d'un album-concept inspiré du roman de Herman Melville, « Moby Dick ». Très bien accueilli par la critique, il est nommé album de l'année par Kerrang! et Terrorizer.

       

      Le groupe continuera à se faire un nom sur la scène metal avec leurs efforts suivants, Call of The Mastodon et Blood Mountain, pour lesquels les critiques seront dithyrambiques et le public au rendez-vous. Ce dernier s’élargit même au-delà des fans de metal, grâce notamment à la participation de Josh Homme (Queens of The Stone Age). Le groupe fait la promotion de son album en Europe notamment en tournant en première partie de Tool en 2006 puis de Slayer en Australie et en Nouvelle-Zélande. Brendan O’Brien (Bruce Springsteen, Pearl Jam…) est aux manettes pour l’album suivant, Crack the Skye, et le groupe se fait remarquer en première partie de Metallica en 2009 sur leur World Magnetic Tour. Préférant les lignes mélodiques aux growls, le groupe développe les ambiances progressives, très influencées des groupes comme Yes.

       

      Les albums parus durant les années 2010 verront le groupe explorer de nouvelles sonorités, parfois plus accessibles, prouvant que le groupe ne souhaite jamais refaire la même chose et surprendre son public. Les albums The Hunter et Once More ‘Round the Sun en sont un témoignage vibrant.  Le groupe effectue des tournées mondiales à succès, avec des passages parisiens au Zénith, à l’Elysée Montmartre ou encore au Casino de Paris. En 2017, le groupe sort Emperor of Sand, suivi d'une tournée aux États-Unis accompagné des groupes Eagles of Death Metal et Russian Circles. Un successeur est d’ores-et-déjà prévu et Bill Kelliher en a déjà annoncé la couleur : « C'est le plus complet et le plus massif de notre discographie ».

      Archives

      Aucun évènement en date
      Réserver
      gérard drouot productions utilise des cookies sur ce site. Avec votre consentement, nous les utiliserons pour mesurer et analyser l'utilisation du site (cookies analytiques), pour l'adapter à vos intérêts (cookies de personnalisation) et pour vous présenter des publicités et des informations pertinentes (cookies de ciblage). Gérer les cookies