Artists
    Events
      EN
      FR
      Joe Satriani

      Joe Satriani

      Pioneer of instrumental rock
      Ecouter
      • Tour
      • About
      • Highlights
      • Testimonials
      • Archives

      Tour

      • 2021 1 concert
      • 2022 10 concerts
      • Cancellation
        Thursday
        03
        June 2021
        Sète
        Cancelled
      • Monday
        25
        April 2022
        VILLEURBANNE
        Book your seats
      • Wednesday
        27
        April 2022
        Strasbourg
        Book your seats
      • Thursday
        28
        April 2022
        Clermont-Ferrand
        Book your seats
      • Monday
        30
        May 2022
        TOULOUSE
        Book your seats
      • Tuesday
        31
        May 2022
        Perpignan
        Book your seats
      • Thursday
        02
        June 2022
        NANTES
        Book your seats
      • Friday
        03
        June 2022
        Tours
        Book your seats
      • Saturday
        04
        June 2022
        Saint-Malo
        Book your seats
      • Sunday
        05
        June 2022
        RENNES
        Book your seats
      • Monday
        06
        June 2022
        PARIS 09
        Book your seats
      See program

      About

      About
      Copyright Pierre Hennequin

      Armed with his dark glasses, Joe Satriani, Satch to his friends, is a little bit the daron of all guitarists. The model that everyone tries to imitate, for lack of being able to match him. Since the 1970s, he has revolutionized the use of the electric six-string, selling millions of albums of a unique and singular instrumental rock. And each time, his songs become classics or challenges for musicians all over the world.


      Making scales or reproducing melodies that have been heard a hundred times has never really interested him. A fervent admirer of Jimi Hendrix, what he wants is to explore in the manner of his master and push the limits of his instrument ever further. By using modes, almost inventing tapping with a mediator or two hands, pushing the human limits of speed on the neck of his guitar, this virtuoso creates techniques that have now entered the popular repertoire.

       
      If he is almost the father of instrumental rock, it would be wrong to reduce Joe Satriani to his field of excellence. For far from being a man of a single musical style, he takes pleasure in exploring jazz, boogie or blues to make these new sounds his own, transforming them and propelling them into his playing with disconcerting ease.


      And when you see him on stage, transcending and becoming one with his guitar as if it were an extension of himself, you can understand why this genius has inspired, and even trained, a whole generation of guitarists. Briefly teaching at the prestigious University of Berkeley, Kirk Hammett, Alex Skolnick and Larry Lalonde learned by his side. And although the style is a bit out of fashion, Joe Satriani continues to shine, to perform and always plays to full houses, becoming a legend and confirming his status as a guitar hero.

      Highlights

      1987

      Satch takes instrumental rock to new heights

      It is in 1970 that the young Joe starts playing guitar very seriously, upset by the death of his idol Jimi Hendrix. But it's only 17 years later and with the help of one of his former students, Steve Vai, that his career really takes off. Surfing with the Alien propelled him to 29th place on the Billboard chart, a true feat for an instrumental album. From there, things were to follow for the guitar prodigy, as the following year he was called in as a back-up on his tour by Mick Jagger himself.

      1994

      He says no to Deep Purple

      In December 1993, Joe Satriani, already at the height of his fame, agreed to replace Ritchie Blackmore, who had just left the Deep Purple team, at short notice. Their tour in Japan reboosts the band and the guitarist follows with them in 1994. The other members then offer him to stay as a permanent member of the band but the musician refuses and regains the freedom he cherishes so much!

      1996

      When legends come together

      In the 90s, instrumental rock lost popularity with the arrival of the grunge wave and a more minimalist rock. But Joe Satriani doesn't let himself be dismayed and that's when he chooses to launch the G3 Guitar Extravaganza concerts during which he gathers the elite of guitarists. On the program, a battle of solos and jams, of course! A daring but successful gamble. "It's fun, unpredictable, wild, in short everything you want to find in a show," confides the main interested party, who is also the only permanent member of the event.

      2020

      The guitar hero still has things to prove

      With Shapeshifting, the guitarist offers us his 17th solo album, in the form of a musical and emotional journey. But, far from resting on his legendary status, he also has other projects in mind. He recently said that he "still hopes to one day do a G3 tour with Eddie Van Halen and Jimmy Page! ». But he also wants to release "two different records in the coming months. One would be another instrumental album, and the other one would be a vocal album, centered around my live band. So we should hear from him soon!"

      Testimonials

      • The fans speak
      • The inside view
      • Seen in the press

        It was the first time I saw Joe Satriani on stage and it was by far the best concert I've ever seen or heard. Fishing, rhythm and highly motivated artists having a great time. After Hendrix's death I never got 100% hooked on a guitarist, but here it is! A perfect match for Satch! 

        Jean-Louis after a concert at the Cité Internationale in Lyon

        Joe Satriani is a UFO, even among his companions raised, like him, to the rank of guitar heroes. And for good reason, he's not just a virtuoso technician. He's also one of the few to have popularized instrumental rock to such an extent, filling entire halls with spectators clinging to his guitar playing, savoring every note, every solo and every riff!

        Joe Satriani doesn't have much to prove anymore. He's a virtuoso guitar apostle, the one reserved for a handful of angry, crazy guitarists willing to sacrifice their fingers (and their egos) in a brave attempt to match the master, and with the help of YouTube tutorials, the musician continues to organize monster tours during which he sprays his undeniable talent on a transient audience that's committed to the cause. 

        RollingStone

      Archives

      2015
      9 concerts
      • 17 Sep
        Saint-Herblain
        Zénith Nantes Métropole
      • 18 Sep
        Boisseuil
        Espace du Crouzy
      • 19 Sep
        Bordeaux
        Theatre Femina
      • 20 Sep
        Toulouse
        Théâtre du Casino Barrière
      • 21 Sep
        Marseille
        LE CEPAC SILO
      • 22 Sep
        Lyon
        Cité Internationale
      • 24 Sep
        Paris
        Le Grand Rex
      • 25 Sep
        Lille
        Théâtre Sebastopol
      • 03 Oct
        Monaco
        Salle Garnier-Opéra de Monaco
      2014
      12 concerts
      • 21 Jun
        Paris
        Le Trabendo
      • 23 Jun
        Paris
        L'Olympia
      • 30 Jun
        Strasbourg
        La Laiterie
      • 01 Jul
        Amnéville
        Le Casino
      • 02 Jul
        Clermont Ferrand
        Coopérative de mai
      • 06 Jul
        Vienne
        Jazz à Vienne
      • 08 Jul
        Six-Fours-les-Plages
        Espace Culturel André Malraux
      • 19 Jul
        Carcassonne
        Festival des 2 Cités
      • 20 Jul
        Nice
        Crazy Week
      • 24 Jul
        Patrimonio
        Les nuits de la guitare
      • 25 Jul
        Marseille
        Festival de Jazz des Cinq Continents
      • 28 Jul
        Marciac
        Jazz in Marciac
      2013
      2 concerts
      • 03 Jun
        Paris
        Le Grand Rex
      • 04 Jun
        Bruxelles (Bel)
        Le Cirque Royal
      2010
      3 concerts
      • 25 Oct
        Paris
        La Cigale
      • 27 Oct
        Roubaix
        Le Colisée
      • 16 Nov
        Lyon
        Cité Internationale
      2008
      3 concerts
      • 26 May
        Lyon
        Bourse du travail
      • 27 May
        Paris
        Le Grand Rex
      • 30 Jun
        Moutiers-sous-Chantemerle
        Festiv'Eté
      2007
      1 concert
      • 30 Jun
        Moutiers-sous-Chantemerle
        Festiv'Eté
      2006
      10 concerts
      • 10 Jun
        Montereau
        Festival Confluences
      • 11 Jun
        Amneville
        Le Galaxie
      • 13 Jun
        Bruxelles (Belgique)
        Ancienne Belgique
      • 14 Jun
        Villeurbanne
        Le Transbordeur
      • 03 Jul
        Strasbourg
        Auditorium Schweitzer
      • 06 Jul
        Paris
        Le Grand Rex
      • 07 Jul
        Beaulieu sur Mer
        Festival Les Nuits de la Guitare
      • 08 Jul
        Embrun
        Festival dans l'Eau
      • 16 Jul
        Patrimonio
        Les nuits de la guitare
      • 22 Jul
        Patrimonio
        Les nuits de la guitare
      2002
      1 concert
      • 08 Jul
        Paris
        L'Olympia
      See more
      Book now
      gérard drouot productions uses cookies on this website. With your approval, we will use them to mesure and analyse your visit on the website (statistic cookies) to adapt it to your interests (customized cookies) and to provide you with relevant information (third party cookies). Customize

Artistes
    Événements
      FR
      EN
      Joe Satriani

      Joe Satriani

      Pionnier du rock instrumental
      • Tournée
      • À propos
      • Les faits marquants
      • Témoignages
      • Archives

      Tournée

      • 2021 1 concert
      • 2022 12 concerts
      • Annulation
        jeudi
        03
        juin 2021
        Sète
        Annulée
      • lundi
        25
        avril 2022
        VILLEURBANNE
        Réserver
      • mardi
        26
        avril 2022
        Reims
        Alerte de mise en vente
      • mercredi
        27
        avril 2022
        Strasbourg
        Réserver
      • jeudi
        28
        avril 2022
        Clermont-Ferrand
        Réserver
      • vendredi
        29
        avril 2022
        Dijon
        Réserver
      • lundi
        30
        mai 2022
        TOULOUSE
        Réserver
      • mardi
        31
        mai 2022
        Perpignan
        Réserver
      • jeudi
        02
        juin 2022
        NANTES
        Réserver
      • vendredi
        03
        juin 2022
        Tours
        Réserver
      • samedi
        04
        juin 2022
        Saint-Malo
        Réserver
      • dimanche
        05
        juin 2022
        RENNES
        Réserver
      • lundi
        06
        juin 2022
        PARIS 09
        Réserver
      Voir l'agenda

      À propos

      À propos

      Armé de ses lunettes noires, Joe Satriani, Satch pour les intimes, est un peu le daron de tous les guitaristes. Le modèle que chacun essaye d’imiter, faute de pouvoir l’égaler. Depuis les années 70, il révolutionne l’utilisation de la six cordes électrique, vendant au passage des millions d’albums d’un rock instrumental unique et singulier. Et à chaque fois, ses titres deviennent tour à tour des classiques ou des défis à relever pour les musiciens du monde entier.

       

      Faire des gammes ou reproduire des mélodies cent fois entendues, ça ne l’a jamais vraiment intéressé. Fervent admirateur de Jimi Hendrix, ce qu’il veut, c’est explorer à la manière de son maître et repousser toujours plus loin les limites de son instrument. En utilisant les modes, en inventant presque le tapping au mediator ou à deux mains, en repoussant les limites humaines de la vitesse sur le manche de sa guitare, ce virtuose crée des techniques qui sont désormais entrées dans le répertoire populaire.

       

      S’il est quasiment le père du rock instrumental, on aurait tort de réduire Joe Satriani à son domaine d’excellence. Car loin d’être l’homme d’un seul style musical, il prend plaisir à explorer le jazz, le boogie ou le blues pour faire siennes ces sonorités nouvelles, les transformer et les propulser dans son jeu avec une facilité déconcertante.

       

      Et quand on le voit sur scène, transcendé et faisant corps avec sa guitare comme si elle était une extension de lui-même, on comprend pourquoi ce génie a inspiré, et même formé, toute une génération de guitaristes. Brièvement enseignant à la prestigieuse université de Berkeley, Kirk Hammett, Alex Skolnick ou encore Larry Lalonde ont appris à ses côtés. Et bien que le style soit un peu passé de mode, Joe Satriani continue de briller, de performer et fait toujours salle comble, entrant dans la légende et confirmant son statut de guitar hero.

      Les faits marquants

      1987
      Satch propulse le rock instrumental aux sommets

      Satch propulse le rock instrumental aux sommets

      C’est en 1970 que le jeune Joe se met très sérieusement à la guitare, bouleversé par la mort de son idole Jimi Hendrix. Mais ce n’est que 17 ans plus tard et aidé par l’un de ses anciens élèves, Steve Vai, que sa carrière décolle vraiment. Surfing with the Alien le propulse à la 29ème place du Billboard, une véritable prouesse pour un album instrumental. A partir de là, les choses vont s’enchaîner pour le prodige de la guitare puisque l’année suivante, il sera appelé en renfort sur sa tournée par Mick Jagger en personne.

      1994
      Il dit non aux Deep Purple

      Il dit non aux Deep Purple

      En décembre 1993 et alors qu’il connaît déjà des sommets de gloire, Joe Satriani accepte de remplacer au pied levé Ritchie Blackmore qui vient juste de quitter Deep Purple. Leur tournée au Japon rebooste le groupe et le guitariste enchaîne avec eux en 1994. Les autres membres lui proposent alors de rester comme membre permanent du groupe mais le musicien refuse et retrouve la liberté qu’il chérit tant !

      1996
      Quand des légendes s’associent

      Quand des légendes s’associent

      Dans les années 90, le rock instrumental perd en popularité face à l’arrivée de la vague grunge et d’un rock plus minimaliste. Mais Joe Satriani ne se laisse pas démonter et c’est ce moment qu’il choisit pour lancer les concerts G3 Guitar Extravaganza pendant lesquels il rassemble l’élite des guitaristes. Au programme, battle de solos et jams, évidemment ! Un pari osé mais qui marche. « C’est fun, imprévisible, sauvage, bref tout ce qu’on a envie de trouver dans un spectacle » confie le principal intéressé, qui est également le seul membre permanent de l’événement.

      2020
      Le guitar hero a encore des choses à prouver

      Le guitar hero a encore des choses à prouver

      Avec Shapeshifting, le guitariste nous offre son 17ème album solo, en forme de voyage musical et émotionnel. Mais, loin de se reposer sur son statut de légende, il a également d’autres projets en tête. Il disait ainsi récemment avoir « toujours l'espoir de pouvoir faire un jour une tournée G3 avec Eddie Van Halen et Jimmy Page ! ». Mais également vouloir sortir « deux disques différents dans les prochains mois. L’un serait un autre album instrumental, et l’autre serait un album vocal, centré autour de mon groupe de scène ». Nous devrions donc entendre rapidement de ses nouvelles !

      Témoignages

      • Le mot du spectateur
      • Notre équipe en parle
      • La presse en parle

        C’était la première fois que je voyais Joe Satriani sur scène et c’est de loin le meilleur concert que j’ai jamais vu ou entendu. De la pêche, du rythme et des artistes hyper motivés qui s'amusent pour notre plus grand plaisir. Après la mort de Hendrix je n'ai jamais accroché à un guitariste à 100%, mais voilà qui est fait ! Un sans-faute pour Satch ! 

        Jean-Louis après un concert à la Cité Internationale de Lyon

        Joe Satriani fait figure d’ovni, même parmi ses compagnons élevés, comme lui, au rang de guitar heroes. Et pour cause, il ne se contente pas d’être un technicien virtuose. C’est aussi l’un des seuls à avoir popularisé à ce point le rock instrumental, remplissant des salles entières de spectateurs accrochés à son jeu de guitare, savourant chaque note, chaque solo et chaque riff !

        Joe Satriani n’a plus grand chose à prouver. En régalant comme il se doit les apôtres de la guitare virtuose, celle réservée à une poignée d’adeptes fous furieux désireux de sacrifier leurs doigts (et leur égo) en tentant courageusement d’égaler le maître, à grands renforts de tutoriels YouTube, le musicien continue d’organiser des tournées-monstres durant lesquelles il asperge de son talent indéniable un public transi, acquis à la cause. 

        RollingStone

      Archives

      2015
      9 concerts
      • 17 sept.
        Saint-Herblain
        Zénith Nantes Métropole
      • 18 sept.
        Boisseuil
        Espace du Crouzy
      • 19 sept.
        Bordeaux
        Theatre Femina
      • 20 sept.
        Toulouse
        Théâtre du Casino Barrière
      • 21 sept.
        Marseille
        LE CEPAC SILO
      • 22 sept.
        Lyon
        Cité Internationale
      • 24 sept.
        Paris
        Le Grand Rex
      • 25 sept.
        Lille
        Théâtre Sebastopol
      • 03 oct.
        Monaco
        Salle Garnier-Opéra de Monaco
      2014
      12 concerts
      • 21 juin
        Paris
        Le Trabendo
      • 23 juin
        Paris
        L'Olympia
      • 30 juin
        Strasbourg
        La Laiterie
      • 01 juil.
        Amnéville
        Le Casino
      • 02 juil.
        Clermont Ferrand
        Coopérative de mai
      • 06 juil.
        Vienne
        Jazz à Vienne
      • 08 juil.
        Six-Fours-les-Plages
        Espace Culturel André Malraux
      • 19 juil.
        Carcassonne
        Festival des 2 Cités
      • 20 juil.
        Nice
        Crazy Week
      • 24 juil.
        Patrimonio
        Les nuits de la guitare
      • 25 juil.
        Marseille
        Festival de Jazz des Cinq Continents
      • 28 juil.
        Marciac
        Jazz in Marciac
      2013
      2 concerts
      • 03 juin
        Paris
        Le Grand Rex
      • 04 juin
        Bruxelles (Bel)
        Le Cirque Royal
      2010
      3 concerts
      • 25 oct.
        Paris
        La Cigale
      • 27 oct.
        Roubaix
        Le Colisée
      • 16 nov.
        Lyon
        Cité Internationale
      2008
      3 concerts
      • 26 mai
        Lyon
        Bourse du travail
      • 27 mai
        Paris
        Le Grand Rex
      • 30 juin
        Moutiers-sous-Chantemerle
        Festiv'Eté
      2007
      1 concert
      • 30 juin
        Moutiers-sous-Chantemerle
        Festiv'Eté
      2006
      10 concerts
      • 10 juin
        Montereau
        Festival Confluences
      • 11 juin
        Amneville
        Le Galaxie
      • 13 juin
        Bruxelles (Belgique)
        Ancienne Belgique
      • 14 juin
        Villeurbanne
        Le Transbordeur
      • 03 juil.
        Strasbourg
        Auditorium Schweitzer
      • 06 juil.
        Paris
        Le Grand Rex
      • 07 juil.
        Beaulieu sur Mer
        Festival Les Nuits de la Guitare
      • 08 juil.
        Embrun
        Festival dans l'Eau
      • 16 juil.
        Patrimonio
        Les nuits de la guitare
      • 22 juil.
        Patrimonio
        Les nuits de la guitare
      2002
      1 concert
      • 08 juil.
        Paris
        L'Olympia
      Afficher plus
      Réserver
      gérard drouot productions utilise des cookies sur ce site. Avec votre consentement, nous les utiliserons pour mesurer et analyser l'utilisation du site (cookies analytiques), pour l'adapter à vos intérêts (cookies de personnalisation) et pour vous présenter des publicités et des informations pertinentes (cookies de ciblage). Gérer les cookies