Artists
    Events
      EN
      FR
      Joe Jackson

      Joe Jackson

      Man impossible to identify
      Ecouter
      • Tour
      • About
      • Highlights
      • Testimonials
      • Archives

      Tour

      • 2022 4 concerts
      • Wednesday
        30
        March 2022
        Joué-lès-Tours
        Book your seats
      • Thursday
        31
        March 2022
        PARIS
        Book your seats
      • Monday
        11
        April 2022
        CHENOVE
        Book your seats
      • Thursday
        21
        April 2022
        BORDEAUX
        Book your seats
      See program

      About

      About

      Eclectic is surely the word that best suits his skin. Joe Jackson likes audacity, so he decided to embody it, daring to venture fearlessly into territories that seemed forbidden to him. His trademark: surprise, again and again.


      "I've never tried to be fashionable, in the spirit of the times, because that's the best way to be quickly old-fashioned". So is this his secret to marrying the timeless? It must be. Because Joe Jackson has touched everything, taking the jazzmen's country by storm with his pop that has its roots in punk and new-wave. Coming out of a gloriously sick childhood, where books and vinyls were his only comforts, the child from Burton, in the West Midlands, spent his life searching for absolute honesty and constantly reinventing himself.


      "As soon as I feel it sounds like something I've already done, I destroy it," he sometimes says, as a response to those who boil over from not really being able to figure it out. Clever or completely pompous will be the one who will dare to stick a label on his back, so much this shy charismatic carries a discography with a thousand nuances. His albums are surprising, even disconcerting.


      That's what Joe Jackson is like: impossible to put in a cage, because he's as free as air, and sometimes misunderstood, because he's avant-garde. Is this, by the way, the hallmark of a genius? Probably. Today, in any case, since Berlin, where he set down his suitcases, the audacious prince of mischievous pop continues to add new colors to the delicately colored work of his life. Yes, he has class, Joe, as embodying elegance with finesse of mind and body.

      Highlights

      1981

      First artistic turn

      Joe Jackson is a daring man, and daring becomes his raison d'être and his reason for living. While he is adored by the press and the English public, the man from Burton tries his first master stroke, venturing into the cosy lands of jazz. He then released Joe Jackson's Jumpin' Jive, a tribute to the greatest jazzmen of the century, including Louis Jordan and Cab Calloway. It was his first break with pop music, which he felt had become too commercial and which he didn't hesitate to jostle in his interviews.

      1994

      Joe, the misunderstood composer

      If you're looking for Joe Jackson somewhere, look somewhere else. For he is always where he is not expected. His instrumental records, including Night Music (1994) and Heaven and Hell (1997), are proof of this. He demonstrates that he is a composer in his own right, as evidenced by his time at the Royal Academy of Music in London when he was younger.

      2001

      Reconciliation with pop

      He had abandoned it for a while, but Joe Jackson still loves it, despite his few statements to the press: so he's back to pop, the one that took him to the top in the late 1970s. He then presents Night and Day II, on which appears, in particular, the sublime Marianna Faithfull.

      2019

      Madly up to scratch

      "Joe Jackson never gives up". It is with this title that Rolling Stone magazine introduces Fool, the new album of the English virtuoso. Once again, artistically speaking, the record is a real gem of modern times. Indeed, the Burton man brilliantly maintains a pop-jazzy spirit, like a short but breathtaking synthesis of his career.

      Testimonials

      • The fans speak
      • The inside view
      • Seen in the press

        I was curious to discover it on stage. It was great: I was transported by this concert. Joe Jackson is still a class act. English class. And behind his keyboards, he also knows how to show off his rock face. In short, it is absolutely necessary to discover him live! 

        Lise, after a concert in Paris

        What we like about Joe Jackson is that as soon as he releases an album or goes on stage, we don't know exactly what to expect. He's able to surprise us all the time, between pop, punk, jazz. He knows how to stand up no matter where he goes. Some would say that he is difficult to pin down. That's probably the definition of a genius. You absolutely have to go and see him!

        The sound is resolutely rock, the arrangements and the setlist allowing only a few deviations, a bit as if the Englishman wanted to prove that he is spiritually a child of punk - even if, like the Talking Heads, he has always favored the side tracks.
         
        In his forty-year career, Joe Jackson is still as hard to pin down as ever. If the words, carried by this always so colorful voice, still know how to turn into slaps, it is indeed this pop-jazzy melodic vein that maintains Joe Jackson always so charming when he makes himself solemn 

        Time - Rolling Stone

      Archives

      2019
      6 concerts
      • 05 Apr
        Strasbourg
        La Laiterie
      • 14 Apr
        Paris
        L'Olympia
      • 02 Jul
        Paris
        La Cigale
      • 04 Jul
        Toulouse
        Le Bikini
      • 05 Jul
        Villeurbanne
        Le Transbordeur
      • 19 Jul
        Sète
        Jazz à Sète
      2016
      4 concerts
      • 18 Feb
        Paris
        L'Olympia
      • 23 Feb
        Lille
        Théâtre Sebastopol
      • 29 Feb
        Villeurbanne
        Le Transbordeur
      • 10 Mar
        Marseille
        LE CEPAC SILO
      2012
      6 concerts
      • 23 Oct
        Toulouse
        Le Bikini
      • 24 Oct
        Aix en Provence
        Le Pasino
      • 26 Oct
        Strasbourg
        La Laiterie
      • 11 Nov
        Paris
        L'Olympia
      • 13 Nov
        Hérouville Saint Clair
        Big Band Café
      • 17 Nov
        Amiens
        Auditorium Jules Verne
      2010
      12 concerts
      • 08 Oct
        Paris
        La Cigale
      • 12 Oct
        Colombes
        L'Avant Seine
      • 13 Oct
        Villeurbanne
        Le Transbordeur
      • 15 Oct
        Annemasse
        Chateau Rouge
      • 16 Oct
        Grenoble
        Maison de la Culture de Grenoble
      • 19 Oct
        Blagnac
        Odyssud
      • 20 Oct
        Marseille
        Docks des Sud
      • 22 Oct
        Alencon
        La Luciole
      • 23 Oct
        Brest
        La Carène
      • 25 Oct
        Terville
        Le 112
      • 26 Oct
        Roubaix
        Le Colisée
      • 28 Oct
        Monaco
        Le Moods
      2009
      5 concerts
      • 15 Jun
        Caen
        Le Cargö
      • 17 Jun
        Nantes
        Cité des congrès
      • 18 Jun
        Tours
        Palais des Congrès
      • 25 Jun
        Lille
        Théâtre Sebastopol
      • 21 Jul
        Nice
        Jardin et Arènes de Cimiez
      2008
      3 concerts
      • 04 Mar
        Paris
        La Cigale
      • 24 Jun
        Toulouse
        Le Bikini
      • 26 Jun
        Terville
        Le 112
      2007
      2 concerts
      • 06 Jun
        Paris
        Casino de Paris
      • 09 Jun
        Istres
        L'Usine
      See more
      Book now
      gérard drouot productions uses cookies on this website. With your approval, we will use them to mesure and analyse your visit on the website (statistic cookies) to adapt it to your interests (customized cookies) and to provide you with relevant information (third party cookies). Customize

Artistes
    Événements
      FR
      EN
      Joe Jackson

      Joe Jackson

      Homme impossible à cerner
      • Tournée
      • À propos
      • Les faits marquants
      • Témoignages
      • Archives

      Tournée

      • 2022 4 concerts
      • mercredi
        30
        mars 2022
        Joué-lès-Tours
        Réserver
      • jeudi
        31
        mars 2022
        PARIS
        Réserver
      • lundi
        11
        avril 2022
        CHENOVE
        Réserver
      • jeudi
        21
        avril 2022
        BORDEAUX
        Réserver
      Voir l'agenda

      À propos

      À propos

      Éclectique est sûrement le mot qui lui colle le mieux à la peau. Joe Jackson aime l’audace, alors il a décidé de l’incarner, osant s’aventurer sans crainte sur des territoires qui lui semblaient interdits. Sa marque de fabrique : surprendre, encore et toujours.

       

      « Je n'ai jamais essayé d'être à la mode, dans l'air du temps, car c'est la meilleure façon d'être vite démodé ». Est-ce donc son secret pour épouser l’intemporel ? Sûrement. Car Joe Jackson a touché à tout, décoiffant le pays des jazzmen avec sa pop qui prend racine dans le punk et la new-wave. Sorti glorieux d’une enfance malade, où les livres et les vinyles étaient ses seuls réconforts, l’enfant de Burton, dans les West Midlands, a passé sa vie à rechercher l’honnêteté absolue et à se réinventer sans cesse.

       

      « Dès que je sens que ça sonne comme quelque chose que j’ai déjà fait, je le détruis », dit-il parfois, comme une réponse à ceux qui bouillent de ne pouvoir réellement le cerner. Malin ou complètement pommé sera celui qui osera lui coller une étiquette dans le dos, tant ce timide charismatique porte une discographie aux milles nuances. Ses albums surprennent, déboussolent même.

       

      Il est comme ça, l’ami Joe Jackson : impossible à mettre en cage, car libre comme l’air, et parfois incompris, car d’avant-garde. Est-ce d’ailleurs ça, le propre d’un génie ? Probable. Aujourd’hui, en tout cas, depuis Berlin, où il a posé ses valises, le prince audacieux de la pop espiègle continue de flanquer de nouvelles couleurs sur l’œuvre délicatement bariolée de sa vie. Oui, il a la classe, Joe, comme incarnant l’élégance avec finesse d’esprit et de corps.

      Les faits marquants

      1979
      Irruption sur la scène anglaise

      Irruption sur la scène anglaise

      Cette année-là, au milieu d’une scène musicale britannique imbibée de l’état d’esprit du punk, Joe Jackson fait irruption avec deux albums d’exception : Look Sharp! en janvier, puis I’m the Man en octobre. Il devient alors l’un des maîtres de la new wave, jouant des coudes avec Elvis Costello, Ian Dury, voire même David Bowie.

      1981
      Premier virage artistique

      Premier virage artistique

      Joe Jackson est un audacieux, et oser devient sa raison d’être et de vivre. Alors qu’il est adulé par la presse et le public anglais, l’homme de Burton tente un premier coup de maître, en s’aventurant sur les terres cosy du jazz. Il sort alors Joe Jackson's Jumpin' Jive, un hommage aux plus grands jazzmen du siècle, dont Louis Jordan ou Cab Calloway. C’est sa première rupture avec la pop, devenue selon lui trop commerciale et qu’il n’hésite pas à bousculer lors de ses interviews.

      1994
      Joe, le compositeur incompris

      Joe, le compositeur incompris

      Si vous cherchez Joe Jackson quelque part, regardez ailleurs. Car il est toujours là où ne l’attend pas. En témoignent ses disques instrumentaux, dont Night Music (1994) et Heaven and Hell (1997). Il démontre alors qu’il est un compositeur à part entière, comme le fruit de son passage à la Royal Academy of Music de Londres, lorsqu’il était plus jeune.

      2001
      La réconciliation avec la pop

      La réconciliation avec la pop

      Il l’avait délaissée un temps, mais Joe Jackson l’aime toujours autant, malgré ses quelques déclarations à la presse : il renoue donc avec la pop, celle qui l’avait mené aux sommets à la fin des années 1970. Il présente alors Night and Day II, sur lequel apparaît, notamment, la sublime Marianna Faithfull.

      2019
      Follement à la hauteur

      Follement à la hauteur

      « Joe Jackson ne lâche rien ». C’est avec cette titraille que le magazine Rolling Stone introduit Fool, le nouvel album du virtuose anglais. Encore une fois, sur le plan artistique, le disque est un véritable petit bijou des temps modernes. En effet, l’homme de Burton entretient avec brio un esprit pop-jazzy, comme une courte mais époustouflante synthèse de sa carrière.

      Témoignages

      • Le mot du spectateur
      • Notre équipe en parle
      • La presse en parle

        J’étais curieux de le découvrir sur scène. C’était génial : j'ai été transportée par ce concert. Joe Jackson, c'est quand même la classe. La classe à l’anglaise. Et derrière ses claviers, il sait aussi se montrer sous sa face rock. Bref, il faut absolument le découvrir en live ! 

        Lise, après un concert à Paris

        Ce que l’on aime chez Joe Jackson, c’est que dès qu’il sort un album ou se présente sur scène, on ne sait pas exactement à quoi s’attendre. Il est capable de nous surprendre en permanence, entre pop, punk, jazz. Il sait rester debout, peu importe où il va. Certains diront qu’il est difficile à cerner. C’est probablement ça, la définition d’un génie. Il faut absolument aller le voir !

         

        Le son est résolument rock, les arrangements comme la setlist ne s’autorisant que peu d’écarts, un peu comme si l’Anglais avait à cœur de prouver qu’il est bien spirituellement un enfant du punk – même si, à l’instar des Talking Heads, il a toujours privilégié les chemins de traverse.  

         

        En quarante ans de carrière, Joe Jackson est toujours aussi difficile à cerner. Si les mots, portés par cette voix toujours aussi colorée, savent encore se muer en claques, c’est bel et bien cette veine mélodique pop-jazzy qu’entretient un Joe Jackson toujours aussi charmeur quand il se fait solennel 

        Le Temps - Rolling Stone

      Archives

      2019
      6 concerts
      • 05 avr.
        Strasbourg
        La Laiterie
      • 14 avr.
        Paris
        L'Olympia
      • 02 juil.
        Paris
        La Cigale
      • 04 juil.
        Toulouse
        Le Bikini
      • 05 juil.
        Villeurbanne
        Le Transbordeur
      • 19 juil.
        Sète
        Jazz à Sète
      2016
      4 concerts
      • 18 févr.
        Paris
        L'Olympia
      • 23 févr.
        Lille
        Théâtre Sebastopol
      • 29 févr.
        Villeurbanne
        Le Transbordeur
      • 10 mars
        Marseille
        LE CEPAC SILO
      2012
      6 concerts
      • 23 oct.
        Toulouse
        Le Bikini
      • 24 oct.
        Aix en Provence
        Le Pasino
      • 26 oct.
        Strasbourg
        La Laiterie
      • 11 nov.
        Paris
        L'Olympia
      • 13 nov.
        Hérouville Saint Clair
        Big Band Café
      • 17 nov.
        Amiens
        Auditorium Jules Verne
      2010
      12 concerts
      • 08 oct.
        Paris
        La Cigale
      • 12 oct.
        Colombes
        L'Avant Seine
      • 13 oct.
        Villeurbanne
        Le Transbordeur
      • 15 oct.
        Annemasse
        Chateau Rouge
      • 16 oct.
        Grenoble
        Maison de la Culture de Grenoble
      • 19 oct.
        Blagnac
        Odyssud
      • 20 oct.
        Marseille
        Docks des Sud
      • 22 oct.
        Alencon
        La Luciole
      • 23 oct.
        Brest
        La Carène
      • 25 oct.
        Terville
        Le 112
      • 26 oct.
        Roubaix
        Le Colisée
      • 28 oct.
        Monaco
        Le Moods
      2009
      5 concerts
      • 15 juin
        Caen
        Le Cargö
      • 17 juin
        Nantes
        Cité des congrès
      • 18 juin
        Tours
        Palais des Congrès
      • 25 juin
        Lille
        Théâtre Sebastopol
      • 21 juil.
        Nice
        Jardin et Arènes de Cimiez
      2008
      3 concerts
      • 04 mars
        Paris
        La Cigale
      • 24 juin
        Toulouse
        Le Bikini
      • 26 juin
        Terville
        Le 112
      2007
      2 concerts
      • 06 juin
        Paris
        Casino de Paris
      • 09 juin
        Istres
        L'Usine
      Afficher plus
      Réserver
      gérard drouot productions utilise des cookies sur ce site. Avec votre consentement, nous les utiliserons pour mesurer et analyser l'utilisation du site (cookies analytiques), pour l'adapter à vos intérêts (cookies de personnalisation) et pour vous présenter des publicités et des informations pertinentes (cookies de ciblage). Gérer les cookies