Artists
    Events
      EN
      FR
      • Tour
      • About
      • Archives

      Tour

      • 2022 9 concerts
      See program

      About

      About

      Imelda May is a unique artist both in her music (a mix of surf music, blues and rockabilly) and in her style. She was revealed by her first album "Love Tattoo" which went triple platinum in Ireland. She continues to tour the world in her cool, retro style that literally takes us back to the 1950s.

       


      Accustomed from a young age to singing rock'n'roll, jazz or blues (Elmore James, Billie Holliday), she became passionate about rockabilly. She then preferred to abandon her studies to devote herself to music and became a singer in the group Swing Blue Harlem. 

       


      At the age of 16 she made her first scenes in bars and worked more and more on her voice until she found this voluptuous, rich and unique tone. She created her own band in 2006 and released "Love Tattoo" which quickly became famous. Attracting the attention of Jools Holland, she participated in his tour and then appeared in his program "Later" where she played in front of an audience including Jeff Beck, Elbow and Roots Manuva. 

       


      A year later, she became the first Irish female artist to top the Irish album chart since Mary Black almost twenty years earlier. Beyond the exceptional musical skills that brought her public acclaim, it was her amazing style and inimitable '50s look that propelled her into the spotlight. She got off to a promising start in 2010 by playing alongside Jeff Beck at the Grammy Awards and then opening for Wanda Jackson. 
      Imelda May will share several times the stage and television with Thomas Dutronc. The two sing a duet in 2013 on the single version of the song "Clint". At its release in June 2014, her album "Tribal" reached number 3 in Great Britain.

       


      However, the singer will change the formula for the next album, "Life Love Flesh Blood", which she records under the legendary T-Bone Burnett. Jeff Beck will come and play a guitar on this record, giving a rock color to this rainbow of styles mixed with soul, blues, jazz, country...


      We can only advise to see Imelday May in concert for a terribly retro moment !

      Archives

      2018
      1 concert
      • 15 Jul
        Tours
        American Tours Festival
      2017
      1 concert
      • 25 Jul
        Monaco
        Salle Garnier-Opéra de Monaco
      2016
      1 concert
      • 08 Jul
        Vienne
        Jazz à Vienne
      2015
      1 concert
      • 10 Jul
        Aix les Bains
        Musilac
      2014
      7 concerts
      • 01 Jul
        Cognac
        Festival Blues Passion
      • 16 Jul
        Juan Les Pins
        Jazz à Juan
      • 03 Nov
        Toulouse
        Le Bikini
      • 05 Nov
        Villeurbanne
        Le Transbordeur
      • 06 Nov
        Strasbourg
        La Laiterie
      • 08 Nov
        Paris
        L'Olympia
      • 10 Nov
        Mantes-la-Ville
        Festival Blues sur Seine
      2013
      1 concert
      • 09 Aug
        Lorient
        Festival Interceltique
      2012
      1 concert
      • 11 May
        Paris
        L'Olympia
      2011
      1 concert
      • 26 Oct
        Paris
        La Cigale
      2010
      2 concerts
      • 20 Jul
        Nice
        Jardin et Arènes de Cimiez
      • 16 Nov
        Paris
        New Morning
      2009
      1 concert
      • 17 Nov
        Paris
        Le Réservoir
      See more
      Book now
      gérard drouot productions uses cookies on this website. With your approval, we will use them to mesure and analyse your visit on the website (statistic cookies) to adapt it to your interests (customized cookies) and to provide you with relevant information (third party cookies). Customize

Artistes
    Événements
      FR
      EN
      Imelda May

      Imelda May

      Le rockabilly cool et excentrique so 50s !
      Ecouter
      • Tournée
      • À propos
      • Archives

      Tournée

      • 2022 4 concerts
      • dimanche
        24
        juillet 2022
        Condette
        Réserver
      • Meilleures places
        mercredi
        14
        septembre 2022
        PARIS
        Réserver
      • mardi
        20
        septembre 2022
        Annemasse
        Réserver
      • mercredi
        21
        septembre 2022
        Caluire
        Réserver
      Voir l'agenda

      À propos

      À propos

      Imelda May est une artiste unique tant par sa musique (un mélange de surf music, de blues et de rockabilly) que par son style. Elle a été révélée par son premier album « Love Tattoo » qui a été triple disque de platine en Irlande. Elle continue d’arpenter les scènes du monde entier dans son style cool et rétro qui nous transporte littéralement dans les années 1950.

       

      Habituée dès son plus jeune âge à chanter du rock’n’roll, du jazz ou du blues (Elmore James, Billie Holliday) elle se passionne pour le rockabilly. Elle préfère alors abandonner ses études pour se consacrer à la musique et devient chanteuse au sein du groupe Swing Blue Harlem.

       

      A 16 ans elle fait ses premières scènes dans des bars et travaille de plus en plus sa voix jusqu'à trouver ce ton voluptueux, riche et unique. Elle crée son propre groupe en 2006 et sort « Love Tattoo » qui connait une notoriété rapide. Attirant l’attention de Jools Holland, elle participe à sa tournée puis apparait dans son programme « Later » où elle joue devant un public rassemblant à la fois Jeff Beck, Elbow et Roots Manuva.

       

      Un an plus tard, elle devient la première artiste féminine irlandaise à la tête du hit-parade des albums irlandais depuis Mary Black, presque vingt ans plus tôt. Au-delà des compétences musicales exceptionnelles qui lui ont permis de s’attirer les honneurs du public, c’est son style étonnant et son look inimitable sorti droit des années 50 qui l’ont propulsée sur le devant de la scène. Elle signe un départ prometteur pour l’année 2010 en jouant aux cotés de Jeff Beck aux Grammy Awards puis en assurant la première partie de Wanda Jackson.

       

      Imelda May partagera à plusieurs reprises la scène et des plateaux télévisés avec Thomas Dutronc. Les deux chantent en duo en 2013 sur la version single de la chanson « Clint ». A sa sortie en juin 2014, son album « Tribal » se classe numéro 3 en Grande-Bretagne.

       

      La chanteuse changera toutefois de formule pour l’album suivant, « Life Love Flesh Blood », qu’elle enregistre sous la houlette du légendaire T-Bone Burnett. Jeff Beck viendra quant à lui poser une guitare sur ce disque, donnant une couleur rock à cet arc-en-ciel de styles mélangés de soul, blues, jazz, country…

       

      On ne peut que conseiller de voir Imelday May en concert pour un moment terriblement rétro !

      Archives

      2018
      1 concert
      • 15 juil.
        Tours
        American Tours Festival
      2017
      1 concert
      • 25 juil.
        Monaco
        Salle Garnier-Opéra de Monaco
      2016
      1 concert
      • 08 juil.
        Vienne
        Jazz à Vienne
      2015
      1 concert
      • 10 juil.
        Aix les Bains
        Musilac
      2014
      7 concerts
      • 01 juil.
        Cognac
        Festival Blues Passion
      • 16 juil.
        Juan Les Pins
        Jazz à Juan
      • 03 nov.
        Toulouse
        Le Bikini
      • 05 nov.
        Villeurbanne
        Le Transbordeur
      • 06 nov.
        Strasbourg
        La Laiterie
      • 08 nov.
        Paris
        L'Olympia
      • 10 nov.
        Mantes-la-Ville
        Festival Blues sur Seine
      2013
      1 concert
      • 09 août
        Lorient
        Festival Interceltique
      2012
      1 concert
      • 11 mai
        Paris
        L'Olympia
      2011
      1 concert
      • 26 oct.
        Paris
        La Cigale
      2010
      2 concerts
      • 20 juil.
        Nice
        Jardin et Arènes de Cimiez
      • 16 nov.
        Paris
        New Morning
      2009
      1 concert
      • 17 nov.
        Paris
        Le Réservoir
      Afficher plus
      Réserver
      gérard drouot productions utilise des cookies sur ce site. Avec votre consentement, nous les utiliserons pour mesurer et analyser l'utilisation du site (cookies analytiques), pour l'adapter à vos intérêts (cookies de personnalisation) et pour vous présenter des publicités et des informations pertinentes (cookies de ciblage). Gérer les cookies