Artists
    Events
      EN
      FR
      • Tour
      • About
      • Archives

      Tour

      • 2022 4 concerts
      • Club Price
        Thursday
        17
        February 2022
        LYON
        Book your seats
      • Monday
        21
        February 2022
        Toulouse
        Book your seats
      • Club Price
        Tuesday
        22
        February 2022
        NANTES
        Book your seats
      • Club Price
        Wednesday
        23
        February 2022
        PARIS
        Book your seats
      See program

      About

      About

      Over the years, Haken has carved out a place for itself in progressive metal. Influenced by bands like Dream Theater, the band has managed to impose an incomparable style. Each new album is an event and gives rise to enchanting and energetic concerts.

       

      Haken was formed in 2007 in London around Richard Henshall (guitar, keyboards) and Tom MacLean (bass). The band was completed by friends (Ross Jennings on vocals and Matthew Marshall on guitars) and a forum of musicians (Peter Jones on keyboards and Raymond Hearne on drums).

       

      With only a demo in their pocket, Haken started by playing small London venues. A few months after their first live experience, the band was chosen to open for Riverside. In the following months, they managed to fill up the UK venues: even one of the best live stages in London, The Peel, could not resist their progressive metal! In March 2010, Haken released their first ever album entitled 'Aquarius'. Although sales are not exceptional, the critical success is undeniable: Fireworks magazine considered it one of the best progressive albums of the year. The band's style is characterised by very long and elaborate compositions, halfway between Dream Theater-style progressive metal and Pink Floyd and Genesis-influenced progressive rock, incorporating both heavier and jazzy influences.

       

      Now known for his live shows, Haken subsequently released the albums 'Visions' and 'The Mountain'. Just after the release of the latter, Tom MacLean announced that he was leaving Haken to focus on To-Mera. After worldwide auditions, American Conner Green was chosen as bassist in early 2014. This personnel reshuffle didn't stop the UK's Classic Rock Presents Prog Magazine from defining them as "one of the brightest bands in the progressive sphere right now". Their EP 'Restoration', released at the end of 2014, confirms the band's talent with quality collaborations such as Pete Rinaldi (Headspace) and Mike Portnoy (Transatlantic / Flying Colors).

       

      Haken is a highly productive band, having subsequently released the albums 'Affinity', 'Vector' and 'Virus'. The band has played on French stages, including the Maroquinerie and the Transbordeur. The audience was not mistaken: the band embarks its audience in fantastic stories mixing psychology, fantasy, while leaving a part of darkness. Haken is definitely an experience to live!

       

      Archives

      2019
      2 concerts
      • 10 Mar
        Villeurbanne
        Le Transbordeur
      • 14 Mar
        Paris
        La Maroquinerie
      2017
      3 concerts
      • 28 Mar
        Lille
        Le Splendid
      • 29 Mar
        Paris
        La Maroquinerie
      • 30 Mar
        Strasbourg
        La Laiterie
      2016
      2 concerts
      • 29 May
        Paris
        Le Divan du Monde
      • 31 May
        Lyon
        Marché Gare
      2015
      1 concert
      • 20 Jun
        Clisson
        Hellfest
      2014
      2 concerts
      • 08 Apr
        Paris
        La Boule Noire
      • 12 Apr
        Istres
        L'Usine
      See more
      Book now
      gérard drouot productions uses cookies on this website. With your approval, we will use them to mesure and analyse your visit on the website (statistic cookies) to adapt it to your interests (customized cookies) and to provide you with relevant information (third party cookies). Customize

Artistes
    Événements
      FR
      EN
      Haken

      Haken

      Les nouvelles pointures du metal progressif
      • Tournée
      • À propos
      • Archives

      Tournée

      Aucune date prévue

      À propos

      À propos

      Au fil des années, Haken s’est taillé une place de choix dans le metal progressif. Influencé par des groupes comme Dream Theater, la formation a su imposer un style incomparable. Chaque nouvel album est un évènement et donne lieu à des concerts envoûtants et énergiques.

       

      Haken se forme en 2007 à Londres autour de Richard Henshall (guitare, claviers) et Tom MacLean (basse). La formation se complète grâce à des amis (Ross Jennings au chant et Matthew Marshall aux guitares) et à un forum de musiciens (Peter Jones aux claviers et Raymond Hearne à la batterie).

       

      Avec seulement une démo en poche, Haken commence par jouer dans des petites salles londoniennes. Quelques mois après sa première expérience live, le groupe est choisi en 1ère partie de Riverside. Les mois suivants, il parvient à remplir les salles anglaises : même l'une des meilleures scènes live de Londres, The Peel, ne résiste pas à leur métal progressif ! En mars 2010, Haken sort son tout premier album intitulé « Aquarius ». Bien que les ventes ne soient pas exceptionnelles, le succès critique est indéniable : le magazine Fireworks l’a considéré comme un des meilleurs albums progressifs de l'année. Le style du groupe se caractérise par des compositions très longues et très recherchées, à mi-chemin entre métal progressif à la Dream Theater et rock progressif influencé par Pink Floyd et Genesis, en incorporant à la fois des influences plus heavy et d'autres très jazzy.

       

      Désormais connu pour ses lives, Haken sort par la suite les albums « Visions » et « The Mountain ». Juste après la sortie de ce dernier, Tom MacLean annonce qu'il quitte Haken pour se consacrer à To-Mera. Après des auditions à l'échelle mondiale, c'est l'Américain Conner Green qui est choisi comme bassiste au début de l'année 2014. Ce remaniement de personnel n’empêche pas le magazine anglais Classic Rock Presents Prog Magazine de les définir comme "un des groupes les plus brillants de la sphère progressive à l'heure actuelle". Leur EP « Restoration », sorti fin 2014, confirme le talent du groupe avec des collaborations de qualité telles que Pete Rinaldi (Headspace) et Mike Portnoy (Transatlantic / Flying Colors).

       

      Haken est un groupe d’une grande productivité, ayant par la suite publié les albums « Affinity », « Vector » et « Virus ». Le groupe s’est fait sur les scènes françaises en passant par la Maroquinerie ou le Transbordeur. Le public ne s’y est pas trompé : le groupe embarque son auditoire dans des histoires fantastiques mêlant la psychologie, le fantastique, tout en laissant une part d’ombre. Haken est définitivement une expérience à vivre !

       

      Archives

      2019
      2 concerts
      • 10 mars
        Villeurbanne
        Le Transbordeur
      • 14 mars
        Paris
        La Maroquinerie
      2017
      3 concerts
      • 28 mars
        Lille
        Le Splendid
      • 29 mars
        Paris
        La Maroquinerie
      • 30 mars
        Strasbourg
        La Laiterie
      2016
      2 concerts
      • 29 mai
        Paris
        Le Divan du Monde
      • 31 mai
        Lyon
        Marché Gare
      2015
      1 concert
      • 20 juin
        Clisson
        Hellfest
      2014
      2 concerts
      • 08 avr.
        Paris
        La Boule Noire
      • 12 avr.
        Istres
        L'Usine
      Afficher plus
      gérard drouot productions utilise des cookies sur ce site. Avec votre consentement, nous les utiliserons pour mesurer et analyser l'utilisation du site (cookies analytiques), pour l'adapter à vos intérêts (cookies de personnalisation) et pour vous présenter des publicités et des informations pertinentes (cookies de ciblage). Gérer les cookies