Artists
    Events
      EN
      FR
      Gojira

      Gojira

      The French death metal prodigies
      • Tour
      • About
      • Faits marquants

      Tour

      • 2022 3 concerts
      • Best Seats
        Tuesday
        08
        February 2022
        LYON
        Book your seats
      • Wednesday
        09
        February 2022
        FLOIRAC
        Book your seats
      • Saturday
        26
        February 2022
        PARIS
        Book your seats

      About

      About

      They have become one of the most famous French death metal bands abroad. With a career spanning over 25 years, the band has gained recognition by performing in the biggest festivals in the world and has managed to conquer the American charts. Twice nominated for a Grammy Award (2017) and after a series of successful albums and tours, the Frenchmen no longer face any obstacles.

       

      Gojira (originally named Godzilla) was formed in 1996 in a garage near Bayonne, France. Originally formed by the Duplantier brothers - Joe and Mario - both respectively on guitar/vocals and drums, the bassist Alex Cornillon and Christian Andreu, they produced several demos: Victim (1996), Possessed (1997), Saturate (1999) and Wisdom Comes (2000) and started playing gigs at local festivals. In these early demos, their death metal combined elements from thrash metal. In January 1998, Jean-Michel Labadie replaced Alex Cornillon as the band's bass player.

       

      At the end of 2014, the Duplantier brothers completed the construction of their own studio in Queens,New York (Silver Cord Studio), where they move in. They began working on a new album in 2015 but at the same time they had to face the death of their mother. This tragic event inspired the album Magma, released in 2016. More rock than its predecessors, the album abandons somewhat death metal sounds in favour of more accessible songs and clearer vocals than on the previous albums.

       

      The band continues their ascent and they probably already have some nice surprises in store !

      Faits marquants

      2001
      Terra Incognita

      Terra Incognita

      After having played a lot of opening acts, Gojira released their first album Terra Incognita in 2001 and distinguished themselves very early on by a technical and groovy death metal. The Link, released in 2003, confirms the potential of the band. Associated with Death Metal, Progressive Metal and even Groove Metal, Gojira distinguishes itself within the Metal scene by the ecological and spiritual sensitivity of their songs.

       

      2005
      From Mars To Sirius

      From Mars To Sirius

      Their third opus From Mars To Sirius, released in 2005, allowed them to expand their audience to the whole world. This album marks a progressive turn in the band's music, as they enjoy venturing into longer songs. The band goes on tour abroad for the first time and plays with major metal bands such as Trivium, Children Of Bodom or Lamb Of God. The rise of the band is launched. They perform in major European festivals such as Wacken Open Air or Hellfest. Translated with www.DeepL.com/Translator (free version)

      2008
      The Way Of All Flesh

      The Way Of All Flesh

      For the release of The Way Of All Flesh in 2008, the band tours a lot, and will even play alongside Metallica in Arras in August of the same year. In 2011, the quartet signs with the American label Roadrunner Records, one year before the release of L'Enfant Sauvage, returning to a death metal a little more accessible.

      2017
      Magma

      Magma

      In 2017, the album Magma was nominated for "Best Rock Album" and the single "Silvera" was nominated for "Best Metal Performance" at the 59th Grammy Awards in Los Angeles. This was a turning point in the band's popularity and international reach.

      2021
      Fortitude

      Fortitude

      On August 5, 2020, the band unveiled the first single from their new album. "Another World" marks the first appearance of a song by the group in a Billboard chart. In April 2021, the album Fortitude was released and debuted at number one on the iTunes All-Genre U.S. album chart. On May 1, 2021, it reached #15 on Apple Music's worldwide all-genre album sales chart.

      Book now
      gérard drouot productions uses cookies on this website. With your approval, we will use them to mesure and analyse your visit on the website (statistic cookies) to adapt it to your interests (customized cookies) and to provide you with relevant information (third party cookies). Customize

Artistes
    Événements
      FR
      EN
      Gojira

      Gojira

      Les prodiges français du death metal
      • Tournée
      • À propos
      • Les faits marquants

      Tournée

      • 2022 3 concerts
      • Meilleures places
        mardi
        08
        février 2022
        LYON
        Réserver
      • mercredi
        09
        février 2022
        FLOIRAC
        Réserver
      • samedi
        26
        février 2022
        PARIS
        Réserver
      Voir l'agenda

      À propos

      À propos

      Il est devenu l’un des groupes français de death metal les plus connus à l’étranger. Le groupe a obtenu une reconnaissance en jouant dans les plus grands festivals du monde et est parvenu à conquérir les classements américains. Nommés deux fois aux Grammy Awards (2017) et enchaînant albums et tournées à succès, les Français ne rencontrent plus aucun obstacle sur leur chemin.

       

      C'est au fond d'un garage de la région de Bayonne que Gojira (qui s’appelait à l’origine Godzilla) est formé en 1996. Composé des frères Duplantier - Joe et Mario - tous deux respectivement à la guitare / chant et à la batterie, mais aussi du bassiste Alex Cornillon et Christian Andreu, le groupe fait ses premiers pas. Ils produisent plusieurs démos : Victim (1996), Possessed (1997), Saturate (1999) et Wisdom Comes (2000) et commencent à donner des concerts dans des festivals locaux. Dans ces premières démos, leur death metal associe des éléments provenant du thrash metal. En janvier 1998, Jean-Michel Labadie remplace Alex Cornillon comme bassiste du groupe.

       

      Fin 2014, les Duplantier achèvent la construction de leur propre studio à New-York (Silver Cord Studio) dans le Queens, où ils emménagent. Ils commencent à travailler sur un nouvel album en 2015 mais sont au même moment confrontés à la mort de leur mère. Ce tragique évènement inspirera l’album Magma, paru en 2016. Plus rock que ses prédécesseurs, l’album délaisse quelque peu les sonorités death metal au profit de morceaux parfois plus faciles d’accès et portés par un chant clair plus présent que sur les albums précédents.

       

      Le groupe continue aujourd’hui de plus belle son ascension et il y a fort à parier qu’il nous prépare déjà de belles surprises pour la suite !

      Les faits marquants

      2001
      Terra Incognita

      Terra Incognita

      Après avoir fait beaucoup de premières parties, Gojira sort son premier album Terra Incognita en 2001 et se distingue très tôt par un death metal technique et groovy. The Link, sorti en 2003, confirme le potentiel de la formation. Associé au Death Metal, au Metal Progressif voire au Groove Metal, Gojira se distingue au sein de la scène Metal par la sensibilité écologiste et spirituelle de leurs chansons.

      2005
      From Mars To Sirius

      From Mars To Sirius

      Leur troisième opus From Mars To Sirius, sorti en 2005, permet d’élargir leur audience au monde entier. Cet album marque un tournant progressif dans la musique du groupe, qui se plaît à s’aventurer dans des morceaux plus longs. Le groupe part en tournée à l’étranger pour la première fois et jouera avec des formations majeures de la scène metal comme Trivium, Children Of Bodom ou encore Lamb Of God. L’ascension du groupe est lancée. Ils effectuent des prestations remarquées dans des festivals européens incontournables comme le Wacken Open Air ou le Hellfest.

      2008
      The Way Of All Flesh

      The Way Of All Flesh

      Pour la sortie de The Way Of All Flesh en 2008, le groupe tourne énormément, et jouera même aux côtés de Metallica à Arras en août de la même année. En 2011, le quatuor signe chez le label américain Roadrunner Records, un an avant la parution de L’Enfant Sauvage, revenant à un death metal un peu plus accessible.

      2017
      Magma

      Magma

      En 2017, l’album Magma est nommé pour le « Meilleur album rock » et le single « Silvera » est nommé pour la « Meilleure prestation metal » lors de la 59e cérémonie des Grammy Awards à Los Angeles. C’est un tournant dans la popularité du groupe et son rayonnement international.

      2021
      Fortitude

      Fortitude

      Le 5 août 2020, le groupe dévoile le premier single de son nouvel album. « Another World » marque la première apparition d'une chanson du groupe dans un classement du Billboard. En avril 2021, l’album Fortitude paraît et entre à la première place du classement américain des ventes d'albums tous genres d'iTunes. Le 1er mai 2021, il se positionne à la 15e place du classement mondial des ventes d'albums tous genres d'Apple Music.

      Réserver
      gérard drouot productions utilise des cookies sur ce site. Avec votre consentement, nous les utiliserons pour mesurer et analyser l'utilisation du site (cookies analytiques), pour l'adapter à vos intérêts (cookies de personnalisation) et pour vous présenter des publicités et des informations pertinentes (cookies de ciblage). Gérer les cookies