Artists
    Events
      EN
      FR
      Echo & The Bunnymen

      Echo & The Bunnymen

      The cult band of the psychedelic new wave
      Ecouter
      • Tour
      • About
      • Archives

      Tour

      • 2022 5 concerts
      • Thursday
        31
        March 2022
        Rouen
        On-sale alert
      • Best Seats
        Friday
        01
        April 2022
        PARIS
        Book your seats
      • Tuesday
        08
        November 2022
        Besançon
        On-sale alert
      • Wednesday
        09
        November 2022
        Clermont-Ferrand
        On-sale alert
      • Thursday
        10
        November 2022
        Nîmes
        On-sale alert
      See program

      About

      About

      From their first album in 1980, Echo & The Bunnymen is noticed by a deep and rather unusual sound for a group which will then privilege the guitars to the synthesizers, in full period new wave. Inscribed in the psychedelic new wave movement, they will go through the 1980s despite many ups and downs (quarrels, separation, departure of Ian McCulloch and the death of Pete De Freitas). Reformed since 1996 and stabilized since then, Echo & the Bunnymen continues to go on the road and regularly produces new opuses particularly awaited. They also have the honor to be recognized by the new generation as the spiritual fathers of a current psychedelia, from The Flaming Lips to MGMT.

       

      Formed in 1978 in Liverpool by Ian McCulloch (vocals, guitar), Will Sergeant (guitar), Les Pattinson (bass) and Pete de Freitas (drums) replacing in 1979 the drum machine "Echo", Echo & the Bunnymen became a cult band of the English post-punk period of the mid 80s. The success arrives from their first album Crocodiles then with the following ones: Heaven Up Here (1981), Porcupine (1983) and Ocean Rain (1984). Their unique sound is characterized in their biggest hits that are Bring on the Dancing Horses and The Killing Moon. However, the line-up will undergo a certain instability and loss of inspiration in the late 1980s (despite the success of its eponymous album of 1987), shaken by the departure of its singer and the loss of its drummer. The band broke up in the early 1990s.


      In 1996, Will Sergeant and Ian McCulloch managed to convince Les Pattinson to reform Echo and the Bunnymen. The following year, they released the album Evergreen, which put the band back on the map. Liam Gallagher was featured on one of the tracks. In 1999, Les Pattinson left the band for personal reasons during the recording of What Are You Going to Do with Your Life?


      Ian McCulloch and Will Sergeant continue the adventure with the album The Fountain (2009), between two solo albums of the singer. In 2014, the duo is back with the producer Youth (Martin Glover), for the twelfth album Meteorites, announced by the singles Lovers on the Run and Holy Moses. Four years later, its successor The Stars, the Oceans & the Moon offers transformed versions of its glory tracks, with some new features. The band remains active both on record and on stage: in France we could recently applaud them at the Beauregard Festival in 2017, then at the Bataclan in 2018. So, no, the band has not yet said its last word. 

       

       

      Archives

      2018
      1 concert
      • 05 Nov
        Paris
        Le Bataclan
      2017
      2 concerts
      • 10 Jun
        Nîmes
        This is not a love song
      • 08 Jul
        Hérouville-Saint-Clair
        Festival Beauregard
      2014
      1 concert
      • 06 May
        Paris
        L'Alhambra
      2012
      1 concert
      • 19 Jan
        Paris
        Le Bataclan
      2006
      1 concert
      • 22 Jul
        Clergoux
        Festival de Sedières
      2001
      2 concerts
      • 17 Jun
        Paris
        La Cigale
      • 29 Oct
        Paris
        La Cigale
      See more
      Book now
      gérard drouot productions uses cookies on this website. With your approval, we will use them to mesure and analyse your visit on the website (statistic cookies) to adapt it to your interests (customized cookies) and to provide you with relevant information (third party cookies). Customize

Artistes
    Événements
      FR
      EN
      Echo & The Bunnymen

      Echo & The Bunnymen

      Le groupe culte de la new wave psychédélique
      Ecouter
      • Tournée
      • À propos
      • Archives

      Tournée

      • 2022 5 concerts
      • jeudi
        31
        mars 2022
        Rouen
        Alerte de mise en vente
      • Meilleures places
        vendredi
        01
        avril 2022
        PARIS
        Réserver
      • mardi
        08
        novembre 2022
        Besançon
        Alerte de mise en vente
      • mercredi
        09
        novembre 2022
        Clermont-Ferrand
        Alerte de mise en vente
      • jeudi
        10
        novembre 2022
        Nîmes
        Alerte de mise en vente
      Voir l'agenda

      À propos

      À propos

      Dès son premier album en 1980, Echo & The Bunnymen se fait remarquer par un son profond et assez inhabituel pour un groupe qui va alors privilégier les guitares aux synthétiseurs, en pleine période new wave. Inscrits dans la mouvance new wave psychédélique, ils traverseront les années 1980 malgré de nombreuses péripéties (querelles, séparation, départ de Ian McCulloch et la mort de Pete De Freitas). Reformé depuis 1996 et stabilisé depuis, Echo & the Bunnymen poursuit la route et produit régulièrement de nouveaux opus particulièrement attendus. Ils ont aussi l’honneur d’être reconnus par la nouvelle génération comme les pères spirituels d'un psychédélisme actuel, de The Flaming Lips à MGMT.

       

      Formé en 1978 à Liverpool par Ian McCulloch (chant, guitare), Will Sergeant (guitare), Les Pattinson (basse) et Pete de Freitas (batterie) remplacant en 1979 la boîte à rythme "Echo", Echo & the Bunnymen est devenu un groupe culte de la période post-punk anglaise du milieu des années 80. Le succès arrive dès leur premier album Crocodiles puis avec les suivants : Heaven Up Here (1981), Porcupine (1983) et Ocean Rain (1984). Leur son unique se caractérise dans leurs plus grands succès que sont Bring on the Dancing Horses et The Killing Moon. Toutefois, le line-up subira une certaine instabilité et perte d’inspiration à la fin des années 1980 (malgré le succès de son album éponyme de 1987), ébranlé par le départ de son chanteur et la perte de son batteur. Le groupe se sépare au début des années 1990.

       

      En 1996, Will Sergeant et Ian McCulloch réussissent à convaincre Les Pattinson de reformer Echo and the Bunnymen. Ils publient l'année suivante l'album Evergreen qui replace le groupe sur le devant de la scène. On notera par exemple la présence de Liam Gallagher sur l'un des titres. En 1999, Les Pattinson quitte le groupe pour raisons personnelles durant l'enregistrement de What Are You Going to Do with Your Life?.

       

      Ian McCulloch et Will Sergeant poursuivent l'aventure avec l'album The Fountain (2009), entre deux albums solo du chanteur. En 2014, le duo est de retour avec le producteur Youth (Martin Glover), pour le douzième album Meteorites, annoncé par les extraits Lovers on the Run et Holy Moses. Quatre ans après, son successeur The Stars, the Oceans & the Moon offre des versions transformées de ses titres de gloire, avec quelques nouveautés. Le groupe demeure toujours en activité aussi bien sur disque que sur scène : en France on a pu récemment les applaudir au Festival Beauregard en 2017, puis au Bataclan en 2018. Alors, non, le groupe n’a pas encore dit son dernier mot.

      Archives

      2018
      1 concert
      • 05 nov.
        Paris
        Le Bataclan
      2017
      2 concerts
      • 10 juin
        Nîmes
        This is not a love song
      • 08 juil.
        Hérouville-Saint-Clair
        Festival Beauregard
      2014
      1 concert
      • 06 mai
        Paris
        L'Alhambra
      2012
      1 concert
      • 19 janv.
        Paris
        Le Bataclan
      2006
      1 concert
      • 22 juil.
        Clergoux
        Festival de Sedières
      2001
      2 concerts
      • 17 juin
        Paris
        La Cigale
      • 29 oct.
        Paris
        La Cigale
      Afficher plus
      Réserver
      gérard drouot productions utilise des cookies sur ce site. Avec votre consentement, nous les utiliserons pour mesurer et analyser l'utilisation du site (cookies analytiques), pour l'adapter à vos intérêts (cookies de personnalisation) et pour vous présenter des publicités et des informations pertinentes (cookies de ciblage). Gérer les cookies