Artists
    Events
      EN
      FR
      Eagles of Death Metal

      Eagles of Death Metal

      Desert Rock from California
      • Tour
      • About

      Tour

      • 2022 3 concerts
      • Monday
        18
        April 2022
        Besançon
        On-sale alert
      • Monday
        25
        April 2022
        MERIGNAC
        Book your seats
      • Tuesday
        26
        April 2022
        PARIS
        Book your seats

      About

      About

      What would a cross between the Eagles and the extreme sounds of death metal sound like? What started out as a joke by Josh Homme has become a band that delivers very effective 70s rock, sometimes garage-bougie, sometimes glam, thrilling the audience from the first notes. In concert, the band delivers energetic and hypnotic performances, without taking themselves too seriously. And we ask for more!


      The band was formed in 1998 in Palm Desert, California, under the leadership of Josh Homme (Queens of the Stone Age), Tim Vanhamel and Jesse Hughes. The latter, a former journalist, remains the only permanent member of the band, Homme being involved in QOTSA. Despite the curious name, this is not a death metal band but a garage rock band with heady rhythms and saturated guitars. The band's first album "Peace, Love, Death Metal" was released on March 23, 2004. 


      In an interview for MTV news in 2003, Josh Homme describes the band's sound as "a combination of bluegrass with powerful drums and Canned Heat-like vocals. In April 2008, Nike released its new "Take it to the Next Level" ad campaign for the T90 soccer shoe. The ad is directed by Guy Ritchie with the song "Don't speak", allowing the group to establish its reputation. 


      The third album of the group "Heart On", whose first single is "Wannabe in L.A.", was released on October 28, 2008. In 2012, for the launch of Windows 8, Microsoft uses "I only want you". In 2015, the album "Zipper Down" is released, which receives a good reception both in the press and by fans. This success is marred by the Parisian terrorist attacks of November 13, 2015, one of which occurs during their concert at the Bataclan, killing 90 people in the room. The group, forever marked by this event and maintaining a strong link with Paris, decided nevertheless to return to the stage on December 7, 2015 at the concert of U2 at the Accor Arena. Visibly moved but happy to meet the public again, it is the beginning of the rebirth for the group and its public, which has never let it down. 


      In early 2016 they announce their intention not only to complete their concert of November 13 (and the dates that were planned afterwards) but also to give other dates in the hexagon. Tickets for the "Nos Amis Tour" sold out very quickly. In 2017, a documentary retracing the concert of November 13, 2015 is released under the name "Eagles of Death Metal: Nos Amis (Our Friends)". The band continued with concerts the same year as the opening act for Mastodon. In 2019, the band performs in France, at Hellfest, visibly in shape and happy to return to France for the first time in 3 years. Probably the first steps of a new album and a tour, a sign that the band will never hang up... Peace, Love, Death Metal !

       

      Book now
      gérard drouot productions uses cookies on this website. With your approval, we will use them to mesure and analyse your visit on the website (statistic cookies) to adapt it to your interests (customized cookies) and to provide you with relevant information (third party cookies). Customize

Artistes
    Événements
      FR
      EN
      Eagles of Death Metal

      Eagles of Death Metal

      Desert Rock from California
      • Tournée
      • À propos

      Tournée

      Aucune date prévue

      À propos

      À propos

      A quoi ressemblerait un croisement entre le groupe Eagles et les sonorités extrêmes du death metal ? Ce qui était à la base une blague de Josh Homme est devenu un groupe délivrant un rock 70s très efficace, tantôt garage-bougie, tantôt glam, faisant vibrer le public dès les premières notes. En concert, le groupe livre des performances énergiques et hypnotiques, sans pour autant se prendre au sérieux. Et on en redemande !

       

      Le groupe est formé en 1998 à Palm Desert, en Californie, sous la houlette de Josh Homme (Queens of the Stone Age), Tim Vanhamel et Jesse Hughes. Ce dernier, ancien journaliste, demeure le seul membre permanent du groupe, Homme étant impliqué dans QOTSA. Malgré ce nom curieux, il ne s’agit pas d’un groupe de death metal mais bien de garage rock aux rythmiques entêtantes et aux guitares saturées. Le premier album du groupe « Peace, Love, Death Metal » sort le 23 mars 2004.

      Dans une interview pour MTV news de 2003, Josh Homme décrit le son du groupe comme « une combinaison de bluegrass avec une batterie puissante et une voix à la Canned Heat ». En avril 2008, Nike sort sa nouvelle campagne de publicité « Take it to the Next Level » pour la chaussure de football T90. La publicité est réalisée par Guy Ritchie avec la chanson « Don't speak », permettant au groupe d’asseoir sa notoriété.

       

      Le troisième album du groupe « Heart On », dont le premier extrait est « Wannabe in L.A », sort le 28 octobre 2008. En 2012, pour le lancement de Windows 8, Microsoft utilise « I only want you ». En 2015 sort l’album « Zipper Down » qui reçoit un bon accueil aussi bien dans la presse que par les fans. Ce succès est entaché par les attaques terroristes parisiennes du 13 novembre 2015, dont une se produit lors de leur concert au Bataclan, tuant 90 personnes présentes dans la salle. Le groupe, marqué à jamais par cet évènement et entretenant un lien désormais fort avec Paris, se décide malgré tout à remonter sur scène le 7 décembre 2015 lors du concert de U2 à l’Accor Arena. Visiblement ému mais heureux de retrouver le public, c’est le début de la renaissance pour le groupe et son public, qui ne l’a jamais laissé tomber.

      Début 2016 ils annoncent leur intention non seulement de terminer leur concert du 13 novembre (et les dates qui étaient prévues par la suite) mais également de donner d’autres dates dans l’hexagone. Les places pour le « Nos Amis Tour » se vendent très rapidement. En 2017, un documentaire retraçant le concert du 13 novembre 2015 est diffusé sous le nom de « Eagles of Death Metal : Nos Amis (Our Friends) ». Le groupe poursuit les concerts la même année en première partie de Mastodon.

      En 2019, le groupe se produit en France, au Hellfest, visiblement en forme et content de revenir en France pour la première fois depuis 3 ans. Sans doute les prémices d’un nouvel album et d’une tournée, signe que le groupe ne raccrochera jamais… Peace, Love, Death Metal !

      gérard drouot productions utilise des cookies sur ce site. Avec votre consentement, nous les utiliserons pour mesurer et analyser l'utilisation du site (cookies analytiques), pour l'adapter à vos intérêts (cookies de personnalisation) et pour vous présenter des publicités et des informations pertinentes (cookies de ciblage). Gérer les cookies