Artists
    Events
      EN
      FR
      Diana Krall

      Diana Krall

      "Crooner" with a velvet voice
      Ecouter
      • Tour
      • About
      • Highlights
      • Testimonials
      • Archives

      Tour

      There is yet no show to display

      About

      About
      Copyright Pierre Hennequin

      Behind this pretty, shy and discreet woman who willingly lets others express themselves in her place is one of the most famous jazz pianists and singers in the world. A success that she owes not, as her detractors like to say, to her angel face, but to her immense talent and her always subtle understanding of a very demanding genre. It must be said that she exercised and refined her innate sense of tempo with renowned mentors: Ray Brown and Jimmy Rowles.
       
      Queen of the cover versions, she does not produce classical jazz, no matter what the critics say! The woman who sometimes forced her voice to stick to standards has now understood that this was not her strength. "I don't know if I'm a singer, but I'm sure I'm a pianist," she now says with conviction. And for good reason, her music, far from being a passage in force, is a sensual, gentle and intelligent caress, which touches our sensibilities like a long embrace.
       
      For Diana Krall is also a master in the art of seduction. In a classical jazz register, this is even where she excels. Her deep, deep voice with a few warm notes and her improvised piano flights of fancy transport her audience into a hushed atmosphere. In turn, this "crooner" builds an intimate cocoon or imposes a heavy breathing and a long awaited serenity. You can then imagine yourself sitting by the fire, listening attentively to her piano, which plunges you into a welcome nostalgia, on the verge of happiness.

      Highlights

      1979
      From Nanaimo's restaurants to the prestigious Berklee

      From Nanaimo's restaurants to the prestigious Berklee

      Coming from a family of musicians, Diana Krall was almost born with a piano under her fingers as she began her apprenticeship at the age of 4! By the age of 15, she was already playing in several restaurants in her hometown and two years later, she won a scholarship to study at the Berklee College of Music in Boston. These were more than promising beginnings for the budding artist.

      1985
      The beginning of a long friendship

      The beginning of a long friendship

      Back in Canada, she was spotted by double bassist Ray Brown, who put all his energy into convincing her to move to Los Angeles to launch her career. It was there that she met her second mentor, Jimmy Rowles. With him, she further honed her piano skills and learned to sing before signing her first album in 1990.

      2001
      Paris, its city of heart and success
      Copyright Pierre Hennequin

      Paris, its city of heart and success

      Married to the British musician Elvis Costello, it was in Paris, with whom she fell in love, that she spent her honeymoon. And the city gives it back to her! Her concerts are always filled with an attentive and conquered public. It is to pay homage to her that she recorded in 2001, Live in Paris, her only concert album. A real success that will earn her the second Grammy Awards of her career in the Best Vocal Jazz Record category.  

      2013
      Surprising association with a country master

      Surprising association with a country master

      In 2004, the singer was already taking the wrong path when she released her critically acclaimed opus of original compositions, The Girl in The Other Room, for the first time. This time, she accepted Neil Young's invitation for a series of concerts in defence of Indian rights. It was a very positive experience for the artist, who later said: "It made me realise that I didn't have to stay in my character as a jazz singer, that I could do whatever I wanted as long as it was sincere". She put this statement into practice in her next album, Wallflower, which included covers of major pop hits.

      Testimonials

      • The fans speak
      • The inside view
      • Seen in the press

        Everything that makes the success of his records is there: a deep voice that wanders through an infinite range of styles, a group of erudition that sets the bar very high from the outset and the variety of songs sung tonight. We will hear in a folk blues register the Tom Waits, the Dylan, the beautiful A case of you by Joni Mitchell. But also great classics such as Fly me to the moon or Cry Me a river which she interprets after having polled the audience. 

        Sami after a concert at the Palais Longchamps in Marseille

        No artifice for Diana Krall, a singer and pianist with raw talent who delivers a modern version of jazz, full of subtlety and emotion. The woman who is affectionately known as the Nat King Cole now fully accepts her status as a jazz icon and master of rhythm. Whether in the studio or on stage, she skillfully bends all genres to fit her unique style and we ask for more !

        For her first concert in a series of three at the Olympia, as a quartet, Diana Krall puts the audience on its feet. At arm's length, because she alternates standards, songs of her own making and a few tunes from Brazil that she has always liked to play, like a revue leader. At arm's length, because her outstretched arms display such an efficient musculature for the most restrained tempos, pianissimo, the phrasing beaded into the ballads, in short, the music.

        Le Monde

      Archives

      2019
      4 concerts
      • 03 Jul
        Paris
        L'Olympia
      • 04 Jul
        Paris
        L'Olympia
      • 09 Jul
        Vienne
        Jazz à Vienne
      • 19 Jul
        Juan Les Pins
        Jazz à Juan
      2017
      5 concerts
      • 07 Oct
        Paris
        L'Olympia
      • 08 Oct
        Paris
        L'Olympia
      • 09 Oct
        Paris
        L'Olympia
      • 11 Oct
        Monte-Carlo
        Sporting
      • 16 Oct
        Marseille
        LE CEPAC SILO
      2016
      4 concerts
      • 05 Jul
        Vienne
        Jazz à Vienne
      • 06 Jul
        Paris
        L'Olympia
      • 19 Jul
        Sète
        Théatre de la Mer
      • 20 Jul
        Juan Les Pins
        Jazz à Juan
      2015
      3 concerts
      • 03 Oct
        Lyon
        Cité Internationale
      • 14 Oct
        Paris
        L'Olympia
      • 15 Oct
        Paris
        L'Olympia
      2013
      2 concerts
      • 19 Jul
        Juan Les Pins
        Jazz à Juan
      • 21 Jul
        Marseille
        Festival de Jazz des Cinq Continents
      2010
      3 concerts
      • 08 Jul
        Vienne
        Jazz à Vienne
      • 20 Jul
        Patrimonio
        Les nuits de la guitare
      • 22 Jul
        Juan Les Pins
        Jazz à Juan
      2009
      10 concerts
      • 15 Sep
        Paris
        L'Olympia
      • 16 Sep
        Paris
        L'Olympia
      • 17 Sep
        Paris
        L'Olympia
      • 27 Sep
        Bruxelles
        Bozar
      • 30 Sep
        Lille
        Zénith Arena
      • 01 Oct
        Saint-Herblain
        Zénith Nantes Métropole
      • 02 Oct
        Lyon
        Cité Internationale
      • 15 Oct
        Toulouse
        Zénith Toulouse Métropole
      • 16 Oct
        Nice
        Acropolis
      • 04 Nov
        Anvers
        Elisabeth Zaal
      2008
      2 concerts
      • 28 Jun
        Vienne
        Jazz à Vienne
      • 21 Jul
        Nice
        Jardin et Arènes de Cimiez
      2004
      14 concerts
      • 17 Sep
        Paris
        L'Olympia
      • 18 Sep
        Paris
        L'Olympia
      • 19 Sep
        Paris
        L'Olympia
      • 20 Sep
        Paris
        L'Olympia
      • 21 Sep
        Paris
        L'Olympia
      • 23 Sep
        Lyon
        Halle Tony Garnier
      • 24 Sep
        Montpellier
        Zénith Sud
      • 25 Sep
        Marseille
        Palais des Sports
      • 04 Oct
        Toulouse
        Zénith Toulouse Métropole
      • 05 Oct
        Nice
        Palais Nikaïa
      • 30 Oct
        Maxéville
        Zénith de Nancy
      • 31 Oct
        Lille
        Zénith Arena
      • 27 Nov
        Divonne les Bains
        Espace Charles Aznavour
      • 30 Nov
        Bruxelles (Belgique)
        Forest National
      2002
      5 concerts
      • 30 Jan
        Nice
        Acropolis
      • 31 Jan
        Marseille
        Le Dôme
      • 12 Sep
        Paris
        Palais des Congrès
      • 13 Sep
        Paris
        Palais des Congrès
      • 14 Sep
        Divonne les Bains
        Espace Charles Aznavour
      2001
      4 concerts
      • 29 Nov
        Paris
        L'Olympia
      • 30 Nov
        Paris
        L'Olympia
      • 01 Dec
        Paris
        L'Olympia
      • 02 Dec
        Paris
        L'Olympia
      1999
      2 concerts
      • 25 Nov
        Paris
        L'Olympia
      • 14 Dec
        Paris
        L'Olympia
      See more
      gérard drouot productions uses cookies on this website. With your approval, we will use them to mesure and analyse your visit on the website (statistic cookies) to adapt it to your interests (customized cookies) and to provide you with relevant information (third party cookies). Customize

Artistes
    Événements
      FR
      EN
      Diana Krall

      Diana Krall

      « Crooneuse » à la voix de velours
      Ecouter
      • Tournée
      • À propos
      • Les faits marquants
      • Témoignages
      • Archives

      Tournée

      Aucune date prévue

      À propos

      À propos

      Derrière cette jolie femme, timide et discrète qui laisse volontiers les autres s’exprimer à sa place se cache l’une des pianistes et chanteuses de jazz les plus connues au monde. Un succès qu’elle ne doit pas, comme ses détracteurs aiment à la dire, à son visage d’ange, mais bien à son talent immense et à sa compréhension toujours subtile d’un genre hyper exigeant. Il faut dire qu’elle a exercé et affiné son sens inné du tempo auprès de mentors de renom : Ray Brown et Jimmy Rowles.

       

      Reine de la reprise, elle ne produit pas un jazz classique, n’en déplaise aux critiques ! Celle qui a parfois forcé sur sa voix pour coller aux standards a désormais compris que là n’était pas sa force. « Je ne sais pas si je suis une chanteuse, mais je suis sûre d’être une pianiste », affirme-t-elle désormais avec conviction. Et pour cause, sa musique, loin d’être un passage en force, est une caresse sensuelle, douce et intelligente, qui effleure nos sensibilités comme une longue étreinte.

       

      Car Diana Krall est aussi passée maîtresse dans l’art de la séduction. Dans un registre de jazz classique, c’est même là où elle excelle. Sa voix grave et profonde teintée de quelques notes chaleureuses, ses envolées improvisées au piano transportent son public dans une ambiance feutrée. Tour à tour, cette « crooneuse » fabrique un cocon intime ou impose une respiration lourde et une sérénité longtemps attendue. On s’imagine alors volontiers au coin du feu, écoutant avec attention son piano qui nous plonge dans une nostalgie bienvenue, à la limite du bonheur.

      Les faits marquants

      1979
      Des restaurants de Nanaimo à la prestigieuse Berklee

      Des restaurants de Nanaimo à la prestigieuse Berklee

      Issue d’une famille de musiciens, Diana Krall est presque née avec un piano sous les doigts puisqu’elle commence son apprentissage à l’âge de 4 ans ! A 15 ans, elle joue déjà dans plusieurs restaurants de sa ville et deux ans plus tard, elle décroche une bourse pour étudier au Berklee College of Music de Boston. Des débuts plus que prometteurs pour l’artiste en devenir.

      1985
      Le début d’une longue amitié

      Le début d’une longue amitié

      De retour au Canada, elle est repérée par le contrebassiste Ray Brown qui déploie toute son énergie à la convaincre d’emménager à Los Angeles pour lancer sa carrière. C’est là qu’elle rencontrera son deuxième mentor, Jimmy Rowles. Avec lui, elle perfectionnera encore sa maîtrise du piano et apprendra à chanter avant de signer son premier album en 1990.

      2001
      Paris, sa ville de cœur et de succès
      Copyright Pierre Hennequin

      Paris, sa ville de cœur et de succès

      Mariée au musicien britannique Elvis Costello, c’est à Paris, dont elle est tombée amoureuse, qu’elle passe son voyage de noce. Et la ville le lui rend bien ! Ses concerts sont toujours remplis d’un public attentif et conquis. C’est pour lui rendre hommage qu’elle enregistre en 2001, Live in Paris, son seul album-concert. Un véritable succès qui lui vaudra le deuxième Grammy Awards de sa carrière dans la catégorie Meilleur Disque de Jazz Vocal.  

      2013
      Surprenante association avec un maître de la country

      Surprenante association avec un maître de la country

      En 2004, la chanteuse prenait déjà les chemins de traverse en sortant pour la première fois un opus de compositions originales, The Girl in The Other Room, salué par la critique. Cette fois, elle accepte l’invitation de Neil Young pour une série de concerts visant à défendre les droits des Indiens. Une expérience très positive pour l’artiste qui dira plus tard : « ça m’a fait réaliser que je n’étais pas obligée de rester dans mon personnage de chanteuse de jazz, que je pouvais faire ce que je voulais du moment que c’était sincère ». Elle mettra d’ailleurs en œuvre cette affirmation dans son album suivant, Wallflower, qui regroupe des reprises de grands tubes pop.

      Témoignages

      • Le mot du spectateur
      • Notre équipe en parle
      • La presse en parle

        Tout ce qui fait le succès de ses disques est là : une voix grave se baladant dans un registre infini de styles, un groupe d'une érudition qui place la barre très haut dès le départ et la variété des morceaux chantés ce soir. On y entendra dans un registre folk blues du Tom Waits, du Dylan, le beau A case of you de Joni Mitchell. Mais aussi des grands classiques comme Fly me to the moon ou Cry Me a river qu'elle interprète après avoir sondé l'assistance.

        Sami après un concert au Palais Longchamps de Marseille

        Pas d’artifice pour Diana Krall, chanteuse et pianiste au talent brut qui délivre une version moderne du jazz, tout en subtilité et en émotions. Celle que l’on appelle volontiers la Nat King Cole au féminin accepte désormais pleinement son statut d’icône du jazz et de maîtresse du rythme. En studio ou sur scène, elle plie avec talent tous les genres pour les faire rentrer dans son style unique et on en redemande !

         

        Pour son premier concert d'une série de trois à l'Olympia, en quartet, Diana Krall met à bout de bras le public debout. A bout de bras, parce qu'elle alterne les standards, les chansons de son cru et quelques airs du Brésil qu'elle a toujours aimé jouer, telle une meneuse de revue. A bout de bras, tant ses bras déliés affichent une musculature efficace pour les tempos les plus retenus, pianissimo, le phrasé perlé dans les ballades, bref, la musique.

        Le Monde

      Archives

      2019
      4 concerts
      • 03 juil.
        Paris
        L'Olympia
      • 04 juil.
        Paris
        L'Olympia
      • 09 juil.
        Vienne
        Jazz à Vienne
      • 19 juil.
        Juan Les Pins
        Jazz à Juan
      2017
      5 concerts
      • 07 oct.
        Paris
        L'Olympia
      • 08 oct.
        Paris
        L'Olympia
      • 09 oct.
        Paris
        L'Olympia
      • 11 oct.
        Monte-Carlo
        Sporting
      • 16 oct.
        Marseille
        LE CEPAC SILO
      2016
      4 concerts
      • 05 juil.
        Vienne
        Jazz à Vienne
      • 06 juil.
        Paris
        L'Olympia
      • 19 juil.
        Sète
        Théatre de la Mer
      • 20 juil.
        Juan Les Pins
        Jazz à Juan
      2015
      3 concerts
      • 03 oct.
        Lyon
        Cité Internationale
      • 14 oct.
        Paris
        L'Olympia
      • 15 oct.
        Paris
        L'Olympia
      2013
      2 concerts
      • 19 juil.
        Juan Les Pins
        Jazz à Juan
      • 21 juil.
        Marseille
        Festival de Jazz des Cinq Continents
      2010
      3 concerts
      • 08 juil.
        Vienne
        Jazz à Vienne
      • 20 juil.
        Patrimonio
        Les nuits de la guitare
      • 22 juil.
        Juan Les Pins
        Jazz à Juan
      2009
      10 concerts
      • 15 sept.
        Paris
        L'Olympia
      • 16 sept.
        Paris
        L'Olympia
      • 17 sept.
        Paris
        L'Olympia
      • 27 sept.
        Bruxelles
        Bozar
      • 30 sept.
        Lille
        Zénith Arena
      • 01 oct.
        Saint-Herblain
        Zénith Nantes Métropole
      • 02 oct.
        Lyon
        Cité Internationale
      • 15 oct.
        Toulouse
        Zénith Toulouse Métropole
      • 16 oct.
        Nice
        Acropolis
      • 04 nov.
        Anvers
        Elisabeth Zaal
      2008
      2 concerts
      • 28 juin
        Vienne
        Jazz à Vienne
      • 21 juil.
        Nice
        Jardin et Arènes de Cimiez
      2004
      14 concerts
      • 17 sept.
        Paris
        L'Olympia
      • 18 sept.
        Paris
        L'Olympia
      • 19 sept.
        Paris
        L'Olympia
      • 20 sept.
        Paris
        L'Olympia
      • 21 sept.
        Paris
        L'Olympia
      • 23 sept.
        Lyon
        Halle Tony Garnier
      • 24 sept.
        Montpellier
        Zénith Sud
      • 25 sept.
        Marseille
        Palais des Sports
      • 04 oct.
        Toulouse
        Zénith Toulouse Métropole
      • 05 oct.
        Nice
        Palais Nikaïa
      • 30 oct.
        Maxéville
        Zénith de Nancy
      • 31 oct.
        Lille
        Zénith Arena
      • 27 nov.
        Divonne les Bains
        Espace Charles Aznavour
      • 30 nov.
        Bruxelles (Belgique)
        Forest National
      2002
      5 concerts
      • 30 janv.
        Nice
        Acropolis
      • 31 janv.
        Marseille
        Le Dôme
      • 12 sept.
        Paris
        Palais des Congrès
      • 13 sept.
        Paris
        Palais des Congrès
      • 14 sept.
        Divonne les Bains
        Espace Charles Aznavour
      2001
      4 concerts
      • 29 nov.
        Paris
        L'Olympia
      • 30 nov.
        Paris
        L'Olympia
      • 01 déc.
        Paris
        L'Olympia
      • 02 déc.
        Paris
        L'Olympia
      1999
      2 concerts
      • 25 nov.
        Paris
        L'Olympia
      • 14 déc.
        Paris
        L'Olympia
      Afficher plus
      gérard drouot productions utilise des cookies sur ce site. Avec votre consentement, nous les utiliserons pour mesurer et analyser l'utilisation du site (cookies analytiques), pour l'adapter à vos intérêts (cookies de personnalisation) et pour vous présenter des publicités et des informations pertinentes (cookies de ciblage). Gérer les cookies