Artists
    Events
      EN
      FR
      Dee Dee Bridgewater

      Dee Dee Bridgewater

      At the roots of jazz and blues
      Ecouter
      • Tour
      • About
      • Highlights
      • Testimonials
      • Archives

      Tour

      There is yet no show to display

      About

      About

      Dee Dee Bridgewater never stops renewing herself, surprising each time an audience that asks for more, ready to follow her in all her eccentricities, impossible quests and musical journeys. If the singer with her deep voice, overwhelming emotions and powerful rhythm was already a jazz diva, she has, for the past few years, decided to operate in a new register. That of the blues, which she has long refused to explore.


      It was her mother who forbade her to sing this music that was synonymous for her with debauchery, alcohol and poverty. Yet by secretly listening to the sounds that called her to her roots, Dee Dee Bridgewater already knew that these songs would set her completely free.

       
      Bursting with laughter like thunder, fiery temperament and communicative energy as a banner, she embarked on a journey that was as much about initiation as it was about geography in search of her origins. African at first by going to Senegal and Mali, then from the south of the United States, spending time in the city of Memphis where she lived her early years. Each time, she listens, learns, creates and is inspired by her own journey to talk about universal issues: the quest for identity, uprooting, social struggles.

       
      Committed since her beginnings to civil rights in the USA, often close to the Black Panther movement and a fervent admirer of Angela Davis, she now tells the story of African-American history, racism, her femininity but also Love. And she has a lot of it! Despite the years, the artist on stage is more sensual than ever. She grooves, she dances, she no longer refuses anything and propagates, as always, an explosive and communicative happiness.

      Highlights

      1971
      Dee Dee Bridgewater jazzwoman
      Copyright Philippe Pierangeli

      Dee Dee Bridgewater jazzwoman

      Young Denise grew up in a world dedicated to jazz. Although this would change in the course of her career, she made her father, a trumpet player and music teacher, a role model. Following in his footsteps, in 1971 she joined Thad Jones and Mel Lewis' band as a singer. She gained valuable experience and three years later released her first eponymous, soul and funk oriented album.

      1984

      Dee Dee Bridgewater the Parisian

      In the 70's and 80's, she played in several musicals that would lead her to Paris, where she decided to settle. She stayed in France for almost 20 years, falling in love with a Frenchman. An album in which the singer expresses herself in the language of Molière, J'ai Deux Amours (2005), was released.

      1990
      Dee Dee Bridgewater the diva
      Copyright Mark Higashino

      Dee Dee Bridgewater the diva

      The 90s marked the beginning of the dazzling success of the woman who would become a reference singer in the world of jazz. By performing Precious Things with Ray Charles, she achieved a recognition and consecration never before known. A commercial success that will never be denied again !

      1999
      Dee Dee Bridgewater the Ambassador
      Copyright Mark Higashino

      Dee Dee Bridgewater the Ambassador

      Committed from the outset to fighting the social inequalities and racism that she suffers doubly as a black woman, she became involved at the international level in 1999. She then became a goodwill ambassador for the UN, for food and agriculture.

      2017
      Dee Dee Bridgewater mistress of the blues

      Dee Dee Bridgewater mistress of the blues

      The year 2017 marks a turning point in the singer's career. While she had always refused to produce blues, she finally embraces her roots with the album Memphis... Yes, I'm Ready. A title in the form of a claim and a liberation for the artist in a style tailored to her.

      Testimonials

      • The fans speak
      • The inside view
      • Seen in the press

        Wow! All dressed in red, right down to her hat, which she'll eventually get rid of, Dee Dee is a real whirlwind. In her early sixties, she will electrify the stage, singing, dancing, screaming! She offers us a superb duet with Captain Kirk and at the end, Black Thought will give the impression of a shy little boy refusing what looked like a verbal joust. Touching and powerful ! 

        Quentin, after a concert in New York

        Between us and France's lover Dee Dee Bridgewater, it's a story that lasts and fills us with happiness. Her words for a better world, her fruitful search for forgotten origins, her prodigious energy and her joie de vivre take us to each concert in a dancing whirlwind of happiness. Without exaggerating the line, we can certainly say that we have before us an immense lady of jazz and blues.

        Dee Dee Bridgewater's latest recital, Memphis is a soul & blues feast, a total celebration, a lesson in civics and a monument to soul & blues music. The so francophile jazz singer, ends her eminently theatrical show with a scoundrel: "So ! Are you shocked that your jazz singer has returned to the blues ? "Oh, not in the least. Again and again ! 

        Le Monde

      Archives

      2019
      2 concerts
      • 29 Mar
        Megève
        Megève Jazz Festival
      • 02 Jul
        Saint-Riquier
        Festival de Saint-Riquier
      2018
      3 concerts
      • 04 Aug
        Sète
        Festival Fiest'A Sète
      • 05 Aug
        Aix-en-Provence
        Festival de Jazz
      • 06 Aug
        Saint Tropez
        Festival LEs Nuits du Chateau de la Moutte
      2017
      8 concerts
      • 09 Jun
        Seignosse
        Les Bourdaines
      • 10 Jun
        Montereau
        Festival Confluences
      • 06 Jul
        Cognac
        Festival Blues Passion
      • 30 Jul
        Marciac
        Jazz in Marciac
      • 28 Oct
        Hem
        Le Zephyr
      • 07 Nov
        Paris
        La Cigale
      • 10 Nov
        Conflans-Sainte-Honorine
        Théatre Simone Signoret
      • 11 Nov
        Sainte-Maxime
        Le Carré
      2016
      6 concerts
      • 04 May
        Coutances
        Festival Jazz sous les Pommiers
      • 06 May
        Saint-Gaudens
        Jazz en Comminges
      • 07 Jul
        Segré
        Saveurs Jazz Festival
      • 07 Oct
        Saint-Chamond
        RhinoJazz Festival
      • 20 Oct
        Gap
        Le Quattro
      • 22 Oct
        Besançon
        Théâtre Ledoux
      2015
      8 concerts
      • 25 Jun
        Enghien les Bains
        Enghien Jazz Festival
      • 26 Jun
        Wolfisheim
        Wolfi Jazz Festival
      • 27 Jun
        Vienne
        Jazz à Vienne
      • 30 Jul
        Narbonne
        Jazz à l'Hospitalet
      • 20 Sep
        Cléon
        La traverse
      • 23 Sep
        Paris
        L'Olympia
      • 24 Sep
        Carquefou
        Théâtre de la Fleuriaye
      • 26 Sep
        Amiens
        Grand Theâtre De La Maison De La Culture
      2014
      7 concerts
      • 06 Aug
        Marciac
        Jazz in Marciac
      • 08 Aug
        Bâle (Suisse)
        Grand Casino Basel
      • 10 Aug
        Amnéville
        Le Casino
      • 14 Aug
        La Grande-Motte
        Le Pasino
      • 16 Aug
        Le Mont Saint Michel
        Jazz en Baie
      • 18 Aug
        Saint-Clément-Des-Baleines
        Jazz Au Phare
      • 29 Nov
        Monaco
        Monte-Carlo Jazz Festival
      2013
      3 concerts
      • 01 Jul
        Paris
        L'Olympia
      • 09 Jul
        Vienne
        Jazz à Vienne
      • 20 Jul
        Técou
        Vinovalie Jazz-Cave de Técou
      2012
      3 concerts
      • 30 Jun
        Compiègne
        Palais en Jazz Festival
      • 22 Jul
        Condette
        Hardelot Jazz Week Festival
      • 24 Jul
        Port Grimaud
        Les Grimaldines
      2010
      9 concerts
      • 06 Mar
        Blois
        All That Jazz
      • 07 Mar
        Lille
        Grand Palais-Salle Vauban
      • 10 Mar
        Béziers
        Théâtre SortieOuest
      • 11 Mar
        Nice
        Opéra de Nice
      • 12 Mar
        Aix en Provence
        Le Pasino
      • 14 Mar
        Paris
        Salle Pleyel
      • 15 Mar
        Nantes
        Cité des congrès
      • 30 Jun
        Vienne
        Jazz à Vienne
      • 21 Jul
        Bonneville
        Bonneville Jazz Festival
      See more
      gérard drouot productions uses cookies on this website. With your approval, we will use them to mesure and analyse your visit on the website (statistic cookies) to adapt it to your interests (customized cookies) and to provide you with relevant information (third party cookies). Customize

Artistes
    Événements
      FR
      EN
      Dee Dee Bridgewater

      Dee Dee Bridgewater

      Aux racines du jazz et du blues
      Ecouter
      • Tournée
      • À propos
      • Les faits marquants
      • Témoignages
      • Archives

      Tournée

      Aucune date prévue

      À propos

      À propos

      Dee Dee Bridgewater n’en finit plus de se renouveler, surprenant à chaque fois un public qui en redemande, prêt à la suivre dans toutes ses excentricités, ses quêtes impossibles et ses voyages musicaux. Si la chanteuse à la voix profonde, bouleversante d’émotions, puissamment rythmique était déjà une diva du jazz, elle a, depuis quelques années, décidé d’opérer dans un nouveau registre. Celui du blues qu’elle a longtemps refusé d’explorer.

       

      C’est sa mère qui lui a interdit de chanter cette musique synonyme pour elle de débauche, d’alcool et de pauvreté. Pourtant, en écoutant en cachette ces sonorités qui l’appelaient à ses racines, Dee Dee Bridgewater savait déjà que ces chansons la rendraient complètement libre.

       

      Éclats de rires grondants comme le tonnerre, tempérament de feu et énergie communicative en étendard, elle se lance dans un voyage autant initiatique que géographique à la recherche de ses origines. Africaines d’abord en se rendant au Sénégal et au Mali, du sud des Etats-Unis ensuite, en passant du temps dans la ville de Memphis où elle a vécu ses premières années. A chaque fois, elle écoute, elle apprend, elle crée et elle s’inspire de son propre parcours pour parler de questions universelles : la quête d’identité, le déracinement, les luttes sociales.

       

      Engagée depuis ses débuts pour les droits civiques aux USA, souvent proche du mouvement des Black Panthers et fervente admiratrice d’Angela Davis, elle raconte désormais l’histoire afro-américaine, le racisme, sa féminité mais aussi l’Amour. Et elle en a à revendre ! Malgré les années, l’artiste sur scène est plus sensuelle que jamais. Elle groove, elle danse, elle ne se refuse plus rien et propage, comme toujours, un bonheur explosif et communicatif.

      Les faits marquants

      1971
      Dee Dee Bridgewater la jazzwoman
      © Philippe Pierangeli

      Dee Dee Bridgewater la jazzwoman

      La jeune Denise a grandi dans un univers dédié au jazz. Même si cela changera au cours de sa carrière, elle érige son père, trompettiste et enseignant de musique, en modèle. C’est en marchant dans ses pas qu’elle intègre en 1971 l’orchestre de Thad Jones et Mel Lewis en tant que chanteuse. Elle acquiert une expérience précieuse et sort trois ans plus tard son premier album éponyme, orienté soul et funk.

      1984
      Dee Dee Bridgewater la parisienne
      © Mark Higashino

      Dee Dee Bridgewater la parisienne

      Dans les années 70 et 80, elle joue dans plusieurs comédies musicales qui la mèneront à Paris, où elle décidera de s’installer. Elle restera en France pendant presque 20 ans, tombée amoureuse d’un français. Il en sortira un album où la chanteuse s’exprime dans la langue de Molière, J’ai Deux Amours (2005).

      1990
      Dee Dee Bridgewater la diva
      © Mark Higashino

      Dee Dee Bridgewater la diva

      Les années 90 marqueront le début du succès fulgurant de celle qui deviendra une chanteuse de référence dans le monde du jazz. En interprétant Precious Things avec Ray Charles, elle atteint une reconnaissance et une consécration encore jamais connues. Un succès commercial qui ne se démentira alors plus jamais !

      1999
      Dee Dee Bridgewater l’ambassadrice
      © Mark Higashino

      Dee Dee Bridgewater l’ambassadrice

      Engagée depuis ses débuts contre les inégalités sociales et le racisme qu’elle subit doublement en tant que femme noire, elle s’engage à l’international en 1999. Elle devient alors ambassadrice de bonne volonté pour l’ONU, pour l’alimentation et l’agriculture.

      2017
      Dee Dee Bridgewater maîtresse du blues

      Dee Dee Bridgewater maîtresse du blues

      L’année 2017 marque un tournant dans la carrière de la chanteuse. Alors qu’elle s’était toujours refusée à produire du blues, elle embrasse finalement ses racines avec l’album Memphis… Yes, I’m Ready. Un titre en forme de revendication et une libération pour l’artiste dans un style taillé pour elle.

      Témoignages

      • Le mot du spectateur
      • Notre équipe en parle
      • La presse en parle

        Waw ! Toute de rouge vêtue, jusqu'à son chapeau dont elle finira par se débarrasser, Dee Dee est un véritable tourbillon. Du haut de ses bientôt 60 ans, elle électrisera la scène, en chantant, dansant, hurlant ! Elle nous offre un superbe duo avec Captain Kirk et à la fin, Black Thought donnera l'impression d'un petit garçon timide refusant ce qui ressemblait à une joute verbale. Touchant et puissant !

        Quentin, après un concert à New York

        Entre l’amoureuse de la France Dee Dee Bridgewater et nous, c’est une histoire qui dure et qui nous comble de bonheur. Ses prises de parole pour un monde meilleur, sa recherche fructueuse d’origines oubliées, son énergie prodigieuse et sa joie de vivre nous emmènent à chaque concert dans un tourbillon dansant de bonheur. Sans exagérer le trait, nous pouvons à coup sûr dire que nous avons devant nous une immense dame du jazz et du blues.

         

         

        Le dernier récital de Dee Dee Bridgewater, Memphis est un régal soul & blues, une fête totale, une leçon d’instruction civique et un monument de musique soul et blues. La si francophile chanteuse de jazz, termine son show éminemment théâtral par un canaille : « Alors ! Vous êtes choqué(e)s que votre chanteuse de jazz soit revenue au blues ? » Oh, pas le moins du monde. Encore, encore !

        Le Monde

      Archives

      2019
      2 concerts
      • 29 mars
        Megève
        Megève Jazz Festival
      • 02 juil.
        Saint-Riquier
        Festival de Saint-Riquier
      2018
      3 concerts
      • 04 août
        Sète
        Festival Fiest'A Sète
      • 05 août
        Aix-en-Provence
        Festival de Jazz
      • 06 août
        Saint Tropez
        Festival LEs Nuits du Chateau de la Moutte
      2017
      8 concerts
      • 09 juin
        Seignosse
        Les Bourdaines
      • 10 juin
        Montereau
        Festival Confluences
      • 06 juil.
        Cognac
        Festival Blues Passion
      • 30 juil.
        Marciac
        Jazz in Marciac
      • 28 oct.
        Hem
        Le Zephyr
      • 07 nov.
        Paris
        La Cigale
      • 10 nov.
        Conflans-Sainte-Honorine
        Théatre Simone Signoret
      • 11 nov.
        Sainte-Maxime
        Le Carré
      2016
      6 concerts
      • 04 mai
        Coutances
        Festival Jazz sous les Pommiers
      • 06 mai
        Saint-Gaudens
        Jazz en Comminges
      • 07 juil.
        Segré
        Saveurs Jazz Festival
      • 07 oct.
        Saint-Chamond
        RhinoJazz Festival
      • 20 oct.
        Gap
        Le Quattro
      • 22 oct.
        Besançon
        Théâtre Ledoux
      2015
      8 concerts
      • 25 juin
        Enghien les Bains
        Enghien Jazz Festival
      • 26 juin
        Wolfisheim
        Wolfi Jazz Festival
      • 27 juin
        Vienne
        Jazz à Vienne
      • 30 juil.
        Narbonne
        Jazz à l'Hospitalet
      • 20 sept.
        Cléon
        La traverse
      • 23 sept.
        Paris
        L'Olympia
      • 24 sept.
        Carquefou
        Théâtre de la Fleuriaye
      • 26 sept.
        Amiens
        Grand Theâtre De La Maison De La Culture
      2014
      7 concerts
      • 06 août
        Marciac
        Jazz in Marciac
      • 08 août
        Bâle (Suisse)
        Grand Casino Basel
      • 10 août
        Amnéville
        Le Casino
      • 14 août
        La Grande-Motte
        Le Pasino
      • 16 août
        Le Mont Saint Michel
        Jazz en Baie
      • 18 août
        Saint-Clément-Des-Baleines
        Jazz Au Phare
      • 29 nov.
        Monaco
        Monte-Carlo Jazz Festival
      2013
      3 concerts
      • 01 juil.
        Paris
        L'Olympia
      • 09 juil.
        Vienne
        Jazz à Vienne
      • 20 juil.
        Técou
        Vinovalie Jazz-Cave de Técou
      2012
      3 concerts
      • 30 juin
        Compiègne
        Palais en Jazz Festival
      • 22 juil.
        Condette
        Hardelot Jazz Week Festival
      • 24 juil.
        Port Grimaud
        Les Grimaldines
      2010
      9 concerts
      • 06 mars
        Blois
        All That Jazz
      • 07 mars
        Lille
        Grand Palais-Salle Vauban
      • 10 mars
        Béziers
        Théâtre SortieOuest
      • 11 mars
        Nice
        Opéra de Nice
      • 12 mars
        Aix en Provence
        Le Pasino
      • 14 mars
        Paris
        Salle Pleyel
      • 15 mars
        Nantes
        Cité des congrès
      • 30 juin
        Vienne
        Jazz à Vienne
      • 21 juil.
        Bonneville
        Bonneville Jazz Festival
      Afficher plus
      gérard drouot productions utilise des cookies sur ce site. Avec votre consentement, nous les utiliserons pour mesurer et analyser l'utilisation du site (cookies analytiques), pour l'adapter à vos intérêts (cookies de personnalisation) et pour vous présenter des publicités et des informations pertinentes (cookies de ciblage). Gérer les cookies