Artists
    Events
      EN
      FR
      Chris Isaak

      Chris Isaak

      In the footsteps of Elvis !
      Ecouter
      • Tour
      • About
      • Highlights
      • Testimonials
      • Archives

      Tour

      There is yet no show to display

      About

      About

      Striking costume, slicked-up hair, powerful voice : Chris Isaak, a child of the sixties cradled by the ardour of Elvis, swims against the current to celebrate a rock with the scent of yesteryear. This crooner from California, optimistic by nature, plays with the ambient spleen to build an extraordinary musical empire.
       
      Out of fashion, Chris Isaak, worthy heir to Dean Martin, Bing Crosby and the great Elvis Presley, is a headwind, gracefully freezing time. This contemporary cowboy, ready to draw his second-hand Gibson J-200 at the slightest emotion, makes a mockery of trends and eras. A charming smile, an aerodynamic hairstyle, clothes in electric colours: the rough diamond from Stockton, a discreet town in California, sets his suave and languorous voice to velvet melodies, in the tradition of his childhood heroes, like Leadbelly and Hank Williams, whom he used to listen to on an old, barely functional electrophone.
       
      In a way, Chris Isaak, who comes from a very modest family, has always been one step behind, and there lies the paradox. Because the American crooner, a former talented boxer, whose nose still bears the stigma, always knocks at the right time, and without warning, to get rid of the mass with hits that came out of nowhere, that nobody believed in. Blue Hotel was announced as a commercial failure by its label at the time, Wicked Game as a shipwreck: they became worldwide successes. Yes, this unfailing lover of Roy Orbison, who defines himself as the median between a poet and a redneck, could have fallen into oblivion many times over. But the legacy he carries, and has been sculpting since the eighties, is his balancing point: Chris Isaak will never fall.
       
      Thus, always in good humour, this dandy, extravagant by nature, breaking with the codes of political correctness, wonderfully revives the spirit of the sixties, injecting it with a dose of timeless modernity. Frugality, serenity, romanticism: Chris Isaak plays with adjectives to transform his adventures and anecdotes into a moving and energetic tribute to the rockabilly of all time.

      Highlights

      1984
      Until the first eclipse

      Until the first eclipse

      Chris Isaac is spotted by Warner Bros Records, on which he releases his first album. While the record was well received by the critics, commercially speaking, the failure was hard to swallow. But the following year, the unexpected salvation came from France. Chris Isaac succeeds in his gamble: the title Blue Hotel, from his second album, is a hit, first in France, then all over the world.

      1989
      Bounce back from oblivion

      Bounce back from oblivion

      His career is slowing down dangerously. His label is about to turn its back on him. While the release of Heart Shaped World seems to be a failure, director David Lynch is going to change everything. The title Wicked Game is selected to appear in the soundtrack of the film Sailor and Lula. The success is planetary. When they tell you that Chris Isaak always bounces back...

      1991
      From the guitar to the cinema

      From the guitar to the cinema

      In parallel to his musical career, Chris Isaac appears in several films. In 1991, he played a SWAT policeman in Silence of the Lambs. This was followed by more or less notable appearances in, among others, Twin Peaks, Friends or A Dirty Shames.

      1995
      A forever blue rock!

      A forever blue rock!

      Chris Isaac unveils his fifth album, unanimously appreciated by his peers. He is twice nominated for a Grammy Award and is certified platinum album. The crazy adventure of the Stockton child, son of music-loving workers, continues.

      Testimonials

      • The fans speak
      • The inside view
      • Seen in the press

        Always as creative and authentic as ever, Chris Isaak offered us a moment of pure happiness. His style is always the same. It is an encounter with an admirable crooner, fascinated by Elvis Presley: what a voice, what a talent. His music is timeless. 

        Marjorie, after the concert at the Olympia

        There is only one Chris Isaak on earth. Like a phoenix, he always rises from the ashes with timeless and unexpected tubes. With his distinctive style, he is now one of the artists you absolutely must see on stage. That's why we take great pleasure in accompanying him.

        Chris Isaac has not changed. He hasn't forgotten anything and especially not his musical roots, which he celebrates with his unfailing good humour. 
         
        Revealed by a handful of chic hits in the 1980s (foremost among them Blue Hotel and Wicked Game), this American singer has never deviated from his refined style. He is the heir of the performers.

        The Parisian - Le Figaro

      Archives

      2017
      1 concert
      • 02 Nov
        Paris
        L'Olympia
      2012
      1 concert
      • 12 Oct
        Paris
        Le Grand Rex
      2010
      2 concerts
      • 19 Jun
        Paris
        Le Grand Rex
      • 20 Jun
        Lyon
        Amphithéâtre
      2007
      3 concerts
      • 25 Apr
        Amneville
        Le Galaxie
      • 27 Apr
        Lyon
        Radiant
      • 28 Apr
        Paris
        Palais des Congrès
      See more
      gérard drouot productions uses cookies on this website. With your approval, we will use them to mesure and analyse your visit on the website (statistic cookies) to adapt it to your interests (customized cookies) and to provide you with relevant information (third party cookies). Customize

Artistes
    Événements
      FR
      EN
      Chris Isaak

      Chris Isaak

      Dans les pas d’Elvis !
      Ecouter
      • Tournée
      • À propos
      • Les faits marquants
      • Témoignages
      • Archives

      Tournée

      Aucune date prévue

      À propos

      À propos

      Costume criard, cheveux gominés, voix puissante : Chris Isaak, enfant des sixties bercé par la fougue d’Elvis, nage à contre-courant, pour célébrer un rock au parfum d’autrefois. Ce crooneur de Californie, optimiste par nature, se joue du spleen ambiant pour bâtir un empire musical hors du commun.

       

      Hors des modes, Chris Isaak, digne héritier de Dean Martin, de Bing Crosby et du grand Elvis Presley, est un vent contraire, figeant le temps avec grâce. Ce cowboy contemporain, prêt à dégainer sa Gibson J-200 d’occasion à la moindre émotion, se moque éperdument des tendances et des époques. Sourire charmeur, coiffure aérodynamique, vêtements aux couleurs électriques : le diamant brut de Stockton, ville discrète de Californie, pose sa voix suave et langoureuse sur des mélodies de velours, dans la lignée de ses héros d’enfance, comme Leadbelly et Hank Williams, qu’il écoutait jadis sur un vieil électrophone tout juste fonctionnel.

       

      D’une certaine manière, Chris Isaak, issu d’une famille très modeste, a toujours eu un train de retard, et là se cache tout le paradoxe. Car le crooner américain, ancien boxeur de talent, dont le nez porte encore les stigmates, frappe toujours à la bonne heure, et sans prévenir, pour se défaire de la masse avec des tubes sortis de nulle part, auxquels personne ne croyait. Blue Hôtel était annoncé comme un échec commercial par son label de l’époque, Wicked Game comme un naufrage : ils sont devenus des succès planétaires. Oui, cet amoureux indéfectible de Roy Orbison, qui se définit lui-même comme la médiane entre un poète et un redneck, aurait pu retomber moult fois dans l’oubli. Mais l’héritage qu’il porte, et sculpte depuis les eighties, est son point d’équilibre : Chris Isaak ne tombera jamais.

       

      Ainsi, toujours de bonne humeur, ce dandy extravagant par nature, cassant avec les codes du politiquement correct, ressuscite à merveille l’esprit des sixties, en lui injectant une dose de modernité intemporelle. Frugalité, sérénité, romantisme : Chris Isaak joue avec les adjectifs pour transformer ses aventures et anecdotes en un hommage émouvant et énergique au rockabilly de toujours.

       

      Les faits marquants

      1984
      Jusqu’à la première éclipse

      Jusqu’à la première éclipse

      Chris Isaac se fait repérer par Warner Bros Records, sur lequel il sort son premier album. Si le disque est bien reçu par la critique, sur le plan commercial, l’échec est dur à avaler. Mais, l’année suivante, le salut inespéré vient de France. Chris Isaac réussit son pari : le titre Blue Hotel, issu de son deuxième album, fait un carton, d’abord dans l’Hexagone, puis partout à travers le globe.

      1989
      Rebondir depuis l’oubli

      Rebondir depuis l’oubli

      Sa carrière ralentit dangereusement. Son label s’apprête à lui tourner le dos. Alors que la sortie de Heart Shaped World semble être un échec, le réalisateur David Lynch va tout changer. Le titre Wicked Game est sélectionné pour apparaître dans la bande originale du film Sailor and Lula. Le succès est planétaire. Quand on vous dit que Chris Isaak rebondit toujours…

      1991
      De la guitare au cinéma

      De la guitare au cinéma

      En parallèle de sa carrière musicale, Chris Isaac apparaît dans plusieurs films. En 1991, il incarne un policier du SWAT dans le Silence des Agneaux. S’en suivent des apparitions plus ou moins remarquées dans, notamment, Twin Peaks, Friends ou A Dirty Shames.

      1995
      Un rock forever blues !

      Un rock forever blues !

      Chris Isaac dévoile son cinquième album, unanimement apprécié par ses pairs. Il est nommé à deux reprises aux Grammy Awards et est certifié album de platine. La folle aventure de l’enfant de Stockton, fils d’ouvriers mélomanes, continue.

      2016
      La rémission d’un être

      La rémission d’un être

      Rongé par une mystérieuse maladie pulmonaire, Chris Isaac peine à maintenir le cap. Les pronostics des médecins sont mauvais. Pourtant, une fois de plus, Chris Isaac, en optimiste combattant, gagne par K.O. Quelques mois plus tard, le chanteur américain revient sur scène, avec un passage remarqué à l’Olympia de Paris.

      Témoignages

      • Le mot du spectateur
      • Notre équipe en parle
      • La presse en parle

        Toujours aussi créatif et authentique, Chris Isaak nous a offert un pur moment de bonheur. Son style est toujours le même. C’est une rencontre avec un admirable crooner, fasciné par Elvis Presley : quelle voix, quel talent. Sa musique est indémodable.

        Marjorie, après le concert à l’Olympia

        Il n’existe qu’un Chris Isaak sur terre. Tel un phénix, il renaît toujours de ses cendres avec des tubes intemporels et inattendus. Avec son style à part, il fait aujourd’hui partie des artistes qu’il faut absolument voir sur scène. C’est pour cette raison que nous prenons un vrai plaisir à l’accompagner.

         

        Chris Isaac n’a pas changé. Il n’a d’ailleurs rien oublié et surtout pas ses racines musicales, qu’il célèbre avec sa bonne humeur inaltérable.

         

        Révélé par une poignée de tubes chics dans les années 1980 (au premier rang desquels Blue Hotel ou Wicked Game), ce chanteur américain n'a jamais dévié de son style raffiné. Il est l’héritier des interprètes.

        Le Parisien - Le Figaro

      Archives

      2017
      1 concert
      • 02 nov.
        Paris
        L'Olympia
      2012
      1 concert
      • 12 oct.
        Paris
        Le Grand Rex
      2010
      2 concerts
      • 19 juin
        Paris
        Le Grand Rex
      • 20 juin
        Lyon
        Amphithéâtre
      2007
      3 concerts
      • 25 avr.
        Amneville
        Le Galaxie
      • 27 avr.
        Lyon
        Radiant
      • 28 avr.
        Paris
        Palais des Congrès
      Afficher plus
      gérard drouot productions utilise des cookies sur ce site. Avec votre consentement, nous les utiliserons pour mesurer et analyser l'utilisation du site (cookies analytiques), pour l'adapter à vos intérêts (cookies de personnalisation) et pour vous présenter des publicités et des informations pertinentes (cookies de ciblage). Gérer les cookies