Artists
    Events
      EN
      FR

      Buddy Guy

      The last of the bluesmen?
      Ecouter
      • Tour
      • About
      • Highlights
      • Testimonials
      • Archives

      Tour

      There is yet no show to display

      About

      About
      Copyright Josh Cheuse

      "There is no retreat for the bluesmen! People always give me a warm welcome, and I try to give them as much as I can to make them want to come back and listen to me. I send the best of myself on stage to maintain this exchange ". A life on the road, guitar slung across the shoulder, which has lasted for over 50 years for Buddy Guy. Despite the difficulties, he has never stopped playing.

       

      For the blues literally flows in the veins of this mad musician, whose life is like a novel where chance would have met pure talent to produce music overflowing with feeling. The man who invented the West Side genre doesn't tremble when it comes to sending out riffs and electric notes that break together to form waves of emotion: endurance, sorrow, ecstasy, his strings deliver a palette that only he has the secret to.

       

      A virtuoso visionary, he bends the notes as he pleases, sometimes so far that his audience is on the verge of discomfort, then, when the time comes, he lets the string settle, instantly relieving the tension. For that's what legendary guitarists do: they push the possibilities further and further and they bring out sounds never before heard from their instruments.

       

      Revolutionising the language of the guitar and inspiring other legends such as Eric Clapton or Jimi Hendrix, who grew up with their eyes glued to its chords, he may have got his genius from his musical apprenticeship. "No one ever made me sit down and told me 'B-flat' and 'F sharp'. Most of the people above me - John Lee Hooker, Lightnin 'Hopkins - I faced them, I looked at their hands to see where they were going. They played by ear. And that's how I play now. I don't play by the rules".

      Highlights

      1949

      A Mac Gyver of the guitar

      Bathed in the music of John Lee Hooker and Muddy Waters, the young Buddy Guy builds himself a makeshift guitar at the age of 13 to imitate his idols. Legend has it that he used a mosquito net and a piece of wood. It is only three years later that he finally gets a real six-string guitar.

      1957
      Copyright Josh Cheuse

      Chicago's aura was too strong

      While he plays regularly in the bars of Bâton-Rouge, Buddy Guy knows that his future is not here. He decides to leave for Chicago, following in the footsteps of the bluesmen of the time. Without a penny, he is quickly spotted by Otis Rush who allows him to play in the city's clubs. Then, consecration, by Muddy Waters himself who will give him some advice.

      1968

      Buddy Guy comes out of his lair

      However, it was not until the end of the 1960s that the singer was a great success. He recorded several albums, A Man And The Blues, Stone Crazy and This Is Buddy Guy in collaboration with Eric Clapton. It is thanks to the latter that he reached a larger white audience and embarked on several triumphant international tours until the early 1970s.

      1980

      Bad weather for the bluesmen

      The 80's are overwhelmed by the new wave, putting almost all the great bluesmen of the time out of the picture. Buddy Guy, who had already been overlooked by the American record companies at the end of the 70s, will however continue to make music, earning almost nothing.

      1991
      Copyright Josh Cheuse

      The revival of the blues

      The early 90s saw a renaissance for the blues and Buddy Guy, along with Mark Knopfler, Jeff Beck and Eric Clapton, was quick to relaunch his career with Damn right, I've got the blues, for which he won a Grammy Award, one of only eight he has won over the course of his career.

      2018
      Copyright Josh Cheuse

      The blue is still alive !

      Tireless and at over 80 years of age, the man who is now a legend alongside his youthful idols, BB King and Muddy Waters, has warned: he will never stop. Always inspired, he continues to travel the world to carry the message of his latest opus, The Blues is Alive and Well !

      Testimonials

      • The fans speak
      • The inside view
      • Seen in the press

        It's an old doggy on stage! The outstanding guitarist, always with this feeling in the back of his voice, regales us once again with a good modern blues. His guitar playing is incisive, inimitable, timeless and it is impossible to guess his (great) age by listening to him. In short, it is always a joy to see him on stage, so much he transmits his joie de vivre! 

        Samuel, after a concert at Jazz à Vienne

        Buddy Guy, one of the greatest bluesmen of our time, always carries at arm's length a story that some people forget a little quickly. Legendary and tireless guitarist, his last concerts still carry the energy of the Chicago of the 60's which saw this artist born and grow up. An immense lesson in music that we hope to see radiating with us for a long time to come.

        When he landed in Chicago from his native Louisiana, he was nicknamed "the barbarian" because he played standing when all his peers were teasing the six-string sitting. An anecdote that says a lot about this living legend of the blues whose guitar playing has always been characterised by his aggressiveness and singing, by a feeling full of aggression. 

        Télérama

      Archives

      2018
      2 concerts
      • 27 Oct
        Monte Carlo-Opera Garnier
      • 06 Nov
        Paris
        Salle Pleyel
      2017
      2 concerts
      • 12 Jul
        Paris
        L'Olympia
      • 16 Jul
        Juan Les Pins
        Jazz à Juan
      2016
      3 concerts
      • 07 Jul
        Paris
        L'Olympia
      • 15 Jul
        Vienne
        Jazz à Vienne
      • 16 Jul
        Juan Les Pins
        Jazz à Juan
      2014
      2 concerts
      • 03 Jul
        Paris
        L'Olympia
      • 04 Jul
        Vienne
        Jazz à Vienne
      See more
      gérard drouot productions uses cookies on this website. With your approval, we will use them to mesure and analyse your visit on the website (statistic cookies) to adapt it to your interests (customized cookies) and to provide you with relevant information (third party cookies). Customize

Artistes
    Événements
      FR
      EN
      Buddy Guy

      Buddy Guy

      Le dernier des bluesmen ?
      Ecouter
      • Tournée
      • À propos
      • Les faits marquants
      • Témoignages
      • Archives

      Tournée

      Aucune date prévue

      À propos

      À propos
      © Josh Cheuse

      « Il n’y a pas de retraite pour les bluesmen ! Les gens m’accueillent toujours avec chaleur, et j’essaie de leur donner le maximum pour qu’ils aient envie de revenir m‘écouter. J’envoie le meilleur de moi-même sur scène pour entretenir cet échange ». Une vie sur les routes, guitare en bandoulière, qui dure depuis plus de 50 ans pour Buddy Guy. Malgré les difficultés, il n'a jamais cessé de jouer.

       

      Car le blues coule littéralement dans les veines de ce musicien forcené, dont la vie ressemble à un roman où le hasard aurait rencontré le talent pur pour produire une musique débordante de feelings. Celui qui a inventé le genre West Side ne tremble pas quand il s’agit d’envoyer des riffs et des notes électriques qui se brisent ensemble pour former des vagues d’émotions : endurance, peine, extase, ses cordes délivrent une palette dont lui seul a le secret.

       

      Visionnaire virtuose, il plie les notes à sa guise, parfois tellement loin que son public est à la limite du malaise, puis, le moment venu, il laisse la corde s’installer, soulageant instantanément la tension. Car c’est ce que les guitaristes de légende font : ils repoussent toujours plus loin les possibilités et ils sortent de leurs instruments des sons encore jamais entendus.

       

      Révolutionnant le langage de la guitare et inspirant au passage d’autres légendes comme Eric Clapton ou Jimi Hendrix, qui ont grandi les yeux rivés sur ses accords, il tient peut-être son génie de son apprentissage musical. De leçons, il n’y en a jamais eues : « Personne ne m'a jamais fait asseoir et m'a dit:« B-flat » et « Fa dièse ». La plupart des gens au-dessus de moi - John Lee Hooker, Lightnin 'Hopkins - je leur ai fait face, j'ai regardé leurs mains pour voir où ils allaient. Ils ont joué à l'oreille. Et c'est comme ça que je joue maintenant. Je ne respecte pas les règles ».

      Les faits marquants

      1949
      Un Mac Gyver de la guitare

      Un Mac Gyver de la guitare

      Baigné par la musique de John Lee Hooker et Muddy Waters, le jeune Buddy Guy se fabrique, à l’âge de 13 ans, une guitare de fortune pour imiter ses idoles. La légende veut qu’il ait utilisé une moustiquaire et un morceau de bois. Ce n’est que trois ans plus tard qu’il obtiendra enfin une vraie guitare à six cordes.

      1957
      L’aura de Chicago était trop forte
      © Josh Cheuse

      L’aura de Chicago était trop forte

      Alors qu’il joue régulièrement dans les bars de Bâton-Rouge, Buddy Guy sait que son avenir n’est pas ici. Il décide de partir pour Chicago, sur les traces des bluesmen de l’époque. Sans le sou, il est rapidement repéré par Otis Rush qui lui permet de jouer dans les boîtes de la ville. Puis, consécration, par Muddy Waters lui-même qui lui prodiguera quelques conseils.

      1968
      Buddy Guy sort de son antre

      Buddy Guy sort de son antre

      Pourtant, ce n’est qu’à la fin des années 60 que le chanteur connaîtra un franc succès. Il enregistre plusieurs albums, A Man And The Blues, Stone Crazy et This Is Buddy Guy en collaboration avec Eric Clapton. C’est grâce à ce dernier qu’il touchera un public blanc, plus nombreux, et qu’il partira pour plusieurs tournées triomphantes à l’international jusqu’au début des années 70.

      1980
      Sale temps pour les bluesmen

      Sale temps pour les bluesmen

      Les années 80 sont submergées par la vague new wave, mettant hors champ quasiment tous les grands bluesmen de l’époque. Buddy Guy, qui s’était déjà fait oublier des maisons de disques américains à la fin des années 70, continuera cependant à faire de la musique, sans presque rien gagner.

      1991
      Le renouveau du blues
      © Josh Cheuse

      Le renouveau du blues

      Le début des années 90 est le théâtre d’une renaissance pour le blues et Buddy Guy, en compagnie de Mark Knopfler, Jeff Beck et Eric Clapton, ne se fait pas prier pour relancer sa carrière avec Damn right, I've got the blues, pour lequel il sera récompensé d’un Grammy Awards, l’un des huit qu’il a récolté au cours de sa carrière.

      2018
      Le blue est toujours vivant !
      © Josh Cheuse

      Le blue est toujours vivant !

      Infatigable et à plus de 80 ans, celui qui est désormais une légende aux côtés de ses idoles de jeunesse, BB King et Muddy Waters, a prévenu : il ne s’arrêtera jamais. Inspirateur toujours inspiré, il continue de parcourir le monde pour porter le message de son dernier opus, The Blues is Alive and Well !

      Témoignages

      • Le mot du spectateur
      • Notre équipe en parle
      • La presse en parle

        C’est un vieux cabotin qui se présente sur scène ! Le guitariste hors pair, toujours ce feeling au fond de la voix, nous régale encore une fois d’un bon blues moderne. Son jeu de guitare est incisif, inimitable, intemporel et il est impossible de deviner son (grand) âge en l’écoutant. Bref, c’est toujours un bonheur de le voir sur scène, tant il transmet sa joie de vivre !

        Samuel, après un concert à Jazz à Vienne

        Buddy Guy, l’un des plus grands bluesmen de notre époque, porte toujours à bout de bras une histoire que certains oublient un peu vite. Guitariste légendaire et infatigable, ses derniers concerts portent encore l’énergie du Chicago des années 60 qui a vu cet artiste naître et grandir. Une leçon de musique immense que nous espérons voir rayonner encore longtemps à nos côtés.

         

        Lorsqu’il débarqua à Chicago en provenance de sa Louisiane natale, il fut surnommé « le barbare » parce qu’il jouait debout quand tous ses pairs taquinaient la six cordes assis. Une anecdote qui en dit long sur cette légende vivante du blues dont le jeu de guitare s’est toujours caractérisé par son agressivité et le chant, par un feeling plein de hargne.

        Télérama

      Archives

      2018
      2 concerts
      • 27 oct.
        Monte Carlo-Opera Garnier
      • 06 nov.
        Paris
        Salle Pleyel
      2017
      2 concerts
      • 12 juil.
        Paris
        L'Olympia
      • 16 juil.
        Juan Les Pins
        Jazz à Juan
      2016
      3 concerts
      • 07 juil.
        Paris
        L'Olympia
      • 15 juil.
        Vienne
        Jazz à Vienne
      • 16 juil.
        Juan Les Pins
        Jazz à Juan
      2014
      2 concerts
      • 03 juil.
        Paris
        L'Olympia
      • 04 juil.
        Vienne
        Jazz à Vienne
      Afficher plus
      gérard drouot productions utilise des cookies sur ce site. Avec votre consentement, nous les utiliserons pour mesurer et analyser l'utilisation du site (cookies analytiques), pour l'adapter à vos intérêts (cookies de personnalisation) et pour vous présenter des publicités et des informations pertinentes (cookies de ciblage). Gérer les cookies