Artists
    Events
      EN
      FR
      Billy F Gibbons Feat Matt Sorum & Austin Hanks

      Billy F Gibbons Feat Matt Sorum & Austin Hanks

      When KingBilly hits the road
      • Tour
      • About
      • Highlights
      • Gallery
      • Testimonials

      Tour

      • 2023 2 concerts
      • Wednesday
        05
        July 2023
        Albi
        Book your seats
      • Available soon
        Thursday
        06
        July 2023
        PARIS
        On-sale alert
      See program

      About

      About

      A leather jacket, opaque sunglasses and a long blond beard... For 50 years, Billy Gibbons has been delighting his fans with his blues and rock, straight from deep Texas and the great American spaces. Guitarist for the legendary ZZ Top, he has also been going solo for a few years now, a wind of freshness and freedom blowing through the six strings of this old rock veteran.


      With his visceral rhythms and rocky voice, the guitarist now rides alone in the deserts of the Americas, adding a few spicy touches to his palette with each new album, while delighting the purists with his devastating blues. If ZZ Top were the "same three guys, playing the same three chords" for more than 50 years, Billy Gibbons has broken free from this refined and slightly mischievous concept to add his own personal touch in a search for raw and wild freedom.


      If from now on, his guitar must share the limelight with his singing, the leader has lost nothing of his virtuosity. Fluidity, inventiveness, sensitivity, it's the original Billy Gibbons and his propensity to deliver heavy, serious solos, almost soiled in the sand of the American south that we find again. With him, the road trip continues, in a gleaming hot rod, speeding towards the next saloon. And for sure, if we are heading towards dusk, Billy Gibbons is still at the beginning of his journey.

      Highlights

      2015
      Billy Gibbons heads south

      Billy Gibbons heads south

      In search of new experiences, Billy Gibbons decided to go solo and crossed borders to release his first album, Perfectamundo. The Reverend experiments, lets his guitar be carried away by the sound of timbales and maracas and sings in Spanish, his voice transformed by autotune. We feel that the boss has taken liberties and that this first opus sounds like a well-deserved break after his long years of service to his band!

      2018
      Back to the Big Bad Blues

      Back to the Big Bad Blues

      If some people still had doubts, Billy Gibbons proves with The Big Bad Blues that this style still suits him, like a second nature that he could never get rid of. On the programme of this new solo album, a return to the basics and to a certain "form of simplicity" according to him. A rock and blues celebration, with rough vocals and unstoppable guitars, which mixes original compositions and delicious covers like the famous Rollin' and Tumblin' or Standing Around Crying. It's raw, it's hard-hitting and we want more!

      2021
      Unstoppable Texas rock

      Unstoppable Texas rock

      It's a return to the basics that Billy Gibbons delivers with his third record, Hardware, and if one can have an impression of deja-vu, it remains unchallenged. With his original compositions on which we find the touch of old friends like Matt Sorum of Guns N'Roses, he shares his dream playlist, made of blues, hard rock and even a hint of surf music. The result is relentless, with that touch of Texas dirt we love so much and guitar riffs that only Gibbons can make so incredibly human.

      2023
      The Big One

      The Big One

      Billy Gibbons comes to Europe like an earthquake to give his audience a good shake. Alongside Matt Sorum, drummer for Guns'N'Roses and Velvet Revolver, among others, and the talented Austin Hanks on guitar, he imports his idea of Texas blues-rock to give us a taste of this rustproof music, which is proudly rooted in tradition and to which he brilliantly adds an indelible touch.

      Testimonials

      • The fans speak
      • The inside view
      • Seen in the press

        Billy Gibbons is a bit like ZZ Top + extras. In his albums, the Reverend explores new musical horizons, and if you find the blues and the twisting rock of Texas, it is sometimes sprinkled with a little exoticism! On stage, the guitarist always shows his musical genius and handles the fretboard like no other. A superb solo turn!

        Philippe

        When a guitar maestro like Billy Gibbons breaks away from a mythical band like ZZ Top, one always wonders what the result could be. The answer, he gives it to us in a masterly way! After the almost Cuban experiments of his first album, KingBilly returns to his essence with a blues-rock in the straight line of his epic solos. With his deep and hoarse voice, brutal bass lines and always epic solos, alone or in a band, he has not finished transporting us to the confines of the US!

        Behind his long blond beard and his sunglasses, Billy F. Gibbons, the guitarist and singer of the Texan band ZZ Top, has marked the history of rock with his style and his playing. [...] After a moribund confinement, he decided to write a quick but ultra-effective solo album, called "Hardware" and released in June. He spreads out his supple and groovy chords in a maze of raw reverberations and metric balances "made in America".

        Le Nouvel Obs
      gérard drouot productions uses cookies on this website. With your approval, we will use them to mesure and analyse your visit on the website (statistic cookies) to adapt it to your interests (customized cookies) and to provide you with relevant information (third party cookies). Customize

Artistes
    Événements
      FR
      EN
      Billy F Gibbons Feat Matt Sorum & Austin Hanks

      Billy F Gibbons Feat Matt Sorum & Austin Hanks

      Quand KingBilly trace la route
      • Tournée
      • À propos
      • Les faits marquants
      • Galerie
      • Témoignages

      Tournée

      • 2023 2 concerts
      • mercredi
        05
        juillet 2023
        Albi
        Réserver
      • Bientôt disponible
        jeudi
        06
        juillet 2023
        PARIS
        Alerte de mise en vente
      Voir l'agenda

      À propos

      À propos

      Veste en cuir vissée au corps, lunettes de soleil opaques et longue barbe blonde reconnaissable entre mille… Depuis 50 ans, Billy Gibbons régale ses fans avec son blues et son rock crasse, venus tout droit du Texas profond et des grands espaces américains. Guitariste des légendaires ZZ Top, il a en parallèle et depuis quelques années pris la route en solo, un vent de fraîcheur et de liberté effleurant la six cordes de ce vieux briscard du rock.

       

      Rythmique viscérale, voix rocailleuse, le guitariste chevauche désormais seul dans les déserts des Amériques, ajoutant quelques touches pimentées à sa palette à chaque nouvel album, tout en délectant les puristes de son blues ravageur. Si ZZ Top étaient les « trois mêmes gars, qui jouent les trois mêmes accords » depuis plus de 50 ans, Billy Gibbons s’affranchit de ce concept épuré et un brin malicieux pour y ajouter sa touche personnelle dans une recherche de liberté brute et sauvage.

       

      Si désormais, sa guitare doit partager la vedette avec son chant, le taulier n’a rien perdu de sa virtuosité. Fluidité, inventivité, sensibilité, c’est bien le Billy Gibbons original et sa propension à délivrer des solos lourds, graves, presque encrassés dans le sable du sud des Etats-Unis que l’on retrouve. Avec lui, le road trip se poursuit, dans une hot rod rutilante, lancée à toute vitesse vers le prochain saloon. Et pour sûr, si l’on file vers le crépuscule, Billy Gibbons, lui, est toujours à l’aube de son chemin.

      Les faits marquants

      2015
      Billy Gibbons met le cap au sud

      Billy Gibbons met le cap au sud

      En quête de nouvelles expériences, Billy Gibbons décide de partir solo et franchit les frontières pour sortir son premier album, Perfectamundo. Le Révérend expérimente, laisse sa guitare se faire emporter par le son des timbales et des maracas et chante en espagnol, voix transformée par l’autotune. On sent que le taulier a pris des libertés et que ce premier opus sonne une récréation bien méritée après ses longues années au service de son groupe !

      2018
      Retour au grand méchant blues

      Retour au grand méchant blues

      Si certains avaient encore des doutes, Billy Gibbons nous prouve avec The Big Bad Blues que ce style lui va toujours au teint, comme une seconde nature dont il ne pourrait plus se défaire. Au programme de cette nouvelle galette solo, un retour aux bases et à une certaine « forme de simplicité » selon ses dires. Une célébration rock et blues, voix rocailleuses et guitares imparables à l’appui, qui mêle compositions originales et reprises délicieuses comme le célèbre Rollin’ and Tumblin’ ou Standing Around Crying. C’est brut, ça tabasse et on en redemande !

      2021
      Indéboulonnable rock texan

      Indéboulonnable rock texan

      C’est un retour aux fondamentaux que nous livre Billy Gibbons avec son troisième disque, Hardware, et si l’on peut avoir une impression de déjà-entendu, cela reste indétrônable. Avec ses compositions originales sur lesquelles on retrouve la patte de vieux amis comme Matt Sorum des Guns N’Roses, il partage la playlist de ses rêves, celle faite de blues, de hard rock et même d’un soupçon de surf music. Le résultat est implacable, avec cette touche de saleté texane que l’on aime tant et ses riffs de guitare que seul Gibbons sait rendre aussi incroyablement humains.

      2023
      The Big One

      The Big One

      Billy Gibbons débarque en Europe, comme un tremblement de terre qui viendrait mettre une bonne secousse à son public. Aux côtés de Matt Sorum, batteur, entre autres, de Guns’N’Roses et Velvet Revolver et du talentueux Austin Hanks à la guitare, il importe son idée du blues-rock texan pour nous faire goûter à cette musique inoxydable, fièrement ancrée dans la tradition et à laquelle il apporte avec brio une touche indélébile.

      Témoignages

      • Le mot du spectateur
      • Notre équipe en parle
      • La presse en parle

        Billy Gibbons c’est un peu ZZ Top + suppléments. Dans ses albums, le Révérend explore de nouveaux horizons musicaux et si l’on retrouve le blues et le rock vrillant du Texas, il est parfois saupoudré d’un peu d’exotisme ! Sur scène, le guitariste fait toujours parler son génie musical et manie le manche comme personne. Un superbe virage solo !

        Philippe.

        Quand un maestro de la guitare comme Billy Gibbons se détache d’un groupe mythique comme ZZ Top, on se demande toujours ce que ça peut donner. La réponse, il nous la livre de façon magistrale ! Après les expérimentations presque cubaines de son premier album, KingBilly revient à son essence avec un blues-rock dans la droite lignée de ses solos épiques. Voix grave et éraillée, lignes de basses brutales et solos toujours épiques, seul ou en groupe, il n’a pas fini de nous transporter aux confins des US !

        Derrière sa longue barbe blonde et ses lunettes de soleil, Billy F. Gibbons, le guitariste et chanteur du groupe texan ZZ Top, a marqué l’histoire du rock avec son style et son jeu. […] Après un confinement moribond, il a décidé d’écrire un rapide mais ultra-efficace album en solitaire, baptisé « Hardware » et sorti en juin. Il y étale ses accords souples et groovy, dans un dédale de réverbérations brutes et de balancements métriques « made in America ».

        Le Nouvel Obs
      gérard drouot productions utilise des cookies sur ce site. Avec votre consentement, nous les utiliserons pour mesurer et analyser l'utilisation du site (cookies analytiques), pour l'adapter à vos intérêts (cookies de personnalisation) et pour vous présenter des publicités et des informations pertinentes (cookies de ciblage). Gérer les cookies