Artists
    Events
      EN
      FR
      Tower of Power

      Tower of Power

      Always at the TOP
      Ecouter
      • Tour
      • About
      • Highlights
      • Testimonials
      • Archives

      Tour

      There is yet no show to display

      About

      About
      Copyright Anna Webber

      It is the story of young prodigies who carried music as a banner and soul in their hearts. Emilio Castillo, already a talented saxophonist, was just 18 years old when he formed a band with his good friend Stephen 'Doc' Kupka. They were soon joined by others, including the string-breaker Francis "Rocco" Prestia on bass.


      The millimetre adventure, between vibrant soul and dancing funk, has been going on for more than fifty years. It must be said that the formation of a dozen musicians, depending on the era, knows how to set the stage on fire. The brass section is resounding and is rapidly forging a reputation that extends beyond its borders. Santana, Elton John, Ray Charles, Eddy Mitchell or the rockers of Aerosmith, all recognized the ingenuity of these masters of the winds, collaborating with them for the time of an album or a title. As for Prestia, who will have accompanied the band during almost all its epic, her powerful slap could make the dead vibrate when her dead notes simply make the funk lethal. An intense and energetic mix that wakes up crowds and shakes up souls.


      Since its creation, the band has been reinventing itself by integrating some of the most gifted artists of their generation. This was the case with singer Lenny Williams who brought the band its moment of glory in the seventies. And it's still thanks to Memphis' colossal performer Marcus Scott who walks in the footsteps of a James Brown or an Aretha Franklin. With their latest album, Step Up, the band shows once again that they are capable of innovation, this time producing an urban Soul Music that doesn't stray from the strong emotions of their roots.

      Highlights

      1968

      A salutary name change

      When Emilio Castillo founds his band and starts recruiting talent near Oakland, he names his band The Motowns and promises himself one thing: he will soon be playing at the Fillmore Auditorium in San Francisco. But with a name like that, it's hard to achieve that goal. The band then chose Tower of Power, whose acronym is TOP! A name that finally remained for the next fifty years.

      1973

      Tower Of Power is on top!

      In 1970, singer Lenny Williams enters the dance and it is the beginning of stratospheric successes for the group. In 1973, their eponymous album contains three little bombshells: So Very Hard to Go, which will rank in the top 10 of many West Coast radio stations, This Time It's Real and What is Hip? which to this day remains probably Tower of Power's best known single. In 1974, the band took a more funky turn with Urban Renewal which confirmed their immense success. At the peak of their career Lenny Williams leaves the band which will remain very popular but will then be less broadcast on the airwaves.

      1993

      Endless collaborations

      The list of Tower of Power's collaborations is much longer than the arms of all its members combined. But in the 90s, it was Sir Elton John himself who invited them to take part in his Duets album. And six years later, it was with one of the most American Frenchie that they collaborated on the album Les Nouvelles Aventures d'Eddy Mitchell.

      2017

      Soul and funk, against all odds

      In 2017, a hard blow for the Oakland gang. Two of its members, long-time drummer David Garibaldi and bassist Marc Van Wageningen are hit by a train. They miraculously survived the accident and it took them many months to recover. But that doesn't stop Tower of Power from releasing its 50th anniversary Soul Side of the Town (2018) and then the very good Step Up (2020) in which the talented young singer Marcus Scott takes part.

      Testimonials

      • The fans speak
      • The inside view
      • Seen in the press

        If you want to be shaken, I recommend Tower of Power. The play between bass and drums is overwhelming, the brass section is at its best and the singer has a superb voice that goes well with soul, funk or blues. These guys are real beasts of the stage and we can only applaud their monstrous work! 

        Elena after a concert at La Cigale

        Soul and funk have produced some of the most virtuosic bands in existence and Tower of Power is one of them. On stage, their energy and good humour are a real gut-wrenching experience. You can't help but dance and sing along with them while being impressed by their sense of rhythm, their bluffing solos and the impressive mastery of each of their instruments. For the music lovers who send, this is the troupe not to be missed when they pass by!

        From the band's beginnings to "Step Up", the TOP sound remains faithful to their original musical vision: to penetrate the deep and multidimensional well of what is generally known as soul music and bring all its components together in a singular sound with emotional power. 

        France Musique

      Archives

      2019
      2 concerts
      • 21 May
        Paris
        La Cigale
      • 05 Jul
        Cognac
        Festival Blues Passion
      2014
      1 concert
      • 04 Nov
        Paris
        Le Trianon
      2012
      1 concert
      • 26 Mar
        Paris
        La Cigale
      See more
      gérard drouot productions uses cookies on this website. With your approval, we will use them to mesure and analyse your visit on the website (statistic cookies) to adapt it to your interests (customized cookies) and to provide you with relevant information (third party cookies). Customize

Artistes
    Événements
      FR
      EN
      Tower of Power

      Tower of Power

      Toujours au TOP
      Ecouter
      • Tournée
      • À propos
      • Les faits marquants
      • Témoignages
      • Archives

      Tournée

      Aucune date prévue

      À propos

      À propos

      C’est l’histoire de jeunes prodiges qui portaient la musique en étendard et la soul au fond du cœur. A peine âgé de 18 ans, Emilio Castillo, déjà saxophoniste de talent, montait un groupe avec son grand ami Stephen « Doc » Kupka. Très vite, ils sont rejoints par d’autres, dont le fracasseur de cordes Francis « Rocco » Prestia à la basse.

       

      L’aventure millimétrée, entre soul vibrante et funk dansant, dure déjà depuis plus de cinquante ans. Il faut dire que la formation d’une dizaine de musiciens, selon les époques, sait comment mettre le feu sur scène. La section cuivre est retentissante et se forge rapidement une réputation qui dépasse ses frontières. Santana, Elton John, Ray Charles, Eddy Mitchell ou encore les rockeurs d’Aerosmith, tous ont reconnu l’ingéniosité de ces maîtres des vents, collaborant avec eux le temps d’un album ou d’un titre. Quant à Prestia, qui a accompagné le groupe pendant presque toute son épopée, son slap puissant peut faire vibrer les morts quand ses dead notes rendent tout simplement le funk létal. Un mélange intense et énergique qui réveille les foules et secoue les âmes.

       

      Depuis sa création, la formation se réinvente en intégrant certains des artistes les plus doués de leur génération. Ce fut le cas avec le chanteur Lenny Williams qui apporta au groupe son heure de gloire dans les seventies. Et ça l’est toujours grâce au colossal interprète de Memphis Marcus Scott qui marche droit dans les pas d’un James Brown ou d’une Aretha Franklin. Avec son dernier album, Step Up, le groupe montre une nouvelle fois qu’il est capable d’innover, produisant cette fois une soul music urbaine qui ne déroge pas aux émotions fortes de ses racines.

      Les faits marquants

      1968
      Un changement de nom salutaire

      Un changement de nom salutaire

      Quand Emilio Castillo fonde son groupe et commence à recruter des talents près d’Oakland, il nomme sa bande The Motowns et se promet une chose : il jouera très bientôt au Fillmore Auditorium de San Francisco. Mais avec un nom pareil, difficile d’atteindre cet objectif. Le groupe choisit alors Tower of Power dont l’acronyme est TOP ! Un nom qui est finalement resté pour les cinquante années suivantes.

      1973
      Tower Of Power est au Top !

      Tower Of Power est au Top !

      En 1970, le chanteur Lenny Williams entre dans la danse et c’est le début de succès stratosphériques pour le groupe. En 1973, leur album éponyme contient trois petites bombes : So Very Hard to Go qui se classera dans le top 10 de nombreuses radios de la West Coast, This Time It’s Real et What is Hip ? qui reste sans doute à ce jour le single le plus connu de Tower of Power. En 1974, le groupe prend un virage plus funk avec Urban Renewal qui confirmera leur immense succès. Au sommet de leur carrière Lenny Williams quitte le groupe qui restera très populaire mais sera dès lors moins diffusé sur les ondes.

      1993
      Des collaborations à n’en plus finir

      Des collaborations à n’en plus finir

      La liste des collaborations de Tower of Power est bien plus longue que les bras de tous ses membres réunis. Mais dans les années 90, c’est sir Elton John en personne qui leur propose de prendre part à son album Duets. Et six ans plus tard, c’est avec le plus américain des frenchies qu’ils collaborent sur l’album Les Nouvelles Aventures d’Eddy Mitchell.

      2017
      Soul et funk, envers et contre tout

      Soul et funk, envers et contre tout

      En 2017, coup dur pour la bande d’Oakland. Deux de ses membres, le batteur de longue date David Garibaldi et le bassiste Marc Van Wageningen sont percutés par un train. Un accident dont ils réchappent miraculeusement et dont ils mettent de très longs mois à récupérer. Mais cela n’arrête pas Tower of Power qui sort pour ses 50 ans Soul Side of the Town (2018) puis le très bon Step Up (2020) auquel prend part le jeune chanteur bourré de talent Marcus Scott.

      Témoignages

      • Le mot du spectateur
      • Notre équipe en parle
      • La presse en parle

        Si vous voulez être secoués, je vous conseille Tower of Power. Le jeu entre la basse et la batterie est terrassant, la section cuivre est au top et le chanteur a une voix superbe qui se marie aussi bien avec la soul, le funk ou le blues. Ces mecs sont de véritables bêtes de scène et on ne peut qu’applaudir leur boulot monstrueux ! 

        Elena après un concert à La Cigale

        La soul et le funk ont produit quelques-uns des bands les plus virtuoses qui existent et Tower of Power est de ceux-là. Sur scène, leur énergie et leur bonne humeur prennent aux tripes. On ne peut s’empêcher de danser, de chanter avec eux tout en restant impressionnés par leur sens du rythme, leurs solos bluffants et la maîtrise impressionnante de chacun de leurs instruments. Pour les amateurs de musique qui envoie, c’est la troupe à ne pas rater quand elle passe par chez nous !

         

        Depuis les débuts du groupe jusqu'à “Step Up”, le son TOP reste fidèle à leur vision musicale originale : pénétrer dans le puits profond et multidimensionnel de ce que l'on appelle généralement la soul music et rassembler toutes ses composantes dans un son singulier au pouvoir émotionnel. 

        France Musique

      Archives

      2019
      2 concerts
      • 21 mai
        Paris
        La Cigale
      • 05 juil.
        Cognac
        Festival Blues Passion
      2014
      1 concert
      • 04 nov.
        Paris
        Le Trianon
      2012
      1 concert
      • 26 mars
        Paris
        La Cigale
      Afficher plus
      gérard drouot productions utilise des cookies sur ce site. Avec votre consentement, nous les utiliserons pour mesurer et analyser l'utilisation du site (cookies analytiques), pour l'adapter à vos intérêts (cookies de personnalisation) et pour vous présenter des publicités et des informations pertinentes (cookies de ciblage). Gérer les cookies