Artists
    Events
      EN
      FR
      Tom Petty

      Tom Petty

      The discreet soul of rock
      Ecouter
      • Tour
      • About
      • Highlights
      • Testimonials
      • Archives

      Tour

      There is yet no show to display

      About

      About
      Copyright Pierre Hennequin

      In France, without being unknown, his name is not familiar to everyone. But on the other side of the Atlantic, in the country where he was born and grew up, Tom Petty has gone from being a discreet star to a rock monument. In his 40-year career and until his recent death in 2017, he composed countless hits and sold more than 80 million albums. Portrait of a gentle rebel! 

       

      A razor-sharp face contrasting with his azure blue eyes, Tom Petty is one of those who resisted when, in the 1970s, new wave and punk took everything in their path. With a few others to whom he will often be compared, Bruce Springsteen in the lead, he resists standing up in the storm. Better still, he quickly establishes himself as a discreet but unavoidable artist, an artist who sublimates traditions with a new freshness. And without ever overdoing it, who chains together unpretentious masterpieces with precision and delicacy. 

       

      With or without The HeartBreakers, one of the best backing bands in the history of rock, but always accompanied by his comrade Mike Campbell on guitar, he draws inspiration from his models. The Stones, of course. Dylan, of course. But also the Kinks, the nostalgic blues of Johnny Cash and his southern influences, with Little Richard and Muddy Waters in mind. Learning to Fly, Don't Come Around Here No More, Refugee, in each of his hits is a filigree tribute. For Tom Petty has never claimed to be a visionary. On the other hand, he is formidable. 

       

      But what set him apart from the others was not necessarily visible on stage. Straight in his boots, stubborn, generous, he didn't let himself be dictated to by any label, any record company. Scabby, he prefers to blow it all away! Like when he crushes his hand, in rage in a wall in front of the imperfection of an album in preparation. Because behind his big blue eyes and his apparent calm, Tom Petty, son of a prologue, has never let himself be dictated to!

      Highlights

      1961

      Tom Petty meets the King

      At the age of ten, young Tom, born into a modest family in Gainesville, Florida, meets the man who will change his life. The King Elvis himself, then passing through for a film shoot in his town. It's decided, he wants to be a rock singer! 

      1979

      Sa RickenBacker finally makes his voice heard

      However, it is only at almost thirty that the artist will finally break through! In 1979, he released his third album, the excellent Damn The Torpedoes. The hits rained down and invaded the airwaves like the famous The Refugee. Tom and the Hearthbreakers, with their southerly sounds, had nothing left to prove!

      1988

      The club of giants

      Tom Petty has long since risen to the level of his idols and regularly accompanies them on stage or in the studio, from Johnny Cash to Bob Dylan. In 1988, he officially joined the exclusive club of rock greats, forming the supergroup The Traveling Wilburys with Roy Orbison, George Harrison, Bob Dylan and Jeff Lynne. 

      1994

      Flowers for a masterstroke

      Six years later, he signed one of his greatest successes, this time as a soloist. Wildflowers is considered by many to be a masterpiece, a marvel that reveals all the sensitive maturity of a fiery artist finally caught up with the times. The stories are resilient, the acceptance melancholy at will, and the eponymous single is a perfect fit.

      2017

      A pillar of rock is leaving

      Forty years of career is something to celebrate. And that's exactly what Tom Petty had just done, accompanied by his lifelong friends from the Heartbreakers on a tour that was to give way to a less frantic pace. The rock prodigy had also just produced an album for Chris Hillman, the former Byrds member who had inspired him enormously in his youth. The circle was complete, but his sudden demise certainly turned a page in seventies rock. 

      Testimonials

      • The fans speak
      • The inside view
      • Seen in the press

        On stage, Tom Petty is the essence of rock! The songs and lyrics are sublime, of course. But what warms the mood is the extraordinary connection he has with his musicians. The Heartbreakers haven't lost any of their ardour and it's really nice to see! 

        Axel after a concert at the Grand Rex

        Tom Petty, a discreet, humble artist, always straight in his boots and with a punchy sobriety, left a lasting imprint on the rock music of the 70s. A free soul, certainly less known on our side of the Atlantic, but whose concerts were always unmissable events. 

        The evidence is that Petty was "the most consistent and effective songwriter I've ever seen," as ¬producer Jimmy Iovine put it. ...] The evidence was perhaps also to be found on the ground: on a two-lane road, at night, you would necessarily drive faster and, above all, longer with Here Comes My Girl, Century City, Breakdown, Refugee or Don't Do Me Like That in the record store. 

        Liberation

      Archives

      2012
      1 concert
      • 27 Jun
        Paris
        Le Grand Rex
      See more
      gérard drouot productions uses cookies on this website. With your approval, we will use them to mesure and analyse your visit on the website (statistic cookies) to adapt it to your interests (customized cookies) and to provide you with relevant information (third party cookies). Customize

Artistes
    Événements
      FR
      EN
      Tom Petty

      Tom Petty

      L’âme discrète du rock
      • À propos
      • Les faits marquants
      • Témoignages
      • Archives

      À propos

      À propos

      En France, sans être inconnu, son nom n’est pas familier de tous. Mais outre-Atlantique, dans le pays qui l’a vu naître et grandir, Tom Petty est passé du statut de star discrète à celui de monument du rock. En quarante ans de carrière et jusqu’à sa récente disparition en 2017, il a composé un nombre incalculable de tubes et vendu plus de 80 millions d’albums. Portrait d’un doux rebelle !

       

      Visage taillé au rasoir contrastant avec ses yeux bleu azur, Tom Petty est de ceux qui résistent quand dans les années 70, la new wave et le punk embarquent tout sur leur passage. Avec quelques autres auxquels il sera très souvent comparé, Bruce Springsteen en tête, il reste debout dans la tempête. Mieux, il s’impose rapidement comme un artiste discret mais incontournable, un artiste qui sublime les traditions avec une fraîcheur nouvelle. Et sans jamais en faire trop, qui enchaîne les chefs d’œuvre sans prétention, avec précision et délicatesse.

       

      Avec ou sans The HeartBreakers, l’une des meilleurs backingband de l’histoire du rock, mais toujours accompagné de son camarade Mike Campbell à la guitare, il s’inspire de ses modèles. Les Stones, forcément. Dylan, évidemment. Mais aussi des Kinks, du blues nostalgique de Johnny Cash et de ses influences sudistes, Little Richard et Muddy Waters en tête. Learning to Fly, Don’t Come Around Here No More, Refugee, dans chacun de ses tubes se cache un hommage en filigrane. Car Tom Petty ne s’est jamais revendiqué visionnaire. En revanche, il est redoutablement efficace.

       

      Mais ce qui le distinguait des autres ne se voyait pas forcément sur scène. Droit dans ses bottes, entêté, généreux, il ne se laissera dicter sa conduite par aucun label, aucune maison de disques. Teigneux, il préfère tout envoyer balader ! Comme lorsqu’il écrasera sa main, de rage dans un mur devant l’imperfection d’un album en préparation. Car derrière ses grands yeux bleus et son apparent calme, Tom Petty, fils de prolo, ne s’est jamais laissé dicter sa conduite !

      Les faits marquants

      1961
      Tom Petty rencontre le King

      Tom Petty rencontre le King

      A dix ans, le jeune Tom, né dans une famille modeste à Gainesville en Floride, rencontre celui qui va changer sa vie. Le King Elvis en personne, alors de passage pour un tournage dans sa ville. C’est décidé, il veut être chanteur de rock !

      1979
      Sa RickenBacker finit par se faire entendre

      Sa RickenBacker finit par se faire entendre

      Pourtant, ce n’est qu’à presque trente que l’artiste finira par percer ! En 1979, il sort son troisième album, l’excellent Damn The Torpedoes. Les tubes pleuvent et envahissent les ondes comme le célèbre The Refugee. Tom et les Hearthbreakers, avec leurs sonorités venues tout droit du sud, n’ont désormais plus rien à prouver !

      1988
      Le club des géants

      Le club des géants

      Tom Petty s’est depuis longtemps hissé au niveau de ses idoles et les accompagne régulièrement sur scène ou en studio, de Johnny Cash à Bob Dylan. En 1988, il rejoint pourtant officiellement le club très fermé des grands du rock en formant avec Roy Orbison, George Harrison, Bob Dylan et Jeff Lynne le supergroupe The Traveling Wilburys.

      1994
      Des fleurs pour un coup de maître

      Des fleurs pour un coup de maître

      Six ans plus tard, il signera l’un de ses plus grands succès, cette fois en solo. Wildflowers est considéré par beaucoup comme un chef d’œuvre, une merveille qui révèle toute la maturité sensible d’un artiste fougueux finalement rattrapé par le temps. Les récits sont résilients, l’acceptation mélancolique à souhait et le single éponyme touche à la perfection.

      2017
      Un pilier du rock s’en va

      Un pilier du rock s’en va

      Quarante ans de carrière, ça se fête. Et c’était exactement ce que venait de faire Tom Petty, accompagné de ses amis de toujours des Heartbreakers à travers une tournée qui devait ensuite laisser place à un rythme moins effréné. Le chanteur prodige du rock venait également de produire un album pour Chris Hillman, l’ex-membre des Byrds qui avait énormément inspiré sa jeunesse. Certes, la boucle était bouclée, mais sa disparition soudaine a assurément tourné une page du rock des seventies.

      Témoignages

      • Le mot du spectateur
      • Notre équipe en parle
      • La presse en parle

        Sur scène, Tom Petty est l’essence même du rock ! Les chansons et les textes sont sublimes, évidemment. Mais ce qui chauffe l’ambiance, c’est la connexion extraordinaire qu’il a avec ses musiciens. Les Heartbreakers n’ont rien perdu de leur fougue et ça fait vraiment plaisir à voir ! 

        Axel après un concert au Grand Rex

        Tom Petty, artiste discret, humble, toujours droit dans ses bottes et à la sobriété percutante a marqué d’une empreinte durable le rock des années 70. Une âme libre, certes moins connue de notre côté de l’Atlantique, mais dont les concerts étaient toujours des événements immanquables.

        L’évidence, c’est que Petty était «le compositeur de chansons le plus régulier et efficace que j’ai jamais vu», comme l’a déclaré le ­producteur Jimmy Iovine. […] L’évidence, c’est peut-être aussi sur le terrain qu’il fallait la cons­tater : sur une route à deux voies, la nuit, on roulait nécessairement plus vite et surtout plus longtemps avec Here Comes My GirlCentury City, BreakdownRefugee ou Don’t Do Me Like That dans le mange-disques. 

        Libération

      Archives

      2012
      1 concert
      • 27 juin
        Paris
        Le Grand Rex
      Afficher plus
      gérard drouot productions utilise des cookies sur ce site. Avec votre consentement, nous les utiliserons pour mesurer et analyser l'utilisation du site (cookies analytiques), pour l'adapter à vos intérêts (cookies de personnalisation) et pour vous présenter des publicités et des informations pertinentes (cookies de ciblage). Gérer les cookies