Artists
    Events
      EN
      FR
      The Robert Cray Band

      The Robert Cray Band

      Blues-rock pioneer turned legend
      • Tour
      • About
      • Highlights
      • Gallery
      • Testimonials
      • Archives

      Tour

      • 2023 1 concert
      • Best Seats
        Monday
        15
        May 2023
        PARIS
        Book your seats
      See program

      About

      About

      The track record is exceptional. In a career spanning more than 40 years, Robert Cray and his band have pocketed everything. Five Grammy Awards in the blues category, an induction into the Blues Hall of Fame, a list of hit songs that would make any artist envious and two Stratocaster guitars to his name.


      Yet, far from hiding behind these impressive figures that cut short any debate on his status as a legend, Robert Cray remains a discreet, humble bluesman with a soft and poetic touch. And if the maturity is definitely there, we find the same desire, the same passion as in the young Robert of the early 80s, the one who measured his chance to play with his idol Albert Collins, the one who never stopped creating bridges between blues, soul and RnB.


      Always modest, this great guitarist keeps in mind that "you have to get out of your own way when you write". And if he takes a side path, it quickly becomes the main path of a blues with roots in black America. Thanks to his guitar, in the fingers of a musician who knows how to capture the vibrations of the air to take our feelings wherever he wants and to capture us in a trance where the harmonies of the blues blend perfectly with sounds from jazz, gospel or funk. Then there's his voice, whose versatility and sophistication have nothing to envy to the great singers like Bobby "Blue" Band or Sam Cooke.


      When you listen to the two ensembles, you can't help but be drawn into the universe of this genius artist, whose fire doesn't die out over the decades, but rather is fanned! For as Guitar Magazine likes to remind us, "Robert Cray doesn't make music, he writes history".

      Highlights

      1974

      From architect to blues man

      When he received his first guitar at the age of 14, the young Robert Cray was hooked on psychedelic rock. It was only a little later that he discovered the blues. And it was when one of his idols, Albert Collins, came to give a concert at his university that he took the plunge. His architecture studies were over, for the better, and he decided to embark on a career as a musician. By the end of the 1970s, he had formed his own band and began to build up a solid reputation thanks to his masterful concert performances.  

      1985

      The show can begin!

      In four years, Robert Cray Band went from his garage to national tours, acquiring a small reputation in the blues world. And after a long period of admiring them from the audience, he finally released a record with Albert Collins and Johnny Copeland. Showdown! was a real success that propelled Robert Cray to iconic status. From then on, the band's successes and prestigious collaborations would follow one after the other, always carried by the talent, the superb voice and the elegant and masterful guitar touch of its leader.

      2011

      Recognition of a blues legend

      Several decades of high-flying blues are rewarded in 2011. The singer and musician was inducted into the Blues Hall of Fame and received the Americana Music Lifetime Achievement Award in the same year. The man who played alongside Clapton, Buddy Guy and Jimmie Vaughan has nothing left to prove. He has become one of those bluesmen who reign unchallenged and who write music history.

      2020

      Still on top

      The Robert Cray Band is not about to hang up his guitar, and in 2020 they will be releasing a new blues-rock album entitled That's What I Heard. We find the singer and guitarist at the top of his game, with a moving voice that is as sincere as ever, and refined and percussive guitar solos. If we still had any doubts, the artist reminds us that he hasn't lost any of his sharpness or his audacity, accompanied by prestigious guests such as Ray Parker Jr or Steve Perry.

      Testimonials

      • The fans speak
      • The inside view
      • Seen in the press

        I had already seen Robert Cray live, but it's always so exciting and impressive to see a legend like him on stage. And apparently, I was not alone in feeling this kind of emotion in front of this blues monument. As usual, in front of this overexcited audience, he was very calm, gentle and humble.

        Marianne at the Guitare en Scène festival

        In the series of great bluesmen of whom we will never tire, The Robert Cray Band holds a special place. His disconcerting honesty and his hallucinating guitar playing, all softness and finesse, are certainly a big part of it. From year to year, from album to album, we take an extreme pleasure to follow him and to see him reinvent under our eyes and in all humility a style full of history without ever losing the meaning.

        Robert Cray - or rather the Robert Cray Band, as he likes to call it - has always been able to navigate the fine line between blues and soul. He proves it again in this balancing act that gives the album the soft and tender side that his reassuring voice characterises. The horns dress most of the compositions like a caress. A homogeneous assembly that gives the whole album a laid back feel, as if relaxed on a rocking chair under a veranda at cocktail hour.

        Libération

      Archives

      There is currently no show
      Book now
      gérard drouot productions uses cookies on this website. With your approval, we will use them to mesure and analyse your visit on the website (statistic cookies) to adapt it to your interests (customized cookies) and to provide you with relevant information (third party cookies). Customize

Artistes
    Événements
      FR
      EN
      The Robert Cray Band

      The Robert Cray Band

      Pionnier du blues-rock devenu légende
      • Tournée
      • À propos
      • Les faits marquants
      • Galerie
      • Témoignages
      • Archives

      Tournée

      • 2023 1 concert
      • Meilleures places
        lundi
        15
        mai 2023
        PARIS
        Réserver
      Voir l'agenda

      À propos

      À propos

      Le palmarès est exceptionnel. En plus de 40 ans de carrière, Robert Cray et son band ont tout empoché. Cinq Grammy Awards dans la catégorie blues, une intronisation au Blues Hall of Fame, des titres à succès dont la liste ferait pâlir d’envie n’importe quel artiste et deux guitares Stratocaster à son nom.

       

      Pourtant, loin de se cacher derrière ces chiffres impressionnants qui coupent court à tout débat sur son statut de légende, Robert Cray reste ce un bluesman discret, humble au toucher doux et poétique. Et si la maturité est définitivement là, on retrouve la même envie, la même passion que chez le jeune Robert du début des années 80, celui qui mesurait sa chance de jouer avec son idole Albert Collins, celui qui n’a eu de cesse de créer des passerelles entre le blues, la soul et le RnB.

       

      Toujours modeste, ce grand guitariste garde en tête qu’il « faut sortir de son propre chemin quand on écrit ». Et s’il prend un sentier de traverse, celui-ci a vite fait de devenir la voie principale d’un blues aux racines ancrées dans l’Amérique noire. Grâce à sa guitare d’abord, dans les doigts d’un musicien qui sait capter les vibrations de l’air pour emmener nos sentiments où bon lui semble et pour nous capter dans une transe où les harmonies du blues se marient parfaitement à des sonorités venues du jazz, du gospel ou du funk. Grâce à sa voix ensuite, dont la polyvalence et la sophistication n’ont rien à envier aux grands chanteurs comme Bobby « Blue » Band ou Sam Cooke.

       

      Quand on écoute les deux ensembles, on ne peut qu’être projeté dans l’univers de cet artiste de génie, dont le feu ne s’éteint pas au fil des décennies, mais au contraire, s’attise ! Car comme Guitare Magazine aime à nous le rappeler, « Robert Cray ne fait pas de la musique, il écrit l’histoire ».

      Les faits marquants

      1974

      D’architecte à blues man

      En recevant sa première guitare à 14 ans, le jeune Robert Cray se prend de passion pour le rock psychédélique. Ce n’est qu’un peu plus tard qu’il découvrira le blues. Et c’est quand l’une de ses idoles, Albert Collins, vient donner un concert dans son université qu’il se lance. Fini les études d’architecture, pour le meilleur, il décide d’embrasser une carrière de musicien. Dès la fin des années 70, il forme son propre groupe et commence à se forger une solide réputation grâce à des concerts déjà menés d’une main de maître. 

      1985

      Le show peut commencer !

      En quatre ans, Robert Cray Band est passé de son garage à des tournées nationales, acquérant une petite renommée dans le milieu du blues. Et après les avoir longtemps admirés depuis le public, il finit par sortir un disque avec Albert Collins et Johnny Copeland. Showdown! est un véritable succès qui propulse Robert Cray au rang d’icône. A partir de là, pour le groupe, les succès et les collaborations prestigieuses vont s’enchaîner, toujours portés par le talent, la voix superbe et le toucher de guitare élégant et magistral de son leader.

      2011

      Reconnaissance d’une légende du blues

      Plusieurs décennies d’un blues de haute voltige sont récompensées en 2011. Le chanteur et musicien est intronisé au Blues Hall of Fame et reçoit la même année le prix Americana Music Lifetime Achievement. Celui qui a joué aux côtés de Clapton, Buddy Guy ou Jimmie Vaughan n’a plus rien à prouver. Il est devenu l’un de ces bluesmen qui règnent sans conteste et qui écrivent l’histoire de la musique.

      2020

      Toujours au top

      Pas prêt de raccrocher sa guitare, The Robert Cray Band signe en 2020 un nouvel opus blues-rock intitulé That’s What I Heard. On y retrouve le chanteur et guitariste au sommet de son art, voix émouvante et toujours aussi sincère, solos de guitare raffinés et percutants. Si l’on en doutait encore, l’artiste nous rappelle qu’il n’a rien perdu de son tranchant ou de son audace, accompagné de guests prestigieux au rang desquels Ray Parker Jr ou Steve Perry.

      Témoignages

      • Le mot du spectateur
      • Notre équipe en parle
      • La presse en parle

        J’avais déjà vu Robert Cray en live mais c’est toujours aussi excitant et impressionnant de revoir une légende comme lui sur scène. Et apparemment, je n’étais pas seule à ressentir ce type d’émotions devant ce monument du blues. Comme à son habitude, face à ce public surexcité, lui était très calme, doux et humble.

        Marianne au festival Guitare en Scène

        Dans la série des grands bluesmen dont on ne se lassera jamais, The Robert Cray Band tient une place à part. Son honnêteté déconcertante et son jeu de guitare hallucinant, tout en douceur et en finesse y sont certainement pour beaucoup. D’années en années, d’albums en albums, on prend un plaisir extrême à le suivre et à le voir réinventer sous nos yeux et en toute humilité en style lourd d’histoire sans jamais en perdre le sens.

        Robert Cray - ou plutôt le Robert Cray Band, comme il aime à le préciser - a toujours su naviguer sur la fine ligne qui sépare le blues et la soul. Il le prouve encore dans cet exercice d'équilibriste qui donne à l'album ce côté moelleux et tendre que sa voix rassurante caractérise. Les cuivres habillent la plupart des compositions comme une caresse. Un assemblage homogène qui procure à l'ensemble ce côté laid back, comme relaxé sur un rocking-chair sous une véranda à l'heure de l'apéro.

        Libération

      Archives

      Aucun évènement en date
      Réserver
      gérard drouot productions utilise des cookies sur ce site. Avec votre consentement, nous les utiliserons pour mesurer et analyser l'utilisation du site (cookies analytiques), pour l'adapter à vos intérêts (cookies de personnalisation) et pour vous présenter des publicités et des informations pertinentes (cookies de ciblage). Gérer les cookies