Artists
    Events
      EN
      FR
      The Musical Box

      The Musical Box

      Genesis doesn't wrinkle
      Ecouter
      • Tour
      • About
      • Highlights
      • Testimonials
      • Archives

      Tour

      • 2022 3 concerts
      • Friday
        21
        January 2022
        BORDEAUX
        Book your seats
      • Saturday
        22
        January 2022
        MARSEILLE
        Book your seats
      • Tuesday
        25
        January 2022
        PARIS
        Book your seats
      See program

      About

      About

      Their mission is to resurrect a legend of the 1970s, to sound like their idols with a comma ready, to replay concerts as if they had been those superstars. And it works! The Genesis musicians themselves sometimes call them "better than the originals" and come to their concerts. It has to be said that The Musical Box is not really a tribute band like the others.


      What they want is to create the perfect illusion, to make their audience feel like they are attending one of the original Genesis concerts. Whether it's Selling England by the Pound, which they sometimes play in a Black Show version, or the legendary 1974 tour of the rock opera The Lamb Lies Down on Broadway. They don't hesitate to transform themselves into bookworms before the show. Ready to dig in the archives, as video was rare at the time, to exhume old photos, unearth new details and reproduce the atmosphere, costumes and sets to perfection.


      And on stage, led by Denis Gagné as Peter Gabriel, it was as if everything had been frozen in the 70s. As much an actor as a singer, the hundreds of hours spent studying the slightest gestures of their idols bear fruit. From a distance, it is difficult to distinguish the original from the copy. No homage and no nostalgia for this group which simply wants to make the public discover a bygone era. And if some in the halls are old enough to have lived through this period, most of them could hardly remember this visual aestheticism and these sounds that already belong to another time.


      But Genesis - the real ones this time - have warned: they plan to return to the stage in 2021. An announcement that delights the members of The Musical Box, all of whom were fans from the very beginning and who definitely don't take offence. When will there be a spatio-temporal and on-stage reunion between the Genesis youth version recreated by the tribute band and the original versions that have certainly aged but retained their genius?

      Highlights

      1993

      20 years back in time

      An ad was placed in Montreal to recruit musicians and singers who were unconditional Genesis fans and the magic was coming back to life. Direction the years 1973 to 1975 and that was it! A period that gave life to the band's best concerts, ones in which Peter Gabriel gave as much importance to his sophisticated music as he did to his ultra-theatrical staging.

      2005

      Genesis approves

      In 2005, Phil Collins himself came to attend their performance of the Lamb Show in Geneva. And surprise, he even joined them on stage, on drums, for a song. As for Peter Gabriel, he took his whole family to one of their concerts, to show his children "what their father did". A consecration for The Musical Box, the only tribute band to have received official approval from Genesis.

      2022

      Last chance for a mythical rock opera

      They had already sold out in 2014, but this tour will be the last on The Lamb Lies Down on Broadway. Originally scheduled for 2020, the Canadians will finally be in France for three dates in 2022. One last time, one of the world's best-known rock operas will come to life onstage, with outstanding musical virtuosity and sets and costumes that are definitely from another world.

      Testimonials

      • The fans speak
      • The inside view
      • Seen in the press

        Tonight's program is The Lamb Lies Down on Broadway, arguably Genesis' best tour ever. And musically, it's perfect. It's even bluffing in the reenactment, if you put aside a "Peter Gabriel" who has eaten a bit too much. We're projected 30 years back in time and that's exactly what I was asking for. 

        Sylvie, after a concert at the Olympia

        We may be a little too young to have attended in person the gigantic theatrical shows of the Genesis, but we discover them with pleasure with the almost perfect reproduction of The Musical Box! And one can only imagine the original atmosphere, in the biggest halls and under the cries of a furious crowd. A great show!

        It's been going on for more than twenty years, since that day in 1991 when guitarist-bassist Sébastien Lamothe had the idea of recreating the music and atmosphere of the Genesis concerts and shows of the 1970s. Since then, The Musical Box has taken the tribute to its climax, searching for the smallest detail to recreate the various tours of the time. 
         
        Since October 2004, Rael, the main character of this story concert, has been putting on his leather jacket to go deeper and deeper into New York's undergrounds populated by nightmarish creatures. And "The Lamb" is back on stage with the same costumes, the same 1,124 slides projected on three screens, the same instruments... Mastermind of this very exact replica played to the exact note: the band The Musical Box. 

        Rolling Stone - The World

      Archives

      There is currently no show
      Book now
      gérard drouot productions uses cookies on this website. With your approval, we will use them to mesure and analyse your visit on the website (statistic cookies) to adapt it to your interests (customized cookies) and to provide you with relevant information (third party cookies). Customize

Artistes
    Événements
      FR
      EN
      The Musical Box

      The Musical Box

      Genesis ne prend pas une ride
      Ecouter
      • Tournée
      • À propos
      • Les faits marquants
      • Témoignages
      • Archives

      Tournée

      • 2022 3 concerts
      • vendredi
        21
        janvier 2022
        BORDEAUX
        Réserver
      • samedi
        22
        janvier 2022
        MARSEILLE
        Réserver
      • mardi
        25
        janvier 2022
        PARIS
        Réserver
      Voir l'agenda

      À propos

      À propos

      Ils se sont donnés pour mission de ressusciter une légende des années 1970, de sonner comme leurs idoles à la virgule près, de rejouer des concerts comme s’ils avaient été ces superstars. Et ça marche ! Les musiciens de Genesis eux-mêmes les qualifient parfois de « meilleurs que les originaux » et viennent assister à leurs concerts. Il faut dire que The Musical Box n’est pas vraiment un tribute band comme les autres.

       

      Ce qu’ils veulent, c’est créer l’illusion parfaite, donner l’impression à leur public d’assister à l’un des concerts originaux de Genesis. Que ce soit Selling England by the Pound qu’ils jouent parfois version Black Show ou la mythique tournée de l’opéra-rock The Lamb Lies Down on Broadway de 1974. Ils n’hésitent pas à se transformer, avant de faire le show, en rats de bibliothèque. Prêts à creuser dans les archives, car la vidéo était rare à l’époque, pour exhumer de vieilles photos, dénicher de nouveaux détails et reproduire l’ambiance, les costumes, les décors à la perfection.

       

      Et sur scène, emmené par Denis Gagné en Peter Gabriel, c’est comme si tout avait été figé dans les années 70. Autant acteur que chanteur, les centaines d’heures passées à étudier les moindres gestes de leurs idoles portent leurs fruits. De loin, difficile de distinguer l’original de la copie. Pas d’hommage et pas de nostalgie donc pour ce groupe qui veut simplement faire découvrir une époque révolue au public d’aujourd’hui. Et si certains dans les salles sont assez âgés pour avoir vécu cette période, la plupart pourrait à peine avoir le souvenir de cet esthétisme visuel et de ces sonorités qui appartiennent déjà à un autre temps.

       

      Mais Genesis - les vrais cette fois - ont prévenu : ils comptent bien remonter sur scène en 2021. Une annonce qui ravit les membres de The Musical Box, tous fans de la première heure et qui n’en prennent définitivement pas ombrage. A quand une réunion spatio-temporel et sur scène entre les Genesis version jeune recréés par le tribute band et les versions originales qui ont certes, pris de l’âge, mais conservé leur génie ?

      Les faits marquants

      1993
      20 ans en arrière

      20 ans en arrière

      Une annonce passée à Montréal pour recruter des musiciens et chanteurs fans inconditionnels de Genesis et la magie prenait de nouveau vie. Direction les années 1973 à 1975 et c’est tout ! Une période qui a donné vie aux meilleurs concerts du groupe, de ceux où Peter Gabriel donnait autant d’importance à sa musique sophistiquée qu’à une mise en scène ultra-théâtralisée.

      2005
      Genesis approuve

      Genesis approuve

      En 2005, Phil Collins en personne vient assister à leur représentation du Lamb Show à Genève. Et surprise, il les rejoint même sur scène, à la batterie, le temps d’un morceau. Quant à Peter Gabriel, il emmènera carrément toute sa petite famille assister à l’un de leurs concerts, pour montrer à ses enfants « ce que leur père faisait ». Une consécration pour The Musical Box, seul tribute band à avoir reçu l’approbation officielle de Genesis.

      2022
      Dernière chance pour un opéra-rock mythique

      Dernière chance pour un opéra-rock mythique

      Ils avaient déjà fait salle comble en 2014, mais cette tournée sera la dernière sur The Lamb Lies Down on Broadway. Prévue à l’origine en 2020, les canadiens passeront finalement dans l’Hexagone pour trois dates en 2022. Une dernière fois, l’un des opéra-rock les plus connus au monde prendra vie sur scène, avec une virtuosité musicale hors du commun ainsi que des décors et des costumes définitivement venus d’un autre monde.

      Témoignages

      • Le mot du spectateur
      • Notre équipe en parle
      • La presse en parle

        Au programme ce soir, The Lamb Lies Down on Broadway, sans doute la meilleure tournée de Genesis. Et musicalement, c’est parfait. C’est même bluffant dans la reconstitution. On est projeté 30 ans en arrière et c’est exactement ce que je demandais. 

        Sylvie, après un concert à l’Olympia

        On a beau être un poil trop jeune pour avoir assisté en personne aux concerts en forme de gigantesques shows théâtraux des Genesis, on les découvre avec plaisir avec la reproduction quasi-parfaite de The Musical Box ! Et l’on ne peut que s’imaginer l’ambiance originale, dans les plus grandes salles et sous les cris d’une foule en furie. Du grand spectacle !

        Plus de vingt ans que ça dure, depuis ce jour de 1991 où l’idée germe dans la tête du guitariste-bassiste Sébastien Lamothe à Montréal : recréer la musique et l’ambiance des concerts-spectacles du Genesis des années 70. Depuis, The Musical Box a poussé l’hommage jusqu’à son paroxysme, à la recherche du moindre détail pour restituer les différentes tournées d’alors. 

         

        Depuis octobre 2004, Rael, personnage principal de ce concert-récit, a remis son blouson de cuir pour s'enfoncer encore dans les souterrains de New York peuplés de créatures cauchemardesques. Et "The Lamb" se pose à nouveau sur scène avec les mêmes costumes, les mêmes 1 124 diapositives projetées sur trois écrans, les mêmes instruments... Maître d'œuvre de cette très exacte réplique jouée à la note près : le groupe The Musical Box. 

        Rolling Stone - Le Monde

      Archives

      Aucun évènement en date
      Réserver
      gérard drouot productions utilise des cookies sur ce site. Avec votre consentement, nous les utiliserons pour mesurer et analyser l'utilisation du site (cookies analytiques), pour l'adapter à vos intérêts (cookies de personnalisation) et pour vous présenter des publicités et des informations pertinentes (cookies de ciblage). Gérer les cookies