Artists
    Events
      EN
      FR
      The Cranberries

      The Cranberries

      Tortured spirits of Irish rock
      Ecouter
      • Tour
      • About
      • Highlights
      • Testimonials
      • Archives

      Tour

      There is yet no show to display

      About

      About
      Copyright Andy Earl

      Mythical band of the 90's, but above all, a band carried by an angel's voice. That of "a saint trapped in a glass harp" according to Melody Maker magazine, that of the hyper-charismatic leader of the Cranberries, Dolores O'Riordan.


      On the other side, the four Irish are living a success story like only those who have exported themselves on the other side of the Atlantic know. Millions of albums sold, dizzying Billboard rankings, packed houses and at the end of the road, a triumphant return to Europe. On the flip side, an exceptionally gifted singer fighting her demons. Lyrics that only come out well when she experiences "a little misery in life". Conservative and sometimes controversial positions.


      But no matter what, the Cranberries' audience will never give up. Carried by a crystalline voice, the lyrics are raw, emotional, on the razor's edge. And perhaps that's why they speak and take a whole generation to heart. A generation of young people and young women who identify with the singer. Her boyish style, her energy, her way of expressing herself straightforwardly and balancing in all her interviews between an almost poetic positivism and burning personal confessions.


      And if the Cranberries stayed for a long time in the United States, their native land, the one beaten by the Irish winds, tints their songs with a bewitching folk and yodelling that the singer learned from her father. Some would say that the band was first and foremost a hit machine. A well-oiled machine, calibrated for MTV's heyday. Yet the band always claimed to write only the songs they wanted to listen to. Because in the end, fashions pass, but they stayed. In 2018, they were preparing a new album when the disappearance of the emblematic singer made headlines around the world. A sign that The Cranberries and their mythical Zombie were still on everyone's mind.

      Highlights

      1990

      A hit from the first audition

      Dolores O'Riordan was only 18 years old when she met the three members of the Cranberries in search of a new singer. During the audition, the Irish are struck by the young woman's voice. They asked her to write lyrics to one of their compositions and a week later, the song Linger came to life. In 1993, when the band signed their first album with Island Records, it would become one of the band's first hits.

      1994

      Committed, rebellious, political

      Their second album propelled them to the ranks of international rock stars almost overnight. On the excellent No Need to Argue is the worldwide hit Zombie, written in reaction to the 1993 attacks in Ireland, which is still in the throes of civil war. Political and committed, this title puts them in the footsteps of another Irish band and their famous Sunday Bloody Sunday that we can't help but think about. In France, he will get a diamond disc.

      2009

      Back to the roots

      No other album can match No Need to Argue, the band's third album having even been cited in Q Magazine's 50 Worst Albums of All Time. In 2003, after many rumours about the band's cohesion, the band officially announced a break. It was only six years later that the Irish came together again, returning to the riffs and sounds of their early days. For the singer, one thing is clear, "after the third album, the Cranberries were a mess" and she doesn't want to do it again.

      2018

      A tragic end

      Although the Cranberries no longer enjoy the monumental success of their first albums, they continue to tour Europe and across the Atlantic with two new albums: Roses (2012) and Something Else (2017). But while the singer seems to have overcome her psychological problems and the band is finally finding some relief, the one that journalists call the mater dolorosa is found dead in her hotel room. Despite the pain, the album currently being recorded, In the End, is due for release in 2019, but the Cranberries will not go any further without their muse.

      Testimonials

      • The fans speak
      • The inside view
      • Seen in the press

        I've been a fan of this band since I was a teenager and what a joy it is to see them on stage again! Even if an hour and a half concert is a bit short for my taste, the band still has the energy of its beginnings. And what about Dolores' voice. On No Need to Argue in acoustic, it was simply magical. 

        Celia after a concert in Strasbourg

        As teenagers, we all listened to some of the Cranberries' songs over and over again. Whether it was Zombie or Ode to My Family, Dolores O'Riordan and her band knew how to touch our heartstrings, transcend us and take us into their world between darkness and hope.

        Bathed in saturated guitars, his Gaelic Madonna vocals, alternating crystalline notes, yodelling and raucous roars, embodied the pain and indignation caused by the victims of the Northern Irish conflict in 1994 in a song, Zombie, which became a worldwide hit, transforming his band, The Cranberries, into one of the most popular pop-rock bands of the 1990s. 

        Le Monde

      Archives

      2017
      8 concerts
      • 04 May
        Paris
        L'Olympia
      • 12 May
        Lille
        Le Nouveau Siècle
      • 13 May
        Paris
        L'Olympia
      • 30 May
        Tours
        Palais des Congrès
      • 31 May
        Lyon
        Cité Internationale
      • 02 Jun
        Nantes
        Cité des congrès
      • 07 Jun
        Marseille
        LE CEPAC SILO
      • 09 Jun
        Strasbourg
        Palais des Congrès
      2016
      6 concerts
      • 01 Jul
        Nort-sur-Erdre
        La Nuit de L'Erdre
      • 07 Jul
        Cognac
        Festival Blues Passion
      • 12 Jul
        Colmar
        La Foire aux Vins
      • 13 Jul
        Landerneau
        Fête du Bruit
      • 12 Aug
        Colmar
        La Foire aux Vins
      • 13 Aug
        Landerneau
        Fête du Bruit
      2012
      18 concerts
      • 20 Jun
        Paris
        Le Grand Rex
      • 22 Jun
        Ruoms
        Ardeche Aluna Festival
      • 06 Jul
        Toulouse
        Zénith Toulouse Métropole
      • 07 Jul
        Cognac
        Festival Blues Passion
      • 25 Oct
        Toulouse
        Zénith Toulouse Métropole
      • 10 Nov
        Caen
        Le Zénith
      • 11 Nov
        Olivet
        Zénith d'Orléans
      • 14 Nov
        Strasbourg
        Zénith Europe
      • 16 Nov
        Toulon
        Zénith Oméga
      • 17 Nov
        Grenoble
        Le Summum
      • 19 Nov
        Cournon d'Auvergne
        Zénith d'Auvergne
      • 20 Nov
        Lyon
        Halle Tony Garnier
      • 22 Nov
        Guilers
        Parc des Expositions de Brest/Penfeld
      • 24 Nov
        Saint-Herblain
        Zénith Nantes Métropole
      • 25 Nov
        Paris
        Le Zénith
      • 27 Nov
        Lille
        Zénith Arena
      • 08 Dec
        Beauvais
        Elispace
      • 09 Dec
        Montbéliard
        L'Axone
      2010
      19 concerts
      • 01 Mar
        Lille
        Zénith Arena
      • 03 Mar
        Strasbourg
        Zénith Europe
      • 05 Mar
        Saint-Herblain
        Zénith Nantes Métropole
      • 07 Mar
        Bordeaux
        Patinoire Mériadeck
      • 08 Mar
        Toulouse
        Zénith Toulouse Métropole
      • 14 Mar
        Marseille
        Le Dôme
      • 19 Mar
        Amneville
        Le Galaxie
      • 21 Mar
        Lyon
        Halle Tony Garnier
      • 22 Mar
        Paris
        Le Zénith
      • 31 May
        Paris
        Le Zénith
      • 01 Jun
        Tours
        Parc des Expositions de Tours
      • 03 Jun
        Montpellier
        Zénith Sud
      • 04 Jun
        Pau
        Zénith de Pau
      • 06 Jun
        Limoges
        Zénith de Limoges Métropole
      • 07 Jun
        Rennes
        Le Liberté
      • 11 Jun
        Rouen
        Zénith
      • 12 Jun
        Amiens
        Zénith Amiens Métropole
      • 18 Jun
        Nice
        Palais Nikaïa
      • 12 Jul
        Saint-Malô-du-Bois
        Festival de Poupet
      See more
      gérard drouot productions uses cookies on this website. With your approval, we will use them to mesure and analyse your visit on the website (statistic cookies) to adapt it to your interests (customized cookies) and to provide you with relevant information (third party cookies). Customize

Artistes
    Événements
      FR
      EN
      The Cranberries

      The Cranberries

      Esprits torturés du rock irlandais
      Ecouter
      • Tournée
      • A Propos
      • Les faits marquants
      • Archives

      Tournée

      Aucune date prévue

      A Propos

      A Propos
      Copyright Andy Earl

      Groupe mythique des années 90, mais surtout, groupe porté par une voix d’ange. Celle « d’un saint piégé dans une harpe de verre » selon le magazine Melody Maker, celle évidemment de la leader hyper-charismatique des Cranberries, Dolores O’Riordan.

       

      Côté face, les quatre irlandais vivent une success story comme seuls ceux qui se sont exportés de l’autre côté de l’Atlantique en connaissent. Des millions d’albums vendus, des classements vertigineux au Billboard, des salles remplies et au bout du chemin, un retour triomphant en Europe. Côté pile, une chanteuse exceptionnellement douée qui se bat contre ses démons. Des textes qui ne sortent bien que quand elle connaît « un peu de misère dans la vie ». Des prises de positions conservatrices qui font parfois polémiques.

       

      Mais qu’importe, le public des Cranberries ne lâchera jamais l’affaire. Porté par une voix cristalline, les paroles sont brutes, émotionnelles, sur le fil du rasoir. Et c’est peut-être pour cela qu’elles parlent et prennent aux tripes toute une génération. Une génération de jeunes et de jeunes femmes qui s’identifient à la chanteuse. Son style garçonne, son énergie, sa façon de s’exprimer sans détour et de balancer, dans toutes ses interviews entre un positivisme presque poétique et des confessions personnelles brûlantes.

       

      Et si les Cranberries sont restés pendant longtemps aux Etats-Unis, leur terre natale, celle battue par les vents irlandais, teinte leurs chansons d’un folk envoûtant et des yodels que la chanteuse a appris de son père. Certains diront que la formation était avant tout une machine à tubes. Une mécanique bien huilée et calibrée pour faire les beaux jours de MTV. Pourtant, le groupe a toujours affirmé n’écrire que les chansons qu’ils voulaient écouter. Parce qu’au final, les modes passent, mais eux sont restés. En 2018, ils préparaient un nouvel album quand la disparition de la chanteuse emblématique a fait la une des journaux du monde entier. Signe que The Cranberries et leur mythique Zombie étaient encore dans toutes les têtes.

      Les faits marquants

      1990

      Un tube dès la première audition

      Dolores O’Riordan a seulement 18 ans quand elle rencontre les trois membres des Cranberries à la recherche d’un nouveau chanteur. Pendant l’audition, les irlandais sont frappés par la voix de la jeune femme. Ils lui demandent d’écrire des paroles sur l’une de leurs compositions et une semaine plus tard, la chanson Linger prend vie. En 1993, alors que le groupe a signé son premier album chez Island Records, elle deviendra l’un des premiers tubes du groupe.

      1994

      Engagé, rebelle, politique

      Leur deuxième album les propulse au rang de stars du rock international quasiment du jour au lendemain. Sur l’excellent No Need to Argue figure en effet le tube planétaire Zombie, écrit en réaction aux attentats de 1993 dans une Irlande toujours en proie à la guerre civile. Politique et engagé, ce titre les met sur les traces d’un autre groupe irlandais et leur célèbre Sunday Bloody Sunday auquel on ne peut s’empêcher de penser. En France, il obtiendra un disque de diamant.

      2009

      Retour aux sources

      Aucun autre album n’arrivera à égaler No Need to Argue, le troisième album du groupe ayant même été cité dans le classement des 50 pires albums de tous les temps du Q Magazine. En 2003 et après de nombreuses rumeurs sur la cohésion du groupe, celui-ci annonce officiellement une pause. C’est seulement six ans plus tard que les irlandais se retrouvent, revenant alors aux riffs et aux sonorités de leurs débuts. Pour la chanteuse, une chose est claire, « après le troisième album, les Cranberries c’était du n’importe quoi » et elle ne souhaite pas le reproduire une nouvelle fois.

      2018
      Une fin tragique

      Une fin tragique

      Si les Cranberries ne connaissent plus le succès monumental de leurs premiers albums, ils continuent de tourner en Europe et outre-Atlantique avec deux nouveaux albums : Roses (2012) et Something Else (2017). Mais alors que la chanteuse semble avoir surmonté ses problèmes psychologiques et que le groupe trouve enfin un peu d’apaisement, celle que les journalistes appellent la mater dolorosa est retrouvée morte dans sa chambre d’hôtel. Malgré la peine, l’album en cours d’enregistrement, In the End, est terminé en 2019 mais les Cranberries n’iront pas plus loin sans leur égérie. 

      • Le mot du spectateur
      • Notre équipe en parle
      • La presse en parle

        Je suis fan de ce groupe depuis mon adolescence et quelle joie de les retrouver encore une fois sur scène ! Même si une heure trente de concert, c’est un peu court à mon goût, le groupe a toujours l’énergie de ses débuts. Et que dire de la voix de Dolores. Sur No Need to Argue en acoustique, c’était tout simplement magique. 

        Celia après un concert à Strasbourg

        Adolescents, nous avons tous et toutes écouté quelques-unes des chansons des Cranberries en boucle. Que ce soit Zombie ou Ode to My Family , Dolores O’Riordan et son groupe savaient comment toucher nos cordes sensibles, nous transcender et nous emmener dans leur univers entre noirceur et espoir.

        Baigné de guitares saturées, son chant de Madone gaélique, alternant notes cristallines, yodels et rugissements rauques, avait incarné, en 1994, la douleur et l’indignation suscitées par les victimes du conflit nord-irlandais, dans une chanson, Zombie, devenue un tube planétaire, transformant au passage son groupe, The Cranberries, en l’une des formations pop rock les plus populaires des années 1990. 

        Le Monde

      Archives

      2017
      8 concerts
      • 04 mai
        Paris
        L'Olympia
      • 12 mai
        Lille
        Le Nouveau Siècle
      • 13 mai
        Paris
        L'Olympia
      • 30 mai
        Tours
        Palais des Congrès
      • 31 mai
        Lyon
        Cité Internationale
      • 02 juin
        Nantes
        Cité des congrès
      • 07 juin
        Marseille
        LE CEPAC SILO
      • 09 juin
        Strasbourg
        Palais des Congrès
      2016
      6 concerts
      • 01 juil.
        Nort-sur-Erdre
        La Nuit de L'Erdre
      • 07 juil.
        Cognac
        Festival Blues Passion
      • 12 juil.
        Colmar
        La Foire aux Vins
      • 13 juil.
        Landerneau
        Fête du Bruit
      • 12 août
        Colmar
        La Foire aux Vins
      • 13 août
        Landerneau
        Fête du Bruit
      2012
      18 concerts
      • 20 juin
        Paris
        Le Grand Rex
      • 22 juin
        Ruoms
        Ardeche Aluna Festival
      • 06 juil.
        Toulouse
        Zénith Toulouse Métropole
      • 07 juil.
        Cognac
        Festival Blues Passion
      • 25 oct.
        Toulouse
        Zénith Toulouse Métropole
      • 10 nov.
        Caen
        Le Zénith
      • 11 nov.
        Olivet
        Zénith d'Orléans
      • 14 nov.
        Strasbourg
        Zénith Europe
      • 16 nov.
        Toulon
        Zénith Oméga
      • 17 nov.
        Grenoble
        Le Summum
      • 19 nov.
        Cournon d'Auvergne
        Zénith d'Auvergne
      • 20 nov.
        Lyon
        Halle Tony Garnier
      • 22 nov.
        Guilers
        Parc des Expositions de Brest/Penfeld
      • 24 nov.
        Saint-Herblain
        Zénith Nantes Métropole
      • 25 nov.
        Paris
        Le Zénith
      • 27 nov.
        Lille
        Zénith Arena
      • 08 déc.
        Beauvais
        Elispace
      • 09 déc.
        Montbéliard
        L'Axone
      2010
      19 concerts
      • 01 mars
        Lille
        Zénith Arena
      • 03 mars
        Strasbourg
        Zénith Europe
      • 05 mars
        Saint-Herblain
        Zénith Nantes Métropole
      • 07 mars
        Bordeaux
        Patinoire Mériadeck
      • 08 mars
        Toulouse
        Zénith Toulouse Métropole
      • 14 mars
        Marseille
        Le Dôme
      • 19 mars
        Amneville
        Le Galaxie
      • 21 mars
        Lyon
        Halle Tony Garnier
      • 22 mars
        Paris
        Le Zénith
      • 31 mai
        Paris
        Le Zénith
      • 01 juin
        Tours
        Parc des Expositions de Tours
      • 03 juin
        Montpellier
        Zénith Sud
      • 04 juin
        Pau
        Zénith de Pau
      • 06 juin
        Limoges
        Zénith de Limoges Métropole
      • 07 juin
        Rennes
        Le Liberté
      • 11 juin
        Rouen
        Zénith
      • 12 juin
        Amiens
        Zénith Amiens Métropole
      • 18 juin
        Nice
        Palais Nikaïa
      • 12 juil.
        Saint-Malô-du-Bois
        Festival de Poupet
      Afficher plus
      gérard drouot productions utilise des cookies sur ce site. Avec votre consentement, nous les utiliserons pour mesurer et analyser l'utilisation du site (cookies analytiques), pour l'adapter à vos intérêts (cookies de personnalisation) et pour vous présenter des publicités et des informations pertinentes (cookies de ciblage). Gérer les cookies