Artists
    Events
      EN
      FR
      • Concert postponed
      • About
      • Archives

      Concert postponed

      • 2023 1 concert
      • Report
        Monday
        27
        February 2023
        PARIS
        Book your seats
      See program

      About

      About

      His voice is recognizable between thousand, we could hear it in an unspeakable number of films or series. We can recognize him by his songs going from satire to heartbreaking lament, so yes, there is only one Randy Newman!

       


      Toy Story, 1001 paws, Toy Story 2, Monsters and Co., Cars, Toy Story 3, Monsters Academy, Toy Story 4... If you've seen these Disney Pixar movies, you can't miss the voice of this great singer-songwriter. But it would be reductive to summarize Randy Newman's career to original soundtracks. The success, he knows it since the 1970s and distinguishes himself by adding progressively in his songs personal stories or themes which are dear to him. One of his greatest successes is "Sail Away", where he criticizes American morals or "Short People" which denounces the mockery of short people.

       


      Knowing a flourishing success in the 1970s, Randy Newman does not hesitate to add autobiographical touches and engaged themes in the lyrics of his songs. One of his most famous ballads, "Sail Away", even criticizes American morals, as does "Short People", another of Newman's hits, which denounces the mockery of short people. In the 1980's, Randy Newman established his reputation by collaborating with the cinema, while continuing to release solo albums. His most famous film scores include "The Best," "Ragtime," all four "Toy Stories," "Monsters & Co.," "Monsters Academy," "Seabiscuit," "James and the Giant Peach," "1001 Paws," and "Meyerowitz Stories. His many awards include seven Grammys, three Emmys, two Academy Awards, and a star on Hollywood Boulevard. He is also a member of the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame since 2013.

       


      Let's not forget to mention the famous performers who have covered his songs, including Ray Charles for "Sail Away" and Joe Cocker's "You Can Leave Your Hat On". Let us add other interpreters such as Judy Collins, Harry Nilsson, the Everly Brothers or Dusty Springfield who could sing the words of Randy Newman.

       


      The musician is always looking for innovation in his music. Still today, we can see it in his album "Dark Matter" where he tackles themes as varied as the Kennedy brothers, religion, science or, of course, love. Finally, he continues to perform on stage and despite some health problems, he still wants to meet his public. We will of course be there!

      Archives

      There is currently no show
      Book now
      gérard drouot productions uses cookies on this website. With your approval, we will use them to mesure and analyse your visit on the website (statistic cookies) to adapt it to your interests (customized cookies) and to provide you with relevant information (third party cookies). Customize

Artistes
    Événements
      FR
      EN
      • Tournée
      • À propos

      Tournée

      • 2022 1 concert
      • Report
        mercredi
        30
        mars 2022
        PARIS
        Réserver
      Voir l'agenda

      À propos

      À propos

      Son brin de voix est reconnaissable entre mille, on a pu l’entendre dans un nombre inquantifiable de films ou de séries. On le reconnaît à ses chansons allant de la satire à la complainte déchirante, alors oui, il n’y a bien qu’un seul et unique Randy Newman !

       

      Toy Story, 1001 pattes, Toy Story 2, Monstres et Cie, Cars, Toy Story 3, Monstres Academy, Toy Story 4… Si vous avez vu ces films des studios Disney Pixar, vous n’avez pas pu passer à côté la voix de ce grand auteur-compositeur-interprète. Mais ce serait réducteur de résumer la carrière de Randy Newman à des bandes originales. Le succès, il le connaît dès les années 1970 et se distingue en ajoutant progressivement dans ses chansons des histoires personnelles ou des thèmes qui lui sont chers. On citera notamment un de ses plus grands succès, « Sail Away », où il critique les mœurs américaines ou encore « Short People » qui dénonce les moqueries sur les personnes de petite taille.

       

      Connaissant un succès florissant dans les années 1970, Randy Newman n'hésite pas à rajouter des touches autobiographiques et des thèmes engagés dans les paroles de ses chansons. Une de ses plus célèbres ballades, « Sail Away », va même jusqu'à critiquer les mœurs américaines, tout comme « Short People », autre tube de Randy Newman, qui dénonce les moqueries à l'égard des personnes de petite taille. Dans les années 1980, Randy Newman assoit sa renommée en collaborant avec le cinéma, tout en continuant à sortir des albums solos. Parmi ses musiques de film les plus célèbres, on citera « Le Meilleur », « Ragtime », les quatre « Toy Story », « Monstres & Cie », « Monstres Academy », « Seabiscuit », « James et la Pêche Géante », « 1001 Pattes », et « Meyerowitz Stories ». Parmi ses nombreux prix, on compte sept Grammys, trois Emmys, deux Academy Awards et une étoile sur Hollywood Boulevard. Il est aussi membre du Rock and Roll Hall of Fame depuis 2013.

       

      N'oublions pas de citer les célèbres interprètes qui ont repris ses chansons, notamment Ray Charles pour « Sail Away » et l’incontournable « You can Leave your Hat On » de Joe Cocker. Rajoutons d’autres interprètes tels que Judy Collins, Harry Nilsson, the Everly Brothers ou encore Dusty Springfield qui ont pu chanter les mots de Randy Newman.

       

      Le musicien cherche sans cesse à innover sa musique. Encore aujourd’hui, on peut le voir dans son album « Dark Matter » où il aborde des thèmes aussi variés que les frères Kennedy, la religion, les sciences ou, bien sûr, l’amour. Enfin, il continue à se produire sur scène et malgré quelques problèmes de santé, il tient toujours à rencontrer son public. Nous serons bien sûr au rendez -vous !

      Réserver
      gérard drouot productions utilise des cookies sur ce site. Avec votre consentement, nous les utiliserons pour mesurer et analyser l'utilisation du site (cookies analytiques), pour l'adapter à vos intérêts (cookies de personnalisation) et pour vous présenter des publicités et des informations pertinentes (cookies de ciblage). Gérer les cookies