Artists
    Events
      EN
      FR
      Peter Frampton

      Peter Frampton

      Memories of rock
      Ecouter
      • Tour
      • About
      • Highlights
      • Testimonials
      • Archives

      Tour

      There is yet no show to display

      About

      About

      Long curly hair, angel mouth and an outstanding guitarist, Peter Frampton capsized many hearts in the 1970s. If he finally opted for a wiser haircut, he kept his rockstar smile and is still a living legend of the genre, from those who rubbed shoulders with Bowie, the Beatles or the Rolling Stones. And that's a slap in the face!


      A man of all superlatives, he is first and foremost a virtuoso, innovative and inventive guitarist. He was the first to use the talkbox, which contributed to his success. He was also the first to have founded a rock super-group, long before the mythical old singers got together. The first to have been so successful with live albums, witnessing his powerful blues-rock, his wild riffs and his bubbling vocals. And if he gets a bit swallowed up by the punk and new wave waves, he manages to make his way through the new genre breakwaters that successively take the place of the great rockstars.


      Taking a look at his career today is a bit like retracing the history of rock. And contemplating with nostalgia some of his episodes that we like to watch over and over again, sometimes blues, sometimes hard. Sometimes in the form of languorous ballads, sometimes with angry shouts.


      But good things come to an end and the artist, who had already defied death in 1978 after a car accident, is on the verge of bowing out. Suffering from a degenerative disease, he decided to deliver to his audience a last album, recorded in the old-fashioned way and with a definitive blues sound before leaving for a farewell tour. Because this rocker has decided not to let himself be beaten down and to leave the stage with panache!

      Highlights

      1968

      The first super-group in rock history

      He was already part of a successful band, The Herd. But the image he gave, bordering on the charming singer, no longer suited him. Legend has it that he met Steve Mariott of The Small Faces during an audition for Johnny Hallyday. The two of them definitely hit it off and co-founded Humble Pie together. For four years, he produced an over-the-top hard rock and riffs that are still in everyone's ears with what is still one of the first super-groups in history.

      1976

      One of the greatest live LPs of all time

      Consecration is the only way he's going to get there. With a memorable live album: Frampton Comes Alive! A multi-platinum opus that sold more than 17 million copies and took the lead on the Billboard 200 for three weeks, breaking all records for a live album. Decades later, everyone still remembers the worldwide hit Do You Feel Like We Do, which also popularised the use of the talkbox, the singer's faithful ally.

      1985

      Alongside other rock bosses

      In 1985, while his career was losing momentum, Peter Frampton found a second wind by participating in Johnny Hallyday's Rock n' Roll Attitude album. But it was David Bowie, whom he had met at school, who was to put him back in the saddle once and for all. He plays with the Chameleon of Pop on Never Let Me Down, and takes part in the tour that follows. A new energy thanks to which he will get back in touch with the stage.

      2011

      The return of his legendary guitar

      Fun fact. If Peter Frampton goes through the early 2000s without much noise, touring in front of an ever-present audience, he will be back in 2011 and, by a miracle, in his black Les Paul Custom. Visible on the cover of Frampton Comes Alive! cover, it had disappeared in a plane crash in 1980, along with all its fetish guitars. A wink of fate for this guitarist above all.

      2019

      When all is blues

      No more tricks, Peter Frampton makes his guitar sing without frills on All Blues. A final album in the form of a goodbye for the singer who is suffering from an illness that will eventually prevent him from playing the guitar. So he delivers one last little gem of virtuosity in the shape of a thumbscrew to fate, a bluesy cover of his classics I Just Want To Make Love To You or Georgia On My Mind.

      Testimonials

      • The fans speak
      • The inside view
      • Seen in the press

        A very warm, friendly and absolutely rock concert! You can really feel the emotion Peter Frampton has to share his music with his audience. Even if his physique and that of his musicians have changed, his voice, his sound, his guitar touch are still the same and we really find what we loved in his mystical albums of the 70s. I was plunged back into my 20's and it was really nice. 

        Hugues after a concert at the Olympia

        In a career spanning more than 50 years, Peter Frampton has put his heart and soul into rock music. From the wild devil to the wise patron of the blues, he has made history alongside the greatest. His lifelong friend David Bowie, Johnny Hallyday, Ringo Starr. With this last Farewell tour, we see with regret a new legend leaving the stage.

        Peter Frampton is the latest classic rock icon to announce that his next tour will be his last. If in 1981 he was declared a has-been by much of the industry, things took another turn in 1987 when his childhood friend David Bowie invited him to play guitar on his LP Never Let Me Down. This helped Frampton slowly restart his solo career. And his concerts began to draw crowds again. 

        Rolling Stone

      Archives

      2004
      1 concert
      • 22 Feb
        Paris
        L'Olympia
      See more
      gérard drouot productions uses cookies on this website. With your approval, we will use them to mesure and analyse your visit on the website (statistic cookies) to adapt it to your interests (customized cookies) and to provide you with relevant information (third party cookies). Customize

Artistes
    Événements
      FR
      EN
      Peter Frampton

      Peter Frampton

      Mémoires du rock
      • Tournée
      • À propos
      • Les faits marquants
      • Témoignages
      • Archives

      Tournée

      Aucune date prévue

      À propos

      À propos

      Cheveux longs et bouclés, gueule d’ange et guitariste hors pair, Peter Frampton a fait chavirer bien des cœurs dans les années 70. S’il a finalement opté pour une coupe plus sage, il a conservé son sourire de rockstar et est toujours une légende vivante du genre, de celles qui ont côtoyé Bowie, les Beatles ou les Rolling Stones. Et ça, ça claque !

       

      Homme de tous les superlatifs, c’est d’abord un guitariste virtuose, novateur, inventif. Le premier à avoir utilisé la talkbox qui contribuera à son succès. Le premier aussi à avoir fondé un super-groupe de rock, bien avant que de vieux chanteurs mythiques se regroupent entre eux. Le premier à avoir autant cartonné avec des albums live, témoins de son blues-rock puissant, de ses riffs endiablés et de son chant bouillonnant. Et s’il se fait un peu engloutir par les vagues punk et new wave, il arrive à tracer sa route à travers les déferlantes de genres nouveaux qui prennent successivement la place des grandes rockstars.

       

      Jeter un œil à sa carrière aujourd’hui, c’est un peu comme retracer l’histoire du rock. Et contempler avec nostalgie certains de ses épisodes que l’on aime se repasser en boucle, tantôt blues, tantôt hard. Parfois sous forme de ballades langoureuses, parfois à grands renforts de cris énervés.

       

      Mais les bonnes choses ont une fin et l’artiste qui avait déjà défié la mort en 1978 après un accident de voiture, est à deux doigts de tirer sa révérence. Atteint d’une maladie dégénérative, il a décidé de délivrer à son public un dernier album, enregistré à l’ancienne et aux sonorités définitivement blues avant de partir pour une tournée d’adieu. Parce que ce rockeur a décidé de ne pas se laisser abattre et de quitter la scène avec panache !

      Les faits marquants

      1968
      Le premier super-groupe de l’histoire du rock

      Le premier super-groupe de l’histoire du rock

      Il faisait déjà parti d’un groupe à succès, The Herd. Mais l’image qu’il donnait, à la limite du chanteur de charme, ne lui convenait plus. La légende dit qu’il a rencontré Steve Mariott, des Small Faces lors d’une audition pour Johnny Hallyday. Ces deux-là ont définitivement matché et ont cofondé ensemble Humble Pie. Pendant quatre ans, il produit un hard rock survitaminé et des riffs qui sont encore dans toutes les oreilles avec ce qui est toujours l’un des premiers super-groupes de l’histoire.

      1976
      L’un des plus grands LP live de tous les temps

      L’un des plus grands LP live de tous les temps

      La consécration, c’est seul qu’il va y arriver. Avec un album live mémorable : Frampton Comes Alive ! Un opus multi-platine qui s’est vendu à plus de 17 millions d’exemplaires et a pris la tête du Billboard 200 pendant trois semaines, explosant tous les records pour un album live. Des décennies plus tard, tout le monde se souvient encore du tube planétaire Do You Feel Like We Do qui popularisera aussi l’utilisation de la talkbox, fidèle alliée du chanteur.

      1985
      Aux côtés d’autres patrons du rock

      Aux côtés d’autres patrons du rock

      En 1985, alors que sa carrière est en perte de vitesse, Peter Frampton trouve un second souffle en participant à l’album Rock'n'Roll Attitude de Johnny Hallyday. Mais c’est David Bowie, qu’il a rencontré sur les bancs de l'école, qui va définitivement le remettre en selle. Il joue avec le Caméléon de la Pop sur Never Let Me Down, et prend part à la tournée qui suit. Une énergie nouvelle grâce à laquelle il renouera avec la scène.

      2011
      Le retour de sa légendaire guitare

      Le retour de sa légendaire guitare

      Fun fact. Si Peter Frampton traverse le début des années 2000 sans grand bruit, enchaînant les tournées devant un public toujours présent, il retrouve en 2011 et par miracle sa Les Paul Custom noire. Visible sur la pochette de Frampton Comes Alive ! , elle avait disparu dans un accident d’avion en 1980, avec l’ensemble de ses guitares fétiches. Un clin d’œil du destin pour ce guitariste avant tout.

      2019
      Quand tout est blues

      Quand tout est blues

      Fini les artifices, Peter Frampton fait chanter sa guitare sans fioritures sur All Blues. Un dernier album en forme d’au revoir pour le chanteur atteint d’une maladie qui l’empêchera, à termes, de jouer de la guitare. Il livre donc un dernier petit bijou de virtuosité en forme de pied de nez au destin, reprenant à la sauce blues ses classiques I Just Want To Make Love To You ou Georgia On My Mind.

      Témoignages

      • Le mot du spectateur
      • Notre équipe en parle
      • La presse en parle

        Un concert hyper chaleureux, convivial et absolutly rock ! On sent vraiment l’émotion que Peter Frampton a à partager sa musique avec son public. Même si son physique et celui de ses musiciens ont changé, sa voix, son son, son toucher de guitare sont toujours les mêmes et l’on retrouve vraiment ce qu’on avait adoré dans ses albums mystiques des années 70. J’ai été replongé dans mes 20 ans et c’était vraiment agréable. 

        Hugues après un concert à l’Olympia

        En plus de 50 ans de carrière, Peter Frampton s’est donné corps et âme au rock. De diable déchaîné à sage patron du blues, il a marqué l’histoire aux côtés des plus grands. Son ami de toujours David Bowie, mais aussi Johnny Hallyday ou Ringo Starr. Avec cette dernière tournée d’adieu, nous voyons avec regret une nouvelle légende quitter la scène.

        Peter Frampton est la dernière icône du rock classique à annoncer que sa prochaine tournée sera sa dernière. Si en 1981, il a été déclaré has-been par une grande partie de l'industrie, les choses ont pris un autre tournant en 1987 lorsque son ami d'enfance David Bowie l'a invité à jouer de la guitare sur son LP Never Let Me Down. Cela a aidé Frampton à redémarrer lentement sa carrière solo. Et ses concerts ont recommencé à attirer les foules. 

         

        Rolling Stone

      Archives

      2004
      1 concert
      • 22 févr.
        Paris
        L'Olympia
      Afficher plus
      gérard drouot productions utilise des cookies sur ce site. Avec votre consentement, nous les utiliserons pour mesurer et analyser l'utilisation du site (cookies analytiques), pour l'adapter à vos intérêts (cookies de personnalisation) et pour vous présenter des publicités et des informations pertinentes (cookies de ciblage). Gérer les cookies