Artists
    Events
      EN
      FR
      Pat Metheny

      Pat Metheny

      A free electron with a thousand sounds
      Ecouter
      • Tour
      • About
      • Highlights
      • Testimonials
      • Archives

      Tour

      • 2022 1 concert
      • Best Seats
        Saturday
        21
        May 2022
        PARIS 09
        Book your seats
      See program

      About

      About
      Copyright Jimmy Katz

      Pat Metheny is a guitar genius. But there is no need to pray to see him improvise like a god. This audacious soul, a virtuoso with golden fingers and creative by nature, always knows how to find the best set up for his new sounds.

       

      Pat Metheny doesn't really play jazz. He plays music, period! Always smily, probably to conceal his tenacious character, the Missouri born singer explores modern times with a bold mind. Sometimes in the East, sometimes in Brazil, his musical journey abolishes borders and embraces uncharted territories, where simplicity coexists with extreme complexity.

       

      His sounds with a thousand nuances and his improvisations move us. It's true that Pat doesn't always know the final destination, but it's certain that we're going to land up, whatever happens, in the most beautiful places. Playful sophistication, sparkling technique: the guitarist from Lee's Summit, a small, peaceful town in America, is an outstanding aviator when it comes to taking on abstract and jazzy soundscapes.

       

      Creativity is his fuel, boldness is his compass. You only have to see him on stage, performing high-speed instrumental acrobatics with virtuosity and serenity to understand who we're dealing with. Having set himself high standards without being elitist, Pat Metheny sets off to conquer new perspectives without shivering, making him a Pablo Picasso of modern music. For he transcends the world at the pace of his strings, this is not something that can be made up, he is inspired by the masters of jazz and carries forward the legacy of Miles Davis, John Coltrane and Charlie Parker.

       

      Collaborator of David Bowie and Ornette Coleman, the American artist breaks conventions. Pat doesn't expect universal acceptance. He simply wants to explore new emotions and draw the contours of a playful sophistication, where technique is only an alibi to externalize his imagination. His guitar is his battle horse and Pat Metheny keeps dazzling music lovers!

      Highlights

      1975

      Not just a guitarist

      A jazzy soul and a hard rocker's good looks : Pat Metheny, brought up by the trumpet and admirer of Miles Davis, doesn't want to be just a background guitarist. So he decides to gather his own band and experiment with boldness and fantasy. His first album - Bright Size Life - allowed him to make a name for himself.

      1984

      In studio with David Bowie

      This is his most notable collaboration. That year, Pat Metheny recorded, with David Bowie, the track This is not America. He took the opportunity to broaden his audience and become, a little bit more, one of the greatest instrumentalists of his generation.

      2010

      Pat Metheny, never short of ideas

      It is one of the masterpieces of his discography: the album Orchestrion. For the occasion, Pat Metheny turns himself into an engineer, developing a new technology allowing him to conduct other instruments directly from his guitar and create an extraordinary orchestration. The result is breathtaking!

      Testimonials

      • The fans speak
      • The inside view
      • Seen in the press

        Pat Metheny is an original and talented musical creator. From the very first notes, one is carried away by a gentle and powerful wave. The various themes follow one another with many variations. It's technically impressive. What a sight! 

        Jonathan, after the concert in Marseille

        Pat Metheny is a master of his art. His technical sophistication would drive the best guitarists crazy. On stage, everything looks effortless. Yet he leads us into a festival of incredibly complex sounds. That's his secret: constantly juggling between sophistication and simplicity. In a nutshell, it's a must-see concert. You won't experience it twice!

        Over the past forty years, few jazz musicians have managed to balance experimentation and popular success as brilliantly as the American guitarist Pat Metheny. He is like a dazzling juggler playing with improvisational virtuosity, catchy songwriting and technological innovation.
         
        There are some great guitarists like Wes Montgomery and Jim Hall and there's Pat Metheny. And he is still among us, and far from being dead. The American guitarist marked his time, and not only by his hair! His guitar skills, his style, his music speak for him. 

        The Guardian - France Info

      Archives

      2018
      2 concerts
      • 08 Jul
        Vitrolles
        Charlie Free Jazz Festival
      • 28 Jul
        Marciac
        Jazz in Marciac
      2017
      5 concerts
      • 23 May
        Paris
        L'Olympia
      • 24 May
        Coutances
        Festival Jazz sous les Pommiers
      • 26 May
        Lyon
        Cité Internationale
      • 31 May
        Marseille
        LE CEPAC SILO
      • 15 Oct
        Sausheim
        Salle Eden
      2012
      3 concerts
      • 01 Jul
        Enghien-les-Bains
        Théâtre du Casino
      • 04 Jul
        Vienne
        Jazz à Vienne
      • 18 Jul
        Marseille
        Festival de Jazz des Cinq Continents
      2011
      1 concert
      • 02 Nov
        Grenoble
        Maison de la Culture de Grenoble
      2010
      5 concerts
      • 01 Feb
        Châlons-en-Champagne
        La Comète
      • 13 Feb
        Paris
        L'Olympia
      • 15 Feb
        Nantes
        Cité des congrès
      • 16 Feb
        Bordeaux
        Theatre Femina
      • 30 Jul
        Coutances
        Théâtre de Coutances
      2002
      3 concerts
      • 07 Jun
        Paris
        L'Olympia
      • 22 Jun
        Nice
        Théâtre de Verdure
      • 03 Jul
        Vienne
        Jazz à Vienne
      1999
      1 concert
      • 16 Jul
        Juan-les-Pins
        Pinède Gould
      See more
      Book now
      gérard drouot productions uses cookies on this website. With your approval, we will use them to mesure and analyse your visit on the website (statistic cookies) to adapt it to your interests (customized cookies) and to provide you with relevant information (third party cookies). Customize

Artistes
    Événements
      FR
      EN
      Pat Metheny

      Pat Metheny

      Électron libre aux mille sonorités
      Ecouter
      • Tournée
      • À propos
      • Les faits marquants
      • Témoignages
      • Archives

      Tournée

      • 2022 1 concert
      • Meilleures places
        samedi
        21
        mai 2022
        PARIS
        Réserver
      Voir l'agenda

      À propos

      À propos
      © Jimmy Katz

      Pat Metheny est un génie de la guitare. Mais pas besoin de le prier pour le voir dégainer ses plus belles improvisations. Cet audacieux dans l’âme, virtuose aux doigts d’or et créatif par nature, sait toujours trouver le moule adéquat pour empaqueter des sonorités nouvelles.

       

      Pat Metheny ne fait pas vraiment du jazz. Il joue sa musique, point barre. Toujours souriant, sûrement pour mieux camoufler un caractère bien trempé, l’enfant du Missouri est un explorateur des temps modernes, rempli d’audace. Tantôt en Orient, tantôt au Brésil, son voyage musical abolit les frontières pour embrasser des territoires jusqu’ici inatteignables, où la simplicité cohabite à la perfection avec une extrême complexité.

       

      Ses sonorités aux mille nuances et ses improvisations nous secouent. Certes, Pat ne connaît pas toujours la destination finale, mais c’est certain, nous allons finir par atterrir, quoi qu’il advienne, dans le plus beau des endroits. Sophistication ludique, technique étincelante : le guitariste de Lee’s Summit, petit bled paisible d’Amérique, est un aviateur hors pair dès qu’il s’agit de partir à l’assaut d’envolées sonores aux formes abstraites et jazzy.

       

      La créativité est son carburant, l’audace, son pilote automatique. Il suffit de le voir là, sur scène, mener avec virtuosité et sérénité des acrobaties instrumentales à haut-débit pour comprendre à qui nous avons à faire. Exigeant sans être élitiste, Pat Metheny fonce fiça à la conquête de perspectives nouvelles, sans frémir, faisant de lui un Pablo Picasso de la musique moderne. Car il déforme le monde sous le poids de ses cordes, inspiré, et ça ne s’invente pas, par les maîtres du jazz dont il porte l’héritage : Miles Davis, John Coltrane et Charlie Parker.

       

      Partenaire de jeu de David Bowie et d’Ornette Coleman, l’artiste américain outrepasse les conventions. Parce que Pat n’attend pas l’adhésion universelle. Il veut simplement visiter des émotions insoupçonnées et dessiner les contours d’une sophistication ludique, où la technique n’est qu’un alibi pour extérioriser son imaginaire. Oui, avec sa guitare comme cheval de bataille, Pat Metheny n’a pas fini d’éblouir les mélomanes !

       

      Pat Metheny sera à l’Olympia le 21 mai 2022 pour présenter “Side-Eye”, projet à géométrie variable dans lequel il fait équipe avec divers musiciens. Il sera cette fois accompagné sur scène du claviériste James Francies et du batteur Joe Dyson.

      Les faits marquants

      1975
      Pas un simple guitariste

      Pas un simple guitariste

      Sensibilité du jazz, physique de hard rockeur : Pat Metheny, bercé à la trompette et amoureux de Miles Davis, ne veut pas être un simple guitariste de fond de scène. Il décide alors de monter son propre groupe et d’expérimenter avec audace et fantaisie. Son premier album Bright Size Life lui permet de se faire un nom.

       

      1984
      En studio avec David Bowie

      En studio avec David Bowie

      C’est sa collaboration la plus remarquée. Cette année-là, Pat Metheny enregistre, en compagnie de David Bowie, le titre This is not America. Il profite de l’occasion pour élargir son audience et s’inscrire, encore un peu plus, comme l’un des plus grands instrumentistes de sa génération.

      2010
      Pat Metheny, jamais à court d’idées

      Pat Metheny, jamais à court d’idées

      C’est l’un des chefs d’œuvre de sa discographie : l’album Orchestrion. Pour l’occasion, Pat Metheny se transforme en ingénieur, mettant au point une technologie inédite, qui lui permet de piloter en live d’autres instruments directement depuis sa guitare et de créer une orchestration hors-norme. Le résultat est époustouflant !

      Témoignages

      • Le mot du spectateur
      • Notre équipe en parle
      • La presse en parle

        Pat Metheny est un créateur musical original et talentueux. On est emporté dès les premières notes par une vague douce et puissante à la fois. Les thèmes variés s'enchainent avec de nombreuses variations. C'est techniquement impressionnant. Quel moment ! 

        Jonathan, après le concert à Marseille

        Pat Metheny est un maître. Sa technicité affole même les meilleurs guitaristes. À le voir sur scène, on a l’impression que tout est facile. Pourtant, c’est un festival de sonorités incroyablement complexes, qu’il arrive à rendre abordables. C’est ça, son secret : jongler sans cesse entre sophistication et simplicité. Bref, il faut absolument le voir en concert. Vous ne vivrez pas ça deux fois !

        Au cours des quarante dernières années, peu de musiciens de jazz ont réussi à équilibrer l'expérimentation et l'attrait populaire avec autant de succès que le guitariste américain Pat Metheny. C’est un jongleur éblouissant de virtuosité d'improvisation, d'écriture de chansons accrocheuses et d'innovation technologique. 

         

        Il y a quelques grands guitaristes comme Wes Montgomery et Jim Hall, et il y a Pat Metheny. Et il existe celui-là. Il n'est pas mort. Le guitariste américain a marqué son époque, et pas seulement par sa chevelure ! Son jeu de guitare, son toucher, sa musique parlent pour lui. 

        The Guardian - France Info

      Archives

      2018
      2 concerts
      • 08 juil.
        Vitrolles
        Charlie Free Jazz Festival
      • 28 juil.
        Marciac
        Jazz in Marciac
      2017
      5 concerts
      • 23 mai
        Paris
        L'Olympia
      • 24 mai
        Coutances
        Festival Jazz sous les Pommiers
      • 26 mai
        Lyon
        Cité Internationale
      • 31 mai
        Marseille
        LE CEPAC SILO
      • 15 oct.
        Sausheim
        Salle Eden
      2012
      3 concerts
      • 01 juil.
        Enghien-les-Bains
        Théâtre du Casino
      • 04 juil.
        Vienne
        Jazz à Vienne
      • 18 juil.
        Marseille
        Festival de Jazz des Cinq Continents
      2011
      1 concert
      • 02 nov.
        Grenoble
        Maison de la Culture de Grenoble
      2010
      5 concerts
      • 01 févr.
        Châlons-en-Champagne
        La Comète
      • 13 févr.
        Paris
        L'Olympia
      • 15 févr.
        Nantes
        Cité des congrès
      • 16 févr.
        Bordeaux
        Theatre Femina
      • 30 juil.
        Coutances
        Théâtre de Coutances
      2002
      3 concerts
      • 07 juin
        Paris
        L'Olympia
      • 22 juin
        Nice
        Théâtre de Verdure
      • 03 juil.
        Vienne
        Jazz à Vienne
      1999
      1 concert
      • 16 juil.
        Juan-les-Pins
        Pinède Gould
      Afficher plus
      Réserver
      gérard drouot productions utilise des cookies sur ce site. Avec votre consentement, nous les utiliserons pour mesurer et analyser l'utilisation du site (cookies analytiques), pour l'adapter à vos intérêts (cookies de personnalisation) et pour vous présenter des publicités et des informations pertinentes (cookies de ciblage). Gérer les cookies