Artists
    Events
      EN
      FR
      Ozzy Osbourne

      Ozzy Osbourne

      The Prince of Darkness
      • Tour
      • About
      • Highlights
      • Testimonials
      • Archives

      Tour

      There is yet no show to display

      About

      About
      Copyright Pierre Hennequin

      Ozzy Osbourne is a cat with nine lives, a phoenix that always rises from its ashes. Undisputed leader of Black Sabbath, he explodes in solo with his pop tinged titles, becomes the hero of his own reality TV series and regularly makes the tabloids headlines for his sometimes unimaginable escapades.


      Because Ozzy Osbourne, by becoming the Prince of Darkness, must have lost some moral values. He thus built his legend on two beheadings. The first is that of a dove whose head he tears off with his teeth in the middle of his record company. The second, a bat that he says he mistook for a plastic toy and that one of his fans threw on stage during a concert. Yes, Ozzy Osbourne is a sick man. But should we reduce him to that?


      The answer is no, of course not. Because if he built his character of Prince of Darkness from sulphurous events, the reality is much more nuanced. Regularly accused by worried parents of instilling the devil in their children, he has in fact little in common with a satanist, categorically refusing to play at the festivals they organise. And if Black Sabbath's lyrics were dark, written to frighten, they were actually inspired by biblical imagery.


      What's certain, on the other hand, is that he knew how to attract the favours of the general public. By revolutionizing metal by his clear, sometimes nasty vocals, with Black Sabbath at the beginning of his career, he gained his respect. By keeping his anger and switching to pop solo, he released his energy. And by settling in the living rooms of all Americans, presenting the real life of a rockstar with wife and children, he definitely became an emblem in front of which even Marilyn Manson looks pale. And at more than 70 years of age, he still hasn't finished with music, recently delivering his first album in more than 10 years. Who knows what half-crazy project Ozzy still has in store for the future?

      Highlights

      1979

      Ozzy gets kicked out of Black Sabbath

      It all started out well. Pioneers of heavy metal, Black Sabbath is all the rage with its heavy riffs and its dark lyrics. Their first album is an immediate success that will never fall down. But in 1979, Ozzy Osbourne, the charismatic leader and figurehead of the band, is thanked. The reason for this? His addiction problems, which regularly endanger the band's tours and recordings. After having known fame, Ozzy reaches the bottom.

      1991

      Sharon dries her tears

      The rebirth of the artist will come through a woman, Sharon Arden, who decides to help him before they fall in love and get married. She put him back on the studio track in 1980, this time as a solo artist. The sound is less saturated, more radio-friendly and if some albums are not unanimously acclaimed by the critics, No More Tears, released in 1991, will be a real success.

      2002

      The Osbournes, the daily life of a metal worker

      52 episodes broadcast over three years on MTV. That's what Ozzy gets into when he signs on for a reality show that follows him and his family on a daily basis in his Los Angeles home. Although criticized for its coarse language (you don't change the Prince of Darkness so easily), the show is a hit and paves the way for many others. And if the singer has once again shocked some of his fans who don't really like this voyeurism, he is now known to everyone. And the sales of Black Rain, released in 2007, will confirm this growing notoriety. It ranks third on the Billboard and marks its biggest commercial success.

      2020

      After 10 years of absence

      A decade without going through the studio hut. His fans were beginning to despair but the Madman is not giving up and makes another shattering comeback. With the astonishing Ordinary Man, he surprises everyone with a magnificent duet with Elton John in a rock ballad. But also with the rapper Travis Scott in Take What You Want with its fatally urban sounds. Ozzy Osbourne is decidedly not determined to hang up the mike and that's just as well!

      Testimonials

      • The fans speak
      • The inside view
      • Seen in the press

        What an atmosphere throughout the Madman show! Ozzy is true to himself: a real kid who marvels at everything, running around, haranguing the crowd incessantly. The vocals were powerful and his new guitarist is pure genius! No elaborate backdrop, no giant screens, just God is his musicians! 

        Aymeric after a concert at Bercy

        If the Madman has calmed down a bit and his wild stories have disappeared from the front pages of the tabloids, Ozzy Osbourne still knows how to surprise. The Prince of Darkness reinvents himself on his latest album, alongside surprising artists. And his playground is the stage! We are sure that we will see him coming to France very soon to set fire to and excite the crowds as only a Prince knows how to do.

        This new record by Ozzy is definitely full of surprises. After featuring Slash on Straight To Hell, the singer also recorded the album's lead single, Ordinary Man, with one of pop's biggest stars: Sir Elton John. A touching and beautifully arranged rock ballad, where Ozzy takes a step back from his life and sings that he "doesn't want to die being an ordinary man". 

        Rock & Folk

      Archives

      There is currently no show
      gérard drouot productions uses cookies on this website. With your approval, we will use them to mesure and analyse your visit on the website (statistic cookies) to adapt it to your interests (customized cookies) and to provide you with relevant information (third party cookies). Customize

Artistes
    Événements
      FR
      EN
      Ozzy Osbourne

      Ozzy Osbourne

      Le Prince des Ténèbres
      • Tournée
      • À propos
      • Les faits marquants
      • Témoignages
      • Archives

      Tournée

      Aucune date prévue

      À propos

      À propos

      Ozzy Osbourne est un chat à neuf vies, un phénix qui renaît toujours de ses cendres. Leader incontesté de Black Sabbath, il explose en solo avec ses titres teintés de pop, devient le héros de sa propre série de téléréalité et fait régulièrement la une des tabloïds pour ses frasques parfois à la limite de l’imaginable.

       

      Parce qu’Ozzy Osbourne, en devenant le Prince des Ténèbres, a dû perdre quelques valeurs morales. Il construit ainsi sa légende sur deux décapitations. La première est celle d’une colombe dont il arrache la tête avec ses dents au beau milieu de sa maison de disque. La seconde, une chauve-souris qu’il dit avoir pris pour un jouet en plastique et que l’un de ses fans a jeté sur scène lors d’un concert. Oui, Ozzy Osbourne est un grand malade. Mais doit-on le réduire à cela ?

       

      La réponse est non, bien évidemment. Car s’il a construit son personnage de Prince des Ténèbres à partir d’évènements sulfureux, la réalité est bien plus nuancée. Régulièrement accusé par des parents inquiets d’insuffler le diable dans leurs enfants, il n’a en fait pas grand-chose d’un sataniste, refusant catégoriquement de jouer dans les festivals que ces derniers organisent. Et si les textes de Black Sabbath étaient sombres, écrits pour faire peur, ils s’inspirent en fait de l’imagerie biblique.

       

      Ce qui est certain en revanche, c’est qu’il a su s’attirer les faveurs du grand public. En révolutionnant le metal par son chant clair, parfois nasillard, avec Black Sabbath en début de carrière, il a gagné son respect. En conservant sa hargne et en passant à la pop en solo, il a libéré son énergie. Et en s’installant dans les salons de tous les américains, présentant la vraie vie d’une rockstar avec femme et enfants, il est définitivement devenu un emblème devant lequel même Marilyn Manson fait pâle figure. Et à plus de 70 ans, il n’en a toujours pas fini avec la musique, livrant dernièrement son premier album depuis plus de 10 ans. Qui sait quel projet à moitié taré Ozzy nous réserve encore pour l’avenir ?

       

      Les faits marquants

      1979
      Ozzy se fait virer de Black Sabbath

      Ozzy se fait virer de Black Sabbath

      Tout avait pourtant bien commencé. Pionniers du heavy metal, Black Sabbath fait fureur avec ses riffs bien lourds et ses textes hyper sombres. Leur premier album connaît un succès immédiat qui ne retombera jamais. Mais en 1979, Ozzy Osbourne, leader pourtant charismatique et figure de proue du groupe, est remercié. En cause ? Ses problèmes d’addiction qui mettent régulièrement en péril les tournées ou les enregistrements du groupe. Après avoir connu la gloire, Ozzy touche le fond.

      1991

      Sharon sèche ses larmes

      La renaissance de l’artiste arrivera à travers une femme, Sharon Arden qui décide de l’aider avant qu’ils ne tombent amoureux et se marient. Elle le remet sur la voie des studios dès 1980, cette fois-ci en solo. Le son est moins saturé, plus radio-friendly et si certains albums ne font pas l’unanimité parmi les critiques, No More Tears, sorti en 1991, sera un vrai succès.

      2002
      The Osbournes, le quotidien d’un metalleux

      The Osbournes, le quotidien d’un metalleux

      52 épisodes diffusés sur trois ans sur MTV. Voilà ce dans quoi s’engage Ozzy quand il signe pour une émission de téléréalité qui le suit, ainsi que sa famille, au quotidien dans sa maison de Los Angeles. Bien que critiqué pour son langage grossier (on ne change pas le Prince des Ténèbres si facilement), l’émission cartonne et ouvre la voie à de nombreuses autres. Et si le chanteur a encore une fois choqué une partie de ses fans qui n’aiment pas trop ce voyeurisme, il est désormais connu de tous. Et les ventes de Black Rain, sorti en 2007 confirmeront cette notoriété croissante. Il se classe troisième du Billboard et marque sa plus grande réussite commerciale.

      2020
      Après 10 ans d’absence

      Après 10 ans d’absence

      Une décennie sans passer par la case studio. Ses fans commençaient à désespérer mais le Madman ne lâche rien et fait encore une fois un comeback fracassant. Avec l’étonnant Ordinary Man, il surprend tout le monde en s’offrant un magnifique duo avec Elton John dans une ballade rock. Mais également avec le rappeur Travis Scott dans Take What You Want aux sonorités fatalement urbaines. Ozzy Osbourne n’est décidément pas résolu à raccrocher le micro et c’est tant mieux !

      Témoignages

      • Le mot du spectateur
      • Notre équipe en parle
      • La presse en parle

        Quelle ambiance tout au long du show du Madman ! Ozzy est fidèle à lui-même : un vrai gamin qui s'émerveille de tout, courant partout, haranguant la foule sans cesse. Le chant était puissant et son nouveau guitariste est un pur génie ! Pas de backdrop recherché, pas d'écrans géants, juste Dieu est ses musiciens ! 

        Aymeric après un concert à Bercy

        Si le Madman s’est un peu calmé et que ses histoires rocambolesques ont disparu de la Une des tabloïds, Ozzy Osbourne sait toujours surprendre. Le Prince des Ténèbres se réinvente sur son dernier album, aux côtés d’artistes surprenants. Et son terrain de jeu, c’est la scène ! Nous sommes sûrs que nous le verrons débarquer très bientôt en France pour mettre le feu et exciter les foules comme seul un Prince sait le faire.

         

        Ce nouveau disque d'Ozzy est décidément riche en surprises. Après avoir travaillé en featuring avec Slash sur Straight To Hell, le chanteur a également enregistré le lead single de l'album, Ordinary Man, avec l'une des plus grandes stars de la pop : Sir Elton John. Une ballade rock touchante et superbement arrangée, où Ozzy prend du recul sur sa vie et chante qu'il "ne veut pas mourir en étant un homme ordinaire". 

        Rock & Folk

      Archives

      Aucun évènement en date
      gérard drouot productions utilise des cookies sur ce site. Avec votre consentement, nous les utiliserons pour mesurer et analyser l'utilisation du site (cookies analytiques), pour l'adapter à vos intérêts (cookies de personnalisation) et pour vous présenter des publicités et des informations pertinentes (cookies de ciblage). Gérer les cookies