Artists
    Events
      EN
      FR
      Nirvana

      Nirvana

      The flagship trio of the US grunge scene
      • About
      • Archives

      About

      About

      "Smells Like Teen Spirit", "Come as you are", "Lithium"... So many titles that have become anthems for a whole generation. Nirvana has definitely entered the legend of the grunge scene of the early 1990s, despite only three studio albums and the death of its charismatic leader, Kurt Cobain, in 1994.


      The singer, guitarist and composer Kurt Cobain first played in various bands with his friend and bassist Krist Novoselic. Nirvana was formed when Chad Channing joined them as a drummer. The band released its first album, "Bleach" in 1989. After that, Chad Channing left the band and was replaced by Dave Grohl. The band then signs a contract with Geffen Records. They become one of the mythical bands of the Grunge movement, alongside Alice in Chains, Pearl Jam and Soundgarden. They were nicknamed the "Big Four of Seattle".
      Their second album, "Nevermind", was released in September 1991, with the single "Smells Like Teen Spirit". The video for the single was streamed on the MTV music channel, and the album sold over 3 million copies in less than six months. The album went on to sell over 30 million copies worldwide. In 1992, the group participates in the Reading Festival, which will be one of the most successful stage performances of their career. Nirvana isolates itself at the beginning of 1993 in the Pachyderm studio with Steve Albini and records its third album, which wants to be in a different direction from its predecessor. "In Utero" was released in September 1993, accompanied by the single "Heart-Shaped Box" and went straight to the top of the various sales charts, although it was not promoted. In mid-November, the band performs on the MTV Unplugged show. They also performed covers of Leadbelly's "Where Did You Sleep Last Night" and David Bowie's "The Man Who Sold the World". Afterwards, the recording from this concert will sell more than six million copies worldwide.


      On April 5, 1994, Kurt Cobain disappeared. The band decides to stop the adventure and the remaining members will invest in new projects, including Dave Grohl with the Foo Fighters. Many albums and box sets were released, including "From the Muddy Banks of the Wishkah" in 1996, a first self-titled best-of in 2002 and another box set entitled "Sliver" in 2005. 


      The compositions of Nirvana were noticed thanks to the themes that were developed. It could be drug addiction, machismo, love or Cobain's childhood. Finally, the energetic, or sometimes chaotic, concerts of the group contributed to their reputation. The career of the band, although short, has marked the history of rock.

      Archives

      There is currently no show
      gérard drouot productions uses cookies on this website. With your approval, we will use them to mesure and analyse your visit on the website (statistic cookies) to adapt it to your interests (customized cookies) and to provide you with relevant information (third party cookies). Customize

Artistes
    Événements
      FR
      EN
      Nirvana

      Nirvana

      Le trio phare de la scène grunge US
      • À propos
      • Archives

      À propos

      À propos

      « Smells Like Teen Spirit », « Come as you are », « Lithium »… Autant de titres devenus des hymnes pour toute une génération. Nirvana est définitivement entré dans la légende de la scène grunge du début des années 1990, malgré seulement trois albums studios et la disparition de son leader charismatique, Kurt Cobain, en 1994.

       

      Le chanteur, guitariste et compositeur Kurt Cobain a d'abord officié dans diverses formations avec son ami et bassiste Krist Novoselic. Nirvana est formé lorsque Chad Channing les rejoint en tant que batteur. Le groupe sortira son premier album, « Bleach » en 1989. Dans la foulée, Chad Channing quitte le groupe et sera remplacé par Dave Grohl. Le groupe signe alors un contrat chez Geffen Records. Ils deviennent un des groupes mythiques du mouvement Grunge, aux côtés d'Alice in Chains, Pearl Jam et Soundgarden. On les surnommera le « Big Four of Seattle ».

       

      Leur deuxième album, « Nevermind », sort en septembre 1991, accompagné du single « Smells Like Teen Spirit ». Le clip de celui-ci est diffusé en continu sur la chaîne musicale MTV, tandis que le disque se vend à plus de 3 millions d'exemplaires en moins de six mois. Il se vendra par la suite à plus de 30 millions d’exemplaires dans le monde. En 1992, le groupe participe au festival de Reading, qui sera l'une des prestations scéniques les plus abouties de leur carrière. Nirvana s'isole au début de l'année 1993 au studio Pachyderm avec Steve Albini et y enregistre son troisième album, qui se veut dans une orientation différente de son prédécesseur. « In Utero » sort en septembre 1993, accompagné du single « Heart-Shaped Box » et s'empare directement de la tête des différents classements de ventes, bien qu'il ne bénéficie d'aucune promotion. À la mi-novembre, le groupe s'illustre lors de l'émission « MTV Unplugged ». Il y interprète également des reprises tells que “Where Did You Sleep Last Night” de Leadbelly et “The Man Who Sold the World” de David Bowie. Par la suite, la captation tirée de ce concert se vendra à plus de six millions d’exemplaires dans le monde.

       

      Le 5 avril 1994, Kurt Cobain disparaît. Le groupe décide alors d’arrêter l’aventure et les membres restants s’investiront dans de nouveaux projets, notamment Dave Grohl avec les Foo Fighters. Sortiront ensuite de nombreux albums et coffrets, dont "From the Muddy Banks of the Wishkah" en 1996, un premier best-of éponyme en 2002 ou encore un autre coffret intitulé "Sliver" en 2005.

       

      Les compositions de Nirvana ont été remarquées grâce aux thèmes qui y étaient développés. Cela pouvait être la dépendance aux drogues, le machisme, l'amour ou l’enfance de Cobain. Enfin, les concerts énergiques, ou parfois chaotiques, du groupe ont contribué à leur réputation. La carrière du groupe, bien que courte, a marqué l'histoire du Rock de son empreinte.

      Archives

      Aucun évènement en date
      gérard drouot productions utilise des cookies sur ce site. Avec votre consentement, nous les utiliserons pour mesurer et analyser l'utilisation du site (cookies analytiques), pour l'adapter à vos intérêts (cookies de personnalisation) et pour vous présenter des publicités et des informations pertinentes (cookies de ciblage). Gérer les cookies