Artists
    Events
      EN
      FR
      Nigel Kennedy

      Nigel Kennedy

      Enfant terrible du violin
      • Tour
      • About
      • Highlights
      • Testimonials
      • Archives

      Tour

      There is yet no show to display

      About

      About

      With his hair in battle and his Iroquois hair, he swapped the three-piece suit for a T-shirt with a slogan, oversized trousers, a shredded jacket and sneakers. An old punk? No, a legendary violinist, on stage alongside the best musicians and drawing tears so easily from an audience on the verge of hypnosis.


      This man, we don't introduce him anymore. He is the enfant terrible of classical music, the gentle madness that took hold of a violin, the only bad boy capable of giving the answer to the best symphony orchestras. This man is the brilliant and insolent Nigel Kennedy, who has been dragging his Stradivarius around the world for over 40 years and whose talent, energy and impertinence have still not aged a day.


      For he has given himself a mission: to bring classical music to the general public. To bring Bach, Vivaldi and other artists from ancient times into our houses and flats. And it doesn't matter if that means cutting down, or sometimes shattering, certain conventions in the process. Staying still and upright as a post to deliver your solo? Not for him! Coming in close shaved? To others! What interests him is the music and only the music, not the style. Deviations that the classical world sometimes finds hard to forgive him for. But which he very quickly forgets as soon as he makes his first notes resound.


      Because with bow in hand, he makes his strings vibrate like nobody else. "His technique is astonishing. When you see him play, you can't deny him anything," said Lizzie Ball, first violin of the Orchestra of Life who accompanied his tours. And when you play with this prodigy whose style is as free as his rhythm is bold, you'd better follow. Jazz, rock, classical, borders or the established order, it's not for him! Improvisation, on the other hand, is something he knows at his fingertips. And let's be clear, it's not that he doesn't respect anything, Nigel, it's simply that he's free!

      Highlights

      1977

      Nigel, child of the classic

      Seeing his improbable looks come and go throughout his career, it's hard to say that Nigel Kennedy was ever a wise child. However, his training is classic as he first studied at the school of Yehudi Menuhin before joining the prestigious Julliard School in New York, where superstar Dorothy Delay took him under her wing.

      1989

      An album that feels like a bomb

      Helped by his manager John Stanley, the young artist worked on his image. With his beard and his hair in battle, he becomes an offbeat dandy. But when he released his version of Vivaldi's Four Seasons, his leather jacket was almost as striking as his virtuosity. The record explodes the charts all over the world. Today, more than four million copies have been sold. His outspokenness and inimitable style of dress and music will do the rest. The violinist has conquered the planet.

      1997

      Shocking return of a free man

      In 1992, after a neck operation, the musician took a five-year break from music, during which he explored rock, Celtic music and jazz. The return of this classical rock star in 1997 made the front page of British newspapers. And he now has only one watchword: to do exactly what he wants when he wants! Two years later, and in line with what he had announced, he released The Kennedy Experience, in homage to guitarist Jimi Hendrix.

      2009

      An orchestra at its measure

      Nigel Kennedy takes to the sea. Classical and symphony orchestras are no longer enough for him, so he creates his own to accompany him in concert, notably on his 2010 Bach-Vivaldi tour. For the artist refuses nothing. Neither improvisation in the middle of the Four Seasons, nor a few harmonica notes to enter the stage. And for this he needed "total freedom. To do concerts as I see fit with young people, who are on the same energy and will not hesitate to follow me everywhere". And of course it works!

      2018

      Bach and Gershwin meets Kennedy

      The violinist's love for Johann Sebastian Bach was well known. But it was in taking up Gershwin again that he signed his last album, taking up the two famous composers on the tour that followed. If they were to meet, the artist explains, amusingly, that they would probably do "a harmonic wrestling match... in the mud! ». No mud for Kennedy, but still a band formed to follow his improvised flights of fancy in the midst of his highly classical compositions!

      Testimonials

      • The fans speak
      • The inside view
      • Seen in the press

        I spent unforgettable hours with this immense artist. He is indeed unorthodox, joking with his musicians and with the audience in between pieces. But I was dazzled by his incandescent playing and really amazed by his level of availability, sharing and commitment. Thank you! 

        Amandine after a concert in Paris

        He is a rock star in the world of classical music. A prodigy who has managed to break free from the codes to chart his own course. A simple guy who brings a demanding genre to the masses. When we see him laughing at his zany improvisations or sharing a joke with his audience, we can't help but be completely won over. Because if Nigel Kennedy is a enfant terrible of the violin, he is certainly only a child of overly strict parents!

        Nigel Kennedy has a mission: to reconcile "great music" with the people of music lovers who ignore each other. To return the instrument to its origins of popular festivals, to the times of the travelling minorities and the diasporas. Without, however, denying the high-flying virtuosity it possesses. 
         
        Nigel Kennedy gesticulates on stage, greets the audience with his fist raised like a rapper. Yet he is one of the greatest classical violinists of his generation. The audience in Rosenheim, Germany, proved him right. More than ten minutes of standing ovation greeted three hours of virtuosity and energy that is almost miraculous. 

        Le Monde - Le Figaro

      Archives

      There is currently no show
      gérard drouot productions uses cookies on this website. With your approval, we will use them to mesure and analyse your visit on the website (statistic cookies) to adapt it to your interests (customized cookies) and to provide you with relevant information (third party cookies). Customize

Artistes
    Événements
      FR
      EN
      Nigel Kennedy

      Nigel Kennedy

      Enfant terrible du violon
      • Tournée
      • À propos
      • Les faits marquants
      • Galerie
      • Témoignages
      • Archives

      Tournée

      Aucune date prévue

      À propos

      À propos

      Cheveux en bataille coiffés en iroquois, il a troqué le costume trois pièces contre un T-shirt à slogan, un pantalon trop large, une veste râpée et des sneakers. Un vieux punk ? Non, un violoniste de légende, sur scène aux côtés des meilleurs musiciens et tirant si facilement les larmes à un public au bord de l’hypnose.

       

      Cet homme, on ne le présente plus. C’est l’enfant terrible de la musique classique, la folie douce qui s’est emparée d’un violon, le seul bad boy capable de donner la réponse aux meilleurs orchestres symphoniques. Cet homme, c’est le génial et insolent Nigel Kennedy, qui traîne son Stradivarius à travers le monde depuis plus de 40 ans et dont le talent, l’énergie et l’impertinence n’ont toujours pas pris une ride.

       

      Car il s’est donné une mission : apporter la musique classique au grand public. Faire rentrer Bach, Vivaldi et autres artistes des temps anciens dans nos maisons et nos appartements. Et tant pis si au passage, il faut pour cela écorner, ou parfois faire voler en éclat certaines conventions. Rester immobile et droit comme un piquet pour délivrer son solo ? Pas pour lui ! Venir rasé de près ? A d’autres ! Ce qui l’intéresse, c’est la musique et seulement la musique, pas le style. Des écarts que le monde classique a parfois du mal à lui pardonner. Mais qu’il fait très vite oublier dès qu’il fait résonner ses premières notes.

       

      Parce qu’archet en main, il fait vibrer ses cordes comme personne. « Il a une technique ahurissante. Lorsque vous le voyez jouer, vous ne pouvez plus rien lui refuser » disait Lizzie Ball, premier violon de l’Orchestra of Life qui a accompagné ses tournées. Et quand on joue avec ce prodige dont le style est aussi libre que sa rythmique est audacieuse, il vaut mieux suivre. Jazz, rock, classique, les frontières ou l’ordre établi, ce n’est pas pour lui ! L’improvisation, par contre, il connaît sur le bout des doigts. Et comprenons-nous bien, ce n’est pas qu’il ne respecte rien, Nigel, c’est simplement qu’il est libre !

      Les faits marquants

      1977
      Nigel, enfant du classique

      Nigel, enfant du classique

      En voyant défiler ses looks improbables au fur et à mesure de sa carrière, difficile de se dire que Nigel Kennedy a un jour été un enfant sage. Pourtant, sa formation est classique puisqu’il étudie d’abord à l’école de Yehudi Menuhin avant de rejoindre la prestigieuse Julliard School de New York, où la superstar Dorothy Delay le prend sous son aile.

      1989
      Un album qui fait l’effet d’une bombe

      Un album qui fait l’effet d’une bombe

      Aidé par son manager John Stanley, le jeune artiste a travaillé son image. Avec sa barbe et ses cheveux en bataille, il devient dandy décalé. Mais quand il sort sa version des Quatre Saisons de Vivaldi, son blouson de cuir détonne presque autant que sa virtuosité. Le disque explose les charts partout dans le monde. On en compte aujourd’hui plus de quatre millions d’exemplaires vendus. Son franc-parler et son inimitable style vestimentaire comme musical feront le reste. Le violoniste a conquis la planète.

      1997
      Retour fracassant d’un homme libre

      Retour fracassant d’un homme libre

      En 1992, après une opération de la nuque, le musicien fait un break de cinq ans pendant lequel il explorera le rock, la musique celte, le jazz. Le retour de cette rockstar du classique, en 1997, fait la une des journaux britanniques. Et lui n’a plus qu’un seul mot d’ordre : faire exactement ce dont il a envie quand il en a envie ! Deux ans plus tard et dans la droite lignée de ce qu’il avait annoncé, il sort The Kennedy Experience, en hommage au guitariste Jimi Hendrix.

      2009
      Un orchestre à sa mesure

      Un orchestre à sa mesure

      Nigel Kennedy prend le large. Les orchestres classiques et symphoniques ne lui suffisent plus alors il crée le sien pour l’accompagner en concert, notamment sur sa tournée Bach-Vivaldi de 2010. Car l’artiste ne se refuse rien. Ni l’improvisation au milieu des Quatre Saisons, ni quelques notes d’harmonica pour entrer en scène. Et pour cela il lui fallait « une totale liberté. Faire des concerts comme je l'entends avec des gens jeunes, qui sont sur la même énergie et n'hésiteront pas à me suivre partout ». Et évidemment, ça marche !

      2018
      Bach et Gershwin rencontre Kennedy

      Bach et Gershwin rencontre Kennedy

      On savait l’amour porté par le violoniste à Jean-Sébastien Bach. Mais c’est en reprenant Gershwin qu’il signe son dernier album, reprenant les deux compositeurs célèbres lors la tournée qui suit. S’ils se rencontraient, l’artiste explique en s’amusant qu’ils feraient probablement « un match de lutte harmonique… dans la boue ! ». Pas de boue pour Kennedy mais toujours un band formé pour suivre ses envolées improvisées au milieu de ses compositions hautement classiques !

      Témoignages

      • Le mot du spectateur
      • Notre équipe en parle
      • La presse en parle

        J’ai passé des heures inoubliables avec cet artiste immense. Il est effectivement peu orthodoxe, plaisante avec ses musiciens et avec le public entre deux morceaux. Mais j’ai été éblouie par son jeu incandescent et vraiment étonnée de son niveau de disponibilité, de partage et d’engagement. Merci ! 

        Amandine après un concert à Paris

        C’est une rock star dans le monde de la musique classique. Un prodige qui a réussi à s’affranchir des codes pour tracer sa propre voie. Un mec simple qui apporte un genre exigeant au plus grand nombre. Quand on le voit rigoler de ses improvisations loufoques ou partager une blague avec son public, nous ne pouvons qu’être complètement conquis. Car si Nigel Kennedy est un enfant terrible du violon, il ne l’est certainement que pour des parents trop stricts !

         

        Nigel Kennedy a une mission : réconcilier la "grande musique" avec le peuple des mélomanes qui s'ignorent. Rendre l'instrument à ses origines de fêtes populaires, aux temps des minorités ambulantes et des diasporas. Sans pour autant renier la virtuosité de haut vol qu'il possède. 

         

        Nigel Kennedy gesticule sur scène, salue le public poing levé à la façon d'un rappeur. Pourtant c'est l'un des plus grands violonistes classiques de sa génération. Le public de Rosenheim, en Allemagne, lui a donné raison. Plus de dix minutes de standing ovation saluèrent trois heures d'une virtuosité et d'une énergie qui tiennent quasiment du miracle. 

         

        Le Monde - Le Figaro

      Archives

      Aucun évènement en date
      gérard drouot productions utilise des cookies sur ce site. Avec votre consentement, nous les utiliserons pour mesurer et analyser l'utilisation du site (cookies analytiques), pour l'adapter à vos intérêts (cookies de personnalisation) et pour vous présenter des publicités et des informations pertinentes (cookies de ciblage). Gérer les cookies