Artists
    Events
      EN
      FR
      Mammoth WVH

      Mammoth WVH

      Wolfgang Van Halen's personal and humble project
      • Tour
      • About

      Tour

      • 2022 2 concerts
      • Presale
        Saturday
        25
        June 2022
        PARIS 18
        Book your seats
      • Sunday
        26
        June 2022
        Clisson
        Seat release

      About

      About

      It is not easy to be the son of a famous musician, especially when it is about a legend having left an indelible print in the history of the rock. And yet Wolfgang Van Halen surprises us in more than one way with this first project with the curious name of Mammoth WVH. If the name of the project is a tribute to his father, whose first band bore this name, we are here to speak above all about the music of the son. By delivering this personal project all in sobriety, Wolfgang interprets here his own music, ignoring the critics. The succession in the Van Halen family is assured!


      We could see Wolfgang Van Halen at work since 2006 with his father's band, when he was invited to take over from bassist Michael Anthony when Van Halen decided to get together with David Lee Roth. Still a teenager at the time, he would later participate in the band's final album, A Different Kind of Truth. Long before Eddie Van Halen's death in 2020, Wolfgang matured this idea of a solo project as early as 2015. Like his father and uncle, Wolfgang is a multi-instrumentalist: in addition to being a bassist, he is also a drummer, guitarist and keyboardist. He composed what became his first album before the death of his father, but this event gives the record a strong emotional dimension. 


      Musically, the only common point with Van Halen is the hard rock aspect of the compositions. For the rest, the son's influences are those of a child of the 90s: Alice In Chains, Queens Of The Stone Age, Sevendust, Tool and especially the Foo Fighters. Among the highlights of the album, we can mention melodic and catchy heavy rock tracks such as Don't Back Down, You're To Blame or the dark and melancholic ballad Circles. It is thus a sensitivity proper to Wolfgang which emerges from this first opus, even if he does not forget to pay tribute to his father via the title Distance. No doubt that we are dealing with a musician already confirmed and that this maturity will only ask to express itself on stage soon!



      Book now
      gérard drouot productions uses cookies on this website. With your approval, we will use them to mesure and analyse your visit on the website (statistic cookies) to adapt it to your interests (customized cookies) and to provide you with relevant information (third party cookies). Customize

Artistes
    Événements
      FR
      EN
      Mammoth WVH

      Mammoth WVH

      Le projet personnel et humble de Wolfgang Van Halen
      • Tournée
      • À propos

      Tournée

      • 2022 2 concerts
      • Prévente
        samedi
        25
        juin 2022
        PARIS 18
        Réserver
      • dimanche
        26
        juin 2022
        Clisson
        Complet - relâche
      Voir l'agenda

      À propos

      À propos

      Il n’est pas chose aisée d’être le fils d’un musicien célèbre, surtout lorsqu’il s’agit d’une légende ayant laissé une empreinte indélébile dans l’histoire du rock. Et pourtant Wolfgang Van Halen nous surprend à plus d’un titre par ce premier projet au nom curieux de Mammoth WVH. Si le nom du projet est un hommage à son père, dont le premier groupe portait ce nom, nous sommes ici pour parler avant tout de la musique du fils. En livrant ce projet personnel tout en sobriété, Wolfgang interprète ici sa propre musique, faisant fi des critiques. La relève dans la famille Van Halen est assurée !

       

      On a pu voir Wolfgang Van Halen à l’œuvre dès 2006 auprès du groupe de son père, lorsqu’il est invité à prendre la suite du bassiste Michael Anthony lorsque Van Halen décide de se réunir avec David Lee Roth. Encore adolescent à l’époque, il participera par la suite à l’ultime album du groupe, A Different Kind of Truth. Bien avant la mort d’Eddie Van Halen en 2020, Wolfgang mûrit cette idée de projet solo dès 2015. Comme son père et son oncle, Wolfgang est multi-instrumentiste : en plus d'être bassiste, il est également batteur, guitariste et claviériste. Il compose ce qui est devenu son premier album avant la mort de son père, mais cet évènement fait prendre au disque une forte dimension émotionnelle.

       

      Sur le plan musical, le seul point commun avec Van Halen est l’aspect hard rock des compositions. Pour le reste, les influences du fils sont celles d’un enfant des années 90 : Alice In Chains, Queens Of The Stone Age, Sevendust, Tool et surtout les Foo Fighters. Parmi les temps forts de l’album, on citera des titres heavy rock mélodiques et accrocheurs tels que Don’t Back Down, You’re To Blame ou encore la ballade Circles, sombre et mélancolique. C’est donc une sensibilité propre à Wolfgang qui se dégage de ce premier opus, même s’il n’oublie pas de rendre hommage à son père via le titre Distance. Nul doute que nous avons affaire à un musicien d’ores-et-déjà confirmé et que cette maturité ne demandera qu’à s’exprimer sur scène prochainement !

      Réserver
      gérard drouot productions utilise des cookies sur ce site. Avec votre consentement, nous les utiliserons pour mesurer et analyser l'utilisation du site (cookies analytiques), pour l'adapter à vos intérêts (cookies de personnalisation) et pour vous présenter des publicités et des informations pertinentes (cookies de ciblage). Gérer les cookies