Artists
    Events
      EN
      FR
      Lou Reed

      Lou Reed

      Provocative at the forefront
      Ecouter
      • Tour
      • About
      • Highlights
      • Testimonials
      • Archives

      Tour

      There is yet no show to display

      About

      About
      Copyright Pierre Hennequin

      The monstrous Lou Reed has managed to reinvent rock music with lyrics as dark as the shallows of New York and provocative attitudes bordering on insubordination. From Andy Warhol to David Bowie, he caught the eye of the greatest and if his talent was not always immediately recognized, he is today one of the figures who still write the history of rock.


      Because Lou Reed is a genius at the forefront and it doesn't matter if his albums don't meet with popular success as soon as they are released. His lyrics redefine the essence of rock music and elevate it to the level of contemporary art where some still see it as a genre that is barely good for entertaining crowds. Dirt poetry, writing glued to his guts, he relentlessly explores the darkest facets of humanity, those he touches with his finger and into which he sometimes sinks completely. Addictions, despair, marginality, sexuality, no taboo is powerful enough to prevent him from depicting the obscure existence of those left out of this world.


      Provocative in his texts, he also erects insubordination as a way of life. Some of his concerts turn into full-blown riots when he makes it look like he's shooting up in the middle of the stage. And journalists from all sides who come to question the phenomenon can tremble. Uncompromising with the press, it is not uncommon for them to leave under the insults of a Lou Reed on the verge of neurosis.


      But there are several Lou Reed's, and the young mad dog of the 60s and 70s will give way in the following decades to a calmer, more introspective artist. Until becoming, at the end of his career, a rocker at the limit of the intellectual whose wisdom we listen to. But all these versions of the artist have finally been caught up by his sulphurous past and in 2013, another genius leaves this world.

      Highlights

      1967

      Art as provocation

      Few singers can claim to have been spotted by pop-art master Andy Warhol. It is necessary to believe that between decadent artists, the connection is instantaneous since The Velvet Underground, the group founded by Lou Reed, decides to perform at the famous Factory, at the time frequented by an audience made up of artists and outcasts. In 1967, Warhol financed their first album The Velvet Underground and Nico. A commercial failure which will become a resounding success a few years later, the title Heroin, a self-portrait of a junkie, being erected as a rock classic. 

      1972

      Bowie relaunches Lou Reed

      "I fired Warhol" launched with insolence Lou Reed by tearing off the independence of The Velvet Underground. It will be as striking as short since the group splits in 1971. For Lou Reed, it is back to square one, direction the parental home. But it was without counting on another genius, David Bowie, seduced by the success however very confidential of the singer. Lou Reed then launches out in a solo career. His first album, Transformer and the world-famous single that accompanies it, Walk on the Wild Side, with its sulphurous lyrics, made history and propelled him directly to the rank of rock star.

      1990

      Dernier concert pour The Velvet Underground

      Lou Reed's solo career took off in the 1970s and became more experimental in the 1980s. But the event came in 1990, on the occasion of the death of his mentor Andy Warhol. The Velvet Underground, now a legend, reunites for an unexpected concert at the Fondation Cartier, then for a tour of anthology in 1993.

      2011

      A father for world rock

      Less productive in the 2000s, the one who finally seems to be taking a wiser path is acting as a rocker for the rest of the rock scene. He collaborates with several artists including Gorillaz and Metallica with whom he recorded the album Lulu in 2011. His concerts at the Vieilles Charrues and the Nuits de Fourvière will be his last tour. In 2013, he is caught up by his demons and carried away by liver cancer.

      Testimonials

      • The fans speak
      • The inside view
      • Seen in the press

        Lou Reed may appear physically diminished, but he has lost none of his poise. And if he never really bet on his voice to seduce, the dark atmosphere which surrounds him was always that of the great hours of the Velvet Underground. 

        Tony after a concert in Paris

        Icon of the 60s and 70s, Lou Reed reversed the trajectory of a rock that was probably too smooth for his taste. One will remember his sulphurous hits, his seditious concerts, his excesses, his lack of taboo, but above all, his way of telling the meanders of the lives of those who populate the shallows of this world.

        The Lou Reed of 1965-1967, the one who wrote Heroin, I'm Waiting for the Man and Venus in Furs, is not a good student, a conscientious apprentice. On the contrary, and this is what still strikes us today, his genial insolence is already ripe and his sentence, as dry, brutal and burning as the lashes of the whip that one likes from time to time to give or receive at the Factory. 
         
        With the Velvet Underground, he had reinvented rock'n'roll, ten years after Elvis Presley, making guitars scream in art galleries, under the aegis of Andy Warhol. He was barely 30 years old when he became the historical figure to whom David Bowie turned to invent decadent rock, before all the successive waves of rock, from punk to the contemporary New York scene, claimed his patronage. 

        The Inrocks - The World

      Archives

      2012
      6 concerts
      • 09 Jun
        Montereau
        Festival Confluences
      • 11 Jun
        Paris
        L'Olympia
      • 12 Jun
        Lille
        L'Aéronef
      • 22 Jun
        Ruoms
        Ardeche Aluna Festival
      • 25 Jun
        Clermont Ferrand
        Coopérative de mai
      • 26 Jun
        Bordeaux
        Festival Bordeaux Fête le Vin
      2011
      3 concerts
      • 05 Jul
        Paris
        Le Grand Rex
      • 17 Jul
        Carhaix
        Les Vieilles Charrues
      • 26 Jul
        Lyon
        Les Nuits de Fourvière
      2008
      1 concert
      • 28 Jun
        Paris
        Salle Pleyel
      2007
      3 concerts
      • 23 Jun
        Paris
        Palais des Congrès
      • 03 Jul
        Lyon
        Les Nuits de Fourvière
      • 04 Jul
        Arles
        Les Rencontres d'Arles
      See more
      gérard drouot productions uses cookies on this website. With your approval, we will use them to mesure and analyse your visit on the website (statistic cookies) to adapt it to your interests (customized cookies) and to provide you with relevant information (third party cookies). Customize

Artistes
    Événements
      FR
      EN
      Lou Reed

      Lou Reed

      Provocateur à l’avant-garde
      Ecouter
      • Tournée
      • A Propos
      • Les faits marquants
      • Galerie
      • Témoignages
      • Archives

      Tournée

      Aucune date prévue

      A Propos

      A Propos
      Copyright Pierre Hennequin

      Le monstrueux Lou Reed a réussi à réinventer le rock à coup de textes à la noirceur aussi profonde que les bas-fonds de New York et d’attitudes provocatrices à la limite de l’insubordination. D’Andy Warhol à David Bowie, il a tapé dans l’œil des plus grands et si son talent n’a pas toujours été reconnu immédiatement, il est aujourd’hui l’une des figures qui écrit encore l’histoire du rock.

       

      Car Lou Reed est un génie à l’avant-garde et qu’importe si ses albums ne rencontrent pas le succès populaire dès leurs sorties. Ses textes redéfinissent l’essence même du rock et l’élève au rang d’art contemporain là où certains le voyaient encore comme un genre tout juste bon à divertir les foules. Poésie crasse, écriture collée aux viscères, il explore sans relâche les facettes les plus sombres de l’humanité, celles qu’il touche du doigt et dans lesquelles il sombre parfois complètement. Addictions, désespoir, marginalité, sexualité, aucun tabou n’est assez puissant pour l’empêcher de dépeindre l’existence obscure des laissés pour compte de ce monde.

       

      Provocateur dans les textes, il érige aussi l’insoumission comme mode de vie. Certains de ses concerts virent à l’émeute en bonne et due forme quand il fait croire qu’il se shoote au beau milieu de la scène. Et les journalistes de tous bords venus interroger le phénomène peuvent trembler. Intransigeant avec la presse, il n’est pas rare qu’ils repartent sous les insultes d’un Lou Reed à la limite de la névrose.

       

      Mais de Lou Reed, il y en a plusieurs et le jeune chien fou des années 60 et 70 cèdera la place dans les décennies suivantes à un artiste plus apaisé, plus introspectif. Jusqu’à devenir, à la fin de sa carrière, un rockeur à la limite de l’intellectuel dont on écoute la sagesse. Mais toutes ces versions de l’artiste ont finalement été rattrapées par son passé sulfureux et en 2013, c’est un autre génie qui quitte ce monde.

       

      Les faits marquants

      1967
      L’art comme provocation

      L’art comme provocation

      Peu de chanteurs peuvent se targuer d’avoir été repérés par le maître du pop-art Andy Warhol. Il faut croire qu’entre artistes décadents, la connexion est instantanée puisque The Velvet Underground, le groupe fondé par Lou Reed, décide de se produire à la célèbre Factory, à l’époque fréquentée par un public composé d’artistes et de marginaux. En 1967, Warhol finance leur premier album The Velvet Underground and Nico. Un échec commercial qui deviendra quelques années plus tard un succès retentissant, le titre Heroin, autoportrait d’un junkie, étant érigé au rang de classique du rock. 

      1972
      Bowie relance Lou Reed

      Bowie relance Lou Reed

      « J’ai viré Warhol » lançait avec insolence Lou Reed en arrachant l’indépendance de The Velvet Underground. Elle sera aussi marquante que courte puisque le groupe se sépare en 1971. Pour Lou Reed, c’est retour à la case départ, direction la maison parentale. Mais c’était sans compter sur un autre génie, David Bowie, séduit par le succès pourtant très confidentiel du chanteur. Lou Reed se lance alors dans une carrière solo. Son premier album, Transformer et le single mondialement connu qui l’accompagne Walk on the Wild Side, aux paroles sulfureuses, marque l’histoire et le propulse directement au rang de rock star.

       

      1990
      Dernier concert pour The Velvet Underground

      Dernier concert pour The Velvet Underground

      La carrière solo de Lou Reed décolle pendant les années 70 et devient plus expérimentale dans les années 1980. Mais l’événement intervient en 1990, à l’occasion de la mort de son mentor Andy Warhol. Le groupe The Velvet Underground, devenu entre-temps une légende, se reforme pour un concert inopiné à la Fondation Cartier, puis pour une tournée d’anthologie en 1993.

      2011
      Un père pour le rock mondial

      Un père pour le rock mondial

      Moins productif dans les années 2000, celui qui semble enfin prendre une voie plus sage fait office de taulier pour le reste de la scène rock. Il collabore avec plusieurs artistes dont Gorillaz et Metallica avec qui il enregistre l’album Lulu en 2011. Ses concerts aux Vieilles Charrues et aux Nuits de Fourvière seront son dernier tour de piste. En 2013, il est rattrapé par ses démons et emporté par un cancer du foie. 

       

      Témoignages

      • Le mot du spectateur
      • Notre équipe en parle
      • La presse en parle

        Lou Reed apparaît certes diminué physiquement mais il n’a rien perdu de sa prestance. Et s’il n’a jamais vraiment misé sur sa voix pour séduire, l’atmosphère ténébreuse qui l’entoure était toujours celle des grandes heures du Velvet Underground. 

        Tony après un concert à Paris.

        Icône des années 60 et 70, Lou Reed a renversé la trajectoire d’un rock qui était sans doute trop lisse à son goût. On se souviendra de ses tubes sulfureux, de ses concerts séditieux, de ses excès, de son absence de tabou, mais surtout, de sa manière de raconter les méandres de la vie de ceux qui peuplent les bas-fonds de ce monde. 

        Le Lou Reed de 1965- 1967, celui qui écrit Heroin, I’m Waiting for the Man et Venus in Furs, n’est pas un bon élève, un consciencieux apprenti. Au contraire, et c’est ce qui frappe encore aujourd’hui, sa géniale insolence est déjà mûre et sa phrase, aussi sèche, brutale et brûlante que les coups de fouet que l’on se plaît de temps en temps à donner ou à recevoir à la Factory. 

         

        Avec le Velvet Underground, il avait réinventé le rock'n'roll, dix ans après Elvis Presley, faisant hurler les guitares dans les galeries d'art, sous l'égide d'Andy Warhol. Il avait à peine 30 ans quand il est devenu la figure historique vers qui David Bowie se tournait pour inventer le rock décadent, avant que toutes les vagues successives du rock, du punk à la scène new-yorkaise contemporaine, se réclament de son patronage. 

        Les Inrocks - Le Monde

      Archives

      2012
      6 concerts
      • 09 juin
        Montereau
        Festival Confluences
      • 11 juin
        Paris
        L'Olympia
      • 12 juin
        Lille
        L'Aéronef
      • 22 juin
        Ruoms
        Ardeche Aluna Festival
      • 25 juin
        Clermont Ferrand
        Coopérative de mai
      • 26 juin
        Bordeaux
        Festival Bordeaux Fête le Vin
      2011
      3 concerts
      • 05 juil.
        Paris
        Le Grand Rex
      • 17 juil.
        Carhaix
        Les Vieilles Charrues
      • 26 juil.
        Lyon
        Les Nuits de Fourvière
      2008
      1 concert
      • 28 juin
        Paris
        Salle Pleyel
      2007
      3 concerts
      • 23 juin
        Paris
        Palais des Congrès
      • 03 juil.
        Lyon
        Les Nuits de Fourvière
      • 04 juil.
        Arles
        Les Rencontres d'Arles
      Afficher plus
      gérard drouot productions utilise des cookies sur ce site. Avec votre consentement, nous les utiliserons pour mesurer et analyser l'utilisation du site (cookies analytiques), pour l'adapter à vos intérêts (cookies de personnalisation) et pour vous présenter des publicités et des informations pertinentes (cookies de ciblage). Gérer les cookies