Artists
    Events
      EN
      FR
      • Tour
      • About
      • Archives

      Tour

      • 2022 5 concerts
      See program

      About

      About

      A benchmark in U.S.-made funk vitality, Lettuce continues to sell out venues in their home country. Known for their energetic live performances, the band continues to tour the world and deliver vibrant tracks.

       

      Formed in 1992 by Berklee College of Music alumni, the Boston-based band is now a six-piece collective. For the anecdote, this atypical name was found in 1994, when the group approached Boston clubs to let them play ("let us play"). The band stands out with a groovy sound and rhythms directly inspired by hip-hop, jazz and rock. Founding members of the band include Adam Deitch [drums, percussion, arrangement], Adam "Shmeeans" Smirnoff [guitar], Erick "Jesus" Coomes [bass], Ryan Zoidis [alto, baritone, tenor sax, Korg X-911], Eric "Benny" Bloom [trumpet, horns], and Nigel Hall [vocals, Hammond B-3, Rhodes, clavinet, keyboards]. The band's first album, Outta Here, was not released until 2002, 10 years after the band's formation. Rage! was released in 2008 and paid tribute to 1970s funk with a cover of Curtis Mayfield's Move on Up and Charles Wright & The Watts 103 Street Rhythm Band's Express Yourself.

       

      In addition to playing in this band, members have also made a name for themselves by producing or backing up other artists. Coomes is a studio bassist and has performed with Britney Spears and The Game. Deitch is a producer who has worked with John Scofield and Wyclef Jean. As for Smirnoff, we could see him with Lady Gaga or Dave Matthews Band. In the albums Elevate (2019) and Resonate (2020), recorded by the legendary Russ Elevado D'Angelo, (The Roots, Erykah Badu), the band explores its funk and blues/soul roots. There are also trip-hop sounds, proof that the band is always ready to explore a plurality of sounds.

      Whether it is in their different albums or on stage, it emanates a federating joy, a powerful and unbridled sound. Not to be missed!

       

      Musicians :

      Adam Deitch [batterie, percussion, arrangement], Adam "Shmeeans" Smirnoff [guitare], Erick « Jesus » Coomes [basse], Ryan Zoidis [alto, baryton, sax ténor, Korg X-911], Eric « Benny » Bloom [trompette, cors], et Nigel Hall [voix, Hammond B-3, Rhodes, clavinet, claviers]

       

      Archives

      2020
      2 concerts
      • 25 Feb
        Paris
        New Morning
      • 29 Feb
        Arles
        Cargo de Nuit
      See more
      Book now
      gérard drouot productions uses cookies on this website. With your approval, we will use them to mesure and analyse your visit on the website (statistic cookies) to adapt it to your interests (customized cookies) and to provide you with relevant information (third party cookies). Customize

Artistes
    Événements
      FR
      EN
      Lettuce

      Lettuce

      Le funk puissant et fédérateur de Boston
      Ecouter
      • Tournée
      • À propos
      • Archives

      Tournée

      • 2022 5 concerts
      • jeudi
        24
        février 2022
        Mulhouse
        Réserver
      • vendredi
        25
        février 2022
        Rouen
        Réserver
      • lundi
        28
        février 2022
        Tourcoing
        Réserver
      • mardi
        01
        mars 2022
        PARIS
        Réserver
      • jeudi
        03
        mars 2022
        Bordeaux
        Réserver
      Voir l'agenda

      À propos

      À propos

      Référence en matière de vitalité funk made in U.S., le groupe Lettuce ne cesse de faire salle comble dans son pays d’origine. Réputé pour ses prestations scéniques énergiques, le groupe continue à arpenter les scènes du monde entier et de nous livrer des titres toujours aussi vibrants.

       

      Formé en 1992 par d’anciens élèves du Berklee College of Music, ce groupe bostonien rassemble aujourd’hui un collectif de six musiciens. Pour l’anecdote, ce nom atypique fut trouvé en 1994, lorsque le groupe démarche des clubs de Boston pour les laisser jouer (« let us play »). Le groupe se démarque avec un son riche en groove et des rythmiques directement inspirés du hip-hop, du jazz ou encore du rock. Les membres fondateurs du groupe incluent  Adam Deitch [batterie, percussion, arrangement], Adam "Shmeeans" Smirnoff [guitare], Erick « Jesus » Coomes [basse], Ryan Zoidis [alto, baryton, sax ténor, Korg X-911], Eric « Benny » Bloom [trompette, cors] et Nigel Hall [voix, Hammond B-3, Rhodes, clavinet, claviers]. Le premier album du groupe, Outta Here, ne paraîtra qu’en 2002, 10 ans après la formation du groupe. Rage! paraît en 2008 et rend hommage au funk des années 1970 avec notamment une reprise de Move on Up de Curtis Mayfield et Express Yourself de Charles Wright & The Watts 103 Street Rhythm Band’s.

       

      En plus de jouer dans ce groupe, des membres se sont également illustrés en produisant ou en accompagnant d’autres artistes. Coomes est un bassiste de studio et s’est produit avec Britney Spears et The Game. Deitch est un producteur qui a travaillé avec John Scofield et Wyclef Jean. Quant à Smirnoff, on a pu le voir avec Lady Gaga ou Dave Matthews Band. Dans les albums Elevate (2019) et Resonate (2020), enregistrés par le légendaire Russ Elevado D’Angelo, (The Roots, Erykah Badu), le groupe explore ses racines funk et blues/soul. On y trouve aussi des sonorités trip-hop, preuve que le groupe est toujours prêt à explorer une pluralité de sonorités. Que ce soit dans leurs différents albums ou sur scène, il se dégage une joie fédératrice, un son puissant et débridé. A ne pas louper !

      Composition du groupe :

      Adam Deitch [batterie, percussion, arrangement], Adam "Shmeeans" Smirnoff [guitare], Erick « Jesus » Coomes [basse], Ryan Zoidis [alto, baryton, sax ténor, Korg X-911], Eric « Benny » Bloom [trompette, cors], et Nigel Hall [voix, Hammond B-3, Rhodes, clavinet, claviers]

      Archives

      2020
      2 concerts
      • 25 févr.
        Paris
        New Morning
      • 29 févr.
        Arles
        Cargo de Nuit
      Voir plus
      Réserver
      gérard drouot productions utilise des cookies sur ce site. Avec votre consentement, nous les utiliserons pour mesurer et analyser l'utilisation du site (cookies analytiques), pour l'adapter à vos intérêts (cookies de personnalisation) et pour vous présenter des publicités et des informations pertinentes (cookies de ciblage). Gérer les cookies