Artists
    Events
      EN
      FR
      Jeff Beck

      Jeff Beck

      A great blues guitarist
      Ecouter
      • Tour
      • About
      • Highlights
      • Testimonials
      • Archives

      Tour

      There is yet no show to display

      About

      About

      An echo, a distortion, a reverberation. Jeff Beck, guitar wizard, weaves the strings with a finely chiselled technique, the fruit of unalterable creativity and outrageous perfectionism. This man does not sing: he prefers to let his Fender, an organ external to his body, do it for him.


      Jeff Beck is not a careerist for a penny. He could have competed with more virulence with his friends Éric Clapton and Jimmy Page in the charts. Yet he doesn't care, the prodigy from the suburbs of London. Only one thing matters to him: making his white Fender purr all the way to the top. And that's because the Yardbirds' propulsion engine, known for its free and spontaneous play, only needs a few acrobatic notes to kill the game.


      Jeff Beck masters it all! This jazz tightrope walker, lulled by the songs of Django Reinhart and the blues of BB King, puts his influences in fusion with a goldsmith's technique to drive the lovers of the scratch crazy. His notes bounce back, his effects transcend certainties. The English virtuoso, elusive and unpredictable, loves risk, constantly navigating troubled waters and playing deliciously with a palette of a thousand colors. "If I died, I wonder what label the tabloids would put on me", he sometimes laughs.


      This Jackson Pollock of sound, abstract handyman and profound visionary, is wrestling with scores as his inspiration explores uncharted territory. On the canvas, with intuition, freedom and genius, he projects sounds with a psychedelic tendency. His work has no equal. His experiments, surprising and intrepid, leave you speechless. Moreover, it's a good thing, like an Earl Hooker, Jeff Beck never sings. With his ordinary nonchalance, he prefers to let his guitar scream through solos out of reach.

      Highlights

      1965

      Jimmy Page's accomplice

      Jeff Beck joins The Yardbirds at the request of his childhood friend, Jimmy Page. In less than two years, the guitarist actively contributes to the success of the band, bringing his creativity to the benefit of an English style rock that has become cult.

      1968

      Jeff Beck stands up at Woodstock

      After leaving The Yardbirds, Jeff Beck started his own project. Accompanied by outstanding musicians, including Rod Stewart and Nicky Hopkins, the band produced two exceptional albums, including Truth, considered the prelude to heavy-metal. The band disbanded just a few weeks before Woodstock. "I just didn't feel it," says Beck.

      1972

      Adventure with Bogert and Appice

      Jeff Beck always bounces back. This time he's going with Tim Bogert and Carmine Appice. After a first unsuccessful attempt, following a car accident, the three musicians make their mark, with instrumental prowess that knocks critics to the ground. The commercial success is not there, as it sometimes happens, but their album remains an important piece in the discography of the artist.

      1975

      He travels alone

      Jeff Beck sets off on an adventure, alone with his Fender, to explore unknown territories. Among his most remarkable records, we will note the excellent Blow by Blow, the surprising Wired and the immortal Flash. This last record will allow him to win his first Grammy Award.

      2011

      Back in the spotlight

      Jeff Beck, seven years after his last record, presents Emotion and Commotion. Recorded with an orchestra and several female voices, the album becomes a must-have for all guitar lovers. The English artist was nominated five times for a Grammy Award. It's a full house!

      Testimonials

      • The fans speak
      • The inside view
      • Seen in the press

        This concert is totally bluffing. He's really one of the greatest guitarists in the world. No doubt about it! For electric guitar fans, I highly recommend him. You will have a great time with a humble artist, even going as far as bowing down in front of his audience. 

        Ariane, after the concert in Nantes

        All guitarists will tell you: Jeff Beck is one of the greatest. His dexterity and creativity are impressive. He makes it all seem so simple, yet no one can match him. He manages to come up with exceptional solos, out of the ordinary. That's why it's imperative that you come see him on stage: you'll have a unique experience that we are extremely proud to contribute to.

        Entirely dressed in black, the Maestro makes his entrance. Jeff Beck plays with disconcerting simplicity, swinging skuds with sound right from the start, just to get everyone in tune. Then the tone goes down and Beck applies himself all evening not to get bogged down in one genre. 
         
        Beck continues to draw from his abundant repertoire, in all sorts of musical styles. Beginning with technical instrumentals conducive to the solid demonstrations of dexterity that have made his reputation over the past four decades. 

        Paris Match - Le Parisien

      Archives

      2018
      1 concert
      • 02 Jul
        Vienne
        Jazz à Vienne
      2016
      1 concert
      • 24 Oct
        Paris
        Salle Pleyel
      2014
      7 concerts
      • 27 May
        Paris
        Le Grand Rex
      • 06 Jul
        Vienne
        Jazz à Vienne
      • 12 Jul
        Sète
        Jazz à Sète
      • 23 Jul
        Monte Carlo
        Sporting Summer Festival
      • 24 Jul
        Patrimonio
        Les nuits de la guitare
      • 26 Jul
        Marseille
        Festival de Jazz des Cinq Continents
      • 28 Jul
        Marciac
        Jazz in Marciac
      2011
      1 concert
      • 01 Jul
        Paris
        Le Grand Rex
      2010
      4 concerts
      • 09 Oct
        Saint-Herblain
        Zénith Nantes Métropole
      • 11 Oct
        Paris
        L'Olympia
      • 29 Oct
        Amneville
        Le Galaxie
      • 30 Oct
        Lyon
        Cité Internationale
      See more
      gérard drouot productions uses cookies on this website. With your approval, we will use them to mesure and analyse your visit on the website (statistic cookies) to adapt it to your interests (customized cookies) and to provide you with relevant information (third party cookies). Customize

Artistes
    Événements
      FR
      EN
      Jeff Beck

      Jeff Beck

      Un grand guitariste de blues
      Ecouter
      • Tournée
      • A Propos
      • Les faits marquants
      • Galerie
      • Témoignages
      • Archives

      Tournée

      Aucune date prévue

      A Propos

      A Propos

      Un écho, une distorsion, une réverbération. Jeff Beck, sorcier de la guitare, triture les cordes avec une technique finement ciselée, fruit d’une créativité inaltérable et d’un perfectionnisme outrancier. Cet homme ne chante pas : il préfère laisser sa Fender, organe externe à son corps, le faire à sa place.

       

      Jeff Beck n’est pas carriériste pour un sou. Il aurait pu concurrencer avec plus de virulence ses amis Éric Clapton et Jimmy Page dans les charts. Pourtant, il s’en moque, le prodige de la banlieue de London. Une seule chose lui importe : faire ronronner sa Fender blanche jusqu’aux sommets. Et autant dire qu’à ce petit jeu, le moteur à propulsion des Yardbirds, connu pour son jeu libre et spontané, n’a besoin que de quelques notes acrobatiques pour tuer le game.

       

      Jeff Beck maîtrise tout ! Ce funambule du jazz, bercé par les titres de Django Reinhart et le blues de BB King, met ses influences en fusion avec une technique d’orfèvre à rendre fous les amoureux de la gratte. Ses notes rebondissent, ses effets transcendent les certitudes. Le virtuose anglais, insaisissable et imprévisible, aime le risque, naviguant sans cesse en eaux troubles et jouant délicieusement avec une palette aux mille couleurs. « Si je mourais, je me demande quelle étiquette me colleraient les tabloïds », s’amuse-t-il parfois.

       

      Ce Jackson Pollock du son, bricoleur d’abstractions et profond visionnaire, triture ainsi les partitions à mesure que son inspiration explore des terres inconnues. Sur la toile, avec intuition, liberté et génie, il projette des sons à tendance psychédélique. Son œuvre n’a pas d’égal. Ses expérimentations, surprenantes et intrépides, laissent sans voix. D’ailleurs, ça tombe bien, à la manière d’un Earl Hooker, Jeff Beck ne chante jamais. Avec sa nonchalance ordinaire, il préfère laisser hurler sa guitare par le biais de solos hors de portée.

      Les faits marquants

      1965
      Le complice de Jimmy Page

      Le complice de Jimmy Page

      Jeff Beck rejoint The Yardbirds à la demande de son ami d’enfance, Jimmy Page. En moins de deux ans, le guitariste contribue activement au succès du groupe, apportant ainsi sa créativité au profit d’un rock à l’anglaise, devenu culte.

      1968

      Jeff Beck pose un lapin à Woodstock

      Après avoir quitté The Yardbirds, Jeff Beck lance son propre projet. Accompagné par des musiciens hors-pair, dont Rod Stewart et Nicky Hopkins, le groupe produit deux albums d’exception, dont Truth, considéré comme le prélude du heavy-metal. La bande se dissout seulement quelques semaines avant Woodstock. « Je ne le sentais pas », se contentera d’expliquer Jeff Beck.

       

      1972
      À l’aventure avec Bogert et Appice

      À l’aventure avec Bogert et Appice

      Jeff Beck rebondit toujours. Cette fois-ci, c’est avec Tim Bogert et Carmine Appice qu’il se lance. Après une première tentative avortée, suite à un accident de voiture, les trois musiciens marquent les esprits, avec des prouesses instrumentales à faire tomber par terre les critiques. Le succès commercial n’est pas au rendez-vous, comme ça arrive parfois, mais leur album reste une pièce importante dans la discographie de l’artiste.

       

      1975
      Il voyage en solitaire

      Il voyage en solitaire

      Jeff Beck part à l’aventure, seul avec sa Fender, pour explorer des territoires inconnus. Parmi ses disques remarqués, on notera d’ailleurs l’excellent Blow by Blow, le surprenant Wired et l’immortel Flash. Ce dernier disque lui permettra, soulignons-le, d’obtenir son premier Grammy Award.

      2011
      À nouveau sur le devant de la scène

      À nouveau sur le devant de la scène

      Jeff Beck, sept ans après son dernier disque, présente Emotion and Commotion. Enregistré avec un orchestre et plusieurs voix féminines, l’album devient un must-have pour tous les amoureux de guitare. L’artiste anglais est alors nominé à cinq reprises aux Grammy Awards. C’est un carton plein !

      Témoignages

      • Le mot du spectateur
      • Notre équipe en parle
      • La presse en parle

        Ce concert est totalement bluffant. C’est vraiment l'un des plus grands guitaristes au monde. Aucun doute là-dessus ! Pour les fans de guitare électrique, je conseille vivement. Vous passerez un grand moment avec un artiste humble, allant même jusqu'à se prosterner devant son public.

        Ariane, après le concert à Nantes

        Tous les guitaristes vous le diront : Jeff Beck est l’un des plus grands. Sa dextérité et sa créativité sont impressionnantes. À le voir, on a l’impression que tout est simple : pourtant, personne ne l’égale. Il arrive à sortir des solos d’exception, hors-norme. C’est pour cette raison qu’il faut absolument venir le voir sur scène : vous vivrez une expérience à part, à laquelle nous sommes extrêmement fiers de contribuer.

         

        Entièrement vêtu de noir, le Maestro fait son entrée. Jeff Beck joue avec une simplicité déconcertante, balançant des skuds sonores d’emblée, histoire de mettre tout le monde au diapason. Puis le ton baisse et Beck va s’appliquer toute la soirée à ne pas s’engoncer dans un seul genre. 

         

        Beck continue à piocher dans son abondant répertoire, dans toutes sortes de styles musicaux. A commencer par les instrumentaux techniques propices à de solides démonstrations de dextérité qui ont fait sa réputation depuis quatre décennies. 

        Paris Match - Le Parisien

      Archives

      2018
      1 concert
      • 02 juil.
        Vienne
        Jazz à Vienne
      2016
      1 concert
      • 24 oct.
        Paris
        Salle Pleyel
      2014
      7 concerts
      • 27 mai
        Paris
        Le Grand Rex
      • 06 juil.
        Vienne
        Jazz à Vienne
      • 12 juil.
        Sète
        Jazz à Sète
      • 23 juil.
        Monte Carlo
        Sporting Summer Festival
      • 24 juil.
        Patrimonio
        Les nuits de la guitare
      • 26 juil.
        Marseille
        Festival de Jazz des Cinq Continents
      • 28 juil.
        Marciac
        Jazz in Marciac
      2011
      1 concert
      • 01 juil.
        Paris
        Le Grand Rex
      2010
      4 concerts
      • 09 oct.
        Saint-Herblain
        Zénith Nantes Métropole
      • 11 oct.
        Paris
        L'Olympia
      • 29 oct.
        Amneville
        Le Galaxie
      • 30 oct.
        Lyon
        Cité Internationale
      Afficher plus
      gérard drouot productions utilise des cookies sur ce site. Avec votre consentement, nous les utiliserons pour mesurer et analyser l'utilisation du site (cookies analytiques), pour l'adapter à vos intérêts (cookies de personnalisation) et pour vous présenter des publicités et des informations pertinentes (cookies de ciblage). Gérer les cookies