Artists
    Events
      EN
      FR
      Jean-Michel Jarre

      Jean-Michel Jarre

      Do-it-yourselfer of unknown sounds
      Ecouter
      • Tour
      • About
      • Highlights
      • Testimonials
      • Archives

      Tour

      There is yet no show to display

      About

      About
      Copyright Pierre Hennequin

      In his own way, through his explorations in the deep waters of music, Jean-Michel Jarre has changed the world. A man of the avant-garde, he has opened up a new field of possibilities, creatively destructuring the preconceptions of modern music.


      "He is at the same time a painter of cities, a musician of worlds and a decorator of ecology". The words of Gonzague Saint Bris are apt, as Jean-Michel Jarre is a being apart. Pope of electronic music, he then turned the contradictory energies of punk and disco of the time upside down to completely overturn the logic of composition, going so far as to reinvent the very notion of the instrument. He even reinvented the very notion of the instrument. Still machines, laser harp, half-moon synthesizer: he surprised, even disconcerted, radically revolutionizing the way of seeing the stage, of playing with the lights and grafting the image to the music. It's a fact: Jean-Michel Jarre, timeless by nature, has oxygenated our eardrums thanks to his audacity.

       

      But he owes it all to his master, Pierre Schaeffer, engineer and researcher. "He helped me to understand very early on that music is not necessarily a question of notes, but that everyday noises can also make music," the French virtuoso later confided. As a nod to the second-hand tape recorder that his grandfather, an inventor, had given him as a child and which was the fruit of his first experiments, Jean-Michel Jarre has therefore spent his life dissecting sounds and inventing a vocabulary well above the commonplace.

       

      As an undisciplined forerunner, he raised concerts to the rank of spectacular attractions by giving them a monumental dimension. And for this, he does not back down from anything. The pyramids of Giza in the background for the millennium? Done. A giant concert in Tian'An Men Square? Done. A 3D avatar a la Matrix to face the Covid? Count on it! By innovating and reinventing himself over the years, Jean-Michel Jarre is still one of the trend setters today. 

      Highlights

      1973

      Oxygène, the masterpiece of the Master

      If you ask him which record marked his career, it is a good bet that Jean-Michel Jarre will answer Oxygène without hesitation. This musical journey of a new genre, unheard of at the time, gave birth to a world hit and established the French composer's fame. Between joy and darkness, the concept album is indeed a small earthquake in the music world: we had never seen this before. 

      1979

      Scenic take-off at La Concorde

      How do you get electronic music back on stage? This July 14th, Jean-Michel Jarre, with his convoluted machines and his laser harp, has found the magic formula. So that day, in front of a million spectators, the virtuoso from Lyon makes the Concorde vibrate. It is his day of glory, and the affirmation of one thing: electronic music is going to change the world. This date will moreover enable him to export internationally, notably to China, where he will become the first Westerner to play since the death of Mao.

      1985

      Nasa is under the spell

      When NASA celebrates its 150th anniversary, inviting the cosmic hymns of Jean-Michel Jarre seems obvious. One year after the release of his album Zoolook, which led him to collaborate with Marcus Miller, he returns in force to conquer America. For the occasion, he will compose the sublime track Last Rendez-vous, which will be the central inspiration for his future album.

      1990

      On the offensive in defence

      It is a concert that will make history: La Défense, in front of 2.5 million spectators. What better way to celebrate the French revolution? It's a record, and the show is grandiose. Jean-Michel Jarre is not ready to forget this moment. "It is the most moving moment of my career, a magical concert", he will tell us much later.

      2000

      A pharaonic concert for the millennium

      Of all Jean-Michel Jarre's concerts, this one is undoubtedly the most inordinate. To celebrate the passage of the millennium, it is in front of the pyramids of Giza that the artist sets up his stage for one of the longest shows of his career. In a surrealist fog, the four hours of set divided into two parts, one in the evening and the second in the early morning, brought together up to two million people online. Never seen before ! 

      2008

      Back to the roots

      This concert bulimic followed several tours at the end of the 2000s with the Oxygène Tour 2008 followed by Indoors in 2009 and the sober 2010. He began a return to his first love by putting synthesizers back at the heart of his music and affirming once again his musical imprint in a world now dominated by electronic music.

      2018

      Always creative, never at rest

      Over the years, Jean-Michel Jarre has produced an outstanding discography, without ever falling into the trap of easy or redundant. Once again, with Equinoxe Infinity, a two-pocket album, the composer, who has been committed to ecology for years, surprises, with a retro-futurism that questions the future. Le Monde will write: "Jarre here reconnects with the melancholy and dreamy young man he remains, exposing the most seductive side of his creativity, a dynamic and mischievous ambient".

      Testimonials

      • The fans speak
      • The inside view
      • Seen in the press

        Often dancing, the concert is even a hair's breadth away from becoming a real party: Jean-Michel Jarre jumps up and down, enjoying himself like a teenager, and his pleasure is infectious. The show is grandiose and on a par with the man, with an impressive display of means. Seeing Jean-Michel Jarre in concert remains something unique, a total experience to be lived absolutely.

        Frédéric, after a concert in Lille

        Jean-Michel Jarre has clearly invented a new way of composing and conceiving music. He is a living legend who has been able to translate the complexity and abstraction of electronic music on stage, thanks to outstanding shows, such as at La Défense or in China. It's not a concert, it's a real experience that you live: you must absolutely go and see it !

        In his vast career, Jean-Michel Jarre has made a speciality of playing in the most exceptional places and at the foot of the most exceptional monuments. So his presence at Coachella, the very trendy festival, was perhaps the most surprising. In front of an audience of kids who barely knew him, Jarre had one card to play and the American press was unanimous: dazzling. Pure 
         
        Lasers, smoke, images broadcast on giant screens, especially those filmed by a mini-camera installed in the master's glasses: the staging was spectacular for a show in line with the grandiose concerts of his long career. 

        People - Le Point

      Archives

      2017
      2 concerts
      • 14 Jul
        Saint-Malô-du-Bois
        Festival de Poupet
      • 15 Jul
        Carhaix
        Les Vieilles Charrues
      2016
      8 concerts
      • 13 Jul
        Bayonne
        Arènes de Bayonne
      • 14 Jul
        Nimes
        Festival de Nimes
      • 17 Oct
        Strasbourg
        Zénith Europe
      • 24 Nov
        Lyon
        Halle Tony Garnier
      • 26 Nov
        Dijon
        Zénith de Dijon
      • 28 Nov
        Cournon d'Auvergne
        Zénith d'Auvergne
      • 29 Nov
        Saint-Herblain
        Zénith Nantes Métropole
      • 12 Dec
        Paris
        Accor Arena
      2010
      25 concerts
      • 17 Mar
        Bordeaux
        Patinoire Mériadeck
      • 18 Mar
        Saint-Herblain
        Zénith Nantes Métropole
      • 20 Mar
        Marseille
        Le Dôme
      • 21 Mar
        Nice
        Palais Nikaïa
      • 23 Mar
        Toulouse
        Zénith Toulouse Métropole
      • 24 Mar
        Lyon
        Halle Tony Garnier
      • 25 Mar
        Paris
        Accor Arena
      • 26 Mar
        Strasbourg
        Zénith Europe
      • 30 Sep
        Tours
        Parc des Expositions de Tours
      • 13 Oct
        Cournon d'Auvergne
        Zénith d'Auvergne
      • 14 Oct
        Limoges
        Zénith de Limoges Métropole
      • 15 Oct
        Grand-Quevilly
        Zénith de Rouen
      • 16 Oct
        Lille
        Zénith Arena
      • 06 Nov
        Amneville
        Le Galaxie
      • 07 Nov
        Dijon
        Zénith de Dijon
      • 24 Nov
        Brest
        Parc des Expositions de Penfeld
      • 25 Nov
        Caen
        Le Zénith
      • 26 Nov
        Amiens
        Zénith Amiens Métropole
      • 01 Dec
        Épernay
        Millesium
      • 02 Dec
        Olivet
        Zénith d'Orléans
      • 03 Dec
        Anvers (Belgique)
        Sportpaleis
      • 08 Dec
        St Etienne
        Le Zénith
      • 09 Dec
        Toulon
        Zénith Oméga
      • 10 Dec
        Montpellier
        Zénith Sud
      • 11 Dec
        Pau
        Zénith de Pau
      See more
      gérard drouot productions uses cookies on this website. With your approval, we will use them to mesure and analyse your visit on the website (statistic cookies) to adapt it to your interests (customized cookies) and to provide you with relevant information (third party cookies). Customize

Artistes
    Événements
      FR
      EN
      Jean-Michel Jarre

      Jean-Michel Jarre

      Créateur de sonorités inconnues
      Ecouter
      • Tournée
      • A Propos
      • Les faits marquants
      • Galerie
      • Témoignages
      • Archives

      Tournée

      Aucune date prévue

      A Propos

      A Propos
      © Jean-François Robert

      À sa manière, au gré de ses explorations dans les eaux profondes de la musique, Jean-Michel Jarre a changé le monde. Homme d’avant-garde, il a ouvert un nouveau champ des possibles, déstructurant avec créativité les préconçus de la musique moderne.

       

      « Il est à la fois un peintre des villes, un musicien des mondes et un décorateur de l’écologie ». Les mots de Gonzague Saint Bris sonnent juste, tant Jean-Michel Jarre est un être à part. Pape de la musique électronique, il a alors renvoyé dos-à-dos les énergies contradictoires du punk et du disco de l’époque pour complètement renverser la logique de composition, allant jusqu’à réinventer la notion même d’instrument. Machines alambiquées, harpe laser, synthétiseur en demi-lune : il a surpris, voire désarçonné, révolutionnant radicalement la manière d’entrevoir la scène, de jouer avec les lumières et de greffer l’image à la musique. C’est un fait : Jean-Michel Jarre, intemporel par nature, a oxygéné nos tympans grâce à son audace.

       

      Mais tout ça, il le doit à son maître, Pierre Schaeffer, ingénieur et chercheur. « Il m’a permis de comprendre très tôt que la musique n’est pas forcément une question de notes, mais que les bruits du quotidien pouvaient aussi faire de la musique », confiera plus tard le virtuose français. Comme un clin d’œil au magnétophone d’occasion que son grand-père, inventeur, lui avait offert enfant et qui fut le fruit de ses premières expérimentations, Jean-Michel Jarre a donc passé sa vie à décortiquer les sons et à inventer un vocabulaire bien au-dessus de la banalité.

       

      Précurseur indétrôné, il a élevé les concerts au rang d’attractions spectaculaires en leur donnant une dimension monumentale. Et pour cela, il ne recule devant rien. Les pyramides de Gizeh en fond pour le passage du millénaire ? Done. Un concert géant sur la place Tian’An Men ? C’est fait. Un avatar 3D à la Matrix pour faire face au Covid ? Comptez sur lui ! En innovant et en se réinventant au fil des années, Jean-Michel Jarre fait toujours parti aujourd’hui des défricheurs de tendance. 

      Les faits marquants

      1973
      Oxygène, le chef d’œuvre du maître

      Oxygène, le chef d’œuvre du maître

      Si vous lui demandez quel disque a marqué sa carrière, il est fort à parier que Jean-Michel Jarre répondra sans hésiter Oxygène. Ce voyage musical d’un nouveau genre, inédit pour l’époque, donne naissance à un tube mondial et asseoit la notoriété du compositeur français. Entre joie et dark, le concept-album est en effet un petit séisme dans le milieu de la musique : on n’avait jamais vu ça auparavant. 

      1979
      Décollage scénique à la Concorde

      Décollage scénique à la Concorde

      Comment faire pour retranscrire sur scène la musique électronique ? Ce 14 juillet, Jean-Michel Jarre, avec ses machines alambiquées et sa harpe laser, a trouvé la formule magique. Alors ce jour-là, devant un million de spectateurs, le virtuose lyonnais fait vibrer la Concorde. C’est son jour de gloire, et l’affirmation d’une chose : la musique électronique va changer le monde. Cette date lui permettra d’ailleurs de s’exporter à l’international, notamment en Chine, où il deviendra le premier occidental à jouer depuis la mort de Mao.

      1985
      La Nasa est sous le charme

      La Nasa est sous le charme

      Quand la Nasa fête ses 150 ans, inviter les hymnes cosmiques de Jean-Michel Jarre semble une évidence. Un an après la sortie de son album Zoolook, qui l’amène à collaborer avec Marcus Miller, il revient donc en force, à la conquête de l’Amérique. Pour l’occasion, il composera le sublime morceau Last Rendez-vous, qui sera l’inspiration centrale de son futur album.

      1990
      À l’offensive à la Défense

      À l’offensive à la Défense

      C’est un concert qui fera date : La Défense, devant 2,5 millions de spectateurs. Quelle meilleure manière pour célébrer la révolution française ? C’est un record, et le spectacle est grandiose. Jean-Michel Jarre n’est pas prêt à oublier cet instant.  « C’est le moment le plus émouvant de ma carrière, un concert magique », racontera-t-il bien plus tard.

       

      2000
      Un concert pharaonique pour le millénaire

      Un concert pharaonique pour le millénaire

      De tous les concerts de Jean-Michel Jarre, celui-ci est sans doute le plus démesuré. Pour célébrer le passage du millénaire, c’est devant les pyramides de Gizeh que l’artiste installe sa scène pour l’un des shows les plus longs de sa carrière. Dans un brouillard surréaliste, les quatre heures de ce set découpé en deux parties, l’une en soirée, la seconde au petit matin ont rassemblé jusqu’à deux millions de personnes online. Du jamais vu ! 

      2008
      Retour aux sources

      Retour aux sources

      Ce boulimique de concerts enchaîne plusieurs tournées à la fin des années 2000 avec l'Oxygène Tour 2008 suivi de Indoors en 2009 et de la sobre 2010. Il y entame un retour à ses premières amours en remettant les synthétiseurs au coeur de sa musique et en affirmant une nouvelle fois son empreinte musicale dans un monde désormais dominé par la musique électronique. 

       

      2018
      Toujours créatif, jamais au repos

      Toujours créatif, jamais au repos

      Au fil des années, Jean-Michel Jarre a mis au monde une discographie hors du commun, sans ne jamais tomber dans les travers de la facilité ou de la redondance. Une nouvelle fois, avec Equinoxe Infinity, album à deux pochettes, le compositeur, engagé depuis des années pour l’écologie, surprend, avec un rétro-futurisme qui questionne l’avenir. Le Monde écrira : « Jarre renoue ici avec le jeune homme mélancolique et rêveur qu’il demeure, exposant la face la plus séduisante de sa créativité, une ambient dynamique et espiègle ».

       

      Témoignages

      • Le mot du spectateur
      • Notre équipe en parle
      • La presse en parle

        Souvent dansant, le concert est même à un cheveu de se transformer en une vraie fête : Jean-Michel Jarre bondit dans tous les sens, s'amuse comme un adolescent, et son plaisir est communicatif. Le show est grandiose et à la hauteur de l'homme, avec un déploiement de moyens impressionnants. Voir Jean-Michel Jarre en concert reste quelque chose d'unique, une expérience totale à vivre absolument. 

        Frédéric, après un concert à Lille

        Jean-Michel Jarre a clairement inventé une nouvelle manière de composer et de concevoir la musique. C’est une légende vivante qui a su traduire sur scène la complexité et l’abstraction de la musique électronique, grâce à des shows hors du commun, comme à La Défense ou en Chine. Ce n’est pas un concert, c’est une vraie expérience que l’on vit : il faut absolument aller le voir !

        Dans sa vaste carrière, Jean-Michel Jarre s'est fait une spécialité de jouer dans les lieux et au pied des monuments les plus exceptionnels. Alors sa présence à Coachella, le très branché festival était peut-être la plus surprenante. Devant un public de kids qui le connaissaient à peine, Jarre avait une carte à jouer et la presse américaine est une unanime : éblouissant. 

         Lasers, fumées, images retransmises sur des écrans géants, notamment celles filmées par une mini-caméra installée dans les lunettes du maître : la mise en scène était spectaculaire pour un spectacle dans la lignée des concerts grandioses de sa longue carrière. 

        Pure People - Le Point

      Archives

      2017
      2 concerts
      • 14 juil.
        Saint-Malô-du-Bois
        Festival de Poupet
      • 15 juil.
        Carhaix
        Les Vieilles Charrues
      2016
      8 concerts
      • 13 juil.
        Bayonne
        Arènes de Bayonne
      • 14 juil.
        Nimes
        Festival de Nimes
      • 17 oct.
        Strasbourg
        Zénith Europe
      • 24 nov.
        Lyon
        Halle Tony Garnier
      • 26 nov.
        Dijon
        Zénith de Dijon
      • 28 nov.
        Cournon d'Auvergne
        Zénith d'Auvergne
      • 29 nov.
        Saint-Herblain
        Zénith Nantes Métropole
      • 12 déc.
        Paris
        Accor Arena
      2010
      25 concerts
      • 17 mars
        Bordeaux
        Patinoire Mériadeck
      • 18 mars
        Saint-Herblain
        Zénith Nantes Métropole
      • 20 mars
        Marseille
        Le Dôme
      • 21 mars
        Nice
        Palais Nikaïa
      • 23 mars
        Toulouse
        Zénith Toulouse Métropole
      • 24 mars
        Lyon
        Halle Tony Garnier
      • 25 mars
        Paris
        Accor Arena
      • 26 mars
        Strasbourg
        Zénith Europe
      • 30 sept.
        Tours
        Parc des Expositions de Tours
      • 13 oct.
        Cournon d'Auvergne
        Zénith d'Auvergne
      • 14 oct.
        Limoges
        Zénith de Limoges Métropole
      • 15 oct.
        Grand-Quevilly
        Zénith de Rouen
      • 16 oct.
        Lille
        Zénith Arena
      • 06 nov.
        Amneville
        Le Galaxie
      • 07 nov.
        Dijon
        Zénith de Dijon
      • 24 nov.
        Brest
        Parc des Expositions de Penfeld
      • 25 nov.
        Caen
        Le Zénith
      • 26 nov.
        Amiens
        Zénith Amiens Métropole
      • 01 déc.
        Épernay
        Millesium
      • 02 déc.
        Olivet
        Zénith d'Orléans
      • 03 déc.
        Anvers (Belgique)
        Sportpaleis
      • 08 déc.
        St Etienne
        Le Zénith
      • 09 déc.
        Toulon
        Zénith Oméga
      • 10 déc.
        Montpellier
        Zénith Sud
      • 11 déc.
        Pau
        Zénith de Pau
      Afficher plus
      gérard drouot productions utilise des cookies sur ce site. Avec votre consentement, nous les utiliserons pour mesurer et analyser l'utilisation du site (cookies analytiques), pour l'adapter à vos intérêts (cookies de personnalisation) et pour vous présenter des publicités et des informations pertinentes (cookies de ciblage). Gérer les cookies