Artists
    Events
      EN
      FR
      James Taylor

      James Taylor

      A folklore full of emotions
      Ecouter
      • Tour
      • About
      • Highlights
      • Testimonials
      • Archives

      Tour

      There is yet no show to display

      About

      About
      Copyright Pierre Hennequin

      James Taylor has long since entered the very closed circle of successful folk songwriters. But this sensitive singer-songwriter continues to flood the airwaves and to aim for the top of the charts. Acoustic guitar, lyrics as intimate as ever, the man who embodied folk romanticism in the 70s has not finished making us vibrate.


      For James Taylor, it is first and foremost delicate and uncluttered melodies under a warm and deep voice that has been reciting, since its beginnings, moments of life that are always confidential. For better or for worse. Thus, Jump Up Behind Me recounts the night when his father didn't hesitate to travel hundreds of kilometres to free him from his heroin addiction, when the famous Fire and Rain, about the internment and suicide of one of his friends, still moves to tears. Listening to this music that tells the story of his soul and soothes ours, one often feels privileged.


      And if emotions seem to flow so easily from a guitar mastered to perfection, it is perhaps because James Taylor is also an example of redemption. With his hands broken at the beginning of his career, he has to wait many months to start playing again. Later, he became addicted to heroin and did not hesitate to seek help several times in psychiatric hospitals. And as we know, geniuses who survive these kinds of ordeals have that extra talent, that extra soul that makes their compositions so authentic that they touch the universal.


      If the emblematic songwriter and singer seems to have calmed down today, he continues to deliver percussive, sometimes committed lyrics. But always to those soft melodies that make you want to sit with him by the fire and listen to him until late at night.

      Highlights

      1970

      James Taylor, symbol for a generation of songwriters

      After having signed a first album on the Beatles' Apple label, it was during a stay in a psychiatric hospital that James Taylor gave birth to the brilliant Sweet Baby James. His single Fire and Rain was a huge success, propelling the songwriter to the cover of Time the following year and revealing him to the world as the "face of new rock". From then on, the success continued, culminating in the single You've Got a Friend, written by Carole King, which reached No. 1 on the Billboard Hot 100.

      1983

      A new start for the gentle giant

      This year marks the end of James Taylor's first marriage but also the end of his relationship with drugs. If the singer thought for a while about retiring, it was a concert in Rio de Janeiro in front of more than 300,000 people that made him change his mind. "The audience knew my music [...] Having that kind of validation at that time was really what I needed. It helped me get back on track," he said. He will also write Only a Dream in Rio as a tribute to that particular night.

      1997

      A critically acclaimed comeback

      After six years away from the studios, James Taylor returns once again with the very good Hourglass on which we find Jump Up Behind Me. The album is critically acclaimed and wins a Grammy Award, the second of his career. RollingStone said: "Hourglass shines with the melancholy contentment of a man who lived life to the full and learned well".

      2015

      Before this World goes to the top of the charts

      At 67 years old, James Taylor still has his say and proves it by releasing Before this World. For the first time, and despite the more than 100 million albums already sold, his album has climbed to the top of the charts, reaching Billboard number one. This success will be followed in 2020 by an album of cover versions of songs from the 1930s that seem to have come straight out of the repertoire of this master of folk music. 

      Testimonials

      • The fans speak
      • The inside view
      • Seen in the press

        You can sense that James Taylor is happy to be here. He speaks our language well and makes the effort to present us his pieces in French. And here we go for more than an hour and a half of nostalgia where he comes back on his most beautiful songs, the voice and the impeccable arrangements. From the great West to South Carolina, we travel with him and it feels good! 

        Alicia, after a concert in Bordeaux

        While James Taylor was successful in the 1970s, he has maintained a steady career. He is therefore not a fading artist that we regularly find in France, but a songwriter who always has things to prove and to offer. French-speaking, his concerts are always a nice moment of sharing during which he never tires of playing his flagship titles, enamelled with novelties, in front of a public always conquered.

        James Taylor has been walking his large carcass on stages around the world for more than forty years, defending a certain idea of folk, between classicism, elegance and timelessness. Through his artistic career, he has defended an America where stories are told by the fireside, where the sadness of love is sung by the riverside, where people still believe in the promised land. 

        Paris Match

      Archives

      2015
      6 concerts
      • 10 Mar
        Lyon
        Bourse du travail
      • 12 Mar
        Paris
        L'Olympia
      • 20 Mar
        Marseille
        LE CEPAC SILO
      • 21 Mar
        Bordeaux
        Theatre Femina
      • 24 Mar
        Nantes
        Cité des congrès
      • 26 Mar
        Lille
        Théâtre Sebastopol
      2012
      1 concert
      • 15 May
        Paris
        L'Olympia
      2008
      1 concert
      • 06 Apr
        Paris
        L'Olympia
      2004
      1 concert
      • 03 Jul
        Paris
        L'Olympia
      2003
      1 concert
      • 04 Apr
        Paris
        L'Olympia
      1999
      1 concert
      • 29 May
        Paris
        Palais des Congrès
      See more
      gérard drouot productions uses cookies on this website. With your approval, we will use them to mesure and analyse your visit on the website (statistic cookies) to adapt it to your interests (customized cookies) and to provide you with relevant information (third party cookies). Customize

Artistes
    Événements
      FR
      EN
      James Taylor

      James Taylor

      Un folk rempli d’émotions
      Ecouter
      • Tournée
      • À propos
      • Les faits marquants
      • Témoignages
      • Archives

      Tournée

      • 2022 1 concert
      • Forte demande
        mardi
        18
        janvier 2022
        PARIS
        Réserver
      Voir l'agenda

      À propos

      À propos

      James Taylor est entré depuis longtemps dans le cercle très fermé des auteurs-compositeurs de folk à succès. Mais ce grand sensible continue d’inonder les ondes et de viser le sommet des charts. Guitare acoustique, textes toujours aussi intimistes, celui qui incarnait le romantisme folk dans les années 70 n’a pas fini de nous faire vibrer.

       

      Car James Taylor, c’est d’abord des mélodies délicates et dépouillées sous une voix chaude et profonde qui récite depuis ses débuts des moments de vie toujours confidentiels. Pour le meilleur et pour le pire. Ainsi, Jump Up Behind Me rend compte de cette nuit où son père n’a pas hésité à faire des centaines de kilomètres pour le délivrer de son addiction à l’héroïne, quand le célèbre Fire and Rain, sur l’internement et le suicide d’un de ses amis, émeut toujours aux larmes. En écoutant cette musique qui raconte son âme et qui apaise la nôtre, on ressent souvent l’impression d’être privilégié.

       

      Et si les émotions semblent jaillir avec autant de facilité d’une guitare maîtrisée à la perfection, c’est peut-être parce que James Taylor est aussi un exemple de rédemption. Les mains brisées en début de carrière, il doit attendre de longs mois pour se remettre à jouer. Plus tard, il sombre dans une dépendance à l’héroïne et n’hésite pas à aller chercher plusieurs fois de l’aide en hôpital psychiatrique. Et on le sait, les génies survivants à ce genre d’épreuves ont ce talent en plus, ce supplément d’âme qui rend leurs compositions tellement authentiques qu’elles touchent à l’universel.

       

      Si le songwriter et chanteur emblématique semble aujourd’hui apaisé, il continue de délivrer des textes percutants, parfois engagés. Mais toujours sur ces mélodies douces qui donnent envie de s’asseoir avec lui au coin du feu pour l’écouter jusque tard dans la nuit.

      Les faits marquants

      1970
      James Taylor, symbole pour une génération de songwriters

      James Taylor, symbole pour une génération de songwriters

      Après avoir signé un premier album sur le label Apple des Beatles, c’est pendant un séjour en hôpital psychiatrique que James Taylor accouche du brillant Sweet Baby James. Son single Fire and Rain connaîtra un succès immense, propulsant le songwriter en couverture du Time l’année suivante et le révélant au monde comme le « visage du nouveau rock ». A partir de là, le succès sera continu avec en point d’orgue, le single You’ve Got a Friend, écrit par Carole King, qui atteint le n ° 1 du Billboard Hot 100.

      1983
      Un nouveau départ pour le doux géant
      © Pierre Hennequin

      Un nouveau départ pour le doux géant

      Cette année marque la fin du premier mariage de James Taylor mais également la fin de sa relation avec les drogues. Si le chanteur a pensé un temps se retirer, c’est un concert à Rio de Janeiro devant plus de 300 000 personnes qui le fait changer d’avis. « Le public connaissait ma musique […] Avoir ce genre de validation à ce moment-là était vraiment ce dont j'avais besoin. Cela m'a aidé à me remettre sur les rails » dira-t-il. Il écrira d’ailleurs Only a Dream in Rio pour rendre hommage à cette nuit particulière.

      1997
      Un come-back encensé par les critiques

      Un come-back encensé par les critiques

      Après six ans loin des studios, James Taylor revient une nouvelle fois avec le très bon Hourglass sur lequel on retrouve Jump Up Behind Me. L’album est encensé par la critique et obtient un Grammy Award, le deuxième de sa carrière. RollingStone en dira : « Hourglass brille du contentement mélancolique d'un homme qui a vécu pleinement et a bien appris ».

       

      2015
      Before this World se hisse au sommet des charts

      Before this World se hisse au sommet des charts

      A 67 ans, James Taylor a encore son mot à dire et le prouve en sortant Before this World. Pour la première fois et malgré les plus de 100 millions d’opus déjà vendus, son album se hisse au sommet des charts, atteignant la première place du Billboard. Ce succès sera suivi en 2020 d’un album de reprises de titres des années 1930, que l’on croirait tout droit sortis du répertoire de ce maître du folk. 

      Témoignages

      • Le mot du spectateur
      • Notre équipe en parle
      • La presse en parle

        On sent que James Taylor est heureux d’être ici. Il parle bien notre langue et fait l’effort de nous présenter ses morceaux en français. Et c’est parti pour plus d’une heure et demie de nostalgie où il revient sur ses plus beaux titres, la voix et les arrangements impeccables. Du grand Ouest à la Caroline du sud, on voyage avec lui et ça fait du bien ! 

        Alicia, après un concert à Bordeaux

        Si James Taylor a connu le succès dans les années 70, il a su mener une carrière constante. Ce n’est donc pas un artiste en perte de vitesse que l’on retrouve régulièrement en France, mais bien un auteur-compositeur qui a toujours des choses à prouver et à proposer. Francophone, ses concerts sont toujours un joli moment de partage pendant lesquels il ne se lasse pas de jouer ses titres-phares, émaillés de nouveautés, devant un public toujours conquis.

        James Taylor promène sa grande carcasse depuis plus de quarante ans sur les scènes du monde entier, défendant une certaine idée du folk, entre classicisme, élégance et intemporalité. Il défend au travers de son parcours artistique une Amérique où l’on se raconte des histoires au coin du feu, où l’on chante la tristesse de l’amour au bord d’une rivière, où l’on croit encore à la terre promise. 

        Paris Match

      Archives

      2015
      6 concerts
      • 10 mars
        Lyon
        Bourse du travail
      • 12 mars
        Paris
        L'Olympia
      • 20 mars
        Marseille
        LE CEPAC SILO
      • 21 mars
        Bordeaux
        Theatre Femina
      • 24 mars
        Nantes
        Cité des congrès
      • 26 mars
        Lille
        Théâtre Sebastopol
      2012
      1 concert
      • 15 mai
        Paris
        L'Olympia
      2008
      1 concert
      • 06 avr.
        Paris
        L'Olympia
      2004
      1 concert
      • 03 juil.
        Paris
        L'Olympia
      2003
      1 concert
      • 04 avr.
        Paris
        L'Olympia
      1999
      1 concert
      • 29 mai
        Paris
        Palais des Congrès
      Afficher plus
      Réserver
      gérard drouot productions utilise des cookies sur ce site. Avec votre consentement, nous les utiliserons pour mesurer et analyser l'utilisation du site (cookies analytiques), pour l'adapter à vos intérêts (cookies de personnalisation) et pour vous présenter des publicités et des informations pertinentes (cookies de ciblage). Gérer les cookies