Artists
    Events
      EN
      FR
      James Brown

      James Brown

      The Godfather of Soul
      Ecouter
      • Tour
      • About
      • Highlights
      • Testimonials
      • Archives

      Tour

      There is yet no show to display

      About

      About

      His name evokes a legend, that of a black child born under segregation, who in just a few years has become a phenomenon whose immoderation is matched only by his talent. With 45 gold records and more than 200 million albums sold worldwide, he has left his mark on the music industry, reappropriating all styles, from soul to hip-hop, and inspiring other mythical artists, including Prince and Michael Jackson.

       
      For in the 1960s, if white America only had eyes for the Beatles, black America danced to James Brown's hits. With songs that could belong to the world heritage of humanity such as I Got You (I feel Good) (1965), It's A Man's Man's World (1966) or Get Up (I Feel Like Being a) Sex Machine (1970), each of his appearances provoked at best a concert of high-pitched screams, at worst, collective hysteria. It must be said that the Godfather of soul sends! On stage or in television shows, his ardour explodes. He swings, he dances like no other and, above all, he masters his art vocally perfectly.

       
      And if we can call him one of the superlatives, James Brown is above all a precursor. "Hardest working man in show business" as he likes to call himself, he dynamites soul, funk and delivers hit after hit. Some say that we have not yet understood a quarter of the legacy of this immense artist and this may well be true. Musical precursor then, but also precursor in contestation. For with his status as a black icon, then popular, his career remains intimately linked to the racial struggles in America.

       
      Like any genius, James Brown also had his share of shadows. And the end of his career was marked by his escapades. Prison, rehab, and one of the celebrity magazines had gradually overtaken the release of the new nuggets to which the world was accustomed. But to tell the truth, nothing can really taint the story of a legend. When he died in 2006, the legendary gaps of Mr Dynamite were only a drop in the ocean of his immense work.

      Highlights

      1949

      Prison as a springboard

      A prodigy can be born out of a bad patch and James Brown knows something about that. At the age of 16, he is incarcerated for armed robbery. The story could have ended there, but in prison he met singer Bobby Byrd, with whom he formed a gospel band. Young James is launched into music and nothing will stop him.

      1964

      The tube machine no longer stops

      The 1960s will reveal this explosive bomb to the world. Signed on the King records label, he released a series of hits that would end up at the top of the charts. It's hard to name them all as the machine gets carried away, but among these soul masterpieces, we can safely place Out of sight (1964), Papa's Got A Brand New Bag and I Got You (I Feel Good) (1965) as well as It's A Man's Man's World (1966). The TV sets snatch the star, the groupies fade away, James Brown reaches his peak !

      1968

      The saviour of Boston

      Legend has it that on April 5, 1968, the day after the assassination of Martin Luther King, James Brown maintained his concert in Boston. In a context of urban riots, the atmosphere is ultra-tense. The police are about to intervene but James Brown holds them back and speaks out, "We are black! We are Black! Let's not give a bad image of ourselves ! ». The crowd calms down, the show resumes and tonight officially becomes the night the singer saved Boston.

      1970

      La légende devient universelle

      The 70s marked a turning point for James Brown who gradually lost all the members of his band. Far from being discouraged, he teamed up again with Bobby Byrd to create The JB's and directly released a worldwide hit, Get Up (Sex Machines) in 1970. It was also at this time that he began to reach a much wider audience, going from African-American icon to world icon, quite simply.

      2006

      The world is an orphan

      Although the star had become more discreet musically as he grew older, giving way to new popular music, James Brown nevertheless took to the stage for the rest of his life with astonishing energy. In June 2006, once again, he set Paris ablaze, standing on the stage of the Palais des Congrès! When he passed away, he left the music industry an orphan, but also an immense legacy, which it will take many years to fully understand.

      Testimonials

      • The fans speak
      • The inside view
      • Seen in the press

        This concert was for me a moment of rare intensity that will remain engraved in my memory. James Brown, the legendary master of soul and funk, has lost neither his desire nor his stage presence. In this respect, he is unrivalled. He remains one of the best showmen in the world and knows how to move a venue like no one else. 

        Florent after the concert at the Palais des Congrès in 2006

        One is inevitably speechless in front of the endless talent and stage presence of such a musical legend. And of course, we feel grateful to have accompanied him on his visits to France, in a Congress Palace full to bursting point.
        On stage and over the years, he was always that surge of energy that surprised the world in the 1960s. He is one of his immense artists whom we will miss for a long time to come.

        Everyone knows a James Brown tune. A melody that you find yourself humming when your spirits are at their highest. A tune that makes you want to dance, stomp your feet or nod your head. James Brown is a myth, a monument to funk, soul... music in general. 
         
        Incomparable showman, king of soul, prince of funk, James Brown left an indelible mark: from music to dance, in rock, pop or hip hop, the singer who died in 2006 has never ceased to inspire. 

        Rolling Stone - Francetvinfo

      Archives

      2006
      1 concert
      • 29 Jun
        Paris
        Palais des Congrès
      2005
      1 concert
      • 04 Jul
        Paris
        Palais des Congrès
      2004
      1 concert
      • 03 Jul
        Paris
        Palais des Congrès
      1999
      1 concert
      • 04 Jul
        Orléans
        Festival Campos Santo
      See more
      gérard drouot productions uses cookies on this website. With your approval, we will use them to mesure and analyse your visit on the website (statistic cookies) to adapt it to your interests (customized cookies) and to provide you with relevant information (third party cookies). Customize

Artistes
    Événements
      FR
      EN
      James Brown

      James Brown

      Le Godfather de la soul
      Ecouter
      • À propos
      • Les faits marquants
      • Témoignages
      • Archives

      À propos

      À propos
      © Neale Haynes

      Son nom évoque une légende, celle d’un enfant noir né sous la ségrégation et qui est devenu en quelques années un phénomène dont la démesure n’a d’égal que le talent. 45 disques d’or, plus de 200 millions d’albums vendus à travers le monde, il a marqué de son empreinte l’industrie musicale, se réappropriant tous les styles, de la soul au hip-hop et inspirant au passage d’autres artistes mythiques, dont Prince et Michael Jackson.

       

      Car dans les années 60, si l’Amérique blanche n’a d’yeux que pour les Beatles, l’Amérique noire, elle, danse sur les tubes de James Brown. Avec des chansons qui pourraient appartenir au patrimoine mondial de l’humanité comme I Got You (I feel Good) (1965), It’s A Man’s Man’s Man’s World (1966) ou encore Get Up (I Feel Like Being a) Sex Machine (1970), chacune de ses apparitions provoque au mieux un concert de cris suraigus, au pire, l’hystérie collective. Il faut dire que le Godfather de la soul envoie ! Sur scène ou dans les shows télévisés, sa fougue détonne. Il swingue, il danse comme nul autre et surtout, il maîtrise vocalement parfaitement son art.

       

      Et si l’on peut le qualifier de tous les superlatifs, James Brown est avant tout un précurseur. « Hardest working man in show business » comme il aime à se définir, il dynamite la soul, la colore de funk et livre tube sur tube. Certains disent que nous n’avons pas encore compris le quart de l’héritage de cet immense artiste et cela pourrait bien être vrai. Précurseur musical donc, mais aussi précurseur dans la contestation. Car avec son statut d’icône noire, puis populaire, sa carrière reste intimement liée aux luttes raciales menées en Amérique.

       

      Comme tout génie, James Brown avait aussi sa part d’ombre. Et sa fin de carrière a été marquée par ses frasques. Prison, cure de désintoxication et une des magazines people avaient peu à peu pris le pas sur la sortie des nouvelles pépites auxquelles le monde était habitué. Mais à vrai dire, rien ne peut vraiment entacher l’histoire d’une légende. A sa mort, en 2006, les écarts légendaires de mister Dynamite n’étaient qu’une goutte d’eau dans l’immensité de son œuvre.

      Les faits marquants

      1949

      La prison comme tremplin

      D’une mauvaise passe peut naître un prodige et James Brown en sait quelque chose. A 16 ans, il est incarcéré pour attaque à main armée. L’histoire aurait pu s’arrêter là, mais il rencontre en prison le chanteur Bobby Byrd avec lequel il fonde un groupe de gospel. Le jeune James est lancé dans la musique et plus rien ne le stoppera.

      1964
      La machine à tubes ne s’arrête plus

      La machine à tubes ne s’arrête plus

      Les années 60 révèleront cette bombe explosive au monde. Signé sur le label King records, il sort une série de tubes qui finiront en tête des charts. Difficile de les citer tous tellement la machine s’emballe, mais parmi ces chefs d’œuvre de la soul, on peut sans se tromper placer Out of sight (1964), Papa's Got A Brand New Bag et I Got You (I Feel Good) (1965) ainsi que It’s A Man’s Man’s Man’s World (1966). Les plateaux télé s’arrachent la star, les groupies s’évanouissent, James Brown atteint son apogée !

      1968
      Le sauveur de Boston

      Le sauveur de Boston

      Légende dans la légende, le 5 avril 1968, le lendemain de l’assassinat de Martin Luther King, James Brown maintient son concert à Boston. Dans un contexte d’émeutes urbaines, l’ambiance est ultra-tendue. Les policiers sont sur le point d’intervenir mais James Brown les retient et prend la parole « Nous sommes Noirs ! Nous sommes Noirs ! Ne donnons pas une mauvaise image de nous ! ». La foule se calme, le show reprend et cette nuit devient officiellement celle où le chanteur a sauvé Boston.

      1970
      La légende devient universelle

      La légende devient universelle

      Les années 70 marquent un tournant pour James Brown qui perd peu à peu tous les membres de son groupe. Loin de se laisser abattre, il s’associe de nouveau avec Bobby Byrd pour créer The JB’s et sort directement un tube planétaire, Get Up (I Feel Like Being a) Sex Machine en 1970. C’est également à cette époque qu’il commence à toucher un public beaucoup plus large, passant d’icône afro-américaine à icône mondiale, tout simplement.

      2006
      Le monde est orphelin

      Le monde est orphelin

      Si la star s’était faite plus discrète musicalement en avançant en âge, cédant la place à de nouvelles musiques populaires, James Brown est pourtant monté sur scène jusqu’à la fin de sa vie avec une énergie étonnante. En juin 2006, encore, il enflammait Paris, debout sur la scène du Palais des Congrès ! Quand il disparaît, il laisse l’industrie de la musique orpheline, mais également un héritage immense, qu’il faudra bien des années pour comprendre entièrement.

      Témoignages

      • Le mot du spectateur
      • Notre équipe en parle
      • La presse en parle

        Ce concert fut pour moi un moment d'une intensité rare qui restera gravé dans ma mémoire. James Brown, légendaire maître de la soul et du funk n'a perdu ni l'envie, ni sa présence scénique. Sur ce plan, il est inégalable. Il reste l'un des meilleurs show man au monde et sait faire bouger une salle comme personne. 

        Florent après le concert au Palais des Congrès en 2006

        On reste forcément sans voix devant le talent sans fin et la présence scénique d’une telle légende de la musique. Et bien évidemment, nous nous sentons reconnaissants de l’avoir accompagné lors de ses passages en France, dans un palais des Congrès plein à craquer. Sur scène et au fil des années, il était toujours cette déferlante d’énergie qui a surpris le monde dans les années 60. Il est l’un de ses immenses artistes que nous regretterons encore longtemps.

        Tout le monde connaît un air de James Brown. Une mélodie que l’on se surprend à fredonner, lorsque le moral est au plus haut. Un air qui donne envie de danser, de taper du pied ou de hocher la tête. James Brown est un mythe, un monument du funk, de la soul… de la musique en général. 

         

        Showman incomparable, roi de la soul, prince du funk, James Brown a laissé une empreinte indélébile : de la musique à la danse, dans le rock, la pop ou le hip hop, le chanteur disparu en 2006 n'a cessé d'inspirer. 

        Rolling Stone - Francetvinfo

      Archives

      2006
      1 concert
      • 29 juin
        Paris
        Palais des Congrès
      2005
      1 concert
      • 04 juil.
        Paris
        Palais des Congrès
      2004
      1 concert
      • 03 juil.
        Paris
        Palais des Congrès
      1999
      1 concert
      • 04 juil.
        Orléans
        Festival Campos Santo
      Afficher plus
      gérard drouot productions utilise des cookies sur ce site. Avec votre consentement, nous les utiliserons pour mesurer et analyser l'utilisation du site (cookies analytiques), pour l'adapter à vos intérêts (cookies de personnalisation) et pour vous présenter des publicités et des informations pertinentes (cookies de ciblage). Gérer les cookies