Artists
    Events
      EN
      FR
      George Benson

      George Benson

      Miles Davis' golden pupil
      Ecouter
      • Tour
      • About
      • Highlights
      • Testimonials
      • Archives

      Tour

      • 2021 1 concert
      • Saturday
        03
        July 2021
        PARIS 09
        Book your seats
      See program

      About

      About
      © Kwaku Alston

      Miles Davis had made him his student. George Benson, a guitarist who makes hearts beat and loves waltz, has spent his life sharpening jazz melodies with funk accents to make our nights more beautiful. Today he is celebrating a career out of the ordinary !
       
      George Benson has class. The virtuoso from the ghettos of Pittsburgh, a man of heart with golden fingers and light Gibson's style, has been playing for ages with his smooth voice and his aerial guitar to knock us out on the dance floor. Even the illustrious Miles Davis, prince of American jazz, could not resist his mad charm, making him his regular student. Because George Benson has a secret: absolute elegance. To the very end of his discography, the gifted American, carried by the sounds of Charlie Parker, Billy Eckstine and Tony Bennett, has built a chic and subtle universe, bringing jazz purists and pop fans face to face. Unpredictable in the soul, George Benson does not deny himself anything. For the West Coast guitarist, with a rare modesty, likes to put himself in danger: it has even become his secret pleasure.
       
      No matter the trends, no matter the critics: the father of the RnB doesn't care what anyone says. George Benson is a free man! Forerunner of hard bop, he marries influences and beings with romance, lightness and brio. Under his six-string flights and his majestic rhythms dance the crowds. Without a doubt, George Benson, a lifelong friend of Al Jarreau, is the instigator of a gentle, exquisite and swaying stroll along the roads of a nocturnal, beautiful and seductive America. The King of Pennsylvania masters the route, and Give Me the Night is never far away. The man enters the stage. First sincere vibrations: let the adventure begin !

      Highlights

      1964

      Meeting with Miles Davis

      Barely of age, the prodigy from Pittsburgh was barely able to play his scales. He released his first record, which allowed him to be quickly noticed by the legendary Miles Davis. By taking him under his wing, the Illinois jazzman allowed George Benson to refine his style and launch a flamboyant career.

      1976

      From ghettos to armoured rooms

      George Benson composed at a frenetic pace, sometimes up to three records a year by the end of the sixties. But his first breakthrough came in 1976 with the album Breezin' and the single This Masquerade. His career took off: success would never leave him. The kid from the ghettos became a major musician !

      1979

      On the roof of the world

      When someone says George Benson, you must answer Give Me The Night. Produced by Quincy Jones, the single from the eponymous record is an outstanding success, from east to west, north to south. The wave swallowed up all continents and destroyed all borders. George Benson becomes a legend: this track will become a must in the set list of disc jockeys from here and elsewhere.

      1984

      Always at the top of the charts

      George Benson performs Nothing's Gonna Change My Love for You, a song written by Michael Masser and Gerry Goffin. Once again, the song is a real hit, especially in the United States. But it is thanks to the cover of Glenn Medeiros, a young singer from the island of Kauai, that the single will cross the borders to become a worldwide hit.

      2019

      So far, so good

      "I'm a fan of the music made by these two men". With these words, George Benson presents his new album, a tribute to Chuck Berry and Fats Domino. Female backing vocals, sensual and elegant melodies: the hero of hard bop proves that he is still here, creative as ever !

      Testimonials

      • The fans speak
      • The inside view
      • Seen in the press

        On stage, George Benson is a character. He is impressive, as much for his charisma as for his sincerity. It's a real moment of sharing, where you move your head and shoulders to the rhythm of his guitar flights. 

        Guy, after the concert in Juan Les Pins

        If Miles Davis fell under his spell, it is no coincidence that George Benson is a musician of immeasurable talent. Through his eclecticism, he has brought a real freshness to contemporary music, mixing influences with elegance and audacity. He is also an unconditional lover of France. He comes here every year to play. Seeing him always so creative and fit on stage is a real pleasure !

        From the very first notes, the room is conquered, the bodies begin to undulate and hum the words. The children on their parents' shoulders to be able to see the show, we see joy on their faces. The pieces follow one another and make an air of lightness float. Benson transports. It's always a pleasure to admire the great names in music.
         
        George Benson, or the story of a kid from Pittsburgh who became a huge jazz guitarist before reinventing himself as a triumphant pop singer and earning his place in the pantheon of black American music. 

        Concert & Co - MusiqXXL

      Archives

      2019
      3 concerts
      • 09 Jul
        Paris
        L'Olympia
      • 13 Jul
        Juan Les Pins
        Jazz à Juan
      • 27 Jul
        Marciac
        Jazz in Marciac
      2018
      2 concerts
      • 01 Jul
        Boulogne Billancourt
        La Seine Musicale
      • 05 Jul
        Fontainebleau
        Festival Django Reinhardt
      2017
      4 concerts
      • 27 Jul
        Marseille
        Festival de Jazz des Cinq Continents
      • 29 Jul
        Monte Carlo
        Sporting Summer Festival
      • 30 Jul
        Narbonne
        Jazz à l'Hospitalet
      • 01 Aug
        Marciac
        Jazz in Marciac
      2016
      1 concert
      • 01 Jul
        Paris
        L'Olympia
      2015
      4 concerts
      • 03 Jul
        Paris
        L'Olympia
      • 04 Jul
        Nanterre
        La Défense Jazz Festival
      • 07 Jul
        Vienne
        Jazz à Vienne
      • 20 Jul
        Monte Carlo
        Sporting Summer Festival
      2014
      6 concerts
      • 28 Jun
        Paris
        L'Olympia
      • 29 Jun
        Enghien les Bains
        Enghien Jazz Festival
      • 30 Jun
        Paris
        La Cigale
      • 02 Jul
        Cognac
        Festival Blues Passion
      • 03 Jul
        Montauban
        Festival Jazz à Montauban
      • 12 Jul
        Juan Les Pins
        Jazz à Juan
      2013
      5 concerts
      • 03 Jul
        Paris
        L'Olympia
      • 12 Jul
        Nice
        Jazz Festival
      • 13 Jul
        Vienne
        Jazz à Vienne
      • 27 Jul
        Marseille
        Festival de Jazz des Cinq Continents
      • 28 Jul
        Marciac
        Jazz in Marciac
      2012
      2 concerts
      • 08 Jul
        Paris
        L'Olympia
      • 09 Jul
        Istres
        Les Nuits d'Istres
      2011
      3 concerts
      • 23 Jun
        Samois-sur-Seine
        Festival Django Reinhardt
      • 29 Jun
        Paris
        L'Olympia
      • 30 Jun
        Vienne
        Jazz à Vienne
      2010
      3 concerts
      • 15 Jul
        Juan Les Pins
        Jazz à Juan
      • 16 Jul
        Sète
        Jazz à Sète
      • 18 Jul
        Patrimonio
        Les nuits de la guitare
      2009
      1 concert
      • 04 Jul
        Paris
        Palais des Congrès
      2008
      1 concert
      • 21 Jul
        Carcassonne
        Festival des 2 Cités
      2006
      1 concert
      • 06 Jul
        Vienne
        Jazz à Vienne
      2005
      3 concerts
      • 08 Jul
        Paris
        Le Grand Rex
      • 17 Jul
        Casablanca
        Salle Megarama
      • 19 Jul
        Patrimonio
        Théâtre de Verdure
      2004
      2 concerts
      • 08 Jun
        Anvers (Belgique)
        Elisabeth Zaal
      • 09 Jun
        Paris
        Le Grand Rex
      2003
      1 concert
      • 07 Jul
        Paris
        L'Olympia
      2001
      1 concert
      • 10 Jul
        Paris
        L'Olympia
      See more
      Book now
      gérard drouot productions uses cookies on this website. With your approval, we will use them to mesure and analyse your visit on the website (statistic cookies) to adapt it to your interests (customized cookies) and to provide you with relevant information (third party cookies). Customize

Artistes
    Événements
      FR
      EN
      George Benson

      George Benson

      L’élève en or de Miles Davis
      Ecouter
      • Tournée
      • À propos
      • Les faits marquants
      • Témoignages
      • Archives

      Tournée

      • 2022 1 concert
      • Report
        samedi
        02
        juillet 2022
        PARIS
        Réserver
      Voir l'agenda

      À propos

      À propos
      © Kwaku Alston

      Miles Davis en avait fait son élève. George Benson, guitariste à faire battre les cœurs et valser les amours, a passé sa vie à aiguiser des mélodies jazz aux accents funk pour rendre nos nuits plus belles. Il célèbre aujourd’hui une carrière hors du commun !

       

      George Benson a la classe. Le virtuose des ghettos de Pittsburgh, homme de cœur aux doigts d’or et à la Gibson légère, joue depuis des lustres avec sa voix suave et sa guitare aérienne pour nous mettre K.O sur les pistes de danse. Même l’illustre Miles Davis, prince du jazz américain, n’a pas résisté à son charme fou, faisant de lui son élève attitré. Car George Benson a un secret : l’élégance absolue. Jusqu’au fin fond de sa discographie, le surdoué américain, porté par les sonorités de Charlie Parker, Billy Eckstine et Tony Bennett, a construit un univers chic et subtil, mettant face-à-face les puristes de jazz et les fans de pop. Imprévisible dans l’âme, George Benson ne s’interdit rien. Car le guitariste de la West Coast, d’une modestie rare, aime se mettre en danger : c’est même devenu son plaisir secret.

       

      Qu’importe les tendances, qu’importe les critiques : le père du RnB se moque éperdument du qu’en-dira-t-on. George Benson est un homme libre ! Précurseur du hard bop, il marie ainsi les influences et les êtres avec romance, légèreté et brio. Sous ses envolées à six cordes et ses rythmiques majestueuses dansent les foules. Sans aucun doute, George Benson, ami de toujours d’Al Jarreau, est l’instigateur d’une balade douce, exquise et chaloupée sur les routes d’une Amérique nocturne, belle et séduisante. Le roi de Pennsylvanie maîtrise l’itinéraire, et Give Me the Night n’est jamais loin. L’homme entre en scène. Premières vibrations sincères : que l’aventure commence !

      Les faits marquants

      1964
      La rencontre avec Miles Davis

      La rencontre avec Miles Davis

      À peine majeur, le prodige de Pittsburgh fait ses gammes. Il sort un premier disque qui lui permet de se faire rapidement remarquer par le légendaire Miles Davis. En le prenant sous son aile, le jazzman de l’Illinois permet alors à George Benson d’affiner son style et d’amorcer une carrière flamboyante.

      1976
      Des ghettos aux salles blindées

      Des ghettos aux salles blindées

      George Benson compose à un rythme effréné, parfois jusqu’à trois disques par an à la fin des sixties. Mais son premier fait de gloire attendra 1976, avec l’album Breezin’ et le single This Masquerade. Sa carrière décolle : le succès ne le quittera plus. Le gamin des ghettos est devenu un musicien d’envergure !

      1979
      Sur le toit du monde

      Sur le toit du monde

      Quand on vous dit George Benson, vous répondez forcément Give Me The Night. Produit par Quincy Jones, le single du disque éponyme rencontre un succès hors du commun, d’est en ouest, du nord au sud. La vague engloutit tous les continents et anéantit toutes les frontières. George Benson entre dans la légende : ce titre deviendra un incontournable dans la setlist des disc-jockeys d’ici et d’ailleurs.

      1984
      Toujours en haut des charts

      Toujours en haut des charts

      George Benson interprète Nothing's Gonna Change My Love for You, chanson écrite par Michael Masser et Gerry Goffin. Une fois de plus, le titre connaît un vrai succès, en particulier aux États-Unis. Mais c’est grâce à la reprise de Glenn Medeiros, jeune interprète de l’île de Kauai, que le single traversera les frontières pour s’imposer comme un tube planétaire.

      2018
      Jusqu’ici, tout va bien

      Jusqu’ici, tout va bien

      « Je suis un adepte de la musique faite par ces deux hommes ». C’est avec ces mots que George Benson présente son nouvel album, hommage à Chuck Berry et à Fats Domino. Chœurs féminins, mélodies sensuelles et élégantes : le héros du hard bop prouve qu’il est encore bien là, créatif comme jamais !

      Témoignages

      • Le mot du spectateur
      • Notre équipe en parle
      • La presse en parle

        Sur scène, George Benson est un personnage. Il est impressionnant, tant par son charisme que par sa sincérité. C’est un vrai moment de partage, où l’on bouge la tête et les épaules au rythme de ses envolées à la guitare.

        Guy, après le concert à Juan Les Pins

        Si Miles Davis est tombé sous son charme, ce n’est pas un hasard : George Benson est un musicien au talent incommensurable. Par son éclectisme, il a apporté une vraie fraîcheur à la musique contemporaine, mixant les influences avec élégance et audace. Amoureux inconditionnel de la France, il y vient chaque année pour jouer. Le voir toujours aussi créatif et en forme sur scène est un vrai plaisir !

         

        Dès les premières notes, la salle est conquise, les corps se mettent à onduler et fredonner les paroles. Les enfants sur les épaules de leurs parents pour pouvoir voir le show, on voit de la joie sur les visages. Les morceaux s'enchaînent et font planer un air de légèreté. Benson transporte. Ça fait toujours plaisir d'admirer des grands noms de la musique.

         

        George Benson, ou l’histoire d’un gamin de Pittsburgh devenu un immense guitariste de jazz avant de se réinventer chanteur pop triomphant et de gagner sa place au panthéon des musiques noires américaines. 

        Concert & Co - MusiqXXL

      Archives

      2019
      3 concerts
      • 09 juil.
        Paris
        L'Olympia
      • 13 juil.
        Juan Les Pins
        Jazz à Juan
      • 27 juil.
        Marciac
        Jazz in Marciac
      2018
      2 concerts
      • 01 juil.
        Boulogne Billancourt
        La Seine Musicale
      • 05 juil.
        Fontainebleau
        Festival Django Reinhardt
      2017
      4 concerts
      • 27 juil.
        Marseille
        Festival de Jazz des Cinq Continents
      • 29 juil.
        Monte Carlo
        Sporting Summer Festival
      • 30 juil.
        Narbonne
        Jazz à l'Hospitalet
      • 01 août
        Marciac
        Jazz in Marciac
      2016
      1 concert
      • 01 juil.
        Paris
        L'Olympia
      2015
      4 concerts
      • 03 juil.
        Paris
        L'Olympia
      • 04 juil.
        Nanterre
        La Défense Jazz Festival
      • 07 juil.
        Vienne
        Jazz à Vienne
      • 20 juil.
        Monte Carlo
        Sporting Summer Festival
      2014
      6 concerts
      • 28 juin
        Paris
        L'Olympia
      • 29 juin
        Enghien les Bains
        Enghien Jazz Festival
      • 30 juin
        Paris
        La Cigale
      • 02 juil.
        Cognac
        Festival Blues Passion
      • 03 juil.
        Montauban
        Festival Jazz à Montauban
      • 12 juil.
        Juan Les Pins
        Jazz à Juan
      2013
      5 concerts
      • 03 juil.
        Paris
        L'Olympia
      • 12 juil.
        Nice
        Jazz Festival
      • 13 juil.
        Vienne
        Jazz à Vienne
      • 27 juil.
        Marseille
        Festival de Jazz des Cinq Continents
      • 28 juil.
        Marciac
        Jazz in Marciac
      2012
      2 concerts
      • 08 juil.
        Paris
        L'Olympia
      • 09 juil.
        Istres
        Les Nuits d'Istres
      2011
      3 concerts
      • 23 juin
        Samois-sur-Seine
        Festival Django Reinhardt
      • 29 juin
        Paris
        L'Olympia
      • 30 juin
        Vienne
        Jazz à Vienne
      2010
      3 concerts
      • 15 juil.
        Juan Les Pins
        Jazz à Juan
      • 16 juil.
        Sète
        Jazz à Sète
      • 18 juil.
        Patrimonio
        Les nuits de la guitare
      2009
      1 concert
      • 04 juil.
        Paris
        Palais des Congrès
      2008
      1 concert
      • 21 juil.
        Carcassonne
        Festival des 2 Cités
      2006
      1 concert
      • 06 juil.
        Vienne
        Jazz à Vienne
      2005
      3 concerts
      • 08 juil.
        Paris
        Le Grand Rex
      • 17 juil.
        Casablanca
        Salle Megarama
      • 19 juil.
        Patrimonio
        Théâtre de Verdure
      2004
      2 concerts
      • 08 juin
        Anvers (Belgique)
        Elisabeth Zaal
      • 09 juin
        Paris
        Le Grand Rex
      2003
      1 concert
      • 07 juil.
        Paris
        L'Olympia
      2001
      1 concert
      • 10 juil.
        Paris
        L'Olympia
      Afficher plus
      Réserver
      gérard drouot productions utilise des cookies sur ce site. Avec votre consentement, nous les utiliserons pour mesurer et analyser l'utilisation du site (cookies analytiques), pour l'adapter à vos intérêts (cookies de personnalisation) et pour vous présenter des publicités et des informations pertinentes (cookies de ciblage). Gérer les cookies