Artists
    Events
      EN
      FR
      Fantastic Negrito

      Fantastic Negrito

      The blues has the punk attitude
      Ecouter
      • Tour
      • About
      • Highlights
      • Testimonials
      • Archives

      Tour

      • 2022 1 concert
      • Best Seats
        Tuesday
        12
        July 2022
        PARIS
        Book your seats
      See program

      About

      About

      Fantastic Negrito is not only a singer who drills late. No, he is above all a phoenix that never stops rising from its ashes. For the artist, to deliver today's critically acclaimed albums, subtle mixes of acidic blues and explosive funk, sprinkled with an undeniable punk touch, has gone through three decades of hardship and has even seen death in the face. But for him, it's obvious that "an artist reveals himself through the darkest moments he has ever gone through".
       

      And his life is marked by dark moments. Raised in a very strict orthodox Muslim Orthodox family, a time weed dealer, he pretended to be a student to take piano lessons at the University of Berkeley. A survivor of a car accident that left him in a coma for three weeks, Fantastic Negrito definitely has something to say! And he does so by mixing genres like no one else and producing a unique style, a true concentration of decades of black music.
       
      On stage, however, he has nothing to envy Sid Vicious. Afro-Iroquois carried high, he looks like he's plugged straight into the mains! The instruments are hammered, and he always delivers a perfect performance, with a powerful voice, precise technique and bubbling energy.

       
      His ardour and character also drive him to press his militant vein. For Fantastic Negrito, like many others, has, like many others, a bad feeling for his America. A fervent defender of the cause of African-Americans and equality, he has never doubted his role: "I hear here and there that artists no longer have an impact on what the public thinks, whereas it is exactly the opposite". No doubt, he has rage. And at more than 50 years of age, he has finally found his voice.

      Highlights

      1995
      The million-dollar deal
      Copyright De Andre Forks

      The million-dollar deal

      It is while listening to the kid from Minneapolis, Prince, that young Xavier, then a drug dealer, decides he wants to make music. He drops the pistol he carries on his belt in exchange for piano lessons, which he attends under the guise of a student at Berkeley University. In 1995, by a stroke of fate, he meets Prince's former manager in Los Angeles. He then signed a million dollar deal for a soul-rap album which, although very well received by the critics, was instantly swallowed up by the gangsta wave of the time.

      1999
      And the curtain fell

      And the curtain fell

      In 1999, although he did not give up music, the artist was the victim of a serious road accident. If he wakes up after three weeks in a coma, he partially loses the use of his right hand, which he uses to compose, and is dropped by his record company. This is the beginning of a long desert journey, made up of odd jobs and all kinds of tricks.

      2016
      Au revoir Xavier, bienvenue à Fantastic Negrito
      Copyright Lyle Owerko

      Au revoir Xavier, bienvenue à Fantastic Negrito

      It is his son who will finally bring him back to his first love. Singing lullabies to him, the artist will start composing again. And this time it works! He draws his lyrics from his story and delivers a melting-pot album of the best that black music has to offer. His debut album under his new stage name, The Last Days of Oackland, will win a Grammy Award for Best Contemporary Blues Album. He will pocket a second one in 2019 for Please Don't Be Dead. His career is now off to a flying start!

      Testimonials

      • The fans speak
      • The inside view
      • Seen in the press

        Seeing Fantastic Negrito debut at the Café de la Danse to deliver a breathtaking show is a balm to the heart! What class, what a sense of sharing, joy and fun. And what a backin' band! How is it that this gentleman does not fill Bercy's? Fantastic Negrito plays funk, soul and also offers riffs that Jimmy Page wouldn't deny. Impossible to remain indifferent, this guy is a genius. 

        Samuel after a concert at the Café de la Danse in Paris

        Fantastic Negrito is a UFO in the blues world, which he dusted off with a lapel, and it feels good. With his head held high, a punk attitude from the boots to the top of his head, he lives his music, blending funk and jazzy accents, and tells his story with disconcerting simplicity and ease. Seeing him on stage today, we are convinced that he was made for it !

        References, Fantastic Negrito has no shortage of them. His record is an Aladdin's lamp of black American music. But what distinguishes it from the usual retro-style exercises is that this lamp is more like a pressure cooker. Burning, under pressure, ready to explode. Its punk side, no doubt. 

        The Inrocks

      Archives

      2020
      1 concert
      • 26 Jun
        CARPENTRAS
        Espace Auzon
      2019
      4 concerts
      • 02 Jul
        Paris
        New Morning
      • 04 Jul
        La Roche sur Yon
        Festival R Pop
      • 05 Jul
        Hérouville-Saint-Clair
        Festival Beauregard
      • 06 Jul
        Cognac
        Espace Blues Passion
      2018
      1 concert
      • 04 Nov
        Paris
        Café de la Danse
      2017
      5 concerts
      • 14 Feb
        Paris
        La Maroquinerie
      • 16 Feb
        Nantes
        Stereolux
      • 17 Feb
        Feyzin
        L’Epicerie Moderne
      • 18 Feb
        Clermont Ferrand
        Coopérative de mai
      • 15 Jul
        Paris
        Afropunk Festival
      2016
      1 concert
      • 20 Sep
        Paris
        Petit Bain
      See more
      Book now
      gérard drouot productions uses cookies on this website. With your approval, we will use them to mesure and analyse your visit on the website (statistic cookies) to adapt it to your interests (customized cookies) and to provide you with relevant information (third party cookies). Customize

Artistes
    Événements
      FR
      EN
      Fantastic Negrito

      Fantastic Negrito

      Le blues a la punk attitude
      Ecouter
      • Tournée
      • À propos
      • Les faits marquants
      • Témoignages
      • Archives

      Tournée

      • mars 2021
      • Meilleures places
        mardi
        23
        mars 2021
        PARIS
        Annulée
      Voir l'agenda

      À propos

      À propos

      Fantastic Negrito n’est pas seulement un chanteur qui perce sur le tard. Non, c’est surtout un phénix qui ne cesse de renaître de ses cendres. Car l’artiste, pour livrer aujourd’hui des albums encensés par la critique, mélanges subtils de blues acidulé et de funk explosif, saupoudré d’une touche punk indéniable, a traversé trois décennies d’épreuves et a même vu la mort en face. Mais pour lui, c’est une évidence, « un artiste se révèle par les moments les plus noirs qu’il a pu traverser ».

       

      Et des moments sombres, sa vie en est jalonnée. Élevé dans une famille musulmane orthodoxe très stricte, un temps dealer de weed, il s’est fait passer pour un étudiant pour suivre des cours de piano à l’université de Berkeley. Rescapé d’un accident de voiture qui le laisse dans le coma pendant trois semaines, Fantastic Negrito a sans conteste des choses à dire ! Et il le fait en mélangeant les genres comme personne et en produisant un style unique, véritable concentration de décennies de musique noire.

       

      Sur scène cependant, il n’a rien à envier à Sid Vicious. Afro-iroquois porté bien haut, on le croirait branché directement sur secteur ! Les instruments sont martelés, et lui, survolté, délivre toujours une prestation parfaite, voix puissante, technique précise et énergie bouillonnante.

       

      Une ardeur et un caractère qui le poussent aussi à appuyer sur sa veine militante. Car Fantastic Negrito a, comme beaucoup d’autres, mal à son Amérique. Fervent défenseur de la cause des afro-américains et de l’égalité, il n’a jamais douté de son rôle : « J’entends ici où là que les artistes n’ont plus d’impact sur ce que pense le public alors que c’est exactement le contraire ». Pas de doute, il a la rage. Et à plus de 50 ans, il a enfin trouvé sa voix.

      Les faits marquants

      1995
      Le deal à un million
      © DeAndreForks

      Le deal à un million

      C’est en écoutant le kid de Minneapolis, Prince, que le jeune Xavier, alors dealeur, décide qu’il veut faire de la musique. Il troque le pistolet qu’il porte à la ceinture contre des cours de piano auxquels il assiste en se faisant passer pour un étudiant à l’université de Berkeley. En 1995, coup du destin, il rencontre l’ex-manager de Prince à Los Angeles. Il signe alors un deal à un million de dollars pour un album soul-rap qui, bien qu’accueilli très positivement par les critiques, se fait instantanément engloutir par la vague gangsta de l’époque.

       

      1999
      Et le rideau est tombé

      Et le rideau est tombé

      En 1999, alors qu’il n’a pas renoncé à la musique, l’artiste est victime d’un grave accident de la route. S’il se réveille après trois semaines de coma, il perd partiellement l’usage de sa main droite, qui lui sert pour composer et est lâché par sa maison de disques. Commence alors pour lui une longue traversée du désert, faite de petits boulots et de combines en tout genre.

      2016
      Goodbye Xavier, welcome to Fantastic Negrito
      © Lyle Owerko

      Goodbye Xavier, welcome to Fantastic Negrito

      C’est son fils qui le ramènera finalement à ses premières amours. En lui chantant des berceuses, l’artiste se remettra à composer. Et cette fois-ci, ça marche ! Il puise ses textes dans son histoire et livre un album en forme de melting-pot de ce que la musique noire a produit de meilleur. Son premier album sous son nouveau nom de scène, The Last Days of Oackland, remportera un Grammy Awards dans la catégorie du meilleur album de blues contemporain. Il en empochera un second en 2019 pour Please Don’t Be Dead. Sa carrière est désormais lancée !

      Témoignages

      • Le mot du spectateur
      • Notre équipe en parle
      • La presse en parle

        Voir débouler Fantastic Negrito au Café de la Danse pour livrer un show époustouflant donne du baume au cœur ! Quelle classe, quel sens du partage, de la joie et du fun. Et quel backin' band ! Comment se fait-il que ce Monsieur ne remplisse pas des Bercy ? Fantastic Negrito nous la joue funk, soul et propose aussi des riffs que ne renierait pas Jimmy Page. Impossible de rester indifférent, ce type est un génie.

        Samuel après un concert au Café de la Danse à Paris

        Fantastic Negrito est un OVNI dans le monde du blues, qu’il dépoussière d’un revers de la manche, et ça fait du bien. La tête haute, une attitude de punk des boots militaires jusqu’au sommet du crâne, il vit sa musique, mélange détonnant aux accents funk et jazzy, et raconte son histoire avec une simplicité et une facilité déconcertante. En le voyant aujourd’hui sur scène, nous en sommes convaincus, il était fait pour ça !

         

        Des références, Fantastic Negrito n’en manque pas. Son disque est une lampe d’Aladin de la musique noire américaine. Mais ce qui le distingue des habituels exercices de style rétro, c’est que cette lampe est plutôt une Cocotte-Minute. Brûlante, sous pression, prête à exploser. Son côté punk, sans doute.

        Les Inrocks

      Archives

      2020
      1 concert
      • 26 juin
        CARPENTRAS
        Espace Auzon
      2019
      4 concerts
      • 02 juil.
        Paris
        New Morning
      • 04 juil.
        La Roche sur Yon
        Festival R Pop
      • 05 juil.
        Hérouville-Saint-Clair
        Festival Beauregard
      • 06 juil.
        Cognac
        Espace Blues Passion
      2018
      1 concert
      • 04 nov.
        Paris
        Café de la Danse
      2017
      5 concerts
      • 14 févr.
        Paris
        La Maroquinerie
      • 16 févr.
        Nantes
        Stereolux
      • 17 févr.
        Feyzin
        L’Epicerie Moderne
      • 18 févr.
        Clermont Ferrand
        Coopérative de mai
      • 15 juil.
        Paris
        Afropunk Festival
      2016
      1 concert
      • 20 sept.
        Paris
        Petit Bain
      Afficher plus
      Réserver
      gérard drouot productions utilise des cookies sur ce site. Avec votre consentement, nous les utiliserons pour mesurer et analyser l'utilisation du site (cookies analytiques), pour l'adapter à vos intérêts (cookies de personnalisation) et pour vous présenter des publicités et des informations pertinentes (cookies de ciblage). Gérer les cookies