Artists
    Events
      EN
      FR
      Europe

      Europe

      Hard-rock with Swedish sauce
      Ecouter
      • Tour
      • About
      • Highlights
      • Testimonials
      • Archives

      Tour

      There is yet no show to display

      About

      About

      When the boys of Europe decided to rush headlong to conquer the continent, they didn't give up. It sounds good, it sounds loud: here, singles are the standard of FM. Better yet, they have become anthems of hard-rock !


      The Final Countdown is an anthem for a whole generation. But behind this single lies a prolific forest of hard-rock ballads, sometimes melancholy but always sublime. For these Swedes, from Upplands Väsby, a small suburb of Stockholm whose name seems unpronounceable, have left their mark on millions of hard-rock aficionados around the world. It's not surprising, so much the band, in the lineage of Deep Purple, Kiss and Led Zeppelin, set the i's on the i's from the start.

       
      Moreover, it didn't take him long to impose this good big sound. But this glorious past, out of question to be satisfied with it. Yes, Europe is still looking ahead. With their rocker jackets and scarves, these overexcited guys send us into the air with exceptional guitar solos that make Jimmy Page blush. They give us the edge with a beating rhythm, and they coax us with an Olympic voice of power and precision.

       
      In its own way, Europe, led by the wild seducer Joey Tempest, has crossed entire decades without a hitch. Today, the ardour and rage of these unleashed Swedes remain intact. Some would even say that they are more exhilarated than ever, as if, aware that life passes by at a crazy speed, it was their duty to give it their all at every moment. It hits hard, it shatters clean: these guys, with their golden technicality, have not finished making our ears tremble.

      Highlights

      1979

      Europe starts in Stockholm

      In the cold of Sweden, heavy metal lovers decide to embark on a crazy and beautiful adventure. After some slight line-up changes and artistic differences, the band sets off to conquer the world. They don't know it yet, but they're going to pull off one hell of a feat.

      1983
      Making a name for yourself, a priority

      Making a name for yourself, a priority

      Quickly, with the albums Europe (1983) and Wings of Tomorrow (1984), the band made a name for itself on the heavy metal scene. But they want to go even further, these madmen from Stockholm. It is with this in mind that they sign with Major EMI. They will then take an artistic turn that will break the house. It is from there that they will conquer the world !

      1991
      Time for a long break

      Time for a long break

      Tour fatigue, the pressure of albums: Europe decides to take a long break, which will last until the early 2000s. This break will have done them good, even giving them new ideas. But powerful hard-rock is still their sauce, and Start from the Dark (2003) is a little marvel.

      2017
      30 years later, still in shape

      30 years later, still in shape

      For his thirty-year career, Europe is giving himself a gift. He is taking a huge tour of Europe's most beautiful stadiums and halls. That year, in the legendary Abbey Road Studios, dear to the Beatles, they record a new record that does good: Walk the Earth. Once again, it's a great slap in the face.

      Testimonials

      • The fans speak
      • The inside view
      • Seen in the press

        The group is in good shape. Joey Tempest, true to himself, is doing the poses for the photographers. He plays the wild attitude for the fans, mimicking tearing his shirt in a bestial way or twirling his microphone stand between two big gaps. Charisma at its best and smiling like a melting glacier: what a great moment. 

        Guillaume, after a concert at the Arènes de Nîmes

        Europe, it's big sound that makes you feel good. But it is above all a legendary title that has surely allowed thousands of hard-rock lovers to dance like crazy, thousands of couples to form and a whole generation to choose an anthem for themselves. In short, this band is so crazy, so brilliant and so creative that you absolutely have to go and see it live.

        For the general public, it's only the band of a hit, intensely bludgeoned on the radio in 1986, The final countdown. But for its fans, and classic rock fans in general, Europe is much more than that: a band that, after a huge success three decades ago and then taking a long break, has come back stronger than ever at the beginning of the new millennium. 

        Le Parisien

      Archives

      2018
      2 concerts
      • 27 Sep
        Paris
        Le Trianon
      • 03 Oct
        Marseille
        LE CEPAC SILO
      See more
      gérard drouot productions uses cookies on this website. With your approval, we will use them to mesure and analyse your visit on the website (statistic cookies) to adapt it to your interests (customized cookies) and to provide you with relevant information (third party cookies). Customize

Artistes
    Événements
      FR
      EN
      Europe

      Europe

      Le hard-rock sauce suédoise
      Ecouter
      • Tournée
      • À propos
      • Les faits marquants
      • Témoignages
      • Archives

      Tournée

      Aucune date prévue

      À propos

      À propos

      Quand les boys d’Europe ont décidé de foncer têtes baissées pour conquérir le continent, ils ne se sont pas démontés. Ça sonne bien, ça sonne fort : ici, les singles font office de standards de la FM. Mieux, ils sont devenus des hymnes du hard-rock !

       

      The Final Countdown est un hymne pour toute une génération. Mais derrière ce single se cache une forêt prolifique de ballades hard-rock, parfois mélancoliques mais toujours sublimes. Car ces suédois, originaires de Upplands Väsby, petite banlieue de Stockholm dont le nom paraît imprononçable, ont marqué des millions d’aficionados de hard-rock à travers la planète. Rien d’étonnant, tant le groupe, dans la lignée de Deep Purple, de Kiss et de Led Zeppelin, a mis les points sur les i d’entrée de jeu.

       

      D’ailleurs, il ne lui aura pas fallu bien longtemps pour imposer ce bon gros son. Mais ce passé glorieux, hors de question de s’en contenter. Oui, Europe, encore maintenant, regarde vers l’avant. Avec leurs blousons de rockeurs et leurs foulards, ces gars survoltés nous envoient dans les airs avec des solos de guitare d’exception, à faire rougir Jimmy Page. Ils nous donnent la pêche avec une rythmique qui tabasse, et nous acoquinent avec une voix olympique de puissance et de précision.

       

      À sa façon, Europe, mené par le séducteur sauvage Joey Tempest, a traversé sans encombre des décennies entières. Aujourd’hui, la fougue et la rage de ces suédois déchainés restent intactes. Certains diront même qu’ils sont plus exaltés que jamais, comme si, conscients que la vie passe à une vitesse folle, il était de leur devoir de tout donner à chaque instant. Ça cogne sec, ça fracasse propre : ces mecs-là, à la technicité d’or, n’ont pas fini de faire trembler nos oreilles.

      Les faits marquants

      1979
      L’Europe, ça commence à Stockholm

      L’Europe, ça commence à Stockholm

      Dans le froid de la Suède, des amoureux de heavy metal décident de se lancer dans une folle et belle aventure. Après quelques légers changements de line-up et des divergences artistiques, le groupe se met en route pour conquérir le monde. Ils ne le savent pas encore, mais ils vont réussir un sacré coup de maître.

      1983
      Se faire un nom, une priorité

      Se faire un nom, une priorité

      Rapidement, avec les albums Europe (1983) et Wings of Tomorrow (1984), le groupe se fait un nom sur la scène du heavy metal. Mais ils veulent aller encore plus loin, ces fous-furieux de Stockholm. C’est dans cette optique qu’ils signent avec la major EMI. Ils vont alors prendre un tournant artistique qui va casser la baraque. C’est à partir de là qu’ils vont conquérir le monde !

      1991
      L’heure d’un long break

      L’heure d’un long break

      La fatigue des tournées, la pression des albums : Europe décide de s’accorder un long break, qui durera jusqu’au début des années 2000. Cette pause leur aura fait du bien, allant même jusqu’à leur donner de nouvelles idées. Mais le hard-rock puissant est toujours leur sauce, et Start from the Dark (2003) est une petite merveille.

      2017
      30 ans plus tard, toujours en forme

      30 ans plus tard, toujours en forme

      Pour ses trente ans de carrière, Europe se fait un cadeau. Il s’offre une énorme tournée des stades et des plus belles salles d’Europe. Cette année-là, dans les studios mythiques d’Abbey Road, chers aux Beatles, ils enregistrent un nouveau disque qui fait du bien : Walk the Earth. Encore une fois, c’est une belle claque.

      Témoignages

      • Le mot du spectateur
      • Notre équipe en parle
      • La presse en parle

        Le groupe est en forme. Joey Tempest, fidèle à lui-même, enchaîne les poses pour les photographes. Il joue la sauvage attitude pour les fans, mimant de déchirer sa chemise de manière bestiale ou faisant tournoyer son pied de micro entre deux grands écarts. Charisme à son maximum et sourire à faire fondre un glacier : quel grand moment.

        Guillaume, après un concert aux Arènes de Nîmes

        Europe, c’est du gros son qui fait du bien. Mais c’est surtout un titre de légende qui a sûrement permis à des milliers d’amoureux de hard-rock de danser comme des fous, à des milliers de couples de se former et à toute une génération de se choisir un hymne. Bref, ce groupe, il faut absolument aller le voir en concert, tant il est fou, génial et créatif.

         

        Pour le grand public, ce n'est que le groupe d'un tube, intensément matraqué à la radio en 1986, The final countdown. Mais pour ses fans, et les amateurs de classic rock en général, Europe est bien plus que cela : une formation qui, après avoir connu un immense succès il y a trois décennies, et pris ensuite une longue pause, est revenu plus forte que jamais au début du nouveau millénaire.

        Le Parisien

      Archives

      2018
      2 concerts
      • 27 sept.
        Paris
        Le Trianon
      • 03 oct.
        Marseille
        LE CEPAC SILO
      Afficher plus
      gérard drouot productions utilise des cookies sur ce site. Avec votre consentement, nous les utiliserons pour mesurer et analyser l'utilisation du site (cookies analytiques), pour l'adapter à vos intérêts (cookies de personnalisation) et pour vous présenter des publicités et des informations pertinentes (cookies de ciblage). Gérer les cookies