Artists
    Events
      EN
      FR
      Ennio Morricone

      Ennio Morricone

      Mæstro of modern times
      Ecouter
      • Tour
      • About
      • Highlights
      • Testimonials
      • Archives

      Tour

      There is yet no show to display

      About

      About
      Copyright Pierre Hennequin

      Ennio Morricone's score is unclassifiable. This virtuoso with a strong character, an avant-garde and audacious composer, revolutionised the seventh art with imperial and unexpected orchestrations. His life, his works: the most energetic Mæstro breathes for music.


      "I will work until death, and afterwards I will rest". That's the way he was, Ennio Morricone. An insatiable explorer of new territories, the Mæstro wrote his life to the frantic rhythm of his compositions. With him, the images take on another dimension, finely expressing unsuspected emotions. The heartbeat accelerates. The eyes get soaked. Ennio Morricone, a prolific and rigorous genius, knows how to sculpt scores to make hearts shiver.

       
      No, Ennio Morricone's work is not just about cowboys conquering the west. Moreover, there is no point in barbering it with Sergio Leone or daring to make any reference to the Spaghetti Western : you would be in danger of getting a beautiful flight of green wood with an Italian accent. For if the Mæstro hates so much to dwell on these subjects, it is because his creativity with a thousand nuances has completely turned the world of cinema upside down, far beyond the inevitable The Good, the Bad and the Ugly.
       


      His work is unclassifiable, escaping with force from the guns of the Far West to be on first-name terms with the sublime and to destroy all artistic borders. The King of Trastevere, the colourful district of Rome, the major composer of his century, thus plays on his intuition to break the codes with inventiveness, rigour and abundance. Behind his dark glasses, as strict as a man, Ennio Morricone does not stop at anything. This trumpet player, who has collaborated with the greatest, from Quentin Tarantino to John Carpenter, unreservedly challenges melodies, rhythms and images to brilliantly bring forth treasures of orchestration beyond convention.

      Highlights

      1957

      Before the first acts of glory

      Just married to Maria Travia, who will accompany him throughout his career, the young Ennio Morricone makes arrangements for RAI. He gradually turned to film music, and let himself be tempted by some surprising collaborations, such as with Mireille Mathieu or Milva.

      1964

      For a handful of dollars

      C’est sa première collaboration avec Sergio Leone, son ami d’enfance, qu’il côtoyait sur les bancs de l’école, à Rome. À cette occasion, le compositeur italien joue avec les bruits de la ville, les sons de la nature et les instruments pour donner vie à une bande originale d’une finesse absolue. C’était écrit d’avance : le film, Pour une poignée de dollars, rencontre un succès fou.

      1966
      Copyright Jelmer de Haas

      The Good, the Bad and the Ugly

      This is Sergio Leone's major work, and one of the key moments in Ennio Morricone's career: The Good, the Bad and the Ugly. By creating a perfect symbiosis between music and image, the geniuses of the Trastevere district upset the world of cinema, with an Italian-style western, led by the intrepid Clint Eastwood.

      1979
      Copyright Jelmer de Haas

      First Oscar nomination

      In his characteristic style, Terrence Malick presents his second film, The Harvest from the Sky. He calls upon the Italian to imagine the musical universe. Here again, Ennio Morricone's composition stands out. For the first time in his career, the Roman is nominated for the Oscar for Best Film Music. He is also a winner of the British Academy Film Awards.

      1987

      His first Golden Globes Award

      This is a prized award in the film world: for Ennio Morricone, the third nomination will be the right one. The Italian composer won a Golden Globes Award for the music to the film Mission, by director Roland Joffré. The following year he won a Grammy Award for his participation in Brian De Palma's The Untouchables.

      2007

      The cinema says thank you

      There are great rewards for thanking great artists. That year Ennio Morricone was awarded an Oscar of honour for his entire career. This distinction demonstrates, once again, how profoundly the Italian composer has changed the world of cinema.

      2016

      The Oscar, here at last!

      It took almost forty years between his first nomination and his first real Oscar distinction. It's done: Ennio Morricone has definitively marked the History of Cinema, with the Oscar for Best Film Score for the film The Eight Bastards by Quentin Tarantino. "There is no great music without a great film", he declared, humbly.

      2018

      The Maestro's farewell

      At the age of 90, the conductor invests Bercy one last time for a last concert of anthology. Two hours at the side of the Czech National Symphony Orchestra to thrill an audience acquired with some of his greatest successes. This undisputed master will indeed have worked until his death, as he will die on 6 July 2020, leaving the world of cinema orphaned by one of its greatest artists.

      Testimonials

      • The fans speak
      • The inside view
      • Seen in the press

        I'm 53 years old and I've been waiting for this concert by Ennio Morricone for at least forty years! The master was there, and the beautiful and fantastic soprano. The show was a success, we were transported from beginning to end. We even have the right to three encores, and the conductor can't manage to leave the stage. 

        Philippe, after the performance at Bercy

        Ennio Morricone is an outstanding composer, known throughout the world and recognised by his peers. In one career, he has completely reinvented film music. So imagine when Ennio Morricone appears before you, with an army of exceptionally talented musicians. It's always a great moment! We are so proud to have contributed to the tours of this modern-day Mæstro.

        Its name alone symbolises the golden age of the soundtrack. Ennio Morricone was so successful in revolutionising this shadowy discipline that his popularity with the general public far outstrips that of his colleagues. 
         
        When the lights come back on and Morricone rises, it is a new standing ovation; when he crosses the hall of the Cinémathèque, he is applauded by a double hurdle of honour. Fans rush to get autographs. The Morricone-mania is always lively. 

        Télérama

      Archives

      2018
      2 concerts
      • 23 Jun
        Nimes
        Festival de Nimes
      • 23 Nov
        Paris
        Accor Arena
      2017
      1 concert
      • 21 Sep
        Paris
        Accor Arena
      2016
      2 concerts
      • 27 May
        Paris
        Palais des Congrès
      • 24 Sep
        Paris
        Palais des Congrès
      2015
      6 concerts
      • 12 Mar
        Nice
        Palais Nikaïa
      • 14 Mar
        Toulouse
        Zénith Toulouse Métropole
      • 16 Mar
        Saint-Herblain
        Zénith Nantes Métropole
      • 18 Mar
        Lyon
        Halle Tony Garnier
      • 20 Mar
        Strasbourg
        Zénith Europe
      • 22 Mar
        Lille
        Zénith Arena
      2014
      2 concerts
      • 04 Feb
        Paris
        Accor Arena
      • 05 Jul
        Nîmes
        Arènes de Nîmes
      See more
      gérard drouot productions uses cookies on this website. With your approval, we will use them to mesure and analyse your visit on the website (statistic cookies) to adapt it to your interests (customized cookies) and to provide you with relevant information (third party cookies). Customize

Artistes
    Événements
      FR
      EN
      Ennio Morricone

      Ennio Morricone

      Mæstro des temps modernes
      Ecouter
      • À propos
      • Les faits marquants
      • Témoignages
      • Archives

      À propos

      À propos
      © Pierre Hennequin

      La partition d’Ennio Morricone est inclassable. Ce virtuose au caractère bien trempé, compositeur avant-gardiste et audacieux, a révolutionné le septième art par des orchestrations impériales et inattendues. Sa vie, ses œuvres : le plus énervé des mæstros respire pour la musique.

       

      « Je travaillerai jusqu’à la mort, et après, je me reposerai ». Il était comme ça, Ennio Morricone. Explorateur insatiable de nouveaux territoires, le Mæstro écrit sa vie au rythme effréné de ses compositions. Avec lui, les images prennent une autre dimension, extériorisant avec finesse des émotions insoupçonnées. Le rythme cardiaque s’accélère. Les yeux se trempent. Ennio Morricone, génie prolifique et rigoureux, sait sculpter les partitions pour faire frissonner les cœurs.

       

      Non, l’œuvre d’Ennio Morricone ne se résume pas à une histoire de cowboys à la conquête de l’ouest. D’ailleurs, inutile de le barber avec Sergio Léone ou d’oser toute référence au Western Spaghetti : vous risqueriez de vous prendre une belle envolée de bois vert à l’accent italien. Car si le Mæstro déteste tant s’attarder sur ces sujets, c’est que sa créativité aux mille nuances a complètement renversé le monde du cinéma, bien au-delà de l’incontournable Le Bon, la Brute et le Truand.

       

      Son œuvre est inclassable, s’échappant avec force des flingues du Far West pour tutoyer le sublime et anéantir toute frontière artistique. Le roi de Trastevere, le quartier coloré de Rome, compositeur majeur de son siècle, joue ainsi de son intuition pour casser les codes avec inventivité, rigueur et abondance. Derrière ses lunettes noires, strictes comme l’homme, Ennio Morricone ne recule devant rien. Ce trompettiste de formation, qui a collaboré avec les plus grands, de Quentin Tarantino à John Carpenter, challenge sans réserve les mélodies, les rythmes et les images pour faire naître avec brio des trésors d’orchestration hors des conventions.

      Les faits marquants

      1957

      Avant les premiers faits de gloire

      Tout juste marié avec Maria Travia, qui l’accompagnera tout au long de sa carrière, le jeune Ennio Morricone fait des arrangements pour la RAI. Il se tourne progressivement vers la musique de film, et se laisse tenter par quelques collaborations surprenantes, comme avec Mireille Mathieu ou Milva.

      1964
      Pour une poignée de dollars

      Pour une poignée de dollars

      C’est sa première collaboration avec Sergio Leone, son ami d’enfance, qu’il côtoyait sur les bancs de l’école, à Rome. À cette occasion, le compositeur italien joue avec les bruits de la ville, les sons de la nature et les instruments pour donner vie à une bande originale d’une finesse absolue. C’était écrit d’avance : le film Pour une poignée de dollars, rencontre un succès fou.

      1966
      Le Bon, la Brute et le Truand

      Le Bon, la Brute et le Truand

      C’est l’œuvre majeure de Sergio Leone, et l’un des moments-clés de la carrière d’Ennio Morricone : Le Bon, la Brute et le Truand. En créant une symbiose parfaite entre la musique et l’image, les génies du quartier de Trastevere bouleversent le monde du cinéma, avec un western à l’italienne rondement mené par l’intrépide Clint Eastwood.

      1979
      Première nomination aux Oscars

      Première nomination aux Oscars

      Dans son style caractéristique, Terrence Malick présente son deuxième film, intitulé Les Moissons du ciel. Il fait appel à l’Italien pour imaginer l’univers musical. Là encore, la composition d’Ennio Morricone se fait remarquer. Pour la première fois de sa carrière, le romain est nommé pour l’Oscar de la meilleure musique de film. Il est également lauréat des British Academy Film Awards.

      1987
      Son premier Golden Globes Award

      Son premier Golden Globes Award

      C’est une récompense prisée dans le milieu du cinéma : pour Ennio Morricone, la troisième nomination sera la bonne. Le compositeur italien obtient un Golden Globes Award pour la musique du film Mission, du réalisateur Roland Joffré. L’année suivante, il obtiendra un Grammy Award pour sa participation au film Les Incorruptibles de Brian De Palma.

      2007
      Le cinéma lui dit merci

      Le cinéma lui dit merci

      Il existe de grandes récompenses pour remercier de grands artistes. Cette année-là, Ennio Morricone obtient un Oscar d’honneur pour l’ensemble de sa carrière. Cette distinction démontre, une fois de plus, à quel point le compositeur italien a changé en profondeur le monde du cinéma.

      2016
      L’Oscar, enfin là !

      L’Oscar, enfin là !

      Il aura fallu attendre près de quarante ans entre sa première nomination et sa première réelle distinction aux Oscars. C’est fait : Ennio Morricone marque définitivement l’Histoire du cinéma, avec l’Oscar de la meilleure musique de film, à l’occasion du film Les Huit Salopards de Quentin Tarantino. « Il n’existe pas de grande musique sans grand film », déclarera-t-il, avec humilité.

       

      2018
      Les adieux du Maestro

      Les adieux du Maestro

      A 90 ans, le chef d’orchestre investit une dernière fois Bercy pour un concert d’anthologie. Deux heures aux côtés de l’Orchestre Symphonique National Tchèque pour faire frissonner un public acquis avec quelques-uns de ses plus grands succès. Ce maître incontesté aura effectivement travaillé jusqu’à sa mort puisqu’il s’éteindra le 6 juillet 2020, laissant le monde du cinéma orphelin de l’un de ses plus grands artistes. 

      Témoignages

      • Le mot du spectateur
      • Notre équipe en parle
      • La presse en parle

        J'ai 53 ans et j'attendais ce concert d'Ennio Morricone depuis quarante ans au moins ! Le maître était au rendez-vous. Le spectacle est une réussite, on est transporté de bout en bout. On a même le droit à trois rappels, et le chef d'orchestre n'arrive pas à quitter la scène.

        Philippe, après la représentation à Bercy

        Ennio Morricone est un compositeur hors-norme, connu dans le monde entier et reconnu par ses pairs. En une carrière, il a complètement réinventé la musique de film. Alors, imaginez quand Ennio Morricone se présente devant vous, avec une armée de musiciens au talent exceptionnel. C’est toujours un grand moment ! Nous sommes tellement fiers d’avoir contribué aux tournées de ce Mæstro des temps modernes.

         

        Son nom symbolise à lui seul l’âge d’or de la bande originale. Ennio Morricone a si bien su révolutionner cette discipline de l’ombre que, auprès du grand public, sa popularité dépasse de beaucoup celle de ses confrères. 

         

        Quand les lumières se rallument et que Morricone se lève, c’est une nouvelle standing ovation ; quand il traverse le hall de la Cinémathèque, il est applaudi par une double haie d’honneur. Des fans se précipitent pour obtenir des autographes. La Morricone-mania est toujours vive. 

        Télérama

      Archives

      2018
      2 concerts
      • 23 juin
        Nimes
        Festival de Nimes
      • 23 nov.
        Paris
        Accor Arena
      2017
      1 concert
      • 21 sept.
        Paris
        Accor Arena
      2016
      2 concerts
      • 27 mai
        Paris
        Palais des Congrès
      • 24 sept.
        Paris
        Palais des Congrès
      2015
      6 concerts
      • 12 mars
        Nice
        Palais Nikaïa
      • 14 mars
        Toulouse
        Zénith Toulouse Métropole
      • 16 mars
        Saint-Herblain
        Zénith Nantes Métropole
      • 18 mars
        Lyon
        Halle Tony Garnier
      • 20 mars
        Strasbourg
        Zénith Europe
      • 22 mars
        Lille
        Zénith Arena
      2014
      2 concerts
      • 04 févr.
        Paris
        Accor Arena
      • 05 juil.
        Nîmes
        Arènes de Nîmes
      Afficher plus
      gérard drouot productions utilise des cookies sur ce site. Avec votre consentement, nous les utiliserons pour mesurer et analyser l'utilisation du site (cookies analytiques), pour l'adapter à vos intérêts (cookies de personnalisation) et pour vous présenter des publicités et des informations pertinentes (cookies de ciblage). Gérer les cookies