Artists
    Events
      EN
      FR
      Charles Aznavour

      Charles Aznavour

      Undisputed ambassador of French song
      Ecouter
      • Tour
      • About
      • Highlights
      • Testimonials
      • Archives

      Tour

      There is yet no show to display

      About

      About
      Copyright Pierre Hennequin

      A career as long as a lifetime for an artist who has left his mark on French song. Charles Aznavour is revolutionary! But he swapped paving stones for paper, slogans for a sharp pen. Untiringly, he tells the "real life", the one that never appears in other people's songs, based on cigarettes after love, crumpled stockings and complex feelings.


      Popular poetry and unvarnished lyrics, against the tide of the rose-water crooners of the time. Combined with a voice that is hoarse, veiled, sometimes out of breath and a rather banal physique, Charles Aznavour knows that nothing will be easy. But he persists and signs, always thinking that the text has more value than the rhythm, and that it is through his words that he can touch something timeless and universal in his audience.

       
      The path will be sinuous but will never frighten this workaholic in his eternal quest for recognition. With hard work and a touch of luck, he finally reaches glory by singing, ironically, Je m’voyais déjà. And at the top of the bill, he will remain there until his death, carrying even his vision of France - a mixed race, a welcoming land, in fragile balance with multiple influences - throughout the world.

       
      In the spotlight, that is where he belongs. From the smallest halls to the most famous stages, he sings in nine different languages from Tokyo to Paris, telling nostalgic stories or subtly awakening the consciences of a now-acquired audience. At the age of 94, the man who had become a monument to French chanson still had a multitude of dates planned when he passed away. Singing until his last breath, he did not die on stage, but just as well.

      Highlights

      1946

      A decisive encounter with La Môme

      Little Charles knew that he wanted to be an artist very early on. He found his stage name, Aznavour, when he was only nine years old and immediately wanted to go "beyond the easy ditty", like Trenet before him. At the age of 17, he formed a duo with Pierre Roche and it was while taking part in a radio programme that his luck ran out. There he met La Môme, Edith Piaf herself, who took him under her wing for almost eight years.

      1955
      Copyright Pierre Hennequin

      The whipping boy of critics

      A talented poet, Aznavour writes for others as well as for himself. This brings him a certain notoriety but above all a flood of criticism. His physique, his gestures, his veiled and nasal voice, everything is subject to mockery, the press willingly describing him as "little man, little singer", even "Quasimodo". About this period, Aznavour will say: "If I have managed to be someone, it is thanks to seventeen years of hard work, struggles, misery and discouragement".

      1960

      The miracle at the Alhambra

      If success comes in the bins, Charles Aznavour still doesn't seduce in concert. That evening in 1960, he tried his hand at everything and performed for the first time Je m'voyais déjà, in a staging with his back to the audience, which had given him a cold reception. Being ready to hang up, he was then taken by a thunderous applause. At 36 years of age, it was the beginning of glory!

      1973

      Conquering the world

      The sixties were the years of triumph for the singer who multiplied his successes: Hier Encore, La Bohème, Emmenez-moi and even Retiens la nuit, which he wrote for Johnny Hallyday. But the insatiable artist was determined to conquer the planet. In 1973, he released the title The old fashioned way, followed by She, which brought him his greatest success in the United Kingdom. He ranked number 1 in sales there, as well as 44th in the American Billboard charts.

      1988

      Committed to Armenia

      The dramatic earthquake in Armenia, his parents' home country, deeply affects the singer. From then on, he never ceased to support the Armenians through his foundation but also with Pour toi Arménie, a song in collaboration with more than 80 artists that reached the top of the charts.

      2006

      From farewell tour to farewell tour

      In the 2000s, Charles Aznavour continued to travel the world, announcing several farewell tours, notably to the American continent, before returning there in force. In 2010, he said: "Do you like stagnant waters? Me, no, it smells bad! I have to move. It's dangerous not to do anything, the pensioners are dying". In 2017, Gérard and Matthieu Drouot produce the last concert of this legend at the AccordHotels Arena. The maestro did not finally stop until his death.

      Testimonials

      • The fans speak
      • The inside view
      • Seen in the press

        A very big Charles tonight! Without a big head, without false modesty, this maestro of French chanson takes us back to his classics: La Bohème, Mes Emmerdes, Emmenez-moi, etc. For two hours, this great man shows that he always sings right and with incredible class, accompanied by the best musicians. 

        Paul, after a concert at the Dôme de Marseille

        We are honoured to have accompanied the mythical Charles Aznavour in his passage among men. A man of the stage above all, his concerts were always sold-out events. As the voice of French song from the four corners of the globe, a music lover of genius, his lyrics, authentic, inspiring, generous or nostalgic, will, like him, remain firmly anchored in the hearts of the French.

        Aznavour quickly demonstrated all his talent with one of his masterpieces, "His Youth". After reciting it, he sings it, accompanied on the piano. And then demonstrates all his genius, with this unique way of embodying, eyes and fists closed, forgetting his tremors and the prompter, penetrated by the nostalgia of his 20 years. 

         
        As a true patron of French song, Charles Aznavour is going to recall with brilliant and divinely written songs how much of a monument he is. 

        Le Point. - Paris Match

      Archives

      2018
      6 concerts
      • 20 Jan
        Lyon
        Halle Tony Garnier
      • 23 Jan
        Marseille
        Le Dôme
      • 27 Jan
        BORDEAUX
        Arkéa Arena
      • 30 Jan
        Toulouse
        Zénith Toulouse Métropole
      • 03 Feb
        Nantes
        Zénith Métropole
      • 06 Feb
        Lille
        Zénith Arena
      2017
      1 concert
      • 13 Dec
        Paris
        Accor Arena
      2004
      1 concert
      • 06 Nov
        Amneville
        Le Galaxie
      2001
      3 concerts
      • 02 Feb
        Montpellier
        Sud de France Arena
      • 05 Feb
        Marseille
        Le Dôme
      • 28 Feb
        Strasbourg
        Palais des Congrès
      See more
      gérard drouot productions uses cookies on this website. With your approval, we will use them to mesure and analyse your visit on the website (statistic cookies) to adapt it to your interests (customized cookies) and to provide you with relevant information (third party cookies). Customize

Artistes
    Événements
      FR
      EN
      Charles Aznavour

      Charles Aznavour

      Ambassadeur incontesté de la chanson française
      Ecouter
      • À propos
      • Les faits marquants
      • Témoignages
      • Archives

      À propos

      À propos
      © Pierre Hennequin

      Une carrière aussi longue qu’une vie pour un artiste qui aura marqué de son empreinte la chanson française. Révolutionnaire, Charles Aznavour l’est ! Mais il a troqué les pavés contre du papier, les slogans contre une plume bien affûtée. Inlassablement, il raconte la « vraie vie », celle qui n’apparaît jamais dans les chansons des autres, à base de clopes après l’amour, de bas chiffonnés et de sentiments complexes.

       

      Une poésie populaire et des textes sans fard, à contre-courant de ce que font les crooners à l’eau de rose de l’époque. Associée à une voix éraillée, voilée, qui manque parfois de souffle et à un physique plutôt banal, Charles Aznavour sait que rien ne sera facile. Mais il persiste et signe, pensant depuis toujours que le texte a plus de valeur que le rythme, et que c’est à travers ses mots qu’il peut toucher quelque chose d’intemporel et d’universel chez son public.

       

      Le chemin sera sinueux mais n’effraiera jamais ce bourreau de travail, en quête éternelle de reconnaissance. A force de labeur et avec un soupçon de chance, il accède enfin à la gloire en chantant, ironie du sort, Je m’voyais déjà. Et en haut de l’affiche, il y restera jusqu’à sa mort, portant même sa vision de la France - métissée, terre d’accueil, en fragile équilibre sur des influences multiples – à travers le monde.

       

      Sous les projecteurs, c’est là qu’est sa place. Des plus petites salles aux scènes les plus renommées, il chante en neuf langues différentes de Tokyo à Paris, racontant des histoires nostalgiques ou éveillant subtilement les consciences d’un public désormais acquis. A 94 ans, celui qui était devenu un monument de la chanson française avait encore une multitude de dates prévues quand il s’est éteint. Chantant jusqu’à son dernier souffle, il n’est pas mort sur scène, mais c’est tout comme.

       

      Les faits marquants

      1946
      Une rencontre déterminante avec La Môme
      © Pierre Hennequin

      Une rencontre déterminante avec La Môme

      Le petit Charles a su qu’il voulait être artiste très tôt. Il a trouvé son nom de scène, Aznavour, à seulement neuf ans et veut d’emblée aller « au-delà de la chansonnette facile », comme Trenet avant lui. A 17 ans, il forme avec Pierre Roche un duo et c’est en participant à une émission de radio que la chance lui tombe dessus. Il y rencontre La Môme, Edith Piaf en personne, qui le prendra sous son aile pendant près de huit ans.

      1955
      Le souffre-douleur des critiques
      © Pierre Hennequin

      Le souffre-douleur des critiques

      Poète de talent, Aznavour écrit pour les autres autant que pour lui-même. Ce qui lui apporte une certaine notoriété mais surtout une déferlante de critiques. Son physique, sa gestuelle, sa voix voilée et nasillarde, tout est sujet à moqueries, la presse le qualifiant volontiers de « petit homme, petit chanteur », voire de « Quasimodo ». A propos de cette période, Aznavour dira : « si je suis arrivé à être quelqu'un, c'est grâce à dix-sept ans de travail acharné, de luttes, de misère et de découragement ».

       

      1960

      Le miracle à l’Alhambra

      Si le succès arrive dans les bacs, Charles Aznavour ne séduit toujours pas en concert. Ce soir de 1960, il tente le tout pour le tout et interprète pour la première fois Je m’voyais déjà, dans une mise en scène dos au public, qui l’avait accueilli froidement. Étant prêt à raccrocher, il est alors pris par un tonnerre d’applaudissements. A 36 ans, c’est le début de la gloire !

      1973
      A la conquête du monde
      © Pierre Hennequin

      A la conquête du monde

      Les années 60 seront celles du triomphe pour le chanteur qui multiplie les succès : Hier Encore, La Bohème, Emmenez-moi et même Retiens la nuit qu’il a écrit pour Johnny Hallyday. Mais l’insatiable artiste compte bien conquérir la planète. Il sort en 1973 le titre The old fashioned way, suivi de She qui lui apportera son plus grand succès au Royaume-Uni. Il s’y classe numéro 1 des ventes, ainsi qu’à la 44ème place du Billboard américain.

      1988

      Engagé pour l’Arménie

      Le dramatique tremblement de terre qui touche l’Arménie, le pays d’origine de ses parents, touche profondément le chanteur. A partir de cette date, il n’aura de cesse d’apporter son soutien aux arméniens à travers sa fondation mais également avec Pour toi Arménie, un titre en collaboration avec plus de 80 artistes qui trustera le sommet des hit-parades.

       

      2006
      De tournées d’adieu en tournées d’adieu

      De tournées d’adieu en tournées d’adieu

      Dans les années 2000, Charles Aznavour continue de parcourir le monde, annonçant plusieurs fois des tournées d’adieu, notamment au continent américain, avant d’y revenir en force. En 2010, il disait : « Vous aimez les eaux stagnantes, vous ? Moi, non, ça sent mauvais ! Il faut que je bouge. C'est dangereux de ne rien faire, les retraités meurent ». En 2017, Gérard et Matthieu Drouot produisent le dernier concert de cette légende à l’AccordHotels Arena. Le maestro ne se sera finalement arrêté qu’à sa mort.

      Témoignages

      • Le mot du spectateur
      • Notre équipe en parle
      • La presse en parle

        Du très grand Charles ce soir ! Sans grosse tête, sans fausse modestie, ce maestro de la chanson française nous replonge dans ses classiques : La Bohème, Mes Emmerdes, Emmenez-moi, etc. Pendant deux heures, ce grand monsieur montre qu’il chante toujours juste et avec une classe incroyable, accompagné des meilleurs musiciens. 

        Paul, après un concert au Dôme de Marseille

        Nous sommes honorés d’avoir accompagné le mythe Charles Aznavour dans son passage parmi les hommes. Homme de scène avant tout, ses concerts étaient toujours des événements se jouant à guichets fermés. Voix de la chanson française aux quatre coins du globe, mélomane de génie, ses paroles, authentiques, inspirantes, généreuses ou nostalgiques, resteront, tout comme lui, bien ancrées dans le cœur des français.

        Rapidement, Aznavour fait la démonstration de tout son talent, avec un de ses chefs-d'œuvre, « Sa jeunesse ». Après l'avoir récitée, il la chante, accompagné au piano. Et fait alors la démonstration de tout son génie, avec cette façon unique d'incarner, yeux et poings fermés, oubliant ses tremblements et le prompteur, pénétré par la nostalgie de ses 20 ans.

         

        En véritable patron de la chanson française, Charles Aznavour va rappeler à coup de chansons brillantes et divinement écrites combien il est un monument.

        Le Point - Paris Match

      Archives

      2018
      6 concerts
      • 20 janv.
        Lyon
        Halle Tony Garnier
      • 23 janv.
        Marseille
        Le Dôme
      • 27 janv.
        BORDEAUX
        Arkéa Arena
      • 30 janv.
        Toulouse
        Zénith Toulouse Métropole
      • 03 févr.
        Nantes
        Zénith Métropole
      • 06 févr.
        Lille
        Zénith Arena
      2017
      1 concert
      • 13 déc.
        Paris
        Accor Arena
      2004
      1 concert
      • 06 nov.
        Amneville
        Le Galaxie
      2001
      3 concerts
      • 02 févr.
        Montpellier
        Sud de France Arena
      • 05 févr.
        Marseille
        Le Dôme
      • 28 févr.
        Strasbourg
        Palais des Congrès
      Afficher plus
      gérard drouot productions utilise des cookies sur ce site. Avec votre consentement, nous les utiliserons pour mesurer et analyser l'utilisation du site (cookies analytiques), pour l'adapter à vos intérêts (cookies de personnalisation) et pour vous présenter des publicités et des informations pertinentes (cookies de ciblage). Gérer les cookies