Artists
    Events
      EN
      FR
      Alanis Morissette

      Alanis Morissette

      Rock on the skin
      Ecouter
      • Tour
      • About
      • Highlights
      • Testimonials
      • Archives

      Tour

      There is yet no show to display

      About

      About

      Alanis Morissette is sensitivity and belly rage that meet in an explosive rock mix. Since the 90s and her album Jagged Little Pill, she has been bewildering with her authenticity and the sincerity of her lyrics. To listen to Alanis Morissette is to plunge into the torments of a soul with universal questions, "to explore in an unwavering way emotions so common that most people would be ashamed to express them".
       
      Her hoarse voice and vocal power were destined for rock, yet the young woman had to show boldness and character to find her way. It was after two albums under a pseudonym that she radically changed her path, preferring guitar riffs to the dancing pop that opened the doors to success. For Louis Bellavance, "she was ready to turn her back on a commercial success in order to be held in high esteem". A risky gamble in a rather masculine environment but which paid off for this rocker who is now a reference worldwide.
       
      And if Alanis Morissette provokes so many emotions, it is because she dares to talk about everything. From domestic violence to her frustrations or love failures in her first album, to drug or alcohol addictions in her more recent songs. These are often dark or taboo subjects that she takes to heart. In her interviews, she also talks openly about her post-partum depression or sexual assaults in the music industry following the MeToo movement.
       
      The woman who was talking to teenagers 25 years ago has changed, matured, grown up, but without ever losing that cheeky flame, that soft emotionalism and dancing energy that still makes her successful.

      Highlights

      1983

      Precocious artist

      There are people who have an innate talent. This is the case of Alanis Morissette who, at the age when one barely leaves the sandbox, wrote her first song under the encouragement of her parents. Little Alanis has a lot of ideas since, with the money she earns by hosting a children's television show, she records this song on her first album. The birth of a star!

      1995

      A little explosive pill

      After a few musical wanderings in Canada, Alanis Morissette settled in Los Angeles. There she met Glen Ballard. Between the producer and the singer, it was love at first sight. They immediately set to work, Glen grabbing the guitar while Alanis improvised the lyrics. Legend has it that the song Perfect was written in just 20 minutes. The result was the album Jagged Little Pill, which remains the artist's biggest commercial success to date, selling over 30 million copies. Critically acclaimed Rolling Stones magazine describes an album "close to perfection" where Alanis Morissette "uses her sober voice to navigate through the emotional wreckage of her youth with enough heart and writing quality to thrill countless listeners".

      1999

      Alanis is a screenwriter

      Just before the 2000s, the singer appears where you wouldn't expect her to by launching herself into the cinema. She landed a role in Dogma and appeared in Sex and The City. On the music side, she shows once again that she's not shy with the Grammy Award-winning video clip of Thank U. She appears naked to show that being vulnerable is also a strength, provoking a little controversy along the way.

      2020

      A comeback for the rock prodigy girl

      After eight years away from the music scene, the singer finally releases Such Pretty Forks in the Road, a new album whose single Reasons I Drink is, as usual, fierce and full of passion. A raw, ineffectual voice and a haunting lyric that strikes with its invigorating energy.

      Testimonials

      • The fans speak
      • The inside view
      • Seen in the press

        Hallucinating will be the word of the evening. Alanis Morissette literally sent me into another world. A spectacular voice and unbridled musicians for this artist that I have been listening to over and over for years. After a few missed appointments, I'm happy to have waited so long for all the emotions I felt tonight. 

        Arthur, after a concert at the Théâtre de Plein Air in Colmar

        Alanis Morissette is certainly one of the precursors when it comes to rock music for women. Her communicative energy, her overflowing sensitivity, her intimate lyrics and her touch of impertinence always make her concerts a moment full of vitality, warm and dancing.

         Contrary to some of her favourite subjects and dark lyrics, Alanis Morissette charms the audience with her playfulness, making fun of her Canadian origins or the fact that she hears nothing of what the crowd is trying to tell her. She is clearly no longer the anguished young woman who wrote "Jagged Little Pill", although judging by the pieces chosen for her concert, the audience definitely needed a dose of nostalgia. 

        Variety

      Archives

      2012
      5 concerts
      • 30 Jun
        Paris
        Le Zénith
      • 03 Jul
        Lyon
        Halle Tony Garnier
      • 04 Jul
        Strasbourg
        Zénith Europe
      • 06 Jul
        Grand-Quevilly
        Zénith de Rouen
      • 26 Nov
        Paris
        L'Olympia
      2008
      1 concert
      • 09 Aug
        Colmar
        La Foire aux Vins
      2004
      2 concerts
      • 27 Jun
        Nice
        Palais Nikaïa
      • 28 Jun
        Lyon
        Halle Tony Garnier
      2003
      1 concert
      • 22 Jul
        Nîmes
        Arènes de Nîmes
      See more
      gérard drouot productions uses cookies on this website. With your approval, we will use them to mesure and analyse your visit on the website (statistic cookies) to adapt it to your interests (customized cookies) and to provide you with relevant information (third party cookies). Customize

Artistes
    Événements
      FR
      EN
      Alanis Morissette

      Alanis Morissette

      Le rock à fleur de peau
      Ecouter
      • Tournée
      • À propos
      • Les faits marquants
      • Témoignages
      • Archives

      Tournée

      Aucune date prévue

      À propos

      À propos

      Alanis Morissette, c’est la sensibilité et la rage au ventre qui se rencontrent dans un mélange rock détonant. Depuis les années 90 et son album Jagged Little Pill, elle désarçonne par son authenticité et la sincérité de ses textes. Écouter Alanis Morissette, c’est plonger dans les tourments d’une âme aux questionnements universels, « explorer de façon inébranlable des émotions si communes que la plupart des gens auraient honte de les exprimer ».

       

      Sa voix rauque et sa puissance vocale étaient destinées au rock et pourtant, la jeune femme a dû faire preuve d’audace et de caractère pour trouver sa voie. C’est après deux albums sous un pseudonyme qu’elle change radicalement de route, préférant les riffs de guitare à la pop dansante qui lui ouvrait les portes du succès. Pour Louis Bellavance, « elle était prête à tourner le dos à un succès commercial pour avoir un succès d’estime ». Un pari risqué dans un milieu plutôt masculin mais qui a payé pour cette rockeuse qui fait désormais référence dans le monde entier.

       

      Et si Alanis Morissette provoque tant d’émotions, c’est qu’elle ose parler de tout. Des violences conjugales à ses frustrations ou ses échecs amoureux dans son premier album, aux addictions aux drogues ou à l’alcool dans ses titres plus récents. Des sujets souvent sombres ou tabous qu’elle prend à bras le corps. Y compris dans ses interviews où elle aborde sans fard ses dépressions post-partums ou les agressions sexuelles dans l’industrie de la musique suite au mouvement MeToo.

       

      Celle qui parlait aux adolescents il y a 25 ans a donc bien changé, mûri, grandi, mais sans jamais perdre cette flamme insolente, cette douce émotivité et cette énergie dansante qui font toujours son succès.

      Les faits marquants

      1983
      Artiste précoce

      Artiste précoce

      Il y a des personnes qui ont un talent inné. C’est le cas d’Alanis Morissette qui, à l’âge où l’on sort à peine des bacs à sable, écrit sa première chanson sous les encouragements de ses parents. La petite Alanis a de la suite dans les idées puisqu’avec l’argent qu’elle gagne en animant une émission de télévision jeunesse, elle enregistre ce titre sur son premier album. La naissance d’une star !

      1995
      Une petite pilule explosive

      Une petite pilule explosive

      Après quelques errances musicales au Canada, c’est à Los Angeles qu’Alanis Morissette pose ses valises. Elle y rencontre Glen Ballard. Entre le producteur et la chanteuse, c’est le coup de foudre. Ils se mettent immédiatement au travail, Glen s’emparant de la guitare pendant qu’Alanis improvise les paroles. La légende veut que la chanson Perfect ait été écrite en seulement 20 minutes. De leur union naît l’album Jagged Little Pill, qui reste à ce jour le plus gros succès commercial de l’artiste avec plus de 30 millions d’exemplaires vendus. Le magazine Rolling Stones décrit un album « proche de la perfection » où Alanis Morissette « utilise sa voix sobre pour passer au travers du naufrage émotionnel de sa jeunesse avec suffisamment de cœur et de qualité d'écriture pour faire vibrer un nombre incalculable d'auditeurs ».

      1999
      Alanis crève l’écran

      Alanis crève l’écran

      Juste avant les années 2000, la chanteuse apparaît là où on ne l’attend pas en se lançant dans le cinéma. Elle décroche un rôle dans Dogma et apparaîtra dans Sex and The City. Côté musique, elle montre encore une fois qu’elle n’a pas froid aux yeux avec le clip de Thank U qui remporte un Grammy Award. Elle y apparaît nue pour montrer que le fait d’être vulnérable est aussi une force, provoquant une petite polémique sur son passage.

      2020
      Un retour pour la fille prodige du rock

      Un retour pour la fille prodige du rock

      Après huit ans loin des bacs, la chanteuse sort enfin Such Pretty Forks in the Road, un nouvel album dont le single Reasons I Drink est, comme à son habitude, féroce et empli de passion. Une voix brute, sans effet et un texte lancinant qui frappe par son énergie revigorante.

      Témoignages

      • Le mot du spectateur
      • Notre équipe en parle
      • La presse en parle

        Hallucinant sera le mot de la soirée. Alanis Morissette m'a littéralement envoyé dans un autre monde. Une voix spectaculaire et des musiciens déchaînés pour cette artiste que j’écoute en boucle depuis des années. Après quelques rendez-vous manqués, je suis content d’avoir attendu si longtemps pour toutes les émotions que j’ai ressenties ce soir.

        Arthur, après un concert au Théâtre de Plein Air de Colmar

        Alanis Morissette fait très certainement partie des précurseures quand on parle de rock au féminin. Son énergie communicative, sa sensibilité débordante, ses textes intimistes et sa touche d’impertinence font toujours de ses concerts un moment plein de vitalité, chaleureux et dansant.

         

        Contrairement à certains de ses sujets de prédilection et à ses paroles sombres, Alanis Morissette charme le public par son enjouement, se moquant de ses origines canadiennes ou du fait qu’elle n’entend rien à ce qu’essaye de lui dire la foule. Elle n'est clairement plus la jeune femme angoissée qui a écrit «Jagged Little Pill», bien qu'à en juger par les morceaux choisis pour son concert, le public avait définitivement besoin d’une dose de nostalgie.

        Variety.

      Archives

      2012
      5 concerts
      • 30 juin
        Paris
        Le Zénith
      • 03 juil.
        Lyon
        Halle Tony Garnier
      • 04 juil.
        Strasbourg
        Zénith Europe
      • 06 juil.
        Grand-Quevilly
        Zénith de Rouen
      • 26 nov.
        Paris
        L'Olympia
      2008
      1 concert
      • 09 août
        Colmar
        La Foire aux Vins
      2004
      2 concerts
      • 27 juin
        Nice
        Palais Nikaïa
      • 28 juin
        Lyon
        Halle Tony Garnier
      2003
      1 concert
      • 22 juil.
        Nîmes
        Arènes de Nîmes
      Afficher plus
      gérard drouot productions utilise des cookies sur ce site. Avec votre consentement, nous les utiliserons pour mesurer et analyser l'utilisation du site (cookies analytiques), pour l'adapter à vos intérêts (cookies de personnalisation) et pour vous présenter des publicités et des informations pertinentes (cookies de ciblage). Gérer les cookies