Artists
    Events
      EN
      FR

      Al Jarreau

      The legendary one-man band
      Ecouter
      • Tour
      • About
      • Highlights
      • Testimonials
      • Archives

      Tour

      There is yet no show to display

      About

      About

      Behind Al Jarreau, the discreet man who is reluctant to talk about himself hides a beast of the stage coupled with a rhythm monster, passionate about jazz, soul, funk or R&B. A diversity that has sometimes earned him the criticism of his peers but through which he has become a legend.
       
      The gods certainly leaned over the cradle of this son of a pastor and a pianist to grant him this unique voice. Ranging from the lowest notes of a baritone to astonishing and subtle highs, he is the very embodiment of music. A scat lover, king of vocal percussion, his concerts are always tinged with improvised flights of fancy, his twisted face and unique gestures galvanising the crowds.
       
      An outstanding technician, he transcends musical boundaries with elegance and communicative joy, reconciling the demands of jazz and the exuberance of pop like no one before him. His covers of standards such as Agua De Beber, where he offers an unprecedented demonstration and rhythmic mastery, or the pop hit by Elton John Your Song are perfect reinventions of classical masterpieces.
       
      And yet the world has almost been deprived of the talents of this great artist who was primarily dedicated to a career as a psychologist and social worker. "As a psychologist and social worker, I have learned to understand the suffering and difficult times of others. ...] It changed me! I hope that this is reflected in my music and the way I perform. Deeply human, Al Jarreau embodies generosity in life and on stage, with the desire to "comfort those who are suffering" as a common thread. A contagious joy that transforms his concerts into an authentic communion.

      Highlights

      1964

      The moods of a jazzman

      With a Master's degree in psychology in his pocket, Al Jarreau is not predestined for music. His desire to help pushes him into social and professional integration. But music stuck to him and he continued to perform in bars from Iowa to California, crossing the path of George Duke, Julio Martinez or JR Monterose. These remarkable collaborations gradually made him prefer his career as an artist to that of a psychologist.

      1975
      Skimming bars and cans

      Skimming bars and cans

      Based in Los Angeles, Al Jarreau's dazzling and breathtaking voice enchants the jazzy audiences of the city's clubs: Dino's, The Troubadour or the Bla Bla Café. It is in the latter that producers from Warner Bros. spotted this raw talent to sign the beginning of a long story. The collaboration between the artist and the record company will last until 2008.

      1978
      The sacrament of a king

      The sacrament of a king

      From the very beginning, this gifted musician's albums have included prestigious collaborations, notably with members of the group The Crusaders. Success was immediate and in 1978 he won his first Grammy Award. A first consecration that marked the beginning of a long series. By the end of his career, he had won seven of the prestigious trophies and was one of the few singers to have won awards in three different categories: jazz, R&B and pop.

      1980
      The pop turn

      The pop turn

      With his talent as a jazzman no longer to be proven, Al Jarreau tried his hand at other sounds from the 1980s onwards. What earned him the critics of the purists would be adored by his public, who would hoist him to the top of both the jazz and variety charts. A perfect example of the mix of genres is the funky-pop album L is for Lovers. He didn't return to his first love until the mid-90s with Tenderness, a surprising album recorded in just five days under concert conditions.

      2007

      Family meeting for two jazz children

      There are disturbing similarities between these two great men. A childhood nourished by jazz, an unequalled virtuosity, a tendency to flirt with pop to create a more accessible style, on the borderline between soul and funk. No doubt, these two were made to meet each other. Better yet, to get along! And inevitably, it makes sparks fly on the very good Givin'it Up, presented in a memorable concert at the Montreux Jazz Festival.

      2017

      Disappearance of a legend

      Al Jarreau's albums and tours followed one another in the 2000s. In 2006, he released the highly acclaimed Givin'It Up, in collaboration with guitarist and singer George Benson, on which he was joined by the big names in music, Jill Scott, Herbie Hancock and Paul McCartney. On February 8, 2017, at the age of 76, he announces his retirement after having interrupted his tour dedicated to the master of swing Duke Ellington. Four days later, this jazz legend disappeared to join the pantheon of great artists.

      Testimonials

      • The fans speak
      • The inside view
      • Seen in the press

        It is almost a tradition to come and listen to Al Jarreau here at the Montreux Jazz Festival. His concerts are always an event, between long ballads and wild rhythms. What makes me come back each time is his humanity and his unrestrained sharing with his audience. He is a man whose happiness on stage radiates to us. 

        Agathe, at the Montreux Jazz Festival

        Al Jarreau was one of those artists you never get tired of listening to. His rhythmic genius, his way of associating styles that were in opposition to each other, his scat flights, gave us the impression of rediscovering him at each concert. It was an honour to accompany the career of this great gentleman of jazz and pop.

         You had to see Al Jarreau in concert. Suddenly, it became clear that his vocal acrobatics, which bristling with his detractors, were a dishevelled expression of his joy of singing. His humour and bonhomie were irresistible. He himself could never resist the joy of being on stage. 

        Télérama

      Archives

      2010
      1 concert
      • 01 Jul
        Paris
        L'Olympia
      2006
      1 concert
      • 28 Jun
        Lyon
        Festival le Printemps de P
      See more
      gérard drouot productions uses cookies on this website. With your approval, we will use them to mesure and analyse your visit on the website (statistic cookies) to adapt it to your interests (customized cookies) and to provide you with relevant information (third party cookies). Customize

Artistes
    Événements
      FR
      EN
      Al Jarreau

      Al Jarreau

      Le légendaire homme-orchestre
      Ecouter
      • Tournée
      • À propos
      • Les faits marquants
      • Témoignages
      • Archives

      Tournée

      Aucune date prévue

      À propos

      À propos

      Derrière Al Jarreau, l’homme discret et peu enclin à parler de lui se cache une bête de scène doublée d’un monstre du rythme, passionné de jazz, de soul, de funk ou de RnB. Une diversité qui lui a parfois valu les critiques de ses pairs mais à travers laquelle il est devenu une légende.

       

      Les dieux se sont certainement penchés sur le berceau de ce fils de pasteur et de pianiste pour lui accorder cette voix unique. Allant des plus graves d’un baryton à d’étonnants et subtils aigus, il est l’incarnation même de la musique. Amateur de scat, roi des percussions vocales, ses concerts sont toujours teintés d’envolées improvisées, son visage tordu et sa gestuelle unique galvanisant les foules.

       

      Technicien hors pair, il transcende les frontières musicales avec une élégance et une joie communicative, réconciliant au passage l’exigence du jazz et l’exubérance de la pop comme personne avant lui. Ses reprises de standards comme Agua De Beber où il offre une démonstration et une maîtrise rythmique sans précédent, ou du tube pop d’Elton John Your Song sont de parfaites réinventions de chefs d’œuvre classiques.

       

      Et pourtant, le monde a bien failli être privé des talents de ce grand artiste qui se vouait en premier lieu à une carrière de psychologue et de travailleur social. « En exerçant ce métier, j’ai appris à comprendre la souffrance et les moments difficiles chez les autres. […] Ça m'a changé ! J'espère que ça se retrouve dans ma musique, et dans ma façon d'être en scène ». Profondément humain, Al Jarreau incarne la générosité à la vie comme à la scène avec en fil rouge, le désir de « réconforter ceux qui se trouvent dans la souffrance ». Une joie contagieuse qui transformait ses concerts en une authentique communion.

      Les faits marquants

      1964

      Les états d’âme d’un jazzman

      Master de psychologie en poche, Al Jarreau ne se prédestine pas à la musique. Son désir d’aider le pousse à se lancer dans l’insertion sociale et professionnelle. Mais la musique lui colle à la peau et il continue à se produire dans des bars, de l’Iowa à la Californie, croisant la route de George Duke, Julio Martinez ou JR Monterose. Des collaborations remarquées qui lui font peu à peu privilégier sa carrière d’artiste à celle de psychologue.

      1975
      Ecumer bars et boîtes

      Ecumer bars et boîtes

      Installé à Los Angeles, la voix éblouissante et ébouriffante d’Al Jarreau enchante le public jazzy des clubs de la ville : Dino’s, The Troubadour ou le Bla Bla Café. C’est dans ce dernier que des producteurs de la Warner Bros repèrent ce talent brut pour signer le début d’une longue histoire. La collaboration entre l’artiste et la maison de disque durera jusqu’en 2008.

      1978
      Le sacrement d’un roi

      Le sacrement d’un roi

      Dès ses débuts, les albums de ce surdoué de la musique contiennent de prestigieuses collaborations, notamment avec les membres du groupe The Crusaders. Le succès est immédiat et en 1978, il décroche son premier Grammy Award. Une première consécration qui marquera le début d’une longue série. A la fin de sa carrière, il comptabilise sept des prestigieux trophées et est l’un des seuls chanteurs à avoir remporté des distinctions dans trois catégories différentes : jazz, RnB et pop.

       

      1980
      Le virage pop

      Le virage pop

      Son talent de jazzman n’étant plus à prouver, Al Jarreau s’essaye à partir des années 80 à d’autres sonorités. Ce qui lui vaudra les critiques des puristes sera adoré par son public qui le hissera à la fois à la tête des classements de jazz et de variété. Parfait exemple du mélange des genres, l’album funky-pop L is for Lovers. Il ne reviendra à ses premières amours qu’au milieu des années 90 avec Tenderness, un album surprenant, enregistré en seulement cinq jours dans les conditions d’un concert.

      2007
      Réunion de famille pour Al Jarreau et George Benson

      Réunion de famille pour Al Jarreau et George Benson

      Il existe des similitudes troublantes entre ces deux grands hommes. Une enfance biberonnée au jazz, une virtuosité sans égale, une tendance à flirter avec la pop pour créer un style plus accessible, à la limite entre la soul et le funk. Pas de doute, ces deux-là étaient fait pour se rencontrer. Mieux, pour s’entendre ! Et forcément, ça fait des étincelles sur le très bon Givin’it Up, présenté dans un concert mémorable au Jazz Festival de Montreux. 

      2017

      Disparition d’une légende

      Al Jarreau enchaîne les albums et les tournées dans les années 2000. Le 8 février 2017, à 76 ans, il annonce sa retraite après avoir interrompu sa tournée dédiée au maître du swing Duke Ellington. Quatre jours plus tard, cette légende du jazz disparaît pour rejoindre le panthéon des grands artistes.

      Témoignages

      • Le mot du spectateur
      • Notre équipe en parle
      • La presse en parle

        C’est presque une tradition de venir écouter Al Jarreau ici, au festival du jazz de Montreux. Ses concerts sont toujours un événement, entre longues ballades et rythmes endiablés. Ce qui me fait revenir à chaque fois, c’est son humanité et son partage sans retenue avec son public. C’est un homme dont le bonheur sur scène rayonne jusqu’à nous. 

        Agathe, au Montreux Jazz Festival

        Al Jarreau était l’un de ces artistes qu’on ne se lasse jamais d’écouter. Son génie rythmique, sa manière d’associer des styles que tout oppose, ses envolées de scat, nous donnaient l’impression de le redécouvrir à chaque concert. Ce fut un honneur d’accompagner la carrière de ce grand monsieur du jazz et de la pop.

         

         

        Il fallait voir Al Jarreau en concert. Soudain, il devenait évident que ses acrobaties vocales, qui hérissaient ses détracteurs, étaient l'expression échevelée de sa joie de chanter. Son humour et sa bonhomie y étaient irrésistibles. Lui-même ne résistait jamais au bonheur de monter sur scène.

        Télérama

      Archives

      2010
      1 concert
      • 01 juil.
        Paris
        L'Olympia
      2006
      1 concert
      • 28 juin
        Lyon
        Festival le Printemps de P
      Afficher plus
      gérard drouot productions utilise des cookies sur ce site. Avec votre consentement, nous les utiliserons pour mesurer et analyser l'utilisation du site (cookies analytiques), pour l'adapter à vos intérêts (cookies de personnalisation) et pour vous présenter des publicités et des informations pertinentes (cookies de ciblage). Gérer les cookies