Artists
    Events
      EN
      FR
      Al Green

      Al Green

      Unlucky soul prodigy
      Ecouter
      • Tour
      • About
      • Highlights
      • Testimonials
      • Archives

      Tour

      There is yet no show to display

      About

      About

      Charming smile, absolute elegance: always well dressed, Al Green sets the contours of a happy escape in the land of soul. With wisdom and audacity, the child of Forrest City, a man of heart with an eventful life, romanticizes an America rocked by the sounds of the Afro community.

       
      A worthy heir to Ray Charles and Sam Cooke, Al Green has his seat reserved at the table of the kings of soul. With a soul full of love and hope, the pastor from Memphis, born in the middle of Arkansas, carries within him the most important chapters of African-American culture. Yet nothing was simple. His life disrupted - one might even say shattered - by family misfortunes, the American genius experienced the worst when everyone predicted the best.
       


      So he left everything behind, leaving behind his past successes to concentrate on a spiritual quest, the key to his appeasement. He ran away from light and glitter to heal his inner wounds. But time and prayers have done their work, like antidotes. Now back, Al Green, at peace with the past, takes up his classics again, in an introspective soul, deeply inspired by the joy of gospel music.
       


      His serenity soothes us, his grace seduces us. Wherever he goes, this man of the stage, with his eternally devastating charm, honours with romance lovers of timeless and elegant music. He is the natural embodiment of absolute class. And it can even be said that he becomes, through his appearances, the living and unfailing proof that voice and charisma never die.

      Highlights

      1971

      From Forrest City to the American charts

      If his beginnings are timid, the Arkansas boy, son of a sharecropper, soon makes a name for himself on the American scene. On the excellent record Al Green gets next to you, the first hits appear, before giving way, the following year, to the album Let's Stay Together. It's a worldwide success: Al Green enters the big league, and through the big door!

      1974

      Drama, gospel and spirituality

      On October 18, Al Green's life, then at the height of its glory, was turned upside down. His wife assaulted him by pouring boiling water over his body and then killed herself. This was a turning point in the artist's career: he became a pastor and immersed himself in gospel music in order to recover from this painful episode. Suddenly, he puts his career on hold. It's a shock for all soul lovers!

      1988

      Back to the land of soul

      After fifteen years inspiring the pure air of gospel music, Al Green is finally back to the soul of his early days. He even dares to innovate, to the point of including tender nuances of RnB here and there. This return enabled him to win a Grammy Award in 2002 for his entire career. His fans of yesteryear are ecstatic: the master is back, and doesn't seem to be about to leave.

      2008

      The acclaim of the critics

      Al Green presents Lay It Down, a newcomer in a discography as long as the five fingers of six hands, whose featurings with John Legend and Anthony Hamilton are highlights. For the occasion, the American songwriter received unanimous critical acclaim and even climbed to ninth place in the charts. His inspiration is still intact: the album appeals to lovers of soul and beyond. Yes, Al Green still has thousands of beautiful things to make us listen to.

      Testimonials

      • The fans speak
      • The inside view
      • Seen in the press

        Magnificent! Al Green imposes himself, arriving on stage with his coat on, playing with passion and then putting his jacket back on to leave with class. I'm impressed by his stage presence, at over 70 years old. It was a beautiful moment, full of romance, good humour and generosity. You absolutely have to come and see him! 

        Karine, after a concert at the Olympia

        Al Green is the suffix for elegance. It means so much to soul lovers. With his voice and charisma, the American artist has always impressed us, and there's more to come. Despite a complex career, disrupted by the drama we all know, Al Green has not lost any of his superb, quite the contrary. It is an honour to work alongside him!

        The rhythm is a cushion, the brass riff comes back to scratch the ear, a girl's choir, a string section strings it all together. On the ballads in particular, the soulman has lost none of its radiant power. 

        Télérama

      Archives

      2010
      1 concert
      • 09 Jul
        Paris
        L'Olympia
      2007
      2 concerts
      • 07 Jul
        Vienne
        Jazz à Vienne
      • 09 Jul
        Paris
        Le Grand Rex
      2005
      1 concert
      • 10 Jul
        Paris
        L'Olympia
      See more
      gérard drouot productions uses cookies on this website. With your approval, we will use them to mesure and analyse your visit on the website (statistic cookies) to adapt it to your interests (customized cookies) and to provide you with relevant information (third party cookies). Customize

Artistes
    Événements
      FR
      EN
      Al Green

      Al Green

      Prodige malchanceux de la soul
      Ecouter
      • Tournée
      • À propos
      • Les faits marquants
      • Témoignages
      • Archives

      Tournée

      Aucune date prévue

      À propos

      À propos

      Sourire charmeur, élégance absolue : toujours bien sapé, Al Green pose les contours d’une escapade heureuse au pays de la soul. Avec sagesse et audace, l’enfant de Forrest City, homme de cœur à la vie mouvementée, romance une Amérique bercée par les sonorités de la communauté afro.

       

      Digne héritier de Ray Charles et de Sam Cooke, Al Green a son siège réservé à la table des rois de la soul. L’âme remplie d’amour et d’espoir, le pasteur de Memphis, né au beau milieu de l'Arkansas, porte effectivement en lui les chapitres les plus importants de la culture afro-américaine. Pourtant, rien n’a été simple. Sa vie perturbée – peut-on même dire brisée - par des malheurs familiaux, le génie américain a connu le pire quand tout le monde lui prédisait le meilleur.

       

      Alors, il a tout plaqué, laissant derrière lui ses succès d’autrefois pour se concentrer sur une quête spirituelle, clé de son apaisement. Il a fui la lumière et les paillettes pour cicatriser ses plaies intérieures. Mais le temps et les prières ont fait leur œuvre, comme des antidotes. Aujourd’hui de retour, Al Green, en paix avec le passé, reprend donc ses classiques, dans une soul introspective, profondément inspirée par l’allégresse du gospel.

       

      Sa sérénité nous apaise, sa grâce nous séduit. Partout où il passe, cet homme de scène, au charme éternellement ravageur, honore ainsi avec romance les amoureux d’une musique hors du temps et ô combien élégante. Il est l’incarnation naturelle de la classe absolue. Et l’on peut même dire qu’il devient, au fil de ses apparitions, la preuve vivante et indéfectible que la voix et le charisme ne meurent jamais.

       

      Les faits marquants

      1971
      De Forrest City aux charts américains

      De Forrest City aux charts américains

      Si ses débuts sont timides, l’enfant de l'Arkansas, fils de métayer, ne tarde pas à se faire un nom sur la scène américaine. Sur l’excellent disque Al Green gets next to you, les premiers tubes apparaissent, avant de laisser place, l’année suivante, à l’album Let's Stay Together. C’est un succès planétaire : Al Green entre dans la cour des grands, et par la grande porte !

      1974

      Drame, gospel et spiritualité

      Le 18 octobre, la vie d’Al Green, alors au sommet de sa gloire, bascule. Sa femme l’agresse en lui versant de l’eau bouillante sur le corps, puis se donne la mort. C’est un tournant dans la carrière de l’artiste : il devient alors pasteur et se plonge dans le gospel pour se relever de ce douloureux épisode. Il met sa carrière entre parenthèses, subitement. C’est un choc pour tous les amoureux de soul !

      1988
      De retour sur les terres de la soul

      De retour sur les terres de la soul

      Après une quinzaine d’années à inspirer l’air pur du gospel, Al Green renoue enfin avec la soul de ses débuts. Il ose même innover, jusqu’à inclure de tendres nuances de RnB par-ci, par-là. Ce retour lui permettra d’obtenir, en 2002, un Grammy Awards qui récompensera l’ensemble de sa carrière. Ses fans d’autrefois sont aux anges : le maître is back, et ne semble pas prêt de repartir.

       

      2008
      L’acclamation des critiques

      L’acclamation des critiques

      Al Green présente Lay It Down, nouveau venu dans une discographie longue comme les cinq doigts de six mains, dont les featurings avec John Legend et Anthony Hamilton sont des points d’orgue. Pour l’occasion, le songwriter américain reçoit l’acclamation unanime de la critique et se hisse même à la neuvième place des charts. Son inspiration est intacte : le disque séduit les amoureux de soul, et bien au-delà. Oui, Al Green a encore des milliers de belles choses à nous faire écouter.

      Témoignages

      • Le mot du spectateur
      • Notre équipe en parle
      • La presse en parle

        Magnifique ! Al Green en impose, arrivant sur scène avec son manteau, jouant avec passion puis remettant sa veste pour repartir avec classe. Je suis impressionnée par la prestance qu’il dégage sur scène, à plus de 70 ans. C’était un très beau moment, plein de romance, de bonne humeur et de générosité. Il faut absolument venir le voir !

        Karine, après un concert à l’Olympia

        Al Green est le suffixe de l’élégance. Il représente tellement aux yeux des amoureux de soul. Par sa voix et son charisme, l’artiste américain nous a toujours impressionnés, et ce n’est pas fini. Malgré une carrière complexe, perturbée par le drame que nous connaissons tous, Al Green n’a pas perdu de sa superbe, bien au contraire. C’est un honneur de travailler à ses côtés !

        Rien d'appuyé, la rythmique est un coussin, le riff de cuivres revient gratter l'oreille, un chœur de filles, une section de cordes ficellent tout ça. Sur les ballades en particulier, le soulman n'a rien perdu de sa puissance irradiante.

        Télérama

      Archives

      2010
      1 concert
      • 09 juil.
        Paris
        L'Olympia
      2007
      2 concerts
      • 07 juil.
        Vienne
        Jazz à Vienne
      • 09 juil.
        Paris
        Le Grand Rex
      2005
      1 concert
      • 10 juil.
        Paris
        L'Olympia
      Afficher plus
      gérard drouot productions utilise des cookies sur ce site. Avec votre consentement, nous les utiliserons pour mesurer et analyser l'utilisation du site (cookies analytiques), pour l'adapter à vos intérêts (cookies de personnalisation) et pour vous présenter des publicités et des informations pertinentes (cookies de ciblage). Gérer les cookies